Sukia Travel Reviews

Sukia Travel Reviews

4.9

Excellent - based on 312 reviews

sukiatravel.com
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (312)
Tina Weyant-Frick
Tina Weyant-Frick
2024-02-24
recommends
I highly recommend Sukia Travel for your next Osa Peninsula Adventure! Three friends and I recently did the 6-day Osa Jungle Adventure tour with Sukia. This tour included an overnight in Corcovado National Park, snorkeling near Cano Island, a night hike, canyoning/repelling down waterfalls, and a Mangrove boat tour. I will add the disclaimer that this tour is not for everyone. It involved a lot of early mornings and a fair bit of physical activity. Even if you are used to hiking, do not underestimate the heat and humidity. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation of sitting on the beach and sipping cocktails, then this tour is not for you. It is geared more for people looking for adventure, beautiful scenery, abundant wildlife, and some serious characters in the form of the guides. We missed the 11am boat from Sierpe so we had to take the 4pm. This put us in Drake Bay around 5:30. I would recommend a backpack or duffel instead of a suitcase if you have it. Getting off the boat in Drake Bay involved jumping right from the boat and onto the beach. The Capitan then hands you your luggage. One of my friends remarked “This is the strangest baggage claim ever”. That evening is typically when people do the night hike, but as we got in too late, we had to push that to another night. Instead, we had dinner with Estephanie, who would serve as our main contact person during our stay in Drake Bay. Estephanie is hilarious. She made us feel very welcome, and only a little threatened (lol jk…sort of). She is also a fantastic dancer if you get the privilege of seeing some of her moves. The next morning, we started our overnight in Corcovado. The boat picked us up on the beach and took us out to the National Park. This is where we met Michael, our first guide. We began the day with a leisurely wildlife-viewing hike through secondary rainforest. Here we saw tapirs, coatimundi, great curassow, spider monkeys, and many other species of birds and insects. Michael had an impressive eye for spotting wildlife that we otherwise never would have seen. We stopped at Sirena Station for lunch, which was a perfect refresh before things got a lot less leisurely. Another boat took us over to San Pedrillo Station, the starting point of our hike through primary forest. Here the foliage became denser, making it difficult to see wildlife; however we did come across some aguti and wild pigs. The terrain also became more rugged, which combined with the heat and humidity made for a difficult hike. We were very happy to make it to Corcovado’s Backyard, a little oasis in the rainforest that would serve as our stopping point for the night. Here we were greeted with a refreshing outdoor shower and an eccentric bartender named Capi. We could only understand about 25% of what he was saying, which may have been for the best. We drank cold beer and swapped jokes with Michael and Carolina (another one of the guides) before calling it an early night. After breakfast and a few cups of coffee, we started our hike out. The main attraction this day was a gorgeous waterfall. Jumping into the cool pool at the base of the waterfall was a welcome relief from the heat. By noon we reached our pickup point where we had lunch and caught a ride back to town. Here we said goodbye to Michaeal, who was not only a knowledgeable guide, but also a very good sport dealing with four giggling women telling dirty jokes for two days. We spent the rest of the afternoon lounging around town and tending to some sore feet. Another early morning found us back on the beach waiting for the boat to take us out snorkeling on Cano Island. Brandon, our guide for the day, impressed us with his free diving skills and knowledge of marine/reef life. We went to two snorkel spots where we saw multiple turtles, sharks, and numerous types of fish and corals. We took a break on the beach, and I remember sitting there thinking “I don’t think this could get any better”. That’s when Brandon walked over and cracked open some fresh coconuts for us to enjoy. After a wonderful lunch and a quick rest, it was back up to Sukia office to don our muck boots for the night hike. Sergio was our guide for all things creepy crawly. We came across many, many, many spiders as well as an eyelash viper, glass frogs, and poison dart frogs. We even saw a rare poison dart frog that is only found on the Osa Peninsula. Sergios passion for herpetology was infectious. He reminded me a little bit of Jeff Corwin or Steve Irwin, both childhood heroes of mine. The next day ended up being my favorite - canyoning with David and Yok. David is the impressive and knowledgeable young founder of Sukia. He was also quick with a joke, which he told us was payback for our first guide, Michael. We had a short hike to the river where David pointed out beautiful flora and explained a little about the interconnectivity of the forest. Once we hit our first repel point, the real fun began. After a quick safety lesson, we were over the edge and heading down the river. I can’t remember the exact number, but I believe we passed 7 waterfalls, had 3 repel points, and one jump from the rocks into a deep pool. That night we had the pleasure of going out for drinks and dancing with some of the Sukia staff. After a night of laughs, dancing, and maybe a little too much cacique it was off to bed. Another early morning brought a somewhat emotional goodbye to Drake Bay. We hopped on another boat that would serve as our Mangrove tour and a taxi back to Sierpe. Super Charlie or Charlie the Great was our final guide. On the mangrove tour we saw squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, capuchins, crocodiles, common potoo, and macaws. I didn’t catch our captain’s name, but his skills maneuvering through narrow mangrove channels were impressive. Each one of our guides was unique and fantastic. Their passion is evident, and it is hard to go through this tour without a deep appreciation for the area. We came to Drakes Bay for the scenery and wildlife, but it’s the people that make us want to go back. I am already trying to figure out when I can return.
