Gravel Travel Reviews

Gravel Travel Reviews

4.4

Good - based on 209 reviews

graveltravel.is
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (106)
Rui B
Rui B
2024-02-26
Verified
Fantastic 3 days tours We were 7 and made a 3day tour. Golden circle and south coast including ice caving. Everything was perfect. Valthor was really great, the views were amazing, the timings perfect and all his recommendations were fantastic. We didn't see the northern lights because of the clouds, but Valthor gave us a lot of tips and in the last day in the airport hotel we could see them. It’s a small company but I highly recommend it!
Fluffy B
Fluffy B
2024-02-11
Verified
Not recommendable This is a mass-tourist offer. Nothing bad with that, but I mention this just that you know what to expect. While the price first seems affordable you won’t get any value from it. The condition of the vehicle is good and theoretically you can do retries, but we definitely won’t. The tour started a bit strange, where I was picked up over half an hour later then agreed. My sister, who was picked up before me at a different location, had to make sure they won’t forget me. Overall, they seem to have trouble with organizing. However, to be fair, some single-braincell tourist failed to show up at the pre-agreed right time and right location. So, no negative points for that since some type of customers definitely contributed to the chaos. Our tour guide didn’t seem experienced. According to the ticket there are some amenities like hot coco, but you specifically have to ask for it. There was no mention of it. There was generally not much communication. You’ll also have to ask them to put on the heater when you wait in the car. There was no presentation at all resp. no explanation how the northern lights work etc. I’m ok with this since I’m familiar with the topic, but it surprised me. This all could be due to the inexperience of the tour guide, but still, you’ll pay for service you won’t get or not get without specifically asking for it. All in all, I would still have given 2 stars. However,… Airports have a fancy technical gimmick called floodlights because our trusty pilots needs to see the runway all the way up in the sky, so we won’t all end up as a blood smear during the landing process. Don’t get me wrong. This is a great invention. I like living. But if you want to see the northern lights, it is probably not a good idea to have something that bright close to you. We didn’t stop right at the airport but close enough so we could count the single floodlights. The clouds in the sky were reflecting it i.e. there wasn’t really darkness. You could barely see the stars (only the constellations with the bright ones) and certainly not the milky way. At some point (when people got frustrated and crawled back into the car) northern lights were reported. Of course, only on camera and not at all by bare eyes. Even on the camera it was super faint. To the point that we had to discuss if these are actually northern lights or just an oddly coloured smear of clouds. I’m not in Iceland to look at a subpar picture where the existence of an aurora could or is disputable. Please understand. I don’t expect the aurora to show up and also not that the tour guide controls the weather. Sometimes you get lucky and sometimes now, but come on… if you charge people you should at least give it a genuine try. I would rather recommend you to book a private tour with some competent and honest tour guide. Or if you have good with preparation and planning you can even try it yourself. Use and app that aggregates all the relevant data points (e.g. Polarlicht App) and familiarize yourself with its usage (that is not straight forward). Find a spot with low light pollution and there you go. We managed to do it by ourself and saw it with bare eyes. However, attention if you do it by yourself. Stay close to civilization i.e. don’t wander off into the wilderness unless you REALLY know what you are doing. I’m not joking. People die and you can die there too in February. The weather can turn around quickly. So, stay close to cavillation i.e. a road with light and some houses around (a little light pollution doesn’t hurt that much).
M P
M P
2024-02-10
Verified
Interesting 6 tourists in our group. Guide stopped off at service station first so we can use toilets. Took us to off-road remote location. Explained that northern lights are not visible to naked eye. Phones and cameras show more and how to change settings. He will take pictures and send to us. Sky was clear. we could see so many stars. He pointed and told us - Orion , 7 sisters, north star, Jupiter. We had multiple layers of warm clothing but it was very cold (-12) plus strong cold winds. He gave us hot chocolate and allowed us to sit in jeep while we waited for another jeep to pull us out of snow. We stopped off at service station for food. Had great fun with the other tourists. At hotel drop-off, our guide reminded us - we did not see lights so email booking contact to get us booked for next night at no extra charge. Done this. Eventually booking confirmed (maybe they should say we would be collected between 09.00 to 09.50 instead of 09.00). This time in bigger jeep with about 15 people. Different guide from same company. He was looking for aurora forecast and took us to different location. Again we saw same as previous night. He reminded us to email and rebook but we were flying back next morning. I read other reviews and no-one wrote like this. Had they provided these facts, I may have had different expectations. And buy usb heated clothing and special boots. The bus company (Gravel) and tour company (Guide to Iceland) were excellent.
