Balranald Cottage Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
37 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (33)
Aidan C
Aidan C
2023.08.10
Verified
Peaceful and relaxing break Great cottage with everything required for a self catering holiday. Sun room perfect for relaxing in whatever the weather ( especially the hanging egg chair). Good location for exploring the Western Isles. Would recommend
Advertisement
Heather
Heather
2023.07.01
Verified
The cottage was just as described. It was cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed.Scott was great. He was happy for us to book very last minute (the day before) following the breakdown of our campervan. He even checked if we were ok for that night too in terms of accommodation/help. He was kind and friendly.The cottage itself was easy to find and was a great base to explore the island. Would definitely come back abs recommend to others. Lovely place to stay, thanks for everything Scott!
Lucy W
Lucy W
2023.06.14
Verified
Best Accommodation Ever Stunning property away from everything. The cottage has everything you need with beautiful finishing touches. Comfy beds, fluffy towels and for those self catering experts, a kitchen with every utensil you could wish for.Have already booked for next year.
Lynne G
Lynne G
2023.02.20
Verified
Away from it all This was our second stay at Balranald Cottage and I’m sure we’ll be back again. The cottage is lovely, everything we look for in a holiday home. It is in a lovely quiet location overlooking the machair and just a short walk to the coast. Plenty of wildlife close by including hen harriers, short eared owls and corn rake. The cottage itself has everything you need and our favourite part is the sun room from which you can enjoy the beautiful tranquil view. The only heavy traffic we came across was a farmer moving his herd of cows along the road.
Expedition306929
Expedition306929
2023.01.11
Verified
Amazing cottage I loved this cottage, stunning views, beautiful walks direct from cottage, super comfy and well equipped over all. I loved the bedroom set up and en-suite-nice extra touches-soap, face cloths and super white soft fluffy towels all set up really nice.The kitchen has everything you need and some, it was spotlessly clean the entire cottage was the same and also stunning views. The patio was amazing just to sit and have coffee in morning, or a glass of wine in the evening. My favourite room had to be sun room from dawn to dusk to reflect and enjoy the beautiful sunrise and sunset. I would most certainly book this cottage again, we had an amazing holiday
Advertisement
Calinda_12
Calinda_12
2022.07.10
Verified
Beautiful location A wonderful location right on the machair and Balranald RSPB reserve. When we were there the machair flowers were in full bloom , pinks, blues, yellows and whites, - a wonderful sight.The cottage is very spacious and is well equipped. (items said to be lacking in a previous review - teapot, wash basin- are now in the kitchen). The weather was unseasonably cold during our visit even though in July so we needed the electric heaters. The lounge/ dining room is large and dark and you would need to light the multi- fuel burner to make it cosy. However, the gem of the cottage is the large sunroom which warms up quickly when the sun comes out and this is where we spent most of our time. The view is stunning.
Inalltheworld
Inalltheworld
2022.06.27
Verified
A Great Cottage This was a lovely well-equipped cottage with everything you need. It's very quiet and peaceful but close to the 'main' road. We particularly liked the sunroom and spent virtually all our time in there when we were home, it was lovely having views all around. We also watched Hen Harriers hunting over the reeds behind the cottage. If we return to North Uist we would try to book Balranald Cottage again. The owner Scott is also very helpful.
Ellis
Ellis
2022.04.22
Verified
A beautiful cottage right on the west coast of North Uist and located so close to some of the most dramatic beaches. The cottage was cosy and had everything possible I could have needed. Thank you again!
David M
David M
2022.04.16
Verified
Idyllic and peaceful. Beautiful cottage with outstanding views over rural countryside. Great place to walk to the beach with the dog and even better to just.....chill.
