United Airlines

www.united.com/en/us

United Airlines Reviews

Average rating
3.0
63203 reviews Verified
United Airlines
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 12075 ) 3.0

Joan S
Joan S
2024.05.21
Verified
Do not book UNITED AMERICA AIRLINES I was visiting my daughter in NY & asked her to book flights fr me the cheapest on the market. I was told that United America is not a good aerline as my daughter had a smiliar experience where it took her 24hrs to go to Madison US. I thought it would be a one off so I decided to go with U.AM . as they were definitely the cheapest. We were 2hrs delayed in Shannon on route to EWR no explanation given. I thought nothing of it. on return to Ireland the flight in EWR was on time everyone boarded & then told there was a computer error . It would take 25mts to check it out. 25mts passes & 1 hr later we were told that we had to leave flight & go to another terminal which we did & delayed there fr over an hour until we eventually was allowed to board a flight which took another 30mts to leave aerport. Pilot announced that safety was there priority hence delay. A flight that was meant to leave EWR at 11pm didn't leave until 02.30an. I would like to ask U.A. why they repeatly do the same mistakes DO NOT BOOK UNITED AMERICA FLIGHTS.
Advertisement
Alan S
Alan S
2024.05.21
Verified
Absolute Nightmare This has been the absolute worst travel experience and airline I have ever dealt with. Here I thought Allegiant was bad. Scott Kirby you need to pull your head out of your ass and get down here and actually see how your company is ran, If you still like what you see well then I understand why your CEO. I was kept at the airport for 14 hours and virtually told nothing at one point the United agents said they didn't know where the plane was. How do you lose a plane? Scott? To make matters worse no air conditioning on the United Terminals. I bet Scott's office has Air Conditioning. I would like to add that the plane I was on from Moline, IL To Chicago also had no AC. I am still at the airport at 2:00am after a full days worth of delays. United says the plane is going to leave at 2:30am and arrive in Allentown, PA at 5:30am. We'll the pilot gets off the plane and announces she can't fly anymore due to time. How is it possible for United to not know how many hours their pilots fly. It's because the pilots don't work for United, they work for Sky West. Evidently these two companies don't talk. Even though they are in business together. They give out hotel vouchers after 14 hours of waiting. The agent gives out Lyft vouchers for transportation only to find out, Lyft drivers are not available after midnight. I am put up at a Hotel that is at least 20 miles from the airport. Here comes the 70.00 taxi bill. They tell us the plane will leave at 12pm the next day. Plane doesn't back out of the gate untill 4pm. How is that possible when the plane landed at 2:30am and didn't leave. Now the plane has maintenance issues and we are stuck at the gate. Can this get any better. I was billed for a hotel room at my destination that I didn't use, my rental car reservation was canceled because I didn't show up, I officially lost two days of wages because United could nor get me to my destination. I am going to fly at least 50 more times before the end of the year. If I can avoid doing business with United I absolutely will. I will also encourage everyone I know in business and personally to avoid this airline.
Maps04987869666
Maps04987869666
2024.05.21
Verified
Garbage experience from garbage Airline I chose to buy a more expensive ticket in business class thinking i might get better service. It was everything but... My flight from Louisville, KY to LAX was on time and when I attempted to board my connecting flight to PDX I was told the plane had boarded and closed its doors with no entry possible. Hey I get it, things happen. But after booking with Alaskan airlines I called customer service at American to get a credit card refund. I was told through email that I received the only offer they were going to give me. This is as unacceptable as leaving on-time passengers behind because you're PMS'ing or whatever. Wasn't that female pilot that just harrased passengers last month from American Airlines? This airline is dirty, outdated, unsafe, and shooting themselves in the foot. Down with bad business. The people will decide if you survive. Keep my money M.F'ers. You're gonna need it.
