The Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour

The Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
586 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (587)
Ylva D
Ylva D
2024.04.01
Verified
Recommend! Recommend! Had a great evening with Hazel and Paul. They taught us a lot about Scottish literature, at the same time as they kept us entertained. It was a perfect mix between acting parts and information parts. Overall, very happy with the tour!
Connector39098136133
Connector39098136133
2024.03.30
Verified
A literary play tour, genious! Great tour, bringing the element of acting really enhanced the tour and made it easier to understand and learn about Edinburghs literary scene. Hazel and Paul were such sweet guides and definitely recommend their tour.
Katie
Katie
2024.03.03
Verified
Had a great time! Cannot beat the location of Edinburgh pubs after dark. They were entertaining, informative, and enthusiastic. Highly recommend, especially to those who are of a literary bent.
Dinah B
Dinah B
2023.12.23
Verified
A fun run through Edinburgh’s literary history Great fun with very congenial and energetic hosts. The content is suitable for even the somewhat unliterary-minded but still highly entertaining for those who already know something about the theme.
Jeffery
Jeffery
2023.11.24
Verified
Helen and Paul were an amazing duo who really showcased Edinburgh’s writers and their torrid history. I loved visiting the various places the writers frequented and learning more about the Scottish culture through the tales. Helen and Paul were wonderful presenters and make the history come alive.
Lindsay
Lindsay
2023.11.24
Verified
Fun experience with interesting storytelling.
Les T
Les T
2023.10.27
Verified
Wonderful evening! The presenters were wonderful, the topic engaging. It was a delightful journey back to the times of the writers and extremely entertaining!
JenD
JenD
2023.10.27
Verified
Delightful and memorable! Hazel and Dougal were captivating as McBrain and Clart, volleying insults and keeping us laughing. Both refined actors, it was really an honor to watch them do what they do best, both masters of their craft. The tour was a perfect two hours and reminded me how much I miss live theater, an art that we should make sure never dies. The scenes were well executed and we could always understand them and hear them, even for outdoor scenes. Just a delightful evening, highly recommend!!
Nick
Nick
2023.10.26
Verified
Dougal and Hazel were spectacular. We didn’t know diddly about Scottish literature but learned alot and had a ton of fun. Felt like we were at a personal play
Chelsea
Chelsea
2023.10.26
Verified
Dougal and Hazel were top notch! I didn’t know what to expect with this tour but it was so much fun. Not knowing much about Scottish literary figures, we learned so much while being thoroughly entertained. Definitely recommend!!
Debra S
Debra S
2023.10.23
Verified
Perfect evening This was one of the highlights of my husband's trip to Scotland. How amazing to hear poetry read in beautiful courtyards in Edinburgh. The actors were both amazing (sorry I can't remember their names). It had a very relaxing feel, and we enjoyed visiting some of the historic pub locations.
Laura Witwer
Laura Witwer
2023.10.07
What a memorable and unique tour/pub crawl! To get the most out of this tour, it's helpful to be at least passingly familiar with the "big three" - Burns, Scott, and Stevenson. That said, you'll still have a blast (and learn a lot) if you're not! The two actor guides do a masterful job of gliding between short acting/character segments and informative bits, which really makes this evening stand out. Everyone in the group had a great time, and gained a deeper appreciation for Edinburgh's literary greats. Enthusiastically recommended!
Reply from The Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour 2023.10.25
Thank you very much Laura! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the tour.We are also very proud of our actors and will pass on this feedback to them! Happy travels!
Laura W
Laura W
2023.10.07
Verified
A great evening in Edinburgh! What a memorable and unique tour/pub crawl! To get the most out of this tour, it's helpful to be at least passingly familiar with the "big three" - Burns, Scott, and Stevenson. That said, you'll still have a blast (and learn a lot) if you're not! The two actor guides do a masterful job of gliding between short acting/character segments and informative bits, which really makes this evening stand out. Everyone in the group had a great time, and gained a deeper appreciation for Edinburgh's literary greats. Enthusiastically recommended!
stroshane007
stroshane007
2023.10.05
Verified
Outstanding tour, brilliant acting, a few pubs, and lots of humor. Michael and Blair were amazing! Dramatic and hilarious! A great tour around the heart of Edinburgh with contributions from Robbie Burns, Walter Scott, Robert Louis Stevenson, and many others great Scottish writers you may not know.
Meagan B
Meagan B
2023.10.01
Verified
Fun Historical Adventure Dougall and Riley gave an excellent performance as Clart and McBrain, and kept us laughing throughout the tour. If you are a history buff, this is a must for your experience in Edinburgh!
Pennae
Pennae
2023.09.28
Verified
An enjoyable literary tour, but not a pub tour From reading the reviews, I had quite different expectations to what actually happened on the night. The tour began well, at the starting pub upstairs at the Beehive Inn, but this ended up being the only time we were inside or sitting down on the tour. The rest was outside, in the cold and the rain, huddled under umbrellas or in laneways. The second ‘pub’ stop involved getting drinks from a downstairs bar and bringing them up outside to stand in the rain (albeit under a tree). We didn’t have a third pub stop. The actors were great and the skit enjoyable, but it was a bit of a struggle at the end of a day of walking.
Meghana
Meghana
2023.09.24
Verified
I'd recommend it to anyone interested in English literature. Even otherwise, it's an entertaining experience. The hosts had great energy, they were great improvisors and evidently amazing artists. I wish they hosted more experiences like this. Thanks :)
DoctorM
DoctorM
2023.09.23
Verified
Too much trivia, not enough stories We spent a rainy and windy night on the Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour. Our two actors/guides were highly versed in Scottish Literature facts and figures. However, the contrived 'arguments' between the two wore thin as the night progressed. Seriously, I don't need to hear the details of Sir Walter Scott's 20 plus novels. Or recite the names of the ten important recent authors from Edinburgh. Instead, the tour came alive when the guides re-enacted the love letters between Scott and his mistress. And when one guide gave a dramatic presentation from "Jekyll and Hyde" by Robert Louis Stevenson. Give us more entertainment on Pub Tour and not try to impress us with your encyclopedic knowledge.
Rick Vinyard
Rick Vinyard
2023.09.22
Paul and Blair were great. Heading the words of the poets on the streets of Edinburgh is a truly amazing experience.
Reply from The Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour 2023.09.25
Thank you very much Rick, we appreciate your kind review. Happy travels!
CJJ
CJJ
2023.09.14
Verified
Would do it again. The rainy night contributed to the experience. Mr Hyde showed up in the lonely plaza by the writers museum. We loved it.