Umngazi Hotel & Spa

Umngazi Hotel & Spa Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
1580 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1000)
Christine Terblanche
Christine Terblanche
2022.08.16
Verified
The people of Umngazi We recently spent three nights at Umngazi on what was sadly a very wet weekend. Whilst we unfortunately never made it on to the beach or up the river on our sunset cruise; I have to say that the stand-out of the weekend, aside from the unbelievable gourmet feast, was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. It truly was unbelievable to experience such a beautiful family of people. Kudos to management for creating such a wonderful atmosphere.
Advertisement
peppidowd
peppidowd
2022.08.15
Verified
An Unforgettable Stay We had been planning a trip to Umngazi for many years, but family responsibilities then Covid delayed these plans. We are so happy that we finally had the opportunity to make the visit a reality in Aug this year. Umngazi Hotel and Spa became an oasis within the business of our life. We were able to recharge in an amazing natural environment, treated to wonderful food and cared for by staff who became like family to us. Thank you for making us feel special, with no complaint about anything, we will definitely be back. Wendy and Peppi.
119darleneh
119darleneh
2022.08.15
Verified
OUR WEEK AT UMGAZI An incredible venue. A proper holiday! A large negative is the trip to get there - the R61 road is active with goats, cattle, donkey, pigs, horses and Africanus dogs. This together wiht the very winding road made for stressful travelling. We had to go through Flagstaff and Lusikisiki - not pleasant. The main road in Flagstaff is laden with people and cars all stopping - theft from vehicles is rife. I want to go to Umgazi again but it would need ot be a fly in to Port St JOhns.
Mark C
Mark C
2022.08.11
Verified
Conway Mngazi stay Having been annual regulars for many years it was lovely to return to Mngazi some 10 years later.A huge well done on how well it has been cared for and for the attitude and care of the staff.Will come again soon.
Melanie L
Melanie L
2022.08.04
Verified
Very noisy but beautiful The dining room drinks staff were at times a little inattentive and slow in offering us drinks. However the staff in general were extremely friendly and helpful, and I commented to my travel companion how joyous and happy they all seemed. I caught a number of lady staff members singing away as they worked or walked around.Poor wifi coverage. Considering that the Covid-19 pandemic has created a new phenomenon, a new type of traveller i.e. those going on a "workation", the wifi at 4 star hotels should REALLY be up to scratch and they need to cater for such travellers. I was "working from home" on this road trip and good wifi was a necessity. There is no wifi in the rooms so I was advised to work in the Adult TV room above the lounge. Unfortunately the staff in reception, the staff visiting reception and the staff entering the lounge and bar area from the reception side were unbelievably noisy, and had almost constant conversations at TOP volume with complete disregard for me trying to work very close by in that TV lounge. Also there was a jovial bunch of lady trail runners visiting the hotel during our stay who insisted on the bar music being played SO loud before dinner, that one couldn't even hear to talk to one's partner in the bar when having pre-dinner drinks. Then we had the arrival of the large cycling group where the ululation (lililili sounds) from the lady staff, and again ridiculously loud music, went on for about 2 hours. I do admire the jovial spirit Umngazi is trying to create for larger groups, but it really is at the discomfort of and detriment to other guests. Thank you to the kind and attentive manager (I think his name is Keith) who offered me his office upstairs away from the noise to attend my online work meeting.The food was outstanding, the hikes beautiful and the location is stunning.
Advertisement
Wigwamjan
Wigwamjan
2022.07.26
Verified
All round family fun! Excellent family holiday. Lovely to not have to think about anyone's catering needs or preferences. Complete over-indulgence of eating, sleeping, hiking and having fun. Just what a holiday is about. The drive from East London airport to Umngazi was a bit hairy with riots, scammers trying to get us to pay for a fake pass to drive on a public road, etc. Our country has it's issues and unfortunately, we needed a car and wanted that autonomy, but it would make me think twice about driving again. Although there is beauty everywhere, Mthata itself has a dangerous element that can rise up. Just be aware and possibly phone the GM before you leave the airport to ask if there have been recent incidents or reports. Forewarned is best.
N9043PJpaul
N9043PJpaul
2022.07.24
Verified
Jewel of the Wild Coast !! Breathtaking stay with fantastic staff and facilities !! Some of the activity equipment can be upgraded. Overall one of the best holidays ever. We could relax while the kids were well entertained and kept occupied !
robynnichol
robynnichol
2022.07.21
Verified
Umngazi magic We had the most wonderful time at Umngazi this year. The staff are friendly and helpful, ALWAYS so happy to see you. The food is sensational and there is something for everyone. The kids food is also amazing - for a mom to not have to worry about their children getting a healthy meal makes it a proper holiday. The rooms are all beautiful and well equipped for a small family. The facilities for all ages are incredible and are all well maintained. We absolutely loved our stay at Umngazi and booked again for next year before we left.
anthiamurphy
anthiamurphy
2022.07.19
Verified
A Piece of Paradise! Stunning Venue!! Outstanding hospitatlity and Managmenent above and beyond!!Amazing Family orientated hotel and the Spa is sublimeSo much for the children to do, in a very safe environmentWe will be back !!
