Master Baiters Sportfishing & Tackle

Master Baiters Sportfishing & Tackle Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
181 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (182)
Brad C
Brad C
2024.04.06
Verified
Big Marlin Great trip! Our captain Charlie, tried many things, but finally got us on the fish. Caught a big striped Marlin. Stan, the owner is from America. Very nice to be working with someone back home. They have a store right in the marina.
Tim Booth
Tim Booth
2024.04.01
Poor equipment
Reply from Master Baiters Sportfishing & Tackle 2024.04.02
I wish this message was a little more elaborate so I could address what seems to be an issue... but I appreciate the five star review....
stevemedve70
stevemedve70
2024.03.25
Verified
Amazing trip ! coolest name in the business. Stan is completely honest and very accommodative. he answered all my questions in advance and provided detailed instructions with info on all aspects of fishing trip.(meeting location, directions, etc.) Additionally he even offered non fishing suggestions for other activities in the area. if you are there during whale season, ask about a bay trip that includes some whale watching as a value add. (It was a selling point for my wife) Had a great time on both trips as English speaking crew worked hard to keep us on fish and chase down the whales. don’t forget to bring some extra money to get a t-shirt in the gift shop. will be booking again with him next year. thanks again for the experience !
WBH
WBH
United States | 2024.03.14
PV adventures MasterBaiters.com.mx In my sport-fishing travels on the Atlantic and pacific coasts targeting cow tuna I have found Stan to be a man of his word and present his product in a fair and open description of what to expect when fishing his MV's. People talk a big game when trying to earn your business. If your going to charter a Sport fisherman that sole purpose is to target Cow YFT tuna MaterBaiters.com.MX is a man you should call and talk with. He will tell you the right months to target your species of choice. Nough said go fishing, Fair winds, fair tides and a good current.
Dimitri P
Dimitri P
2024.03.11
Verified
You will not get Jerked around.... Master Baiters Sport fishing is the best in Puerto Vallarta. After talking to Stan at Master baiters we decided to extend our trip from 6 to 8 hours and we are so glad we did. The extra time made it possible to get outside of the bay and fish the deep blue, warmer water where hardly any other boats were seen. The crew worked hard at we were able to hook and land a nice Mahi Mahi/Dorado pretty early in the trip. After getting what became dinner it was time to look for something bigger and better, Captain Jose and crew worked very hard covering a lot of area looking for either a sailfish or Tuna, The crew saw some birds working the surface from quite a distance away and we were able to finally catch up the the fast moving school. At first we tried trolling lures around them but they were moving too fast. Captain Jose decided to switch it up and we started the chase and cast live bait game.... but the school was moving too fast. Determined that we were doing the right thing we continued chasing and casting bait until Our first mate noticed a small change in the schools behavior and said let's stay put. And was he correct, the school came back towards us and one picked up my bait and started pulling out line and I set the hook, line started pulling out then GONE, it must have missed the hook and just got the bait. Another boat was casted out and in no time BENDO.... and the fight was on. At first I thought it was a small school size "Football" size tuna until it got nearer to the boat then it went off and started ripping off the line and the chase was on. About 20 minuets later Captain Jose leaned over the side of the boat, grabbing the leader, then he was able to grab the Yellowfin by the mouth and tail and pulled in what was estimated as a 60+ pound tuna was on the deck. What a great time and a perfect way to end the day. On the way in lunch and cold beers were on tap was well as a huge added bonus.... we saw a large number of Humpback whales playing and breeching a number of times on the way in. Just another perfect day of fishing with Master baiters sport fishing. I have been using them for the past 20 years and will continue to do so every time we visit Puerto Vallarta. Do your self a favor and find Stan at the old Marina to book your next fishing trip, you will be so glad you did.
mp7760
mp7760
2024.03.10
Verified
Fishing trip from Puerto Vallarta marina Went out on 6 hour fishing trip, landed 2 skipjack, 2 bonito and 2 25 lbs jack crevalle. Charlie (captain) ran an organized , clean 32’ twin 90hp panga boat. Charlie spoke good English. We trolled lures and fished with live bait. We also saw a few whales
Naomi M
Naomi M
2024.03.02
Verified
Great family fishing trip Wonderful experience! With kids (ages 11 and 13) we didn’t want to be all day or with others. Stan accommodated our request with a four hour fishing trip with just our family. Communication was clear (and hilarious). No surprises. Meeting up was easy. The crew were fabulous! They did everything they could to help our kids catch fish. We even stopped to whale watch when we asked to. We ended with 10 Skip Jacks. Fish were filleted for us on the dock, we took 4 to a restaurant 10 paces away and had an amazing meal. Highlight of the trip for sure!
abandzoe
abandzoe
2024.02.19
Verified
Great fishing! My husband and I booked a 6-hour fishing trip with Stan at Master Baiters and were not disappointed. Stan is upfront with you about the conditions on the water and the kinds of fish you can anticipate catching. He keeps it honest and provides you with what you need, without trying to upsell you on a longer or larger trip or boat. We had a 28-foot panga for the two of us with Alonso and Diego and that was more than enough to catch 13 fish, including a mahi-mahi! The crew was very knowledgeable and knew where to go to catch our dinner! We would have no hesitation in recommending Master Baiters to anyone looking to go fishing because Stan and Karen provided us with excellent, personable customer service.