Max
Max
2024-02-23
Nie wieder mit diesem Anbieter eine Mangroventour Wir hatten ein viel zu kleines Boot und waren 8 Personen insgesamt. Keine Stühle nur Bretter mit Kissen ohne Lehne und das für ein 5-6 Stunden Mangroventour. Die Fahrt war absolute Katastrophe. Das Mittagessen wollten sie nach 4 Stunden nicht in Sierpe sondern am Ausgangspunkt in Drake Bay offerieren, um die absolut ideenlos. Nie wieder dieser Anbieter.
Rens Houwer
Rens Houwer
2024-02-23
We booked a day tour to corcovado with Sukia. After getting told that the starting time was 6 am, changed to 8.30 am, switched back to 6 and then again to 8.30 am, we were late at the boat because it was supposed to leave earlier(!!) than 8.30. Little did we know. After a guy came up the hill telling us to run to the boat, we got ordered to sit down, that’s how it started. The visit to the national park was very nice! Good guide, very easy going and a nice group of people. Saw a lot of animals! On the way back it was all the same as the first ride, chaotic, not friendly. I would recommend visiting the national park, but I’d think very thorough about doing it with this operator, or at least make sure 17 times that the time to leave is right and make sure you’re there 30min before.
Reply from Sukia Travel 2024-02-24
Hello Rens, We sincerely regret to hear about the confusion and inconsistency you faced with the scheduling and coordination of your Corcovado day tour. It's disappointing to learn about your stressful experience, especially since such confusion could significantly impact the start of what should have been a memorable adventure. Nonetheless, it's heartening to know that the visit to the national park itself was enjoyable, marked by an engaging guide, a friendly group, and the delightful observation of wildlife. I want to clarify that the tour you experienced was not conducted by Sukia Travel but by a competitor. Despite your diligent search on our website, you wouldn't find any offering for a day tour exclusively to Sirena. The reason behind this omission lies in our foundational principles, which I'll explain below, highlighting why the tour you mentioned does not align with our ethos. 1. Nature with Minimal Artificial Intervention: As a company birthed by passionate nature guides, our fascination with the rainforest mirrors the awe an ancient philosopher might feel upon encountering a modern metropolis. Our enthusiasm springs from the intricate interconnections, pollination processes, and the complex networks within the forest. We cherish the subtle artistry in the patterns of leaves and trees. Sirena, while offering remarkable wildlife sightings, tends to attract large crowds, detracting from the serene, untouched nature of other areas. - IMPORTANT NOTE: However, an overnight stay at Sirena allows for exploration beyond the crowded trails, offering a more intimate encounter with the forest, we can be confident to offer sirena overnight. And our full day tour, which include both Sirena and San Pedrillo, aim to showcase the wilderness while staying true to our commitment to minimal artificial interference in the other station. 2. Authenticity Over Scripted Experiences: After undergoing a robotic, scripted training for a cruise ship, I was inspired to ensure Sukia Travel's offerings were the antithesis of mass tourism and inauthenticity. A day trip to Sirena, without the depth of an overnight stay or a full day exploring both stations, feels too akin to the mainstream, something we intentionally avoid maintaining our authenticity. 3. Sustainability Through Ecotourism: Since 1987, Costa Rica has seen its forested area increase from 21% to 53% in 30 years, thanks to ecotourism's role in encouraging preservation over environmentally harmful agriculture. This delicate balance is crucial, and we strive to involve as many people as possible in this sustainable business model. Collaborating with competitors and the government, we support local providers and face the logistical challenges of operating in Corcovado, where securing a single ticket can involve extensive communication. It was made clear from the outset that Sukia Travel would not be directly operating your tour because we had no availability for our full day tour. Consequently and in good faith, we acted as intermediaries, connecting you with another company. Unfortunately, but comprehensibly, due to your last minute booking, they suffer logistical challenges and several last-minute changes. I must make clear again, that they were in charge of your logistics and tour operation. In this specific case, I prefer not to operate the tour if I consider that logistics can cause confusion and stress in our clients. But regardless of their good intention, they did cause confusion! We cannot guarantee the service level of third-party operators, especially for tours that do not align with our values. To our future clients, we stress the importance of booking well in advance, especially during peak season. While it was unfortunate, we could not accommodate your tour directly. We consider this review unfair to our company, given that we did not operate this tour, nor the logistics. David Villanueva Founder and Guide Sukia Travel
Sydney Shatz
Sydney Shatz
2024-02-21
An incredible experience from start to end. The 3-day 2-night adventure in Corcovado was informative, challenging, and fun! We saw tons of animals and environments throughout the park. Overall the tour was organized and timely, we remained well-fed and hydrated, and the accommodations were rustic but very clean. Felt like a giant slumber party in a fun way! Be prepared to sweat! Our guide Andre was absolutely phenomenal. Personable, knowable, kind, and well trained in trip leading and first aid. I felt extremely safe with him as my guide and he was genuinely committed to an amazing tour for us. He also got great pictures of the animals on his scope. This is the best way to see Corcovado and I would recommend it to any physically fit and interested parties!
