Acton ADU Reviews

Acton ADU Reviews

5.0

Excellent - based on 80 reviews

adujourney.com/pro/acton-adu
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (80)
Jimmy Dzuong
Jimmy Dzuong
2023-08-11
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
I spent a few months contacting many vendors regarding an ADU. My mother in law has mobility challenges so this eliminated lots of the pre-fab units. Most of then aren’t “age in place” friendly - they have extremely small bathrooms and so forth. Because of this, I figured I should spend extra for a custom design to get exactly what is needed. I came across Acton after spending months interviewing many vendors. Also, having family in the construction business, I know that experience is very important. Anyone can do anything, but “is it done right”? After meeting Jen , my confidence went up. She asked the right questions and was completely transparent. She described the process and approximate timeline. The company would derisk the project by doing upfront studies of key things. As a project engineer, I would have done the same. After a month or so, we were trying decide between Acton and another company. We ended choosing Acton for responsiveness, “done it many times and we know the special rules”. and overall style of execution. In addition the flexibility of the team and they all seem to work well with each other was what helped make the decision. We are now done. It was definitely one of my “easier” projects (considering the size and scope). I know what I was getting and Acton delivered. Team (Ivan, Connor, Jen, Lynne..), was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. Even the permit inspector liked working with them (can’t say the same for my solar contractors).
Paul N
Paul N
2023-08-04
Acton ADU is a streamlined, personal organization that leaves you with a high quality building personalized to your needs. We found their planning, communication, permit navigation, and building to be very high quality. Planning with Acton was very simple. They have a suite of choices both for the structural design, but also for nearly every aspect you could want. We even made some modifications ourselves that fit our needs and they were more than accommodating. We ended with a project plan we were fully behind and excited to see to completion. The team at Acton showed themselves to be high level communicators. They anticipated questions, gave frequent updates, and took the time necessary to answer all of our questions throughout. They also utilized an app called Buildertrend that gave us daily updates, calendars, photos, invoices, and any other information we could need from the project. It worked well and keep us constantly in the loop. One of the most daunting aspects of building an ADU is understanding and correctly following all of the permit requirements. Acton ADU handled all of that as part of the build. They know the codes and how to best expedite processes toward a positive conclusion. Acton even has pre-approved building plans that can be approved in a couple weeks rather than several months, which is one thing that drew us to their company in the first place. Finally, and most importantly, the build is fantastic. We watched our ADU come to life as we had planned and the crew working on the structure were amazing. From concrete to framing, drywall, and stucco, the team at Acton clearly knows how to do their work at a high quality. We could not be happier with the outcome and are excited to see our family and friends enjoy the ADU for years to come. If you are looking for an ADU builder to be on your shortlist, I highly recommend Acton ADU.
Paul N.
Paul N.
2023-08-03
Verified
Acton ADU is a streamlined, personal organization that leaves you with a high quality building personalized to your needs. We found their planning, communication, permit navigation, and building to be very high quality. Planning with Acton was very simple. They have a suite of choices both for the structural design, but also for nearly every aspect you could want. We even made some modifications ourselves that fit our needs and they were more than accommodating. We ended with a project plan we were fully behind and excited to see to completion. The team at Acton showed themselves to be high level communicators. They anticipated questions, gave frequent updates, and took the time necessary to answer all of our questions throughout. They also utilized an app called Buildertrend that gave us daily updates, calendars, photos, invoices, and any other information we could need from the project. It worked well and keep us constantly in the loop. One of the most daunting aspects of building an ADU is understanding and correctly following all of the permit requirements. Acton ADU handled all of that as part of the build. They know the codes and how to best expedite processes toward a positive conclusion. Acton even has pre-approved building plans that can be approved in a couple weeks rather than several months, which is one thing that drew us to their company in the first place. Finally, and most importantly, the build is fantastic. We watched our ADU come to life as we had planned and the crew working on the structure were amazing. From concrete to framing, drywall, and stucco, the team at Acton clearly knows how to do their work at a high quality. We could not be happier with the outcome and are excited to see our family and friends enjoy the ADU for years to come. If you are looking for an ADU builder to be on your shortlist, I highly recommend Acton ADU.
