Europcar Sri Lanka

www.europcar.lk

Europcar Sri Lanka Reviews

Average rating
3.4
61 reviews Verified
Europcar Sri Lanka
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 61 ) 3.4

gayan fernando
gayan fernando
2024.07.06
highly recommended
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.07.08
Dear Gayan, Thank you for your feedback!
Advertisement
Alexander Cortez
Alexander Cortez
2024.06.14
We rented a car from Europcar for two weeks for our trip to Sri Lanka and the experience was excellent. The booking process was simple, the vehicle was clean and in very good condition, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Navigating through Sri Lanka was a breeze with the reliable car we had.
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.06.24
Dear Alexander, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you had an excellent experience with our service and enjoyed your trip in Sri Lanka. Best regards, Customer Service Team, Europcar Sri Lanka
Sparkling Paradise
Sparkling Paradise
2024.06.13
I recently rented a vehicle from Europcar Sri Lanka and was thoroughly impressed with the service. The booking process was seamless, and the staff were friendly and professional. The car was in excellent condition, clean, and well-maintained. I appreciated the quick and efficient pick-up and drop-off process, which saved valuable time. The overall experience exceeded my expectations, making my travel in Sri Lanka smooth and enjoyable. I highly recommend Europcar Sri Lanka for anyone looking for reliable and top-notch car rental services.
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.06.24
Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear you had a seamless and enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to serving you again! Best regards, Customer Service Team, Europcar Sri Lanka
Janagan Kathiravetpillai
Janagan Kathiravetpillai
2024.06.12
Good service
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.06.24
Dear Janagan, Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our service. Best regards, Customer Service Team, Europcar Sri Lanka
Lobna Habeeb
Lobna Habeeb
2024.06.08
Horrible and shocking experience, if you book Europcar using this office be prepared to be offered, old and non-maintained cars. We decided to hire a car in Sri Lanka to tour the country, and we went with Europcar due to the brand and reputation. We used this office, as the closest to the airport, an absolute poor experience. We have been handed an old car, after expressing our concerns as we will driving a lot, the office staff has assured us that they will recover and help us anywhere in the country. We have been assured, “Just take the car and we will look after you anywhere anytime”. Sounded too good, however, we trusted the Sri Lankan hospitality. Wrong. We drove the car to Colombo, 30 min drive from the office, where we stayed for 2 days. We parked the car at the hotel, and used a Tuk Tuk to visit Colombo. On the 3rd day we tried to leave to Sigiriya and the car won’t start, the battery has died. We called the office, and the same office manager who promised to recover us anywhere/anytime, has washed his hands from us. He won’t answers our calls or texts, he kept saying: an engineer is in his way and it will be with us in 10 min, after 2 hours of waiting no one has arrived, and he won’t tell us anything. Finally when we got hold of him, he confirmed that the car battery is old and will need changing, so the best solution will be to “jump start” which can’t be as automatic car, or change the battery at our cost. Stranded and abounded, thanks to the hotel staff, the real Sri Lankans, they called a recovery company for us, negotiated the battery price on our behalf and helped change the battery, check the car, all the mechanics, lights and breaks before we continued the journey. The manager, and the office staff, didn’t want to know anything and blame the tourists poor driving skills. They even refused to contribute to the battery fitting even though, this was brand new costing 34,713 rupees. This is a warning to all tourists deciding to go with Europcar in Sri Lanka, be prepared to be spending money for the car to drive it, they don’t maintain their cars, no checks are carried out, all vehicles are in poor condition and the tourists pay the highest price especially when you you are in a schedule.