Advertisement
nettyandian
nettyandian
2022.04.04
Verified
Lovely location Balranald is a lovely cottage in a wonderful location. We had 2 great weeks the weather was unbelievable. Very unlike March. The cottage can be cold without lots of heating on, and can run expensive, but the wonderful sun room captures any heat and transfers through. The log burner is a saver with coal available nearby, we used it lots as the evenings were chilly. Its a very spacious cottage, with very nice bathroom and shower room, the kitchen was adequately equipped, but missing items that would have been nice such as teapot, washing up bowl, baking trays etc as lack of eating out places means eating in all the time. (and different diets due to health issues etc means more pans, dishes etc were needed) However Scott is really approachable and friendly and explained that things had been put away due to covid and cleaning, he also kindly transferred money to our account as we were missing the second weeks electric allowance (which can fly down and need hefty topping up if you have cold weather) Toiletries provided were really nice and all in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay and would totally recommend Balranald Cottage ( but take hot water bottles in the colder months as the bed is cold)
CheekyJay24
CheekyJay24
2022.03.22
Verified
Beautiful location We are regular visitors to North Uist, having a lot of family on the island. but this is the first time we've booked this property. We enjoyed our stay in the cottage, although the first night was very cold.The property is heated via electric storage heaters, & uses a prepay meter. When we arrived at about 7pm on a fairly cold March night, we found that the cottage had been empty for a week, with the heating switched off. There was less than £20 on the meter, which almost all got used up overnight warming the place up, meaning we had to drive to Benbecula on Sunday to top up in case it ran out. Once warm, the meter ticked down far more slowly, and it was very comfortable, but it cost us almost £100 over our week. Potential guests would need to budget for this if not staying in Summer.The lounge is large and comfortable, with a beautiful dining table. The kitchen has new appliances, although it’s not very well equipped for self catering. The cutlery was scarce and mismatched, with just 2 knives for preparing food. There is a knife sharpener, which we needed. There’s a lack of baking trays, serving dishes etc..The location is beautiful, with stunning views, especially from the sun room , although this was too cold for us to use in March. I imagine it’s wonderful in Summer!
Liz F
Liz F
2022.03.07
Verified
Magical Our third stay at the cottage - such a lovely peaceful location, great for walks down to the machair. Great cosy sitting room with real fire and also wonderful sunroom that warms up in the sun even in winter - a very quiet place to watch birds. Lots of barnacle geese around while we were there and even some red deer outside one morning. Loved the new shower - great to have more than one bathroom. Kitchen had everything we needed and could watch swans on wee loch nearby. We’ll be back as soon as we can..
NorrieAdamson
NorrieAdamson
2021.12.16
Verified
Homely, quiet and peaceful and in a great location…..like a second home! Have stayed twice here (would have been more if it had been available) and a 3rd stay is already booked! The nearby beach is within walking distance and there are views all around especially from the sunroom which is great at night too for nipping outside to see a light pollution free starry night and even the Northern Lights if you are lucky. Being a traditionally built cottage, the thick walls keep any gales and storms deceptively quiet! Very cosy.
Advertisement
Murdo
Murdo
2021.11.28
Verified
Beautiful cottage great location, well worth a visit
Ann B
Ann B
2021.11.17
Verified
Stunning location This cottage is in a stunning location, 20 minutes walk from beautiful beaches' along which you can walk for miles, all the way to the Balranald RSPB reserve.The cottage is very spacious, and the sun room is superb for just looking out at the view. We were very lucky with the weather but if it had been very bad we would have had plenty of space to just chill.The master bedroom is very large and even though there were only 2 of us staying it was great to have the ensuite.We saw a short eared owl flying over the end of the sea loch on a number of occasions - something we don't see at home. The cows in the filed were very curious and we spent a lot of time just watching them graze peacefully.There were just 2 little niggles - unfortunately the lighting in the living room is not very bright - the best light is the standard lamp but the bulb blew on our second night and there wasn't a replacement available. We did try to find one in local shops but couldn't so a spare would be helpful. The ceiling bulb in the second bedroom was also blown and there was no spare, but we managed without that light.Also it would be good to have some egg cups. I know it's probably an English thing but we do like our boiled eggs for breakfast - we managed with an egg box but egg cups would have been better.Absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for peace and quiet - there were times when we could hear absolutely nothing except the wind rustling the reeds a little way away.
Ken
Ken
2021.10.02
Verified
Nice quiet location with great walks from the front door.
Rhona
Rhona
2021.05.08
Verified
Fabulous location and living space. The conservatory has wonderful views. Well furnished to a high standard. Kitchen fully fitted, but only basic accessories. Garden secure.
Advertisement
Trip766954
Trip766954
2021.03.22
Verified
Superb Location Stayed here for a week for work and really enjoyed my time in a beautiful cottage in a very quiet and isolated location. The cottage is very comfortable everything you would need for a self catering holiday and only 1 mile walk to a stunning white sand beach. Definitely recommend
Connor M
Connor M
2020.11.23
Verified
Fantastic Great open space! We stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute (even with the November weather haha), thanks again ☺️
Sandra C
Sandra C
2020.09.20
Verified
Very comfortable home, gorgeous setting We had a lovely week here. The house is very comfortable, good beds, excellent shower etc. The sun room is just fabulous with views all round of the nature reserve, it is tempting to sit there all day. North Uist of course is stunning. Need to get used to not many shopping opportunities! Stock up with milk etc at shop 3 miles away. We had an excellent meal at Langass Lodge, 20 minutes drive away.