Thumbtack

www.thumbtack.com

Thumbtack Reviews

Average rating
3.3
8918 reviews Verified
Thumbtack
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 5088 ) 3.3

Anas
Anas
2024.05.05
SCAMMERS. STAY AWAY. They’ll randomly charge your card and they’re true thieves. They don’t have proper customer support. They charged me $400 and there was no service done in return. Now I’m filing a dispute against them.
i
i
2024.05.05
Just horrible. Lots of times they don't show up. Many time they change the quotes they gave you after they see you being a senior citizen for more money!!!! Just don't use this app. I beg you..!! And they send unqualified people...!
Marie
Marie
2024.05.03
They had me to send over 5 videos showing that TORO MOVERS damaged my property just to be told they can’t help me. Toro Movers are out of shape ** men destroying property and don’t want to take responsibility for it. I left a review and contacted them beforehand about the damages and they’re lying by saying I didn’t contact them so now I have to take out a civil lawsuit.
Kevin
Kevin
2024.05.03
Don’t waste your money. They will make sure to max out your weekly budget with crap leads and refuse to refund your money. I spent over $1,000 in 2 months and the customers where tire kickers or never even responded back. I cancel my service and deactivated my with Thumbtack. They are just as bad if not worse as Home Advisor & Angie’s list. Stay with Google or Yelp and choose the leads you want to run.
Tracy
Tracy
2024.05.02
I have been a pro advertising on Thumbtack since 2019. In the beginning it was great. The past 2 years or so, I received bogus leads that I am charged for. And what I mean by bogus, customer never even looks at my initial message I sent him or his phone number is no good! I've tried to get refunds but thumbtack Denies 99% of them!! I feel they have their employees making up these bogus leads using their phone number, so they never answer the phone. This week, I've had 15 bogus leads in 2 days!! That is around $300 in advertising! Something needs to be looked into on their business practices. They are stealing from us!
Scott
Scott
2024.05.02
I am a pro that has been working with Thumbtack for about a month. The app has cost me more than I have made. I have had auto bookings take place with out any communication with a customer to have the customer cancel and be billed for the cancelation. I have tried contacting leads the leads have never replied back and I was charged for the leads even though thumbtack's process is to not charge if a lead does not contact you, however, you are still charged for the lead, I was communicating with a customer, we exchange phone numbers, however, the customer emailed me through thumbtack, but thumbtack blocked my access to the email even though I have paid for the lead. Lead pricing is all over the place. There is no consistency with the pricing. I have had customer email me and I and replied back several times never getting a response back making me question the authenticity of the lead. You are charged for direct leads, auto bookings, and sometimes opportunities. Out of the 100 plus leads that have sent through I have had three direct contacts, two were 1 was bad. A 97% failure rate. I can spend more money, increase my $ amount for leads, I cannot trust that is going to improve business through thumbtack.
BestProTeam
BestProTeam
2024.05.02
The company creates a big percentage of the false leads, and those leads lead to nowhere. Nevertheless, even you are not hired, they refuse to return the money they charged. Typical online scam. The business owners should be aware of such a practice.
Brittney
Brittney
2024.04.30
This website is nothing but a rip off!!! I blocked time off and still was charged for leads, how is that possible!! I did my part and they still refuse to give me a refund. It’s hard as it is to start small business and companies like this suck you dry!!! These are just a few they denied refunds but there are plenty of more! I would give 0 zero stars.
Reiko
Reiko
2024.04.29
Thumbtack claims to have a guarantee for pros as well as customers. They claim that if the project goes awry, then the pro will be compensated for non-payment by a customer for work performed. Well, I had a customer that had lost her job, then failed to pay for my last two invoices. She only wanted to pay for $100 of the $700+ invoice and expected me to continue her project. I've notified her that she's in violation of the agreement and terminated the project. She was unhappy and continued to harass me, called me names, threatened with law suits, and left me with a 1 star review after giving me a 5 star review previously. I showed Thumbtack all of the communications that I've had with her, yet they wouldn't take down the slander. Even given mountains of evidences of this customer who took off with my work and unpaid bills, they will not stick up for me in any way. They did not compensate me for her unpaid bills like they claimed they will, they did not take down her slander like they said they will over the phone, and although they allowed the customer to modify her review, they would not allow me to modify my comments once it's posted. Who is paying for Thumbtack? Last I remember I had been their paying customers just so that I can get such unfair treatment. This is ridiculous - I'm here to shed even more light to the growing discontent that's shown by others.
Tech
Tech
2024.04.27
Don’t waste your money. It’s a scam. Traded for three months, constantly getting spammed Nonsense notifications. Getting charged for calls that are not in my service area. During the three months did not get a single out of it.
Gary
Gary
2024.04.26