Hilli
Hilli
2024.05.21
Verified
Jederzeit Langstrecke wieder mit United Airline Alles war bestens. Essen/Service/Getränke ... Jeder bekam Kopfhörer, Nackenhörnchen u. Decke Personal war sehr aufmerksam. Jederzeit gerne wieder Langstrecke mit United Airlines
Guide531704
Guide531704
2024.05.21
Verified
Horrible customer service United employees at Chicago airport are extremely rude. They just walk around and don’t help the customers. Iam extremely frustrated and disappointed. Definitely I will never fly United again. I am used to flying Delta and American Airlines I will keep using them as my first choice
Advertisement
CPhillips-Clan
CPhillips-Clan
2024.05.21
Verified
first class Domestic you should have access to all their facilities We paid for first class tickets from Hawaii to Chicago with an overnight flight with full anticipation of being able to use the United Club while we wait for our flight. Unfortunately, United does not honor First class ticket access with Domestic flights which is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Had we been flying international first class we could have had full access. United needs to change this policy. If you pay to be in first class you should have access to all their facilities.
user20
user20
2024.05.21
Verified
AWFUL I was flying home from college and booked a flight from Alabama to New York. I had a layover in Chicago, the first flight was okay. However my second flight was absolutely ridiculous and awful. They had everyone board the flight, we all sat down, ready to take off. Then they announced that everyone had to get off the flight immediately and take their belongings because of a mechanical issue. Everyone came off the flight and no update was given for about 30 minutes. The flight was suppose to take off at 6pm. It was then delayed until 8pm and we were told it was because there was a hole in a window. How did they not know this before everyone was on the flight??? It was then unable to be fixed and a new plane had to be found to fly everyone. Thankfully for me I didn’t have to make another connecting flight or something and was able to wait. There was no other flights available to New York anyway for me to take. We did not take off until around 10:20 and landed after midnight. I understand this happens and delayed flights are normal but I found this ridiculous. AND than when i went to get my baggage I noticed that my brand new suitcase (it had only been used on this flight ever) was completely ruined. I was not able to go to the airport to complain about this issue because ONE it was after midnight and LGA apparently has a curfew?? TWO I was a college student traveling alone and arriving super late. and Lastly i had no idea this was a thing you are able to do because personally I have never had an issue like this. wear and tear is normal on suitcases but not after the first time being totally ruined. They told me they no longer can help me because it exceeded the 24 hour limit. I am extremely angry and not only because of this but every other time I have flown with United I have had issues with canceled flights and extreme extreme delays. I will NEVER fly United again.
Evgeny G
Evgeny G
2024.05.20
Verified
Tickets purchased from a third party vendors are not refundable with United Airlines In May I had round trip between Calgary to Tel Aviv. I bought my tickets for United Airlines via one of the third part companies. Once in New York (I had a long layover time) I discovered that that my flight from New York to Tel Aviv and back were cancelled by United Airlines. I bought separate ticket to get back to Calgary. When I requested the refund it was denied. The website of the United indicates that : "Tickets purchased from a third party vendor are not refundable." I didn't buy insurance for the tickets, but not sure if with this policy insurance can help. FYI travellers.
Sadhvi M
Sadhvi M
2024.05.20
Verified
Decline of united not the airlines it used to be. staff is annoyed. it basically operates like a budget airlines, charging you for every little thing, despite it being an albeit short but still an international flight
Advertisement
PD N
PD N
2024.05.20
Verified
Disgruntled Bride United Airlines has canceled our flight to a time that DOES NOT work for us and there are no more flights out on the date of our travel (July 3, 2024). I purchased travel guard insurance for the flight that we made in April for a July trip, and now travel guard is not refunding our money because we didn't cancel within a 15 day period! I told them that UNITED canceled our flight which is 2 months away without any reason why, and UNITED won't refund the money we spent on the protection of our flight! United has dropped the ball several times with me, but unfortunately I keep them then a chance to screw me over! Here is a copy of the email they sent to us: Per email from United Airlines: The schedule for your trip to Orlando has changed. If this new schedule works with your travel plans, you’re all set - there’s nothing else you need to do. If these changes don’t work with your travel plans, easily review your options to change to a different flight or cancel your trip using the button below.
bmi-94040
bmi-94040
2024.05.19
Verified
Amateurs and totally clueless team The flight was scheduled at 9.45 PM from Chicago. These people are the rudest in the airlines industry. They barely explained why we were stranded all night long at the airport They finally took off at 7AM the following morning. They still ignore that changing our plans costed us $500 when arriving in San Francisco. Waiting for our baggage was also an underwhelming experience with their San Francisco's United Airlines team. Total amateurs from A to Z and they don't know how to fly a plane
Olajumoke O
Olajumoke O
2024.05.19
Verified
The worst Airline in America! Don’t book if you love your life! Do not book this airline if you love your life ! The flight was delayed, then the engine failed on air and we had to do an emergency landing. We were rebooked for the next day and they couldn’t even fix my seat assignment!