Steve P
Steve P
2024-02-20
Verified
Highlight of our trip to Costa Rica! Amazing all round experience! Ricardo (our tour guide) was brilliant, spoke perfect English and was very knowledgeable. So enthusiastic about his job and genuinely as excited to see the animals as we were. We had an amazing time. Big thank you to all the team at Sukia. We saw soooo many animals. Our boat captain detoured to see some animals as we left sierpe. Also on the way back we were lucky enough to spot some whales in the distance, the captain's were happy to take a slight detour so that we could get a better view. Amazing all round experience. Would highly recommend.
Stefan Duerr
Stefan Duerr
2024-02-14
I really liked the guides and the tours 😊 very competent overall, and amazing food!
Abigail Wallace
Abigail Wallace
2024-02-14
We did the 2 night Sukia excursion and had an amazing time. It truly was the highlight of our trip. We are so appreciative of Ricardo and Micheal. They were fantastic guides! Would highly recommend Sukia.
Christopher Leader
Christopher Leader
2024-02-14
I would highly recommend Sukia, especially if you get Ricardo or Michael, honestly all the guides are great. They keep it to 6 people a group compared to 8-10 you'll see in other ones. I would recommend the two night stay like we did but the 2nd day hike is no joke so make sure your prepared. At the beginning, paying for everything was a bit unorganized but the rest of our trip made up for it. Great times, Pura Vida.
Melanie G
Melanie G
2024-02-14
Verified
Diese Tour sollte man unbedingt machen Wir haben das volle Paket gebucht. 7 Tage Abenteuer in Drakey Bay und im Corcovado Nationalpark. Es ist nicht die günstigste Tour die wir in Costa Rica gemacht haben, doch für uns hat sich jeder Cent gelohnt. Auser im Corcovado hatten wir jeden Tag einen anderen Guide. Alle waren sehr kompetent und gaben ihr Wissen über die Natur gerne weiter. Das gute an Sukia Travel ist das sie Lokale Guids angestellt haben und sich dadurch bestens auskennen. Die 3 Tage im Corcovado waren aber das absolute Highlight. Everest ist der beste Guide den man haben kann. Er lebt für seinen Job. Seine Begeisterung und sein Wissen half uns soooo viele Tiere zu sehen. Danke viel mal und macht weiter so.
Barbara Hug
Barbara Hug
2024-02-11
The night walk was fascinating. André expertly guided us through the forest and provided us with exciting information about the flora and fauna. Thank you very much for the spectacular photos you took for us!
Mathieu Larouche-Faucher
Mathieu Larouche-Faucher
2024-02-11
The best guides! Did full day corcovado with Andre, night tour with Sergio and canyoning with David. The activities were so fun, and intense but we always felt safe and in good hands. Important to note that the boat ride from Sierpe is not included in the tour, communication about that and some other details (pickup, what to bring) could be more clear.
Wo Se
Wo Se
2024-02-11
Great experience. We did the Corcovado overnight trip. Everything was well organized, we had a super guide. The group had a great size with six people.
