Riad Dar Zaman

Riad Dar Zaman Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
997 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (977)
Christian T
Christian T
2024.04.17
Verified
I will never be persuaded to stay anywhere else in Marrakech Stayed here with my girlfriend just for one night on our first ever night in Morocco and just wished we had stayed longer. The best room, the best staff and an unbelievable breakfast. One of the best places I have ever stayed anywhere in the world
Rochelle
Rochelle
2024.04.15
10 Verified
Great hosts, comfortable, nicely designed and good value for the money. ☺ Tastefully decorated and interesting. Had some nice touches in the room. Great people Adeel was fantastic very helpful and friendly. Peter the owner got in contact beforehand to give us his number to assist to the Rhiad and Adeel met us to take our luggage. Was a short walk from the taxi drop off. ☹ Nothing was really nice and good value for money. Breakfast was really nice.
Sophie V
Sophie V
2024.04.11
Verified
Must stay! You have got to stay here!! We stayed here for only one night but wished we had stayed longer! The experience was very personal and the staff went out of their way to help us. Hassan and Adil treated us so unbelievably well. They were so welcoming, kind and informative, spending time to tell us all we needed to know about Marrakesh. We stayed in the terrace room which was beautifully decorated, perfectly clean and the best situated room in the riad. The riad itself is absolutely beautiful, more simple than others we have stayed in but felt like more of an authentic experience. The breakfast was the best we had in the whole of Marrakesh and we couldn’t get enough of the complimentary tea. Peter (the owner) has made it simply incredible and hired the perfect team. This place is a must stay. Thank you so much for making our first night in Morocco!
Ragnhildur Þ
Ragnhildur Þ
2024.04.09
Verified
Fantastic cooking class We did the cooking class, and it was wonderful. Peter, Karima and Hassan treated us like friends. Peter took us around the Medina and showed us corners of it we wouldn't have found ourselves, like a breadoven which we could get really close to. Karima and Hassan then taught us how to cook the most delicious Moroccan dishes. I highly recommend it!
Katherine
Katherine
2024.04.09
10 Verified
One of the best places I have ever stayed ☺ The staff were wonderful. Thoughtful, unassuming, gracious, helpful, courteous. The food was AMAZING, I need to eat gluten free food and we're not big meat eaters and they accommodated all our needs and the breakfasts were tasty and nutritious, the 3 course evening meal we had was the best food we had in Morocco - fresh, delicious and lovingly prepared. The decor was stunning, it felt luxurious and homely. It was all wonderful and made our holiday really special.
MonicaTW
MonicaTW
2024.03.30
Verified
Another fabulous stay at this beautiful, tranquil riad. A third visit to this gorgeous riad. It’s a real oasis of calm in the middle of the amazing madness that is Marrakech. Nothing is too much trouble for Peter, Hassan, Adil and Karim - we felt so well looked after, completely at home ☺️ The cookery class with the lovely Karima and Hassan was excellent. Everything was so well explained and the food, as with all the food at Dar Zaman, was delicious. We will definitely be back! ❤️
Michelle Brook
Michelle Brook
2024.03.28
Best vegan and vegetarian breakfast in Marrakesh! If you are vegan, vegetarian or somewhere in the middle, this is an excellent place to stay; breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and you can also order an array of vegetarian and vegan options for lunch and dinner, which are excellent. We booked our airport transfers directly with the Riad, plus an incredible welcome dinner. After a busy day of travel and stress it was exactly what we needed. Peter, the owner of the Riad sent over a very substantial menu beforehand that caters to all food preferences. We booked a cooking class at the Riad; having never done one before I was not sure what to expect, but it was fascinating to learn about Morrocan food and techniques, plus a very interesting local tour, giving attendees an insight into local life in Marrakesh led by Peter. It was our first time in Marrakech so we booked a half-day tour of the Medina through the Riad; our guide, Yusuf was very pleasant and interesting company, and took us on an excellent and comprehensive tour of the local sights, and gave us an insight into the local life. We haven't done a booked tour before, and we are glad we decided to do this, as it made the experience so much richer. Room was very clean, courtyard and terrace were lovely, and we were happy to discover that the Riad has it's own water filtration and uses reusable glass bottles; and of course are happy to re-fill any flasks. We try not to use plastic bottles so this was a big plus in our book. The staff at Dar Zaman are so incredibly welcoming, friendly and warm, and they create a very a pleasant and tranquil vibe that is truly rare. Thank you, Peter, Karim, Hassan, Karima and Adil! TLDR; book this Riad, do the airport transfers, welcome dinner and the excursions that take your fancy (even if you are not an excursions person, as I thought I was!)
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Christian
Christian
2024.03.22
10 Verified
It is a little tucked away, several corners from access to a taxi. But once you discovered the way, it’s easy to get use ☺ Very cosy, very charming. It’s like staying with friends.