Beau L
Beau L
2024.05.19
Verified
United gave us the worst travel experience Flight was cancelled for “unexpected operational issue,” which I get that it happens. Went to gate kiosk to see what the next step was. Kiosk agent said, “I’m not helping anyone from the cancelled flight, so if your flight was cancelled then scan this QR code and pick your next flight.” Ok, easy enough, except none of the flights were operational and our options were to wait 24-48 hours. This was brought to the kiosk agent attention and she simple stated, “I said I’m not helping anyone from that flight,” and then she left. Then I called United and they refused a refund/credit and could not schedule us for a flight (this was 8am so all day to schedule a flight). They also would not give a hotel voucher until we could get another flight. United was zero help. Ended up buying same day ticket just to get home from a different carrier. Will never fly United again, too many issues.
Advertisement
Shaiq
Shaiq
2024.05.19
Verified
United ground staff is a mess at EWR United has a very inefficient way of checking in customers, I had trouble checking in and was getting late for my flight to DR on May 19, 2024 (they need e-ticket and all sorts of old school things), I asked for assistance and they kept saying to wait, there are some elderly staff members who cannot multi task or act quickly, they need to be placed else where, somewhere they dont have to work under pressure. Its really busy out there and you have to be agile and be a problem solver, you cannot miss people's flight and be OK, you are in a service industry and need to think outside the box. Anyway, it was when a staff named Arnaldo came to our rescue, he was just amazing and helped check in so easily, kudos to him for being so quick in resolving our problem. Service industries need more ot Arnaldo's, I really hope United makes a note of this.
avbnz
avbnz
2024.05.18
Verified
First and last time flying United Seems like most people know and I now know that you should never buy a basic economy with United. You can’t even bring your carry-on luggage and it cost $40 to check it in. Any seat upgrade costs a fortune too. The tiniest toilets I’ve seen in a while onboard. So overall it was my first and last time flying with them. Knowing that you should buy an economy plus, the price tag becomes not competitive. Delta or Alaska give much more comfort for lesser money
Yossy Y
Yossy Y
2024.05.18
Verified
Worst flight attendants possible Horrendous flight attendants JK and Scott who had no idea had to give good customer service. They both should work for low budget airlines rather than United Airlines - tried to show intimidation tactics and definitely showed racial discrimination. Embarrassing for the airline. The worst brand ambassadors possible for United Airlines - a mistake if you keep them. Customer satisfaction - negative 1
Jay F
Jay F
2024.05.18
Verified
Greedy unprofessional united Flying these days can be strenuous. The people, the planes, and the delays, it’s all a challenge. However UNITED takes it higher lengths to make your trip, completely and utterly miserable. This greedy airline packs as many seats as it possibly can, row by row, in a tin can, cramming people like sardines in awfully uncomfortable seats, poor service and in flight entertainment where if you want to watch something during the flight, you must endure 5, 30 second ads to just watch a show. That’s 2 and a half minutes for something you pay very well for. United airlines does not care about the people who pay to fly in this god awful airline company. They do not even care about professionalism. I would love to see the day, this airline company dissolves and disappears. I would rather travel on a unicycle with no seat and a flat bent tire across the country then to ever give a penny to this selfish, greedy, and subpar airline company ever again. United is a scam of a company. They should rebrand themselves to conniving airlines. I truly truly recommend you fly with a better more reputable airline company and not some cash grab of a sham airline like united.
