Droitwich Knee Clinic

droitwichkneeclinic.co.uk

Droitwich Knee Clinic Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
25 reviews Verified
Droitwich Knee Clinic
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 25 ) 4.9

Tony Roycroft
Tony Roycroft
2023.03.08
I had my right knee TKR just over a year ago and wanted to offer a few thoughts about the process that may be helpful to others. My operation was performed by Mr Moholkar at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital (ROH) Birmingham. I had been seeing and taking advice from Mr Moholkar for a couple of years at DKC prior to my op. I found him to be straight talking and, whilst showing empathy, would tell me the way things are although this wasn’t always what I wanted to hear. His approach gave me confidence and trust in his ability. The ROH was excellent and the staff, even though under pressure themselves, were always attentive to my needs. The back up team at DKC, particularly Debbie in admin and Leslie for physiotherapy were excellent, they were caring and professional and any problems were quicky sorted out. Here are a few of tips I would pass on to anyone needing to consider a TKR: 1. Don’t leave it too late to have the op, it can be tempting to avoid the operation for different reasons, knowing when the right time can be tricky. Trust your consultant and your instinct. 2. Pre-op: Get yourself as mobile as you can, even if painful, the more mobile you are when you have the op will play a big part in achieving a successful outcome. Exercise regularly and if you can, lose any excess weight. Or Best Endeavours! If possible, get yourself into a good mental place. It took me some time to ‘come to terms with the op’ but when I did it made a massive difference. Prepare any questions you have before you see Mr Moholkar or another consultant and maybe write them down, so you don’t forget. Don’t be afraid to re-ask a question if you are still unsure. Mr Moholkar always gave me lots of time for questions and patiently answered them. In advance of your return home consider your environment, make it as clutter free as possible to help you move around more easily. You might also want to think about any aids you might need, for instance I found a bathroom stool particularly useful when washing etc 3. Post-op: Probably the most important thing post op is to make sure you do the exercises you are given and if possible, get regular physiotherapy sessions for around 6 weeks following your op. I believe this made a huge difference for me and contributed to me being able to drive after a few weeks, and I was able to play golf 3 months after the op without the use of a buggy for the first time in many years. I love my new knee and the freedom it gives me, put the effort in and you will get your rewards.
Reply from Droitwich Knee Clinic 2023.04.10
Mr. Roycroft, Thanks for your kind words about the DKC and ROH, the staff work very hard, and they do deserve appreciation so thank you again. You have nicely summarised your experience and I am glad that we could help you. Mr. M
Advertisement
Cindy Forrest
Cindy Forrest
2022.06.30
Cosmin Cadaru
Cosmin Cadaru
2022.06.27
Excellent staff, good equipment, worth more than 5 stars
Christine Baker
Christine Baker
2022.06.22
Quick efficient friendly staff
Rachel MacKenzie
Rachel MacKenzie
2022.04.11
As a youngster I suffered with ‘growing pains’ and had physio throughout my teens. I have not experienced any knee pain since then until March 2020 when I suddenly developed pain in my right knee, followed 6 weeks later by the left! Initially I thought I had overdone the Zoom yoga classes and running so rested for a few weeks but the pain continued to get worse to the point where I was very immobile. The doctor referred me for MRI’s and it was determined I have moderate-advanced OA in both knees and a torn meniscus R. This is where the fun began! I saw Mr Moholkar who after consultation recommended an arthroscopy, taking into consideration my age (44) this to be done sooner rather than later, in the short term it was decided I have a steroid injection in my right knee to offer some pain relief and it worked. The NHS strongly advised against having an arthroscopy and warned it could speed up the degeneration in my knees. I consulted a physio, sports therapist and friends and family all of whom had different opinions. I decided in the end that surgery was the best option for me, I didn’t want to rely on steroids to mask the pain (NHS preferred option). I had an arthroscopy in January 2022 and it was the best decision I could have made. Mr Moholkar was very honest when I came out of surgery and told me I will need a knee replacement within 5 years and couldn’t promise that I would have any benefit from the arthroscopy due to the condition of my knee. Alas 3 months later I have had a checkup today and the knee is great. There have been sacrifices along the way, I no longer run or do CrossFit and exercise is much more gentle but my pain is reduced and I’m mobile again. My life changed overnight 2 years ago and without Mr Moholkar I don’t think I would be where I am now.
Advertisement
James Parsons
James Parsons
2022.02.26
Have no responded to this immediately but waited a while to see how I got on. Had ongoing problems wit my shoulder and arm. Problem diagnosed with the aid of X-Ray, RMI. Received excellent treatment and clear concise advice from consultant Mr Moholkar but no false or inflated promises. I was even a warning of regression if treatment proved ineffective in the long term an operation would be required. But following. A course of further treatment with physiotherapist Mr Hassan it has me going from strength to strength. I am a fitness nut but I am also 77!
Valerie Pinfield
Valerie Pinfield
2022.02.07
Pat Griffin
Pat Griffin
2022.02.03