Advertisement
yashinmohanlal
yashinmohanlal
2022.07.18
Verified
Umngazi Hotel and Spa Our overall experience was excellent. There is nothing that we can fault you guys on and our weeks stay lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Thank you for your hospitality. We will definitely return, if we can get a booking!!
ukbokke
ukbokke
2022.07.14
Verified
A special place It’s a logistical challenge to get to Umngazi but don’t think twice. You will be rewarded by the most spectacular coastline, the warmest hospitality, a laid back and relaxing vibe, and incredible food. What sets this place apart is that every member of staff genuinely cares about doing a first class job. We travelled as a couple but it was great to meet families who have been coming to Umngazi each year for 20+ years. There is so much to see and do from majestic coastal hikes, kayaking into mangrove forests, fishing, visiting local Xhosa villages, or simply chilling by the pool. Go, book, now!
Gerhard
Gerhard
2022.07.10
Verified
Absolutely wonderful stay The whole place, the ambiance, the food, the personnel - everything was absolutely perfect. The facilities in the rooms were tasteful. The staff and service were always very friendly. The food quality and variety was great.
GertTop
GertTop
2022.06.30
Verified
Hidden gem A pitstop visit on our road trip between a game lodge and the National Arts Festival in Grahamstown. The area is off the beaten path of the international visitors. Yes, it’s a long drive from anywhere (except Umthatha airport) but what a glorious one! And then, at the end of this journey of wonder, a hotel that immediately feels good when you arrive. Friendly groundsman directs where to park, efficient check-in. Taken to the ‘adults-only’ section of the hotel to our generous seaview suite. Breath. It’s dark now and the only shower is outdoor. A slight winter-chill is in the air and we wonder if the demure showerhead is up to its task. Turns out that small on the outside provides a waterfall. Best shower in ages. And even better with Charlotte Rhys
Advertisement
powelldl
powelldl
2022.06.24
Verified
Umgazi Hotel and Spa Was a wonderful family holiday, Food was amazing, Staff were all friendly and helpful, loads to do, even for adults without childrenWill certainly go back Room was very comfortable, with a wonderful bed and linen
Brenwade1
Brenwade1
2022.06.21
Verified
Wonderful setting and amazing suites. We spent 5 nights here, and it was our first time.The Nambiti suite we were upgraded to, was brilliant. Cleverly thought out and lots of great design flair. This is a family hotel first and foremost, we were two couples travelling together and sometimes the family focus was a bit jarring. The casual homophobia we experienced on our last night by some other guests, didn't help either.All meals are included in the rate, and this is one area that could be improved. More fresh fruit and just better overall execution would make a difference. The river cruise is recommended. The spa is wonderfully situated, the treatment rooms could do with a good clean though, and some maintenance. A good holiday overall, would return.
TrstnL
TrstnL
2022.06.20
Verified
Wonderful Wild Coast In one word sublime!We just loved our time at Umngazi. The space, the people, the food, scenery! Perfect spot to unwind!The ladies behind the bar, especially need a mention just for being amazing! Will definitely be back
Flintstone99
Flintstone99
2022.06.14
Verified
Getaway to Umngazi We enjoyed a really enjoyable week at the hotel - sharing the experience with another couple. The food fare was incredible, the staff friendly and prepared to assist in any manner. Didn't have the fishing luck that we anticipated.The driving experience via Flagstaff and Lusikisiki was unpleasant and the travel through a congested uMtata was not welcome either. Having shared the shortcomings of current road travel to the venue I certainly hope to repeat, and would recommend to all, a visit to Umngazi.
Advertisement
Pumza Duba
Pumza Duba
2022.06.09
Verified
Miss Such a beautiful and wonderful place to visit. What a gem !!!Many activities to do.The staff is friendly and warm ٫ the food is amazing but my highlight was the Sunday braai..Cant wait to return keep it up.
Gillian M
Gillian M
2022.06.09
Verified
Umngazi Anniversary Getaway Just as wonderful as 20 years ago. We had our honeymoon there 20 years ago and went back for our 20th anniversary.Superb catering, friendly and helpful staff, every need catered for - just a perfect getaway for anyone whether it be family, couple of honeymoon. A very special place indeed.
kristi215
kristi215
2022.06.09
Verified
A nice break It was a lovely experience to switch off and just slow down with my Husband. We enjoyed sleeping in and the food was lovely. the drive was bit hectic but once you arrived it did feel worth it. It was hard to come back and not be on a schedule with our meals lol. there was an amazing variety of food and the staff were absolutely amazing.