Clinton Hoffmann
Clinton Hoffmann
2023-08-02
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
From beginning to the end, Acton was on top of their game! All of their sub contractor’s were really good and detail oriented. The entire Acton Team did a phenomenal job even through the crazy rains we had this year. We would use Acton again if we build again in the future!
Paul Nyhof
Paul Nyhof
2023-07-18
We hired Acton to build a backyard ADU for our family and they did a fantastic job. The process was clear and our choices were set out in a very understandable way. Jennifer and team were very responsive early on as the project was in the planning stages and we had great communication throughout. The construction phase also went well and the daily communication from Ivan both personally and posted on the app made the whole process much more understandable and left few questions from me as the homeowner. Ivan was always happy to talk and answer any questions I had and generally keep me up to speed on the project. He was very clear and managed the project well. Overall I would recommend Acton as they have a wealth of experience and skill in building ADUs. They have teams they partner with to do great work and can navigate the city permitting process flawlessly. Great job!
Aaron
Aaron
2023-07-03
I've been interested in the ADU market and decided to pull the trigger on filling out the contact us form on several different specialized ADU builders. Of the 6 that I submitted a form with, only Action ADU replied to me. Not only were they the only ones that replied to me, they replied to me within 24 hours explaining their process and to set up a preliminary Zoom call. During the Zoom call, I learned more about their process and had an oppurtunity to discuss what exactly I wanted in my ADU. My lot has a unique lay out and immediately Jennifer discussed what kind of builds would go best with my lot. She suggested ideas I never considered and the best use cases would be for me. We had a good idea of how we wanted to move forward. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to secure the cash I wanted to finance this project, but once I do, Action ADU will be the people I will contact.
Aaron C.
Aaron C.
2023-07-02
Verified
I've been interested in the ADU market and decided to pull the trigger on filling out the contact us form on several different specialized ADU builders. Of the 6 that I submitted a form with, only Action ADU replied to me. Not only were they the only ones that replied to me, they replied to me within 24 hours explaining their process and to set up a preliminary Zoom call. During the Zoom call, I learned more about their process and had an oppurtunity to discuss what exactly I wanted in my ADU. My lot has a unique lay out and immediately Jennifer discussed what kind of builds would go best with my lot. She suggested ideas I never considered and the best use cases would be for me. We had a good idea of how we wanted to move forward. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to secure the cash I wanted to finance this project, but once I do, Action ADU will be the people I will contact.
Alex Schoen
Alex Schoen
2023-05-07
We recently had the pleasure of working with Acton Construction on a building project for an ADU in our backyard. It was a great experience, especially as a first-time homebuilder. Acton made it incredibly easy for us to get started with the project and guided us through the entire process. The design process was a breeze, thanks to Acton's pre-approved ADU plans in different sizes. This simplified the decision-making process and allowed us to choose a design that suited our needs. We opted for one of their pre-approved layouts. As part of the design process we selected from their list of finishes, hardware and appliances. Again, this helped us to minimize the number of decisions we had to make - which worked for us in our situation. They would however have also worked on more custom design if this had been important to us. During the build process we caught a few opportunities to add improvements that we had not thought about before, like adding lights into the closets and under the kitchen cabinets. These changes were easily accommodated and made possible because of frequent walkthroughs throughout the build phase. Ivan, the project lead, played a great part in ensuring the success of the project. His communication was excellent, and he kept us informed and involved throughout the entire process. Whenever we had questions or concerns, Ivan was readily available to address them, and his prompt follow-up on punch list items showed his dedication to delight us and make the project a true success. Ivan made sure the job site site was kept tidy and the construction activities were contained to the backyard, which was specially important since our lot is on the smaller side and I was working from home throughout the duration of the construction. In cases where material needed to be stored, Ivan proactively discussed the best solutions with us. The quality of the build exceeded our expectations, and we attribute this to the oversight provided by Ivan and the Acton team. Their attention to detail and commitment to delivering a high-standard project were evident in every aspect of the construction. We highly recommend Acton Construction if you are considering to add an ADU to your property and any other building project. They make the entire process easy and streamlined, with their pre-approved units and willingness to accommodate custom features. With Ivan's excellent communication, attention to detail, and oversight, we felt confident and supported throughout the project. The high quality standard of the construction further solidify Acton's reputation as a reliable and trustworthy partner for your building needs.