Advertisement
John L
John L
2024.05.18
Verified
ENGINE FAILAIRE AT 30,000 FEET ENGINE FAILAIRE AT 30,000 FEET Today, I want to talk about United Airlines and why I hate them and will never fly them again. It started 12 years ago when I got a United Airlines milage card. I married a wonderful woman from Vietnam. In hopes of visiting Vietnam to meet my extended family, so we started collecting miles. After 12 long years we had saved enough for two round trip business class tickets. Trip to Vietnam was great, got to sleep and watch movies, free drinks and great food all the way there. Coming home through Singapore we boarded our business class seats and took off. After 2 hours there was a load BOOM and the entire plane went dark. After a few minutes the flight attendants were going up and down the plane with flashlights. 10 minutes later everything came back on and the screen rebooted. I decided to watch the flight following app to see where the plane was and was heading. We had turned around heading back to Singapore. Shortly after that the captain came on the intercom and said there was an explosion in the left engine, and they had to shut it down. We are not flying on one engine. We arrived back at Singapore around 12:00 AM. Waited an hour then they finally told us they had a hotel for us to stay at till the morning and a new flight would be arranged and we would all get the same seats. The catch to this is the plane would board at 8 AM and take off at 9 AM. It is now around 1 AM and we were told we had to pick up our luggage and go back through customs and security. So, we waited an hour and a half for the bags of which turns out my bags were checked from Ho Chi Min and were on a different flight, which had no clue. Now it is 2:30 AM and the ride to the Hotel was around 45 minutes. We decided to just camp out at the airport and call the airline to get our new boarding passes. At 3 AM after finding some food and going to lost bags to find out they were on a different flight, we called United. I got a very nice young lady who preceded to let us know were bumped to economy for the 18-hour flight. I did get very angry, as did my wife. Having them on speaker phone, we got very terse with the young lady. Explaining that we had been told we would have the same seats, we proceeding to complain this was unacceptable and we would like them to find another airplane with business class available and pay for us to take them. After going back and forth for 1 hour and 28 minutes. During this time, we got online and pretended to book a new flight and found 6 business class seats available after being told nothing was available. We asked for two of these seats and we were told seats are not guaranteed. Then a supervisor came on the line and told me we could fly economy or get nothing. It got to the point I was livid. He said he was going to hang up on us. I said I would just call back and be someone else's headache and he said he did not care as he was in South Africa. We were now encroaching on 5 AM and after trying to just pay for another airline we found out there was not any other airline leaving Singapore for the US. So we called back to united and were nice and asked for our economy seat boarding pass. We had paid 2000 to upgrade my wife to business class before we left. Now, my ticket was 100% miles. Now I was told I had to upload my passport so they could verify tracking, granted I had already flown over 8000 miles with them. I asked for a person I could go to and let them scan my passport. They have no people in Singapore, it is all offboarded. She gave us a phone number and when we called it was just airport information on parking. I had to install the app on my phone and create an account and it let me take a picture of my passport, of which united did not let me know I could do this. Now I have a new account with my passport uploaded. I called back, this time I was transferred to a supervisor who setup our economy seats and sent us boarding passes. Time to board, we get on the plane and turns out one of those 6 open seats were not sold so they upgraded my wife to the business class while I had to stay in economy for 18 hours. The ride from San Fransisco to Houston Thinking I would have business class and now could sleep all the way home. They pull up in a 50-year-old Continental Airline 737 from 50 years ago when the airlines merged. Had those big first-class seats but no sleeping again. I HATE UNITED AIRLINES
mark l
mark l
2024.05.18
Verified
Awful awful service We were booked on a Polaris flight non stop to Lima. The plane took off and then returned for a mechanical problem after an hour and a half. We sat around until a new plane and crew was obtained . We taxied out and had another mechanical problem on another plane. It is now 12:30 am the next day and we are still waiting for another crew and plane. They offered food vouchers when I called customer service instead of some restitution . I explained to the woman that the vouchers are useless because the restaurants are closed at this time. If I ran my business like they run their business. I would be out of business. I will be taking 2 more flights this year and will do my best not to fly inited
Jay F.
Jay F.
2024.05.18
Verified
Flying these days can be strenuous. The people, the planes, and the delays, it's all a challenge. However UNITED takes it to higher lengths to make your trip, completely and utterly miserable. This greedy airline packs as many seats as it possibly can, row by row, in a tin can, cramming people like sardines in awfully uncomfortable seats, poor service and in flight entertainment where if you want to watch something during the flight, you must endure 5, 30 second ads to just watch a show. That's 2 and a half minutes for something you pay very well for. United airlines does not care about the people who pay to fly in this god awful airline company. They do not even care about professionalism. I would love to see the day, this airline company dissolves and disappears. I would rather travel on a unicycle with no seat and a flat bent tire across the country then to ever give a penny to this selfish, greedy, and subpar airline company ever again. United is a scam of a company. They should rebrand themselves to conniving airlines. I truly truly recommend you fly with a better more reputable airline company and not some cash grab of a sham airline like united.