The Wood Floor Restoration Company

www.woodfloorrestorers.co.uk

The Wood Floor Restoration Company Reviews

Good rating
4.2
23 reviews Verified
The Wood Floor Restoration Company
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 23 ) 4.2

Chiara Negrini
Chiara Negrini
2024.05.06
Matt did our floorboards in all rooms, restoring the original boards of the house. He's done an amazing job and he was consulting with us throughout the work. We were so pleased that we also asked him to do a built-in wardrobe in our main bedroom, which is amazing. I drew the model on a piece of paper and he brought it to life adding details and sharing his ideas. Highly recommend it!
Elizabeth Paterson
Elizabeth Paterson
2024.04.22
Dieter transformed our broken and worn floorboards, now they look brand new! An excellent, professional service at a good price. I would highly recommend. Thank you Dieter!
Claire Brown
Claire Brown
2024.02.19
Wow...what can I say! I cannot recommend Matt and his work highly enough. We had a really orangey looking wooden floor which we hated. We looked at getting a brand new floor as couldn't stand the way the old one looked. Matt came to give us a no obligation quote and talked us through the options really clearly and explained the process and cost thoroughly. We decided to go with restoration rather than a brand new floor and we are SO GLAD we did! Matt did a fantastic job, he showed up nice and early and worked really hard, clearing up after himself and making sure we knew when we could put furniture back on the floor, etc. We came home to what looked like a brand new floor! We were so impressed and definitely made the right choice by going with Matt for the restoration. The floor looked even better once the varnish had fully dried and we couldn't be happier. Thank you so much Matt, your work is to the highest of standards and we will definitely be recommending you!
Caroline W******
Caroline W******
2024.01.22
In September 2022 I engaged Dieter to sand and varnish my existing parquet floor tiles and lay matching tiles on an adjacent concreted area. He explained that the newly tiled area would not be completely level with the original floor. This surprised me. I was not particularly happy about it but went along with it anyway as he said that visually it would not show. Dieter also explained that there might be some scuffing of the skirting boards in order for the machine to properly sand the edges of the floor. However, I did not see why a thin metal plate or a sheet of cardboard could not have been placed up against the skirting boards to protect them from the machine and mentioned this at the time. As it happens, rather than just 'scuffing', the sanding machine did cause further damage to one of my newly decorated skirting boards in particular, to the point where it had gouge marks in it and was actually dislodged from the wall. Dieter denied having done this, however I know for a fact that it was not like that before as I had just had the room professionally decorated and it would have been mentioned by the decorator. When finished, the floor itself generally looked very good but unfortunately, in the area where the new tiles abutted the originals was not level to the point where I was unable to stand a chair or table successfully without it rocking. I also found that the tiles in this area had come unstuck (probably due to the different levels involved) and were moving. I called Dieter back to look at the job. He was polite and friendly and he said he would return to re-lay the new tiles. It is now January 2024 and despite numerous messages from 2022 onwards, in which he has had every opportunity to return and carry out the remedial work, he has never come back and has stopped answering my emails and yet I see from reviews that he is carrying out many subsequent jobs. This is not impressive.
CW
CW
2024.01.22 2024.01.22 | United Kingdom
Not done properly In September 2022 I engaged Dieter to sand and varnish my existing parquet floor tiles and lay matching tiles on an adjacent concreted area. He explained that the newly tiled area would not be completely level with the original floor. This surprised me. I was not particularly happy about it but went along with it anyway as he said that visually it would not show. Dieter also explained that there might be some scuffing of the skirting boards in order for the machine to properly sand the edges of the floor. However, I did not see why a thin metal plate or a sheet of cardboard could not have been placed up against the skirting boards to protect them from the machine and mentioned this at the time. As it happens, rather than just 'scuffing', the sanding machine did cause further damage to one of my newly decorated skirting boards in particular, to the point where it had gouge marks in it and was actually dislodged from the wall. Dieter denied having done this, however I know for a fact that it was not like that before as I had just had the room professionally decorated and it would have been mentioned by the decorator. When finished, the floor itself generally looked very good but unfortunately, in the area where the new tiles abutted the originals was not level to the point where I was unable to stand a chair or table successfully without it rocking. I also found that the tiles in this area had come unstuck (probably due to the different levels involved) and were moving. I called Dieter back to look at the job and he said he would need to re-lay the new tiles. It is now January 2024 and despite numerous messages from 2022 onwards, in which he has had every opportunity to return and carry out the remedial work, he has never come back and has stopped answering my emails. This is not impressive.