Having had previous consultations and subsequent arthroscopies on my right knee with Mr Moholkar, last of which was 2015 with the knee behaving very well since, when my left knee started to cause me grief I booked myself in for a consultation with Mr M, hoping that he could do the same repair job on my left knee. Unfortunately I had left it too late in terms of damage to the joint for repair - I was offered the options available to me however it was obvious that replacement was realistically the only option, As always the procedure and possible outcomes, positive and negative, were explained to me in direct terms. A motorcycle accident scar over the knee to the outside of the calf from 1982 presented a serious challenge to the success of the operation in terms of blood flow to the affected skin so a plastic surgeon, Mr Chester, was called on to advise. They agreed on the best route for the new scar, operation carried out and the scar checked the day after the surgery - all good! Well down the road to recovery thanks to pain relief, physio exercises and general walking (20000 steps a day). Fantastic experience all round from first consultation to rehab sign off, from DKC to BMI Droitwich. Learning points: Listen to the man giving you advice - he wants the best outcome for you - not his bank balance! Do the hard yards and you will get the benefit.
paul williams
paul williams
2022.02.03
Advertisement
Frances Pierpoint
Frances Pierpoint
2022.01.27
My partner Carl Knight had a full knee replacement surgery 6 weeks ago. Droitwich Knee Clinic provided superb diagnosis and advice package. He was advised a full knee replacement was recommended. Operation was carried out at Royal Orthopaedic Hospital. The care he received was second to none. He was kept informed at all times. Mr Moholkar was very professional providing excellent replacement and aftercare. Carl would stress that physio is a very important part of recovery. Painkillers really helped in the first few days. He applied ice packs regularly to reduce swelling. One again many thanks to everyon
Keith Jones
Keith Jones
2022.01.17
Prior to visiting DKC in December, my left knee had deteriorated significantly - and I was in regular pain. Bit of context ….. I am 48 years old. Had ACL replacement surgery in 1991, with subsequent removal of graft. I’d had a few arthroscopies in the 2000s and cartilage repairs (minor day surgery). As stated - toward the back end of 2021, I was struggling to walk any distance without sharp, debilitating pain, so decided to do something about it, hence contacting DKC. My experience was excellent - a comprehensive consultation, followed by an on-site MRI and x-ray. The subsequent diagnosis wasn’t a surprise to me. Mr Moholkar is candid, which I prefer. I had two options available - 1. A knee brace or 2. Surgery (realignment or replacement). Mr Moholkar had asked about my previous surgeries, the first of which was complicated by a significant infection, and spelled out the potential risks of further major surgery, which at some point is inevitable, but given my age, is not ideal. So - I opted to try the brace. I’ll admit, I was a little surprised at the cost of the brace at first. However, the fitting with Sam was particularly thorough. But the most important thing is the outcome - the regular sharp pain has diminished to negligible since I started wearing the brace. Secondly - I can walk far further than I could 6 weeks ago, virtually pain-free, which is worth every penny, and more, of the cost of the brace. I decided to sweat the asset, a decision made easier by the possible risks of re-infection. It has been the right decision - and I’m genuinely delighted with the outcome. I’d like to say thank you to the whole team at DKC. Friendly, knowledgeable and most importantly, delivered what I was hoping for. Pls don’t take this the wrong way, but I hope I don’t see you in the near future! However, when the time comes to commit to a knee replacement, I’ll be in touch. Thank you again.
Shirley Featherstone
Shirley Featherstone
2021.12.09
I am now nearly 6 weeks post op after having a total knee replacement on my right knee . I had my operation at the Royal Orthopaedic hospital in Birmingham . Debbie kept me informed from the booking and I had appointments to see Lesley and Mr Moholkar booked in advance for post op reviews and physio. Mr Moholkar was happy to answer any questions I had prior and post operation, I was especially anxious about a spinal block as my previous knee surgeries were done under general anaesthetic. I wouldn’t worry if I need the other knee done as I had sedation and was unaware until almost the end of the procedure of what was going on. The hospital care was excellent and Mr Moholkar came to see me early evening after the operation and before I was discharged. It is important to take the painkillers as advised and to ice the knee so that you can do the exercises as soon as possible to get the swelling down and to keep moving a little more each day. The care from Mr Moholkar and Lesley is excellent and it is reassuring that you are seen regularly post op so you can as questions and to check everything is going as well as can be expected. I am now taking paracetamol if needed for the discomfort but have been off the stronger painkillers for a couple of weeks. I cannot rate the Bromsgrove Private Clinic highly enough. I have been going to the Knee clinic since they were based in Droitwich for many years and have always received the same excellent experience.
Cliff Rogers
Cliff Rogers
2021.12.08
This was the first time I have needed to use private medical services. I was very impressed with the speed of my first appointment, within a couple of days I was back for X ray and MRI scan and I was immediately told what the diagnosis was and given a plan for daily treatment, exercise, and use of crutches. Being told quickly what the damage was and how to manage the problem really focussed my mind and in a couple of weeks all pain and swelling had gone and I was able to walk normally. The speed of service was the key to a speedy recovery.
Advertisement
David Banner
David Banner
2021.12.06
I have followed the physio recommendations I am doing so well after having the physio I have got a walking stick for support which has helped me I have looked after my wound and kept it clean My progress after five weeks is very good
justine bryan
justine bryan
2021.11.08
Excellent service. Helpful, friendly, informative and efficient. Felt consultant was very experienced and good advice. Thank you .
Ian Powell
Ian Powell
2021.10.20
Mary Payne
Mary Payne
2021.09.22
Advertisement
George Martin
George Martin
2021.09.20
Linda Macdiarmid
Linda Macdiarmid
2021.09.20
Shoulder surgery at BMI Droitwich, great result and comprehensive follow up. All completed safely and securely during the pandemic. One very happy swimmer back doing what she loves in the pool painfree.
James Garland
James Garland
2019.12.20
Fantastic Service