M P
M P
2024-02-10
Verified
Interesting 6 tourists in our group. Guide stopped off at service station first so we can use toilets. Took us to off-road remote location. Explained that northern lights are not visible to naked eye. Phones and cameras show more and how to change settings. He will take pictures and send to us. Sky was clear. we could see so many stars. He pointed and told us - Orion , 7 sisters, north star, Jupiter. We had multiple layers of warm clothing but it was very cold (-12) plus strong cold winds. He gave us hot chocolate and allowed us to sit in jeep while we waited for another jeep to pull us out of snow. We stopped off at service station for food. Had great fun with the other tourists. At hotel drop-off, our guide reminded us - we did not see lights so email booking contact to get us booked for next night at no extra charge. Done this. Eventually booking confirmed (maybe they should say we would be collected between 09.00 to 09.50 instead of 09.00). This time in bigger jeep with about 15 people. Different guide from same company. He was looking for aurora forecast and took us to different location. Again we saw same as previous night. He reminded us to email and rebook but we were flying back next morning. I read other reviews and no-one wrote like this. Had they provided these facts, I may have had different expectations. And buy usb heated clothing and special boots. The bus company (Gravel) and tour company (Guide to Iceland) were excellent.
Cara K
Cara K
2024-01-15
Verified
Great tour; weather is unpredictable The weather was crazy but we had a fabulous time on this tour. Our guide was a very skilled driver and did everything he could to make the tour enjoyable even with changes he had to make due to weather. We were bummed to have missed the ice cave but he took us to a deserted black sand beach, which was so cool. Would definitely go on a tour with this guide again!
sharon_p1970
sharon_p1970
2024-01-07
Verified
Serious 4 x 4, Katla Ice cave, beach and waterfalls and a load of laughs along the way This was a FULL day as we left from Reykjavik. The stop at the Black Sand Beach was moved due to the weather so we went there on the way back from the Ice Cave. Truly stunning. As we got closer to the ice caves, we were really happy to be in a vehicle with such massive wheels as the terrain was WOW. Once we arrived Valthor was so patient making sure we were all fitted safely with our crampons. The walk up to the ice cave took all of our concentration though a rope was available to help our footing up the narrow and icy steps. The ice cave we went into was pretty small only a few at a time could fit inside due to this Ice Cave being in its infancy (cant wait to go back in a few years to see its growth) The scenery was so incredibly beautiful and majestic and Valthor spent some time telling us about the history of that region. The onto Black Sands beach with its Basalt rocks and cave. It was spectacular but it was more white than black due to the snow - it was a bit of a blizzard (cant do anything about the weather). You could tell the love for the country and they have such great respect for the history and the impact volcanoes and glaciers have had in their part of the world. We made 2 stops on the drive back to Reykjavik (a beautiful water fall with back lighting) and a really nice tourist stop with shops, restroom facilities and a variety of food options. It's a long day of being in a vehicle but to see what we saw, to experience what we experienced, to have our senses fully awakened, we would definitely recommend this tour. If you are into serious 4 x 4 this is the place to go as its like being in heaven up on the glacier and these guys really know how to use their vehicles to the max - we had an absolute hoot all day - we got chatting to Valthor when we were dropped off and he and gravel travel are a really cool organisation with great customer service and knowledge and they are small (like 4 people wokring small so go and support these guys) - I will be booking with them again for definite.
kathn104
kathn104
2024-01-04
Verified
Worth the Second Trip Our driver, Oskar, was super friendly and enthusiastic. Since the company uses jeeps, we were able to drive and park in a large open area with only a few other vehicles around. It was a once in a lifetime experience to see the Northern Lights. We had gone out 2 days prior with no luck but we’re able to schedule another day and were, thankfully, successful. Always happy to give my business to a small local company
Karen Harris
Karen Harris
2024-01-03
Fantastic day of adventure with Gravel Travel, we even saw the northern lights on the way home!
April D
April D
2024-01-01
Verified
Miscommunications I booked this tour for the 28th. It was cancelled. Then I emailed to reschedule. I made a mistake and because I didnt get a confirmation I texted on the 29th to confirm at 4:45pm. I got a text verifying yes we are on. Then I texted again at 9:10 to say just making sure you are still coming, got a yes we are running late. Then I called at 9:50 and the guy said they weren't coming and I wasn't on the schedule. Are you kidding?? Even though I was very sad, I still wanted to see the northern lights so I tried to reschedule..They were full on the 30th and now I am now leaving town on the 31. So I had 3 nights to see the northern lights and they did not take me on any of the nights. Needless to say I was very disappointed. Its okay to be sorry, but I will never get that chance again.
April D
April D
2024-01-01
Verified
Miscommunications I booked this tour for the 28th. It was cancelled. Then I emailed to reschedule. I made a mistake and because I didnt get a confirmation I texted on the 29th to confirm at 4:45pm. I got a text verifying yes we are on. Then I texted again at 9:10 to say just making sure you are still coming, got a yes we are running late. Then I called at 9:50 and the guy said they weren't coming and I wasn't on the schedule. Are you kidding?? Even though I was very sad, I still wanted to see the northern lights so I tried to reschedule..They were full on the 30th and now I am now leaving town on the 31. So I had 3 nights to see the northern lights and they did not take me on any of the nights. Needless to say I was very disappointed. Its okay to be sorry, but I will never get that chance again.
