River Ridge Lodge

River Ridge Lodge Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
199 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (203)
Susan Laramee
Susan Laramee
2024.02.20
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
kim
kim
2023.11.14
Thank you Frauke, Mike, and especially Charlie for a wonderful stay! The room was clean, spacious, and bright. Very peaceful setting and excellent choices for breakfast. We'll definitely be returning.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.11.14
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Kim! We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us at the River Ridge Lodge and enjoyed the spacious room and peaceful setting. It's wonderful to know that you found our food choices from breakfast were excellent. We are excited for the opportunity to welcome you back. We hope to make each stay even better than the last! Thank you for staying with us. Best wishes, Frauke, Mike, Charlie & Max
Andrew Barkhouse
Andrew Barkhouse
2023.10.23
River Ridge Lodge is a great place to stay. It was clean and well maintained. Frauke provided a fresh, generous breakfast each morning. She even helped with my luggage as I checked in and out.
Trip type
Business
Solo
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.10.23
Thank you for your kind review of River Ridge Lodge, Andrew. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast and found it plenty filling. It is our pleasure to be able to provide excellent service and amenities to our guests during their visit with us. We strive to provide every one of our guests with an excellent experience, so we really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for choosing River Ride Lodge for your recent stay!
Franziska
Franziska
2023.10.11
10 Verified
Perfekt! Tip top saubere Unterkunft, freundliche und zuvorkommende Gastgeber, schöne Lage! Alles super!
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.10.12
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Franziska! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at River Ridge Lodge. We are thrilled that you found our accommodation to be clean and liked our location. We are proud of our beautiful location here on the river, and it's great to be able to share it with our guests. We hope the rest of your trip is amazing and hope to see you again. Thank you for your kind words!
Juliane Kaiser
Juliane Kaiser
2023.10.08
Thanks a lot to Frauke and Mike for the great stay. We spent two nights at River Ridge Lodge and are still impressed. Highly recommended! Frauke is passionated about hosting guests. Like I said…we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Best regards, Rainer
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.10.08
Thank you so much for the kind words, Rainer! I truly enjoyed meeting you all. We are absolutely delighted that you had such an outstanding stay with us. Getting kind words like yours is truly invaluable and inspiring for us. We hope that your time at River Ridge Lodge gives you fond memories that will last for years to come. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! I hope the rest of your trip will be terrific as well. Our best wishes, Frauke & Mike
Marius
Marius
2023.09.19
10 Verified
Exceptional
Martha Arab
Martha Arab
2023.09.11
Wonderful hosts and beautiful setting close to Mahone Bay. Frauke and Mike provided everything we needed, even helping out with sailing reservations on a tour in Lunenburg and walking with us to the start of the nearby bike path to Mahone Bay. The breakfast was superb. Thank you Frauke and Mike.
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.09.11
Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay at River Ridge Lodge, Martha! We feel so blessed to have had the pleasure of hosting you and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience! We also appreciate the kind words about our breakfast. Thanks again for the wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon! Our warmest wishes, Frauke & Mike
Kit Simmington
Kit Simmington
2023.08.29
what a superb place this is. Host and Hostess where super. They gave us great suggestions to sightsee in the area. They mowed a path around their property and the walk was nice. between the birds and deer it was great actually. No traffic to speak of and it was nicely quiet. a dock to sit on and enjoy. every morning at 6:30 we had fresh coffee outside our door. It was approximately 5 miles to the boat tour to Oak Island. Pat K, Lynn N, and I ,Kate S , would stay there again and again. We highly recommend Tiver Lodge. You will not be disapointed.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.29
Thanks for the lovely review, Pat, Lynn, and Kate! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at River Ridge Lodge and found it peaceful and quiet. It was our pleasure to provide you with fresh coffee each morning and make suggestions about sights to see in the area. We alway enjoys being able to help create magical moments for our guests and we're delighted you had such a wonderful time with us. Thank you for choosing River Ridge Lodge during your trip and for recommending us to other guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Warmest wishes, Frauke & Mike
Clare
Clare
2023.08.27
10 Verified
Best little B&B in Nova Scotia ☺ Lovely location, amazing hosts and fabulous breakfast. ☹ Nothing it was perfect.
