Ellerbeck Narrowboats

Ellerbeck Narrowboats Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
759 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (746)
David Barnes
David Barnes
2024.04.14
Excellent day trip Recieved perfect instruction staff very friendly Reccomended as a family day especially with children and there is a pub for lunch with ice cream parlour on the return And the dog found the ice cream exceptional
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.04.15
Hi David, thanks so much for such a great review, it definitely describes a great day out for all the family, as well as the dog! See you all again very soon. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Advertisement
Geoff Lygo
Geoff Lygo
2024.04.12
A fantastic day out, have been before but it was another lovely day out for the family. Excellent service from Lucien and a faultless boat
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.04.15
Hi Geoff, great to see you again following your previous booking and after 20 years or so since you had a boat moored here at our boatyard. See you again very soon. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Michael Moran
Michael Moran
2024.04.11
Went on a day out with the grandkids they loved every minute. Can't wait for next time.
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.04.15
Hi Michael, many thanks for your great review and we can't wait to welcome you and the grandkids here again next time too. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Venkata Sireesh... S
Venkata Sireesh... S
2024.04.11
Verified
Fantastic day out First time moorers and Lucien was great and took time to explain safety and mooring with 2 small kids. Excellent service and would highly recommended it and we will go again with them. Siri
steve t
steve t
2024.04.01
Verified
Romantic, beautiful, perfect If you are a romantic who wants a day on your own with a partner or with friends or family then a day on a narrowboat is perfect. We got lucky on the weather but hugging under an umbrella works just as well. The boats are functional but that means you do not have to be over protective with the kids. Just respect the water and the boat. A trip to Wigan locks is all you need if you slow for moored and passing boats, you can stop and picnic or head the other direction to a pub. The peace and closeness to nature means’s the children young and ilex will love the trip. If you go out of season at £120 it is good value for a whole day out, shared trips mean it is affordable for a few friends or family who share the cost. The safety brief is not as tortuous as some safety briefs but it is perhaps a bit longer that necessary. Labling all the buttons and knobs and controls might facilitate a short brief. The heating controls not being obvious and intuitive is an example. I haven’t been on a narrowboat since I was 8, that was 50+ years ago, but turning around and manoeuvring to stop were easy. You don’t need any muscle to control the boats and don’t go through local. Anyone at any age can manage. Disability access is limited, it is a narrowboat after all, but if you have limited access and can manage a few stairs you will be fine. You will not regret this, simple and romantic day out. I am 59 and my girlfriend is 62, we had a top day out with hours of cuddling and the odd romantic kiss - it was perfect Let Lucien and his colleagues provide you with their help, you will have a wonderful time.
Advertisement
Andrea D
Andrea D
2024.04.01
Verified
Surprise 60th sailing! We had a superb day yesterday on Mirlees celebrating a good friend’s 60th birthday. There were 8 of us in total, all beginners to the canal world. The staff/owners were professional, knowledgeable and friendly. We were given a thorough safety briefing prior to setting off in the direction of Wigan. We made a couple of stops on the way back which were very pleasant. We ran into some technical difficulties towards the end of the day but a quick call to the chaps back at the base who came out and sorted it, and we were back on our way in no time at all. We were delighted with the day on the whole, the sun was shining, the canal boat community so friendly and welcoming. All in all a wonderful experience and one we will certainly recommend to others and repeat ourselves. 5 stars :)
Cara
Cara
2024.03.31
Verified
A Fabulous Time Had By All We had a party of 8 including two children, celebrating a special birthday yesterday. From the moment we arrived everything was just fabulous. Lucien gave us a warm welcome and safety briefing before we set off. The boat was well kept and well equipped. We were very lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy the spring sunshine as we sailed up the canal. We ate at the Malthouse before returning to the boat and heading to Fredrick's for ice cream. Great fun was had by all and we made memories to last a lifetime! We've started plotting our return already.
James Ormerod
James Ormerod
2024.03.29
Hired a boat for the day, 4 adults and 2 kids. Superb experience from start to finish. Boats very well equipped and a great booking experience and handover. Would definitely recommend.
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.03.30
Hi James, thanks to you all for a great review, I'm so pleased that you had a great experience with us and that you'd recommend us. Hopefully see you all again very soon. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Andy Rogers
Andy Rogers
2024.03.27
Fantastic day out and would highly recommend. Took charge of one of the narrow boats for my 50th birthday and had one of the best times !