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.06.13
Dear Lobna Habeeb, Firstly, we want to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the recent situation. We acknowledge that the unavailability of brand-new vehicles due to import restrictions since 2020 is a fact. However, we assure you that the car provided was well-maintained and inspected by our mechanical team before being rented out. Regarding the issue you mentioned, the car was not utilized for two days and failed to start. This prompted us to make some general inquiries to estimate a possible reason for the battery power loss, as vehicles can drain battery power if not used for about two days. Please note that we were in constant contact with you as soon as we were aware of the issue. We advised on the necessary measures to take immediately since our rental station was far from the incident location. Given your request for a rapid solution, we contacted locals at your hotel to guide you in fixing the battery issue on the spot. We believe we addressed your needs and contributed to finding the best solution at that moment. Additionally, we agreed to replace either the battery or the car, but you were able to replace the battery at a nearby shop. We are ready to reimburse any payments you made for errors with the car during the rental period. However, since you did not provide a formal receipt upon departure, as advised previously, we could not compensate the amount for the car battery due to the lack of mandatory receipts. Furthermore, we do not accept the complaint regarding the poor maintenance of our entire fleet, as it falsely accuses our company's brand without justification. This one-time unexpected experience cannot substantiate the overall quality of our fleet maintenance, especially since this was your first time renting a car from our company. For any further clarifications regarding this matter, please feel free to email us at customerservices@europcar.lk. We are here to assist you. Best regards, Customer Service Team, Europcar Sri Lanka
Advertisement
Nirmal Supun
Nirmal Supun
2024.05.03
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.06.27
Dear Nirmal, Thank you for your 5-star review.
wolf gang
wolf gang
2024.04.15
Professionelle und schnelle Abwicklung. Antwortet zeitnah über Whats App auf Anfragen. Wir hatten im März 2024 ein Fahrzeug für 18 Tage gebucht. Die Abholung war für 3 Uhr nachts vereinbart und wir hatten uns vorab per What App angekündigt und unsere Flugnummer geschickt. Es kam noch am selben Tag eine Bestätigung und obwohl unser Flug 1,5 Stunden zu spät in Colombo ankam, wartete bereits ein Mitarbeiter in der Ankunftshalle auf uns. Auch die Rückgabe in der Nacht um 1:30 Uhr verlief reibungslos und wir wurden wie vereinbart zum Flughafen gebracht. Jederzeit gerne wieder!
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.04.16
Thanks for your feedback! We're happy to know you had a good experience with our service and that we met your expectations. We're always here for you. Thanks for choosing us!
Dr. Robin Ruhnau
Dr. Robin Ruhnau
2024.04.12
Totally chaotic place. We book a car with a brand like Europcar to be on the safe side, but this place is a mess. For about 600€ for 10 days, we got a years old car with 150,000km. They confirmed to organize a local permit after we sent them all documents, but on arrival no one knew anything about it and there was of course no permit. This is also the reliability of the place overall: 80% of the time, no one will pick up the phone, reply to emails or WhatsApp. When our car had problems with our lights, they basically told us: go fix it yourself and find a garage, we cannot help you. Incredible.
Utkarsh Aggarwal
Utkarsh Aggarwal
2024.04.08
Absolutely horrible experience. They call me 1 day prior to booking start and tell they cannot honor my booking because I don't have 'Sri Lanka' driving permit and that I needed to submit all documents many days in advance (which was not mentioned anywhere on their website while booking). I was asked to cancel the booking and charged the cancellation fee as well. Now I am left with no car and a big lost amount with no mistake of my own. The service is also extremely unreachable and no one to speak with or helpful. Will never recommend this vendor.
Advertisement
Dina Sarhan
Dina Sarhan
2024.04.06
Don't even waste your time. Extremely unfriendly staff and incompetent management. Very disappointing experience!! They don't want the business and a very junior customer service person kept saying you can cancel the booking instead of helping us and fixing our problem!!! Avoid Avoid Avoid!!
Carles
Carles
2024.04.04
After landing and waiting, we were taken to office, wasting 1 hour. Then they requested the local driving permit, and we didn't have it, because they don't mention it clearly neither is a prerequisite of the booking as well in "Take with you" documents (see screenshot). So only option was to rent a local driver...
Jan Sebastian Kühlsen
Jan Sebastian Kühlsen
2024.03.31
We had great experience with Europcar Sri Lanka. When we picked up the car, the staff was very friendly and clear in communication. They also organised the local driver license as agreed before by email. On the way back we had a flat tire and the staff greatly helped us to get help on the highway. We informed the staff via WhatsApp shortly before we arrived at the station and they were immediately available to take back the car. Everything was greatly organized and in summary I would say that this was the best car rental experience I ever had. I would clearly rent again with Europcar Sri Lanka.
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.04.01
Dear Sebastian... Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with Europcar Sri Lanka! We're delighted to hear that our team provided you with excellent service from start to finish, ensuring clear communication and going above and beyond to assist you, even in unexpected situations like the flat tire. It's fantastic to know that you found everything to be well-organized and that your overall experience was the best you've ever had with a car rental company. We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for your future rental needs.
