Cranfield Retreat & Glamping

Cranfield Retreat & Glamping Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
89 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (85)
Simon
Simon
2023.11.10
10 Verified
Relaxing, peaceful & cosy night in the yurt ☺ Relaxing and peaceful stay. It was cold and raining outside which made it all the more perfect for getting the log burner going and having a cosy night in the yurt.
Advertisement
Danielle
Danielle
2023.10.31
10 Verified
Amazing place ☺ Location was stunning, facilities were excellent ☹ Nothing, it was all wonderful
Rachel
Rachel
2023.10.02
10 Verified
Exceptional
Halcyon Frost
Halcyon Frost
2023.09.18
We had an amazing weekend at Cranfield retreat, and already want to come back! The yurt and shepherd hut were both extremely comfy and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was well kitted out and had everything we needed. The hot tub and bathrooms were spotless, and we loved the outside seating and fire pit. Clare and Henry were lovely, helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. The retreat site felt private, quiet, and peaceful. Thank you so much Clare and Henry, and see you again for our next trip!
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2023.09.18
Thank-you for choosing to stay at Cranfield Retreat. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities and had a great weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon 😊
Ashley
Ashley
2023.09.10
10 Verified
Exceptional ☺ Location, facilities, particularly the hosts.
Advertisement
Rebecca
Rebecca
2023.09.07
9.0 Verified
Superb
Sarah
Sarah
2023.09.04
10 Verified
Exceptional
Mina
Mina
2023.09.03
10 Verified
Exceptional ☺ A little gem of a place! They have thought of everything you'll need and the facilities are spotlessly clean. We had a blissful evening around the fire looking at the stars. Wish we'd booked for a longer stay! ☹ Can't think of anything.
Vanessa Halewood
Vanessa Halewood
2023.08.26
This place is nothing short of magical. My friend and I stayed in the shepherds hut with our two boys. We loved every second, they were happy playing in the fields and running in and out the hut while my friend and I sat , talked and had a glass of prosecco. The facilities are beautiful with a fully fitted kitchen and living room to share between the two huts, along with two bathrooms. Everything was spotless and fresh. In the field there was a table with sofa chairs, loungers and a hot tub. All of which we used and loved. The views are incredible and we slept so well in the comfortable cosy beds. Neither myself or my son can wait to come back. Thank you for having us and showing our little boys around your beautiful garden.
Advertisement
Caroline Bedward
Caroline Bedward
2023.08.09
recommends
Just had an amazing 2 night stay in the Yurt. To say we were a mixed group is an understatement. A highly critical Vegan, a 14 yrs old lad, and a lady who let's just say likes the finer things in life and would never go camping. Well we were all totally blown away by Cranfield, the yurt was just wonderful so comfortable and cosy. The facilities are out of this world, there is nothing that hasn't been thought of. We loved the outside searing area and the hot tub . Everything is top quality and you can see the love and thought that has gone into this place The hosts Clare and Henry are so friendly and welcoming and Kevin the dog is adorable too.. We all left very happy, totally chilled out and can't wait to visit again . Thank you 🙂
SusieQ Smith
SusieQ Smith
2023.07.30
Just returned from a weekend on this wonderful site (a birthday present from my daughters). Claire and Henry are such a lovely couple (and 'Kevin' is adorable!). They couldn't do enough for us. The Yurt was beautiful, beds so comfy with lovely bedding. They have thought of everything, and spotlessly clean. The Retreat, with the lounge and kitchen, was superb. Will definitely be back. Thank you both so much. Sue Harrington.
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2023.07.30
We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday present - weekend staying here in the Yurt and found the beds comfortable. Glad to hear you enjoyed the site facilities too. We look forward to welcoming you back. Clare, Henry & Kevin 🐶
Delboy Harrington
Delboy Harrington
2023.07.30
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2023.07.30
Thankyou for your 5* review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Caroline
Caroline
2023.07.29
10 Verified
Hidden Gem ☺ Absolutely perfect in every way. Short walk into Long Melford where there are several places to eat and drink. Hosts were fantastic and very accommodating. We loved our stay and would certainly recommend it for anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. ☹ Nothing to dislike about the place.
Advertisement
Sandra
Sandra
2023.07.27
9.0 Verified
A welcoming and tranquil stay in nature ☺ Peaceful and surrounded by countryside ☹ Liked it all
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping
Thankyou for choosing to stay at Cranfield Retreat & Glamping. We are pleased you had peaceful stay. Hope to welcome you back another time. Clare & Henry
Lisa Ketley
Lisa Ketley
2023.07.21
Lovely and quiet and now with the added hot tub this really is the best upgraded camping experience you could ask for and nothing was to much trouble thank you Clare and Henry for everything you did x
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2022.07.06
Ah Thankyou Lisa for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you found our Retreat quiet calming and appreciated connecting to nature. It certainly is different to London.