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.03.27
Hi Andy, thank you so much for your great review. Everyone says a day out on board a boat on the canal is a lasting memory and what better way to have a day out celebrating your 50th birthday. See you on your 51st!! ;-) Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Advertisement
Robin_Anne_01
Robin_Anne_01
2024.03.23
Verified
Different But Great Day Out. Great day out. Staff very welcoming and explained everything really well about the boat, the canal etiquette, routes to take, etc.. We took the route up past Botany Bay to Malthouse Farm which took just over 2 hours, and fully intend to book again to go the other direction. Thank you for a great day out.
ciera
ciera
2024.03.17
Would definitely recommend! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were given all the right information and didn't have any difficulties despite it being our first time doing this. It was a lovely day out!
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.03.27
Hi Ciera, thank you so much for you very kind review. It just goes to show that despite never taking a control of a boat before, it is easier than people think so maybe you review will encourage others to do the same. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
John Edwards
John Edwards
2024.03.15
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.03.27
Thank you John, what could we do to earn that 5th star? Let us know and come back again soon. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
stephen ashworth
stephen ashworth
2024.03.09
We were very lucky that they had availability the same day as it was a spare of the moment thing. We had a great day, helpful staff and the boat was clean and reliable, we stopped at a couple of pubs on the route, wish we would of brought hats and gloves but the boat has heating inside, we will be coming back in the summer months c
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.03.10
Hi Stephen, it was a pleasure to see you all and thanks for coming to us for your spare of the moment day out. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your day, the boat, the staff and the facilities along the canal. See you again in the summer. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Advertisement
Morgan Jayne
Morgan Jayne
2024.02.29
Wonderfully friendly boat yard and a perfect place to stop for fuel, gas, and the like. We are so lucky to have places like this around - service with a smile :)
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.03.10
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words. It is a lovely place to be and service with a smile is very easy with such friendly customers. Happy cruising and we'll hopefully see you again in the future. Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats
Ste C
Ste C
2024.02.24
Verified
Great day Took my family today we hired the green boat We got there to be welcomed by Steve and his lovely dog he took us through all about safety and the boat then we set off for 8hrs on the canal we all had an amazing time and would highly recommend this company for your day boat hire will definitely be going again Thanks again Steve and his dog
JCB B
JCB B
2024.02.19
Verified
Flourless experience from start to finish. Dogs welcome With the weather on our side. A very enjoyable experience. We would highly recommend. A lovely day out on the canal. Dogs welcome
ian corbett
ian corbett
2023.11.06
Great location Bridge 71 on the Leeds Liverpool canal
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.02.02
Hi Ian, thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location of Bridge 71 on the Leeds Liverpool canal. We hope to see you again soon.
Advertisement
Keith Allred
Keith Allred
2023.11.04
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.02.02
Dear Keith, Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We're always striving to give our best. If you have any suggestions or feedback, please do not hesitate to share. We value your input!
jam442016
jam442016
2023.11.03
Verified
Our third trip A friend and myself arranged a last minute trip on an Ellerbeck narrow boat yesterday (just the two of us although the boats can carry ten people). This was our third time hiring a boat from here and although the weather at times was lousy, we were well prepared and yet again had an absolute blast. For me, there's no better way to unwind than to spend the day on the canal. Yesterday must have been Kingfisher day too as we saw Kingfishers on seven separate occasions. That was outstanding. All three of Ellerbeck's boats are well maintained and include a full sized ceramic, flushing toilet, a fully working kitchenette with gas hobs, sink and hot and cold water. Cutlery and crockery are also provided, so what more could you want at a totally reasonable price too. The owner Lucien is also a absolute pleasure to deal with, so do yourself a favour and hire a boat from Ellerbeck, I doubt very much that you'll be disappointed
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2024.02.02
We're delighted you enjoyed your trip with us again! It thrills us to know our well-maintained boats and services were up to par. Looking forward to your fourth adventure with us!
Rachel Britton
Rachel Britton
2023.10.30
Brilliant day for all the family Very helpful friendly staff Would highly recommend We ventured from chorley up to haigh hall and back Everything on board which was needed Great value for money
Reply from Ellerbeck Narrowboats 2023.11.03
Hi Rachel, We appreciate your kind words! We're thrilled to hear you and your family had a great day. Thank you for recommending us! Lucien @ Ellerbeck Narrowboats