Bettina Krismer
Bettina Krismer
2024.02.29
Wir hatten ein Auto für 15 Tage gebucht. Bei der Anreise stellte sich heraus, dass die Permits, das wir über Europcar beantragt hatten und vor Ort bezahlten - nicht vorhanden war. Nach langer und langsamer Suche durch den Mitarbeiter um vier Uhr morgens tauchten sie leider auch nicht auf. Wir konnten nachweisen, dass wir ihnen alle Unterlagen übermittelt hatten und von ihnen auch eine positive Antwort bekommen hatten. Daraufhin brachten sie uns ins Hotel und wollten das bis zum Vormittag klären. Wir bekamen dann das Auto, aber noch immer kein Permit. Dieses haben wir erst 5 Tage später als pdf-Dokument erhalten. Ob das tatsächlich legitim war, konnten wir nicht feststellen, da wir das Original nie zu Gesicht bekommen haben. In diesen ersten fünf Tagen mussten wir bei jeder Fahrt befürchten, angehalten und wegen unseres fehlenden Permits gestraft zu werden. Wir können nur abraten bei dieser Firma ein Auto zu buchen.
Advertisement
W6 1092
W6 1092
2024.02.21
Durchwachsenes Erlebnis! Wir haben den Mietwagen bereits fünf Monate vorher gebucht und uns zwei Monate vorher mit dem Anbieter in Verbindung gesetzt aufgrund der Drivers Permit. Die Kommunikation war sehr durchwachsen. Teilweise wurde mir nicht geantwortet. Teilweise musste ich 5x an meine Mails erinnern. Irgendwann habe ich das aufgegeben und den Anbieter per WhatsApp kontaktiert. Hier antworte der Anbieter - meistens. Wir hatten wirklich Sorge, dass wir das Auto oder die Permit nicht bekommen und unser Urlaub komplett umbuchen mussten. Bei Anuft am Flughafen Colombo antwortete der Anbieter plötzlich wieder nicht mehr per WhatsApp. In der Ankunftshalle halfen uns aber die Mitarbeiter anderer Anbieter weiter und kontaktierten Europecar. Und tatsächlich: 40 Minuten nach dem Kontakt zu dem anderen Mitarbeiter stand auf einmal der Mitarbeiter von Europcar vor uns und brachte uns zur Mietwagenstation. Man schwatze uns keine Versicherungen auf und die Permit erhielten wir auch direkt! Der Mitarbeiter war freundlich. Wir erhielten einen relativ alten asiatischen Wagen - sogar Mild-Hybrid! Bei der Übergabe war der Mitarbeiter leider nur mit einem anderen Mitarbeiter am Reden und interessierte sich plötzlich nicht mehr für uns. Er sagte, dass wir Fotos machen sollten. Das Auto war natürlich komplett verschrammt und verbeult. Uns störte es nicht. Wir hatten nur Sorge um unsere Kaution. Leider war auch das Fahrer-Fenster defekt und ließ sich nicht öffnen. Zum Abschluss sagte man uns, dass wir uns 24 Stunden vor Abgabe melden wollen, damit das Auto angenommen werden kann. Alles in allem waren wir jedoch zufrieden mit dem Fahrzeug. Wie vereinbart meldeten wir uns 24 Stunden vor Abgabe. Unsere Abgabe war für Mitternacht gebucht und auch geplant. Zunächst bestätigte man uns die Rückgabe. Aber am Abend rief ständig ein Mitarbeiter an und wollte, dass wir den Wagen bereits um 17:00 Uhr abgeben, dann plötzlich um 19:00 Uhr. Wir sollten einfach länger am Flughafen warten statt in unserem Gebuchten Hotelzimmer. Der Mitarbeiter legte dann ständig "einfach so" auf. Zuletzt sagte uns der Mitarbeiter, dass er um Mitternacht keine Zeit habe, er legte auf und war nicht mehr erreichbar. Wir mussten dann andere Rufnummern der Firma probieren, bis uns ein anderer Mitarbeiter versicherte, dass jemand da sein würde. Am Ende war tatsächlich jemand da, den wir Wachklingeln musste. Er brachte uns zum Flughafen, die Kaution war sehr schnell wieder ausgezahlt und der Mitarbeiter war echt freundlich! Der Anbieter muss unbedingt an seiner Kommunikation arbeiten. Im ist vermutlich nicht bewusst, das seine Kunden Urlaub haben und den Urlaub nicht mit dem Suchen von Handynummern Verbringen möchte. Sonst war echt alles top!