Kris Faasse
Kris Faasse
2024.03.19
We can’t say enough good about this Riad. It’s a beautiful oasis in the Medina, with a warm and welcoming staff who seem to go out of their way to be responsive. The food is wonderful and breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend the dinners and the cooking class. As a vegetarian, they were very accommodating and I always had more than I could eat.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Claudia Sporta
Claudia Sporta
2024.03.18
Super vakantie gehad met verblijf in Riad Dar Zaman! Het ontbijt was helemaal in orde. Iedereen was super behulpzaam. We volgden ook een kookles en dit was een hoogtepunt van onze vakantie.
Location
Rooms
Service
ScottyLovesFIsh
ScottyLovesFIsh
2024.03.17
Verified
Blissful Oasis Coming back to this riad after exploring the city is like being a ship coming into port after many adventures on the high seas. The delicious food and excellent service was provided in an atmosphere of peaceful pleasure that never failed to delight and soothe. Our host put together a wonderful stay for us with a side trip to Essouria and a most excellent private guided tour of the city provided by a registered guide, Driss Oussik, who more than answered our questions about history, geography, and everything else. We finished our stay with a cooking class right at the riad which started with a trip to the markets and a visit to a community oven. This riad is a tremendous resource if you want to see Marrakesh but don't know where to start.
Rebecca
Rebecca
2024.03.14
10 Verified
Exceptional ☺ Brilliant customer service
markinmiami
markinmiami
2024.03.01
Verified
Intimate retreat in the bustling medina Pssst…shouldn’t be telling you but dar Zaman is a gem! A small restored house whose owner Peter & his fab team (thanks Hassan Adil & the ladies) run it professionally, yet you feel like family (even as a single gay male). From the freshly prepared, excellent food to the chill-out roof terrace , it’s a place I happily come back to. Rooms aren’t big but well equipped including with nice toiletries, and finding it can be an initial challenge but maybe that’ll keep it the best (kept ) secret in Marrakesh;)
Kris F
Kris F
2024.02.28
Verified
A wonderful place to stay in Marrakesh, especially for a vegetarian! Walking into the Riad after a day touring was like walking into an oasis. The staff are warm and welcoming and we really enjoyed getting to know them a bit, something that is possible in a small Riad. We scheduled tours through them which was super convenient and reliable. The food is traditional Moroccan and was absolutely delicious. We highly recommend having a welcome dinner and taking the cooking class to fully experience the warm hospitality and wonderful food. As the only vegetarian in our group, they were very accommodating and I had marvelous meals.
Gesche Aleks
Gesche Aleks
2024.02.24
The staff did an amazing job making us feel at home. Thanks a lot to Adil and Hassan! Wholeheartedly recommend the Riad, and the cooking class. The downside is that after making and eating the tajine all other tajines we had in Morocco were pretty bad (and we knew why).. Karima is a blessed cook, so have some of her food if you get the chance!
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Jeremy
Jeremy
2024.02.24
8.0 Verified
Privately run Riyad in Marrakech with fantastic staff ☺ Small Riyad run by Peter and his incredible staff. Built around a small courtyard with a rooftop. Breakfast and service are both top notch ☹ Location slightly out of the way but still very walkable to everything you need
Ines
Ines
2024.02.24
10 Verified
☺A prontidão e a simpatia do Hassan e do Adil foram o ponto alto da viagem. Super acolhedores e sempre prontos para esclarecem todas as questões que tínhamos e nos darem os melhores conselhos. Sem dúvida que sem eles a viagem não teria corrido tão bem quanto correu. O pequeno almoço preparado em cada manhã era maravilhoso. ☹O facto de os quartos não serem trancados exteriormente tal como acontece na cultura marroquina é estranho. Correu tudo bem e nada desapareceu, mas sendo um alojamento turístico poderia funcionar de outra forma
Michel van Santen
Michel van Santen
2024.02.23
The riad is beautiful! We had a great stay. The staf are amazing, I recomend it to everyone who wants to have a good stay in Marrakesh!
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Riad Dar Zaman 2024.02.24
We loved having you stay! Thanks for coming 😀💚
Mohamed E
Mohamed E
2024.02.20
Verified
Cooking Class and Mdina Tour by Riad Zaman We did a cooking class at Dar Zaman, not only did we learn alot, but we had so much fun with the riad’s chef and team making Moroccan dishes. Before the cooking class started, we were taken by the host Peter on a tour around the Mdina, which was both insightful and fun, as we toured local shops and bakeries and learned about the Mdina’s culture. I’d highly recommend the riad and the cooking class, especially given how lovely the team are, additionally, it’s a great idea to learn about the culture and the history of the Mdina. 5 star rating!!!
Duncan S
Duncan S
2024.02.16
Verified
Excellent cookery class We didn't stay here, we did the cookery course. It was really excellent. We were the only couple that day so had undivided attention. The market walk with Peter was fascinating and informative. And then the cooking with Hassan and Karima was great, they couldn't have been lovelier. The level of involvement was just right and the recipes and experience we took away made it all seem highly achievable when we try it again at home.