Ruth Hardacre
Ruth Hardacre
2023.07.11
A beutiful location with fabulous scenery and close to several quaint villages with good amenities. Hosts Clare and Henry were first class and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities provided were excellent and the hot tub was very much appreciated. Thank you very much.
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2023.07.12
Glad to hear you enjoyed staying here at Cranfield in the Yurt and found the facilities excellent including the new hot tub. It was great to meet you and your dad and hope to welcome you back another time 😊
Raymond
Raymond
2023.07.06
2.0 Verified
Never again not how it reads ☺ No breakfast no electricity no running water had a battery lamp in there which dident turn off and 2 tourches toilets were 100meter away across fields no good in middle of night hot tub was by toilet door and was under construction had to climb steps to door no handrail it rained in night roof leaks they had to put cover over even basiccamp sites have electricity by them worth about 30 pound to stay there not 120pound could have got nice hotel for that flelt cheated ☹ Expect toilet to be of room or close by could not charge appliances unless left in kitchen 100meters away not convenient when expecting sum luxury only 2 coat hangers
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping
Hi Raymond, An immediate refund was offered as soon as your limited mobility became apparent and the potential unsuitability of our site for your requirements and taste. We do not advertise offering breakfast anywhere on this site, so we are sorry that you expected this. The yurt and shepherds hut are off grid as it clearly stated in our description- “There are NO cooking or washing facilities in the units, only in the shared cartlodge building 100 yards walk away from units, therefore not suitable for anyone with limited mobility”. The yurt has lights run off a solar panel. These lights turn on and off using the remote control, we apologise if we failed to demonstrate this clearly enough for you. The battery-operated fairy lights and other lights and torch provided are in addition to the solar lights. The hot tub (which you did not use) is a new addition, making the area more private is a work in progress hence the construction. Although, to be clear, all construction is halted whilst guests are in our care. We are currently building a secluded area with bar and seating. You told us there was a leak in the Yurt. There was NO evidence of this. However, we immediately acted to put the winter cover on for you. In addition we offered the Shepherds Hut, which you refused. Thank you for bringing to our awareness the ways we can make our site more disability friendly, such as putting a hand rail on the steps to the Yurt. We want our site to be fully inclusive hence our newly built wet room with low-level wc and grab rails this is something we are currently focusing on and hope to achieve fully in the next year by making accessible paths and more ramps. We offer far more than a basic camp site with a brand new utility building with a fully equipped kitchen and lounge with underfloor heating, which you had sole use of during your stay and seemed to enjoy. We appreciate this is a short walk from the units, especially during the night. However, we never advertise more than a glamping experience, which is camping with a few added luxuries, we are not a hotel. Due to you staying only a night, we only offered two hangers, we could have provided more if this was vocalised, but we will take this on board and start to provide more! We make an effort to stay true to the camping experience that a lot of people including our guests love so much, with some added comfort and quirkiness but we unfortunately cannot please everyone as some people prefer a hotel like stay and that’s okay! We apologise that it wasn’t for you and that the unprecedented weather affected your stay with us. We did our very best to accommodate you it is a shame you did not enjoy your stay. Clare & Henry
Advertisement
Sarah
Sarah
2023.07.03
10 Verified
Fantastic, highly recommend. ☺ Beautiful shepherd's hut, stunning location, wonderful hosts, perfect hot tub! We loved our stay and will be back. ☹ That we couldn't stay longer!
MD Photography Mark Draper
MD Photography Mark Draper
2023.07.01
Perfect for a countryside escape. Beautiful accommodation and surroundings. Now the amazing addition of superb hot tub.
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2023.04.27
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us such a positive review Mark. Hope to see you soon 😊
Aimee
Aimee
2023.06.25
We had the best stay at Cranfield Retreat. Clare and Henry were such lovely hosts. We had the most relaxing time in the peaceful countryside, and the yurt was beautiful!! Everything was so clean and the bedding was so soft!! We had everything we needed. We can’t wait to come back! Thank you so much for the most perfect stay. Aimee and Jack
Reply from Cranfield Retreat & Glamping 2023.06.25
Aimee & Jack, Thankyou for choosing Cranfield Retreat & Glamping. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the stay in our Yurt and got to chill out and feel relaxed, thats what its all about ! Thankyou for such kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Clare & Henry 😊