LightPacker677380
LightPacker677380
2024.02.17
Verified
An excellent day of fishing!!! What a great day of fishing! Booking with Stan was easy and his crew was excellent! We caught a lot of fish and were happy to leave with fresh fish which a local restaurant prepared for us for dinner. I 100% recommend Master Baiters!!!
Kenny F
Kenny F
2024.02.15
Verified
Great fishing experience We had 2 boats with Stan. The boats were top notch. The crew was even better. We appreciated them getting us on the fish and cleaning our take.
Steven M
Steven M
2024.02.14
Verified
Great 10 hour fishing trip I booked this fishing charter months ago before traveling to PV based on word of mouth recommendation. The process was easy with great communication before coming and a few days before the trip. Pablo and Gael were great operating the boat and putting us in the fish to catch 3 yellowfin and 2 mahi mahi. I would use this group again and they will be my recommendation to anyone that asks.
Jim Marks
United States | 2024.02.12
Great time Stan put us on an 8hr trip in early February. By luck my buddy and I caught 7 dorado and 1 bonito. Captain and deck hand worked hard to get us fish. It was a wonderful trip - had a great time.

Date of experience: 06 February, 2024
Lynn Mallory
Lynn Mallory
2024.02.01
Verified
Raining Mahi Mahi! 1/29/24 We had a wonderful experience fishing with Alonso and Diego! This was our second time fishing with Master Baiters and from the start to finish, I cannot give these guys enough praise! They put us on fish immediately and were always checking in on us and the lines. They both spoke very good English and were extremely accommodating. We were fortunate to catch 8 mahi mahi and 1 Bonita and had several bites while fishing. Stan and his crew allowed us to freeze our catch in his freezer until we head home. Thanks Stan, Alonso, and Diego! We had the best time again!
Lesa F
Lesa F
2024.01.09
Verified
Do It, You won't regret it!!!! This team is the BEST. Karen helped us with not only a Fishing trip one day but also a whale watching excursion on another. The boat and crew was perfect, they made us novices all feel safe and enjoy the entire trip. They explained where we were and what type of fish to expect in the area. We even saw more whales from the front of the boat while catching some heavy Jack Fish from the back of the boat. I HIGHLY recommend Master Baiter's for any of your water excursion needs in PV
Josh Geisler
Josh Geisler
2023.11.08
Has to be hands down the best fishing trip I’ve ever been on. Can’t wait to come back next year
Reply from Master Baiters Sportfishing & Tackle 2023.11.30
Wow! That's some high praise! We do our best ... We'll be looking for you next year ... Take care. Stan
Dave B
Dave B
2023.11.07
Verified
Great Fishing Great fishing. Great crews. Stan really takes care of customers. Been fishing with his boats for 20 years. I will be back
Sarah T
Sarah T
2023.10.22
Verified
No regrets Inquired about a very last minute fishing trip with Stan while visiting PV for the first time. After reading lots of positive reviews and being an absolute sucker for a good pun the decision to go with Master Baiters was an easy sell. We are hardly experts and just fish for fun in our backyard at home in Oregon. I communicated that we really had no expectations, just wanted to get out on the water and try our luck! From the jump Stan was honest about what we would need to make this happen, which really wasn’t much. No BS just a straightforward little boat big enough for two and six hours on the water. I never felt pushed to try and get “more” out of us and he kept it real. I’ll be honest we made some poor planning decisions the night before our excursion and slept horribly so there were many moments moving into the 6:45 meet time where my husband and I tossed around the idea of canceling altogether, but we decided to push through. After stumbling onto the docks that morning looking like a couple of washed up sea creatures ourselves we slammed some caffeine and set off on this voyage. The crew was rad, lively and fun. Diego and Israel kept it simple, picked good tunes and even had no issue with us piled on the front of the boat for a mid morning power nap. I’m glad we pushed though. We ended up with three Dorado and saw some dolphins and even a shark! Those fish made my day. We took some down to a little beach restaurant in Bucerías where they were transformed into some of the best tacos we’ve ever had. 10/10 experience. PS, we stumbled across that article you wrote on the Bomberos, Stan. As two firefighters back home ourselves, we really appreciated that. Thanks for everything!
Stephen B
Stephen B
2023.09.07
Verified
Exceptional service Outstanding service and the friendliest of people. They knew the best places to go and always made us feel safe and like family. Fabulous experience!
Scott Z
Scott Z
2023.09.06
Verified
Family Event!!! My family had an event in PVR and the family at MasterBaiters (Rodrigo and Stan) created an event scheduled for 15 people. from Dinners, ATV riding and family gatherings. Rodrigo took care of the family from start to finish of the day. We had so so much fun ATV riding and sharing some great family memories!!! Thank you Rodrigo and Stan for an Awesome Time!!!
MikeJ
MikeJ
2023.08.10
Verified
Awesome Time Fishing was so amazing. These guys put us right on the fish and our arms got tired from pulling so many out of the water. Stan is awesome and so are all the crews that we have been with. Shoutout to Mikey...he's our favorite.