If I can do 0 stars, I really would like to. The leads are a joke. Many don’t even respond and to you. Others are just shopping for prices. And you are still getting charged lots of money per lead. How can a small business grow and make profit from this? It’s ridiculous. Customer service was a joke. I spoke with a lady and she couldn’t get me any refunds. All I got was a small credit from one client. What about the other 5-6 refunds I requested? Of wait, it got denied! NOT FAIR! And a credit is not gonna help pay my bills! Thanks but no! Do not use this app. Use Google ads, social media platforms, business cards, flyers, etc.
Joshua
Joshua
2024.04.25
I tried Thumbtack for a month and went from at least 7/8leads a week to 0 overnight. So called pros that go from 5 to 30 reviews overnight will dominate the market. 5 star reviews are everything! Thumbtack will choose and list the top 3 pros and recommend them over all others. Most home/business owners look for 3 pros at best on average (I check the statistics) and 9 times out of 10, will choose those pros. One can bid on these still but, it will double the amount compared to the client contacting you directly (direct lead). If you do decide to use Thumbtack, make sure you have at least 50 people ready to leave you a 5 star review or you’ll be wasting your time, guaranteed!
Jeremy
Jeremy
2024.04.23
Been in business for 3 years with great reviews. The leads was great at first. Now it has went downhill. They do not care about taking the money from business owners. You will pay for leads that do not respond. Been having a lot of those lately. Please google your company or use another platform and save the business the headache. Sincerely Just Be Honest Termite & Pest out of Lancaster sc. Thank you.
Benjamin
Benjamin
2024.04.23
Unfortunately I decided to give Thumbtack a try. 2 weeks in, and I'm done! I thought Angie leads was bad. There is NO communication. Everything is through text, and either people don't text back, or they forward your call. How do we even know if this is even a legit lead?! I sent in for a review on a lead, and 30 seconds later received an email saying my request is rejected. How can you determine if a lead is legit in 30 seconds?! Please don't waste your money or time! It seems all these lead websites are scams!
A. U.
A. U.
2024.04.23
Verified
Thumbtack did nothing to help me after the seller harassed me. The seller kept messaging me at 10:00 p.m. demanding that I hop on a video chat after I told him I'm going to sleep. I asked if he read my text saying that I'm going to sleep but he didn't answer so I told him to read my text at which point he sent me this. What an $#*!, both him and thumbtack who did nothing to help me.
Eric
Eric
2024.04.22
My Client hired a guy from Thumbtack. He did not come with proper tools, his installation and assembly work was terrible, his truck had no brakes and rolled back into a neighbor's fence…and he extolled his love for ** to me, me being there at Client’s request to check his work (they were out of town). After he left, I had to go around house and correct 90% of what he worked on. So TT screening is dubious. Furthermore, from personal experience, Thumbtack Pro is a predator. They milk Pros bank accounts, often of money they do not deserve (double-charging, over-charging). Can Pros get work via TTP leads? Sure. I have! But the system is set-up to leave you asking, “But at what cost?”. If you Google “Thumbtack Pro Reviews”, the VAST, VAST majority of Pros will emphatically say in so many words, “TOO MUCH!!!”, if they aren’t accusing TTP of being a scam outright.
A-Team
A-Team
2024.04.19
I used to have Thumbtack in 2017 and were able to get some leads at a fair cost. Now their prices are almost 3 times the original cost. Their leads are FAKE and the real ones doesn't match the job description you are paying for. Once you do the dispute of the charge they just deny them. The investment is not worth the return.
Daniel
Daniel
2024.04.18
Not sure why they have a low rating on this site. I've been advertising with them for a couple years and they are absolutely awesome, my main source of income. If you're a legit business and you're not some common rip off company, these folks are absolutely a great place to advertise your business. I will be sure to praise and encourage people to use Thumbtack for their needs on service providers, no doubts. Seriously!
Deanna
Deanna
2024.04.17
Thumbtack was great at first. Found an awesome handyman and some others. But now I realize they do not care about the customers. Only the contractors. I hired a furniture moving company in 2023 called Best Movers “Prince Asong” and they did a horrible job. Scratched up my flooring, over charged me, and had bad body odor. When I gave him a negative review and demanded some of the money back he saw fit to text me at 9 pm at night saying disrespectful things to me. He also so fit to believe that he was coming back to my home to return the furniture and if he didn’t he was going to charge me. Stated that I still owed him money because he had to go to the dump. WHICH IS WHAT I PAID FOR AND WANTED HIM TO DO. I wanted the furniture disposed of. I had to file a police report in order to make sure he would not come to my home. I even filed a complaint with Thumbtack. But unfortunately, due to them being a third party, they for some reason could not refund me some of my funds due to fact that he said he was going to finish the job. Why would I want someone back in home who scratched up my floors and disrespected me? So I refused to use Thumbtack anymore after that. AND I showed them proof of what he said and what he did. Stated that I filed a police report. And they still have his company on their website!!! So Thumbtack just wants the money from these contractors. They could care less about their professionalism. I refused to use them after that horrible incident.
Big Nick
Big Nick
2024.04.17
I've been a Thumbtack pro since 2016. They used to be fair on price per lead and you could look at them before you bought them. Now they have instant booking and it costs 30ish per lead and most of them are bad leads from customers who don't understand the minimum or book then cancel before you can contact them. They are a rip off.