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.29
Thank you, Clare and Mark, for your wonderful review of River Ridge Lodge! We truly appreciate the kind words. It was such a delight to meet you two and to chat with you at breakfast. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our room, the delicious breakfast featuring local organic products, and especially our hospitality. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Guests like you make running a B&B fun. Our warmest wishes, Frauke & Mike
N
N
2023.08.24
4.0 Verified
Sleepless in Mahone Bay (specific to room #1) ☺ The location is really nice - lovely property in a quiet neighborhood. This is probably the most beautiful area in Nova Scotia. The room was clean with modern and functional furniture (Scandinavian IKEA style) and the mattress by IKEA was comfortable... everything looked really promising... ☹ ... however Despite the fact that the property is in a very quiet neighborhood and that bed was really comfy we spent tree sleepless nights here (we booked/paid for four nights but decided to leave the last night for a place where we could catch up on our sleep before a long road trip ahead). Our room - Room #1 - was located on the ground floor: next to main entrance and a staircase, across the dining area, and bellow two other rooms the space that is usually reserved for living room. At all times you could hear people walking up and down, around the rooms, and showering and flushing toilet. The hosts seem to be well aware of this fact since they asked us "was it noisy?" - to our "yes, indeed it was really noisy and impossible to sleep", the answer was "it is an old house and this is our cheapest room "... while we do understand that the house is old and that it cannot be sound proofed as modern can (we travelled all over the Maritimes and also New England) and we stayed in many old and heritage houses, and never experiences this kind of noise... that is most likely why this part of the house is usually a living area - next to the entrance, staircase, and dining room and below other rooms. However, in this case it was turned into a room. So, it might be that this area - in this case Room #1 - should simply not be rented at all. In addition we did not book a "cheep" room - the price was similar to the other ones, certainly not a bargain - and we anyway were not going for "cheap" but a nice room in one of the most beautiful areas of Nova Scotia. The host did apologized for the noise, with a note and a little basket of goodies - which was kind and we really appreciated - but the fact is that this room #1 is not suitable for renting since it does not provide the basic thing this kind of B&B should provide: restful stay and a good night sleep.
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.26
Thank you so much for sharing your insightful review with us. We genuinely apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay. Your comfort and getting a good night's sleep are incredibly important to us. We assure you that we're reviewing our room arrangements to prevent such experiences in the future. We're glad you found other aspects of your stay satisfactory. We're glad you found other aspects of your stay satisfactory. While we can't control the behaviour of other guests, we want to assure you that we did not hear any noise at night while you were here. We did notice that you spent most of your time in the room during the day when cleaning was taking place, and guests were coming in and out. We did try to inquire about your stay, but it seemed like you preferred to have minimal contact. The few times we did talk, you mentioned that everything was okay. It was only on the day you checked out in the morning that you mentioned the noise. We had some guests who were a bit louder than usual, and that's when we asked if it was bothersome for you. We wish you had let us know sooner, as we would have been more than happy to find a quieter accommodation for you. We didn't realize you had left until the morning after your last night, otherwise, we would have tried to compensate you in some way. Normally, we always ask about our guests' sleep experience, and this is the first time we've received a complaint like this. Our downstairs room, which naturally has more exposure to noise, has actually received many 5-star reviews. Some of our regular guests even request the downstairs room specifically. Once again, we apologize wholeheartedly for any inconvenience caused by noise in the common areas. Our main priority is to ensure that every guest has a satisfying experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and will continue to work hard to provide the best possible accommodations for all our guests. Warm regards, Frauke & Mike
Cyndy Ryan
Cyndy Ryan
2023.08.15
Such a relaxing way to finish our vacation to Nova Scotia! Frauke and Mike are wonderful hosts. Their home is immaculate and every detail is addressed. The location is perfect to get to Mahone Bay as well as Lunenberg in a short amount of time. Can't wait to go back!
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.15
Thank you for staying at River Ridge Lodge and taking the time to review your experience with us, Cindy. It was truly a pleasure to meet you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about us as hosts and our location. We agree that the location is ideal for exploring the towns of Mahone Bay and Lunenberg- we're so glad you took advantage of it! We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future. Thank you so much again!