Nick Hunter
Nick Hunter
2024.01.18
After much deliberation we decided that we would hire a car and drive ourselves on our Trip to Sri Lanka in December and January. This is trickier than it seems to organise as although we have full United Kingdom Licences and it was easy to obtain an International Driving Permit, you also need to have an endorsement certificate from AA of Ceylon in order to be able to hire a car and drive in Sri Lanka. Heshan and the team at Europcar were able to sort this out for us, we sent photos of all of documents and they took care of sorting out the endorsement for us, which was was fantastic as it meant we were able to pick up the car and get on our way without any complications. Our flight was delayed by 4 hours, but Heshan was aware of the delay and sent someone from the office to pick us up and the airport and take us to Europcar who are about 15 minutes away. We sorted out the paperwork and were on our way really quickly, and had a suprise upgrade to an SUV, which was invaluable on our trip, especially when we visited Ritigala Forest Monastery! Heshan and the team were amazing and so incredibly helpful, we messaged to ask if we could return the car a day early as we changed our plans and decided to spend our last night in Negombo and it was not a problem at all, Heshan even drove us in the car to the hotel we were staying in once we had dealt with the paperwork. Really can't thank Heshan and the team at Europcar enough, they helped make our trip to Sri Lanka perfect and one we will always remember!
cmedia1337
cmedia1337
2024.01.02
Unseriös und unfähig. Wenn ihr euch den Urlaub ruinieren wollt dann mietet euer Auto hier...
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.01.04
Dear cmedia, We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered with us, and we deeply regret any inconvenience or frustration caused during your rental. Your feedback is taken seriously, and we are committed to addressing and resolving the issues you have raised. To better understand the specifics of your situation and to investigate the concerns you've mentioned, could you please send an email to customerservices@europcar.lk with your booking reference number and additional details about the challenges you faced? This information will allow us to thoroughly review your case and take appropriate corrective measures. We understand the importance of a reliable and hassle-free rental experience, and we are genuinely sorry for falling short of your expectations. Rest assured, we will use your feedback to identify areas for improvement and ensure a more positive experience for our customers in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we appreciate your patience as we work to address your concerns. Kind regards, Europcar Sri Lanka Customer Service Team
Stella Rajamani thevar
Stella Rajamani thevar
2023.12.20
No proper response. We waited at airport for 3 hours
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.01.01
Dear Stella, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while waiting at the airport, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your time is valuable, and we regret any delay that occurred during your rental process. To assist us in addressing your concerns promptly, could you please provide us with your booking reference number? This information will enable us to investigate the issue thoroughly and take the necessary steps to prevent such delays in the future. We understand the frustration that a lengthy wait can cause, and we are committed to improving our services based on your feedback. Our customer service team is here to assist you, and we would like to ensure that we address this matter appropriately. Thank you for your understanding, and we look forward to the opportunity to make amends. Kind regards, Europcar Sri Lanka Customer Service Team
Advertisement
Thierry Stiedel
Thierry Stiedel
2023.12.19
La location s'est passée très facilement avec chauffeur à l'arrivée de l' aéroport et pour nous y accompagner.
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.01.01
Dear Thierry, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with Europcar Sri Lanka. We are delighted to hear that your rental process went smoothly and that our driver provided you with a pleasant and accommodating experience, especially upon your arrival from the airport. Safe travels, and thank you for choosing Europcar Sri Lanka! Best regards, Europcar Sri Lanka Customer Service Team
Julian Dietz
Julian Dietz
2023.12.07
Hat alles super geklappt!
Reply from Europcar Sri Lanka 2024.01.01
Dear Julian, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that everything went great during your experience with Europcar Sri Lanka. Providing a seamless and enjoyable rental experience is our goal, and we're delighted to know that we met your expectations. Best regards, Europcar Sri Lanka Customer Service Team
Nandana Adithya Amarasekara
Nandana Adithya Amarasekara
2023.12.05