Juan Reyes
Juan Reyes
2023-05-05
We have been working with Acton for a long time now and it’s been great one of the project managers we’ve worked with is Ivan and he’s great gives us detailed instructions and whenever we have a question we call him and always answers all questions.
Suzanne Harwood
Suzanne Harwood
2023-03-11
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Putting an ADU in your backyard is no small decision. I vetted 3 companies before making my final choice and frankly I could not be happier. Stan Acton himself coming out to do the feasibilty study and the fact they do a study tells you how serious they take each project. Kevin Lee are sales rep who walked through every stetp the wonderful designers who listened to every concern, all super responsive and great to work with through the early stages. But the biggest thing is the onsight crew who are there every day. Enrique Garcia, I can’t say enough about him and his crew. First of all so nice, I know my dog Charlotte misses him. He was here every day making sure things went perfectly. All the way through to the tiniest detail of the punch list. He came and made sure it was perfect. Eddie and Juan, key members of the crew who worked every day, even when it was ridiculously hot to keep everything on time. Despite the fact major construction was going on in my backyard they did everything they could to not disrupte me which was amazing. You hear lots of storlies of construction going bad, or this or that not working out. I say do your homework and go with Acton ADU!!
Christopher Brittain
Christopher Brittain
2023-03-10
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
We wanted to change our back yard detached double garage into an ADU. Acton ADU was one of three teams that gave us a quote. They were definitely very competitively priced, but their advantage to us (we have no experience of building / permission / inspections in the USA) was that they manage everything. We could not have been happier with the entire team. Jennifer during the planning stages. Enrique was just a truly impressive on-site liaison who kept us up to date daily with inspection progress, building progress, and managed so thoughtfully any questions from the neighbours as and when they arose etc etc. Eddie and Juan also deserve special call-outs - they were responsible for the framing and just worked very hard, efficiently, and smoothly. Finally, Connor behind the scenes was always available to answer questions and to give up dates eg on the planning permission process. So in summary, I would definitely recommend, and I do not think there is a way I would say they could improve (except to speed up planning permission from the City which is completely out of their control!).
brenda macauley
brenda macauley
2023-01-28
I am pleased with the workmanship, professionalism, and care I received though out the five month duration to build our ADU. I moved into the space several months ago. It is larger than imagined at 500ft. The vaulted ceiling, suggested by design team really opened up the space, it made a huge difference. I had an amazing design team that really paid attention to every detail. I'm totally happy with the space.
Dena Porter
Dena Porter
2022-11-25
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Acton has just completed our dream kitchen remodel and we could not be happier. From our very first meetings with Acton (Stan and Jenn), we were impressed with their professionalism and approach to our project. They were excellent listeners and captured the full picture of what we were hoping to achieve. Our design team Lynne and Marianna helped guide us through all the decisions and options to fit our needs and keep us in line with our budget. Once the project began, Ivan, our project manager, was hands-on throughout the entire process. He’s an excellent communicator and a skilled craftsman. He managed the daily teams, coordinated inspections, and handled many things behind the scenes that I’m sure we didn’t even know about. We knew when to expect workers, they were punctual and courteous, and left the job site clean. This was important to us since we were living in the house during the remodel. Tim was the carpenter on our job and we cannot sing his praises enough. His meticulous attention to detail and craftsmanship were superlative. We also want to thank Vinnie, Connor, Zac, and Daniel for their work and dedication to our project. Our job was done in the expected time frame (we had one small delay, due to material - but well managed). We’ve completed many remodel projects and this was our very best experience by far. We had a high degree of trust and confidence with this team. They are honest, reliable, and talented. We could not ask for a better team to bring our vision to reality. We would highly recommend Acton for any project.
Dena P.
Dena P.