M F
M F
2023.08.11
Dieses B&B ist großartig. Die Gastgeber sind extrem freundlich und hilfsbereit. Sie haben uns viele hilfreiche Tipps für Ausflüge und Restaurants gegeben. Für einen Ausflug an den Strand stehen sogar Handtücher zur Verfügung. Wir würden jederzeit wiederkommen und können diese Unterkunft uneingeschränkt weiterempfehlen.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.15
Herzlichen Dank für Deine wundervolle Bewertung! Wir sind überglücklich zu hören, dass Ihr euren Aufenthalt bei uns genossen habt und sich die Zeit genommen haben, Eure Erfahrungen zu teilen. Es war uns eine Freude, Euch als unsere Gäste begrüßen zu dürfen. Es wäre uns eine grosse Freude, Euch in der Zukunft erneut bei uns willkommen zu heißen.
Deborah
Deborah
2023.08.02
10 Verified
Exceptional
Anonymous
Anonymous
2023.08.02
10 Verified
Very well managed. Frauke made great suggestions for what to visit. ☺ Beautiful
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.03
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and our recommendations on what to see and visit. Thank you for this lovely review! Thank you for choosing River Ridge Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future. Our best wishes, Frauke & Mike
Amanda
Amanda
2023.07.31
10 Verified
Frauke and Mike are excellent hosts. We really enjoyed chatting with them. Frauke had excellent suggestions for what t ☺ Very pretty site with a barn and access to the river.
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.03
Dear Amanda, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us at River Ridge Lodge and really enjoyed meeting you. Your kind words about our site are much appreciated! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, and hope we'll be able to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Frauke & Mike
Ricky Fu
Ricky Fu
2023.07.30
Frauke and Mike have been absolutely lovely - truthfully some of the greatest hosts I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. The level of care and detail is impeccable, and they truly care for the quality of your stay! Not to mention breakfast is very local and tastes great. If you're looking for a place to stay east of Halifax, look no further!! Hope to be back in the future
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.07.30
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, Ricky! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and valued the attention to detail and hospitality we provided. Knowing that our service and breakfast exceeded your expectations makes us feel truly humbled. Our ultimate goal is to make our guests feel like they are in a home away from home, and we are grateful for the opportunity to have achieved that for you. We loved meeting you and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future. Have a fantastic day!
Steve Jones
Steve Jones
2023.07.27
Lovely place. Immaculately presented in every way. Would truly recommend.
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.07.27
Thank you for your wonderful review, Steve! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at River Ridge Lodge. We strive to maintain a high level of cleanliness and comfort for our guests, and we are so glad that was reflected in your experience. Your kind words are much appreciated, and we hope you will join us again soon!
Andrei Pinzaru
Andrei Pinzaru
2023.07.27
Trip type
Business
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.07.27
Thank you, Andrei, for your 5-star review of your stay at River Ridge Lodge! It was such a pleasure meeting you and having our lovely breakfast chats. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience. A big thank you for taking the time to review us! We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.
Karan Mauzy
Karan Mauzy
2023.07.24
Frauke and Mike go the extra mile to provide a beautiful, relaxing bed and breakfast that sits on a hill that gracefully undulates toward a river that feeds into Mahone Bay and the sea. We stayed in the upstairs suite that has two large bedrooms and a spacious bath, plenty of closet space, beautiful, original wide plank floors, lots of hot water and air conditioning and good lighting. The views from the large bedroom windows are all lovely. Frauke is all about service and being sure the guests are well-fed at breakfast and well informed about the many nearby hiking and restaurant options. We wish we lived closer than Texas so we could be frequent guests.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.07.25
Thank you for your amazing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We genuinely enjoyed meeting you and I love our chats at breakfast. We're so happy that you enjoyed the relaxing and beautiful surroundings of our riverside retreat on the hill. Your kind words about the rooms mean a lot to us. It's fantastic to know that you found everything you needed and loved our wide plank floors. And we agree more about the views; we feel extremely lucky to have such a beautiful location to share with our guests. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the information on nearby hiking and restaurant options. Thank you again for your lovely feedback! We wish you could visit us more often, even though we know Texas is quite a distance away. But please know that our doors will always be open whenever you decide to come back. We would be thrilled to welcome you with open arms and provide you with another memorable stay. Sending you the warmest regards from the ridge, Frauke and Mike
Jo
Jo
2023.07.23
9.0 Verified
☺De locatie is erg goed om de hoogtepunten van Nova Scotia te bezoeken. Frauke is een fantastische gastvrouw, met de juiste aandacht, en goeie lokale tips. Het ontbijt is werkelijk top. ☹Niks.
Reply from River Ridge Lodge 2023.08.01
Thank you for your review, Jo! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at River Ridge Lodge. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and found the advice on places to explore in our area helpful. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Our best wishes, Frauke & Mike