Elodie
Elodie
2024-02-11
Verified
Expérience à vivre une fois dans sa vie... Nous avions pris le night tour et la sortie snorkeling à Canot Island. Notre avis est mitigé car nous avons une superbe expérience lors de notre sortie à Canot Island. Nous ne sommes plus sûrs du nom du guide, nous pensons qu'il s'agissait de Brandon. Il était passionné, bienveillant dans l'échange et l'humour. Il a pris le temps de nous montrer la faune marine et de nous donner de nombreuses explications. Nous avons adoré cette excursions avec des arrêts sur deux très belles plages et le repas du midi dans un très bon restaurant. Les spots de snorkeling sont variés. A faire absolument si vous aimez ce genre d'aventure. Nous avons également fais un night tour ( dans la jungle à l'entrée de Drale Bay) avec un autre guide de cette même compagnie mais nous avons moins apprécié même si l'activité en soi était magique. Le guide semblait peu enthousiaste et peu loquace, probablement car nous étions que 2 cependant très connaisseur de son sujet et il restait passionné par cette faune/flore exceptionnelle.
jilguero63
jilguero63
2024-02-10
Verified
Una experiencia maravillosa Los de Sukia me han recibido en el aeropuerto de Puerto Drake con mucha cortesía y profesionalidad. El alojamiento, rústico pero perfectamente a la altura de mis expectativas. Comida mexicana, preparada con mucho amor por Kendar y charlas muy agradables en la tarde con Estefanía, siempre atenta a mis pedidos. Todo el personal del Hostal muy simpático, informal y atento a mis exigencias. Los tours perfectamente organizados, con guías competentes, pacientes y amables. Lo recomiendo absolutamente. Han sido 5 días inolvidables. He paseado por el bosque primario, he hecho snorkeling, el tour de los manglares... Ha sido un sueño. Gracias, chicos!
Jonathan Elliott
Jonathan Elliott
2024-02-07
André was an amazing guide, incredible knowledge and such sharp eyes! He did a wonderful job taking us safely through the jungle, explaining the flora and fauna and ensuring we had great views of the abundant wildlife. Add in a great sense of humour, along with endless patience and our experience couldn’t have been better!
Nina Granow
2024-02-06
Life Changing Experience! If you love nature, wildlife, adventure, and learning about the interconnectedness of species then I highly recommend a tour with Sukia Travel! We did the Sirena Station overnight in Corcovado National Park and every minute was incredible. Our wonderful guide Bryan was there to pick us up from Drake Bay and answer all of our questions. For the next ~30 hours he guided us through nature walks and shared so much knowledge of the land, plants, animals, interactions. He was just as excited by every wildlife encounter as we were and kept us smiling and intrigued through the heat and humidity. This overnight was the highlight of our Costa Rica trip. Thank you Bryan and the Sukia team!!!!
Natalia N
Natalia N
2024-02-06
Verified
Great experience The activity was very well organized, the guide was really good and the hike was beautiful (Corcovado, la Sirena and el Pedrillo)! I totally recommend.
Susann Wegmüller
Susann Wegmüller
2024-02-04
After a phone call with David, we decided to do the Corcovado 2 nights tour. Our guide Andre was very motivated throughout the whole tour to show and explain as much as possible about the many animals and plants we encountered. You could really feel his great knowledge and love for nature. In the 1.5 days at the Sirena station we encountered a lot of animals, such as monkeys, sloths, tapirs, a boa, toucans and many more. On the second part of the tour, starting at San Pedrillo Station, the focus is mainly on the hike through the rainforest and a good level of stamina would certainly be helpful. On the third morning, we even made a stop at a waterfall where we were able to go for a swim. Of all the places we visited in Costa Rica, we definitely felt closest to nature on this tour and it was a totally unique experience. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip and we would recommend a visit to Corcovado to anyone.
James Robbs
James Robbs
2024-02-03
We did the 3 day, 2 night Corcovado tour with Sukia and had a great time. If I could give the experience 4.5 stars, I would. Our guide, Evaristo, was exceptionally good at spotting wildlife. We saw at least twice as many animals on the first day of the tour as the rest of our 2 weeks in Costa Rica. I'd recommend the 2 night experience for anyone who likes adventure, is reasonably fit (by European standards) and is happy sleeping in fairly spartan conditions - think 50 person jungle dorms with no fan or aircon in intense heat and humidity. The only negative in my opinion was the price - $615 felt quite steep given the aforementioned lack of comfort, especially in Sirena station, where we were charged extra for basics like coffee.
Juan Jose
Juan Jose
2024-02-02
Verified
Experiencia inolvidable Sin duda vivir la experiencia en Drake son Sukia hizo que todo fuera aún más maravilloso de lo que había imaginado. Lo recomendaría mil veces, desde su atención por whatsapp hasta el trato con los guías, todo muy bueno.