2022-11-25
Verified
Acton has just completed our dream kitchen remodel and we could not be happier. From our very first meetings with Acton (Stan and Jenn), we were impressed with their professionalism and approach to our project. They were excellent listeners and captured the full picture of what we were hoping to achieve. Our design team Lynne and Marianna helped guide us through all the decisions and options to fit our needs and keep us in line with our budget. Once the project began, Ivan, our project manager, was hands-on throughout the entire process. He's an excellent communicator and a skilled craftsman. He managed the daily teams, coordinated inspections, and handled many things behind the scenes that I'm sure we didn't even know about. We knew when to expect workers, they were punctual and courteous, and left the job site clean. This was important to us since we were living in the house during the remodel. Tim was the carpenter on our job and we cannot sing his praises enough. His meticulous attention to detail and craftsmanship were superlative. We also want to thank Vinnie, Connor, Zac, and Daniel for their work and dedication to our project. Our job was done in the expected time frame (we had one small delay, due to material - but well managed). We've completed many remodel projects and this was our very best experience by far. We had a high degree of trust and confidence with this team. They are honest, reliable, and talented. We could not ask for a better team to bring our vision to reality. We would highly recommend Acton for any project.
Dena P
Dena P
2022-11-25
Acton has just completed our dream kitchen remodel and we could not be happier. From our very first meetings with Acton (Stan and Jenn), we were impressed with their professionalism and approach to our project. They were excellent listeners and captured the full picture of what we were hoping to achieve. Our design team Lynne and Marianna helped guide us through all the decisions and options to fit our needs and keep us in line with our budget. Once the project began, Ivan, our project manager, was hands-on throughout the entire process. He’s an excellent communicator and a skilled craftsman. He managed the daily teams, coordinated inspections, and handled many things behind the scenes that I’m sure we didn’t even know about. We knew when to expect workers, they were punctual and courteous, and left the job site clean. This was important to us since we were living in the house during the remodel. Tim was the carpenter on our job and we cannot sing his praises enough. His meticulous attention to detail and craftsmanship were superlative. We also want to thank Vinnie, Connor, Zac, and Daniel for their work and dedication to our project. Our job was done in the expected time frame (we had one small delay, due to material - but well managed). We’ve completed many remodel projects and this was our very best experience by far. We had a high degree of trust and confidence with this team. They are honest, reliable, and talented. We could not ask for a better team to bring our vision to reality. We would highly recommend Acton for any project.
Caitlin Seal
Caitlin Seal
2022-04-22
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
We were a little nervous when we decided to move forward with construction on an ADU, but the Action ADU team made the process as smooth and painless as a project of this scale can possibly be. Jennifer and Mariana were great in helping us select a floorplan that fit our needs, and in putting together the interior design. The team was always upfront about costs and timelines, and always quick to respond to questions. Ivan managed the project once the work got started, and we could not have been happier to have him in the lead. Ivan knows his job well and kept the project on track despite working through the thick of the pandemic. He was professional and always quick to respond to questions and make corrections where needed. His attention to detail and dedication really show in the quality of the ADU. Action ADU's team cares about getting the job done right, and they have the skills to handle large, complicated, and detail oriented challenges. They absolutely earn their five star ratings.
Rick L.
Rick L.
2021-10-22
Verified
We chose Acton because they have over 30 years of residential experience and for their pre-approved construction plans that help expedite the permitting process with the city. While we did end up deviating a bit from our chosen plan so it better suited our needs, working through the changes with the planning team was very smooth and we came up with a space that we love. Once all the designs were set and construction was approved, we met with our Project Manager, Chris Gard. Chris was fantastic...organized, detailed, responsive, and just what we needed to get through this project! He outlined the whole process, timeline and expectations, and did an excellent job effectively managing the many-many subcontractors, holding them accountable for any issues and working to the best results possible. Shout out to Tim for his input and keen eye to the best end-finishes and an honorable (very honorable) mention to Vinny...great and steady, you ask and Vinney will do. Truly a great team, an honest and knowledgeable company, and a pleasure to work with...highly recommended and appreciated!
Gigi G.
Gigi G.