Susan Jacobs
Susan Jacobs
2023.10.28
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
I have had my oak flooring down 20yrs and was in need of some TLC. Dieter came over two days and worked very professionally and the dust was an absolute mimium he cleaned up afterwards to a very high standard. I now have a beautiful new floor. I would recommend this company
Tom Hamilton
Tom Hamilton
2023.10.26
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Had parquet floor repaired and re-varnished. From initial contact/quote Dieter and Matt were very professional and trustworthy - work was completed on time and to a very good standard - would highly recommend
Luke Kievenaar
Luke Kievenaar
2023.10.24
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Matt did a great on our flooring- we are very happy with the finish and highly recommend him!
Johnnie Shannon
Johnnie Shannon
2023.07.14
We had some oak kitchen worktops that were starting to look the worse for wear. They were treated with oil but water stains and other stains were showing. Dieter got back to us with a quote really quickly. We were a little uncertain about going from oil to lacquer, but in fact it's worked out really well. It took him about 3/4 of a day to sand and treat the surfaces and he left the place spotless. Would thoroughly recommend.
Bad experience, got a more professional outfit to repair bad work I would avoid Dieter. Underestimated the underfloor insulation and refinish job significantly, 3 days ended up taking 6. Rushed finish, with poor results, inconsistent attempt to fill gaps, and left a prominent woodworm floor board sharp and rough in middle of room. If he’d have consulted me I would have said replace it. Have been waiting over 2 weeks for him to resolve poor work, he has failed to return on a couple of occasions. Has no understanding of impact on family life.
Pete Wood
Pete Wood
2023.02.07
Critical
Professionalism
Quality
Responsiveness
I would avoid Dieter. Underestimated the underfloor insulation and refinish job significantly, 3 days ended up taking 6. Rushed finish, with poor results, inconsistent attempt to fill gaps, and left a prominent woodworm floor board sharp and rough in middle of room. If he’d have consulted me I would have said replace it. Have been waiting over 2 weeks for him to resolve poor work, he has failed to return on a couple of occasions. Has no understanding of impact on family life.
Restore parquet floor Dieter was very professional and polite. Very competitive quote and very pleased with the results on our parquet floor. It has transformed the room. Completed the work as scheduled. Would recommend.
Paula Hewett
Paula Hewett
2022.09.27
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
I would highly recommend Dieter and the company. He did a marvelous job at restoring our extremely badly damaged oak kitchen worktop. It now looks like brand new and he recommended a new innovative coating on top of the wood which now preserves the worktop for years to come. Absolutely stellar job from start to finish.
Philippa Waller
Philippa Waller
2022.06.16
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Cara Rodway
Cara Rodway
2022.03.15
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
I can thoroughly recommend Dieter and Wood Floor Restoration. He was quick and efficient and did an amazing job sanding and repairing our original wood floors. He offered advice when asked and was flexible with his schedule when the job required more work than he originally thought. Just wish we had got it done years ago - the end result is fantastic!
Dcs Ihc
Dcs Ihc
2021.11.29
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Dieter was extremely professional, punctual, and did a fantastic job sanding and restoring our very worn out cherrywood floor, as well as fixing damaged sections. He was very thorough and was so helpful when we wanted other things doing as well.
Reply from The Wood Floor Restoration Company 2021.12.01
Thank you?
Terry Brewer
Terry Brewer
2021.11.12
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
I am over the moon with my new parquet flooring. Dieter was always on time, very professional and gave me regular updates. I would recommend this company without hesitation.
Wendy Dickens
Wendy Dickens
2021.11.01
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
I am delighted with my new flooring. Dieter was polite, informative and professional from start to finish and provided regular updates on his progress. I can thoroughly recommend this company.
Cleatus
Cleatus
2021.10.06
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Parquet floor repaired, restored and re-varnished. Exceptionally good quality work and the finished result was astounding. Consulted with me throughout to make sure every aspect was as I wanted. Arrived promptly, very reliable, friendly and considerate. Great value for money. Everything was perfect from workmanship to customer service. I thoroughly recommend Wood Floor Restoration Co.
John and Maureen Hill
John and Maureen Hill
2021.10.06
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Dieter made an excellent job of restoring our parquet flooring. It now looks like new, considering how old it is it looks amazing. I would highly recommend him.