Rajeev J
Rajeev J
2023-12-31
Verified
Great ice cave adventure! Great day trip - the katla ice cave was an amazing experience - from the daring drive through heavy snow, the walk through the thick snow to putting on the crampons and going into the cave. Other stops on the trip include two beautiful waterfalls and the black beach. Our guide (Christian) was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and we felt safe and secure for the entire day.
Sarah L
Sarah L
2023-12-30
Verified
Black Sandy beach & Glacier highlights Loved this trip - stunning views and memories made. Excellent guide, would recommend without hesitation
Gilson G
Gilson G
2023-12-30
Verified
Impossible to book second try We took the tour 3 days ago. But weren’t able to see the northern lights. They offer a second try to those who couldn’t see it. But when we try to book it they simply do not respond. I tried to use the link they provide, doesn’t work. Then I tried emailing them. No response. Tried calling, no ine answers. I will go back home tomorrow and won’t be able to go for my second chance. I paid a lot to only sit in the car for 4h and not seeing any northern lights, have not taken any professional photos, anything. Just not worth it.
Gilson G
Gilson G
2023-12-30
Verified
Impossible to book second try We took the tour 3 days ago. But weren’t able to see the northern lights. They offer a second try to those who couldn’t see it. But when we try to book it they simply do not respond. I tried to use the link they provide, doesn’t work. Then I tried emailing them. No response. Tried calling, no ine answers. I will go back home tomorrow and won’t be able to go for my second chance. I paid a lot to only sit in the car for 4h and not seeing any northern lights, have not taken any professional photos, anything. Just not worth it.
Braden Lamb (Braden Lamb Property Co.)
Braden Lamb (Braden Lamb Property Co.)
2023-12-29
Such a fantastic day with our brilliant guide, Kristján! He was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and great to chat with. Our tour was a lot of fun, with such a diverse range of activities and landscapes. Highly recommend the team at Gravel travel 👌
pascal c
pascal c
2023-12-29
Verified
Pitoyable C’est la plus mauvaise expérience de mes 6 séjours en Islande Je sais que les aurores c’est aléatoire mais avec un indice KP proche de zéro c’est vraiment faire du business que d’organiser une sortie dans ces conditions Sans parler du guide indigent Désolé de ce mauvais commentaire
Simon T
Simon T
2023-12-29
Verified
Solid Day Trip Great trip - we managed to hit up many classic south coast spots before going to the ice caves near Katla. The cave itself was a bit small since it was new, but we were told it would open up in months to come. Great experience on the super jeep too - it was snowing heavily the whole day but I felt quite secure in the vehicle. Would recommend to those based on Reykjavik and want to experience an ice cave in a single day!
Charmaine
Charmaine
2023-12-28
Verified
Amazing! This tour is unbelievably amazing. Once in a lifetime experience. The views are incredible and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Iceland. It’s the best tour we have done here and we were lucky with the weather. No problems at all just a fantastic day not to be missed!
Peter L
Peter L
2023-12-28
Verified
South Coast & Katla Ice Cave from Reykjavik-- 2 thumbs up! This was a FULL day as we left from Reykjavik. Twenty minutes into our drive, our van had a mechanical failure and our driver and guide, Christian, had to call in for help. In less than 30 minutes a new vehicle arrived and we transferred to the new (and warm) van ready to begin our day. Christian remained calm, reassuring and professional the entire time despite how dark and cold it was outside. The stop at the Black Sand Beach was spectacular. Truly stunning. As we got closer to the ice caves, we were really happy to be in a vehicle with such massive wheels as the terrain was WOW. Once we arrived Christian was so patient making sure we were all fitted safely with our crampons and helmets. The walk up to the ice cave took all of our concentration though a rope was available to help our footing up the narrow and icy steps. The ice cave we went into was pretty small (only a few at a time could fit inside)-- if we had had more time, perhaps we could've gone in the larger one (not sure if that was due to our initial delay or not). The scenery was so incredibly beautiful and majestic and Christian (along with another guide) spent some time telling us about the history of that region. You could tell they love their country and they have such great respect for the history and the impact volcanoes and glaciers have had in their part of the world. We made 2 stops on the drive back to Reykjavik (a beautiful water fall with back lighting--- the moon and Jupiter in perfect alignment overhead) and a really nice tourist stop with shops, restroom facilities and a variety of food options. It's a long day of being in a vehicle but to see what we saw, to experience what we experienced, to have our senses fully awakened, we would definitely recommend this tour.
Jamie I
Jamie I
2023-12-27
Verified
Great day but Katla cave disappointing We had a great tour guide and he was very knowledgeable about Iceland and all of the spots we visited. All of the individual spots we visited were really nice to see. When visiting Katla Cave our tour took us to a new/different ice cave which was not the big tunnel that we were expecting. This was disappointing as it was something we really wanted to see.