2021-09-26
Verified
We just finished our second project with Acton. Because of the success with our ADU construction, we hired them again to remodel our kitchen. There were Covid delays and supply chain issues, but we were always kept updated by our project manager Chris Gard. He was straightforward and honest. He *always* got back to us with answers. No BS. He is a great manager, and his long experience in the construction industry has served him well. He was very hands-on and more than capable of taking over certain tasks when necessary. We also appreciated the work and work ethic of Tim Cervantes. What an amazing job he did with the finish carpentry. He is a perfectionist and a problem solver. Putting a new kitchen in a very old house requires thinking outside the box; he is just great at that, and he is a pleasure to be around. Mariana helped plan our remodel - she's responsive, talented and a joy to work with. And to Vinnie, who took care of a hundred large and small details - thanks for your conscientious work. Overall a great experience.
Shaheen Kanchwala
Shaheen Kanchwala
2021-09-24
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
I HIGHLY recommend the the team at Acton ADU. We hired them to tear down our detached garage and custom build a 600 sq.ft. ADU for my parents to live in. They were absolutely amazing! From our first meeting with Jennifer M. to our final meeting with Stan. Our Project Manager, Chris Gard, was everything you would want in a manger when constructing a big project like this. Chris was great at communicating, was super responsive, and addressed all of our needs in a timely and professional manner. Chris collaborated with us throughout the process and He was very helpful with providing his recommendations throughout the process and listening to our needs or any concerns. He took extra care to take care of any issues that came up and genuinely had our best interest in mind. Chris was happy to field any questions and provide advice on our ADU as well as whatever was going with our main house. I also appreciate that there were never any surprises and Chris took great care to build the ADU with as least disruption as possible. Any time we had a question Chris was happy to give his expert advice. The entire team was very friendly and kind. Chris also did an excellent job managing the contractors working on the site. He was also very helpful with managing the strict Campbell inspection process. I’m beyond impressed with the overall quality of the work and how efficiently they built the structure once they broke ground. I am beyond excited to have my parents stay in our ADU. The kitchen is nicer than the main house! Jennifer M. listened to our needs and genuine with her advice during the prebuild phase and prepared us well for the project. Surabhi was understanding and helped bring our design to life. Kurt was helpful during the initial planning process. Vinnie was wonderful to have onsite and a diligent worker. Stan took the care to meet with us and get our feedback at the end of the project. Chris was the best project manager everrrrrr. Overall a superb construction company! I would give more stars if I could :-)
HU-906282543
HU-906282543
2021-09-24
I HIGHLY recommend the the team at Acton ADU. We hired them to tear down our detached garage and custom build a 600 sq.ft. ADU for my parents to live in. They were absolutely amazing! From our first meeting with Jennifer M. to our final meeting with Stan. Our Project Manager, Chris Gard, was everything you would want in a manger when constructing a big project like this. Chris was great at communicating, was super responsive, and addressed all of our needs in a timely and professional manner. Chris collaborated with us throughout the process and He was very helpful with providing his recommendations throughout the process and listening to our needs or any concerns. He took extra care to take care of any issues that came up and genuinely had our best interest in mind. Chris was happy to field any questions and provide advice on our ADU as well as whatever was going with our main house. I also appreciate that there were never any surprises and Chris took great care to build the ADU with as least disruption as possible. Any time we had a question Chris was happy to give his expert advice. The entire team was very friendly and kind. Chris also did an excellent job managing the contractors working on the site. He was also very helpful with managing the strict Campbell inspection process. I’m beyond impressed with the overall quality of the work and how efficiently they built the structure once they broke ground. I am beyond excited to have my parents stay in our ADU. The kitchen is nicer than the main house! Jennifer M. listened to our needs and genuine with her advice during the prebuild phase and prepared us well for the project. Surabhi was understanding and helped bring our design to life. Kurt was helpful during the initial planning process. Vinnie was wonderful to have onsite and a diligent worker. Stan took the care to meet with us and get our feedback at the end of the project. Chris was the best project manager everrrrrr. Overall a superb construction company! I would give more stars if I could :-)