The Pear Orchard Lodge

The Pear Orchard Lodge Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
234 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (222)
Inspire43802999785
Inspire43802999785
2024.02.24
Verified
Relaxing passionfruit stay Excellent stay to relax and enjoy nature. My partner was injured so we took some days here to do close to nothing but explore the farm, eat the ripe passionfruit from the garden, do short trips, and use the great kitchen to cook healthy meals. The host was nice, relaxing places to sit, and good beds. Only things to comment on, the WiFi a bit unstable in the evening.
Advertisement
Kalisis6
Kalisis6
2024.02.15
Verified
Unpleasant visit Disappointing visit and place Host more interested on removing dead leaves from the grass than talking to you,, and lecturing you on the trash bins than welcoming you The coldest welcome we had from our overall trip to New Zealand Sonic isolation from the other rooms way below standards Beds not ok (mattress is ok, box spring not) Vegetation untamed, so there is zero view So, a place we were happy to leave, looked like just a source of income for the host.
miles
miles
2021.11.19
Verified
A great find. Beautiful country side. We had the place to ourselves which was great. Beautiful room with a Scandi aesthetic. Beautiful linen and comfortable bed. . Ensuite and balcony. Very clean and tidy. Loved access to the garden. Bought honey and eggs for breakfast. Kitchen top notch. Great for a Giroud of friends or a family meet up. Lovely hosts. Very welcoming. We will be back
Rebekah Smith
Rebekah Smith
2021.10.16
Verified
Suits my needs Once again I loved my stay & am particularly grateful that their facilities can work around my specific needs as I carry out my life being in a wheelchair. Such a restful place to relax, work from & entertain my friends at. Definitely am hoping to return & will continue to recommend it to my friends. A+++ Once again Thank you so much:D
toogooli
toogooli
2021.07.14
Verified
Lovely weekend break in a special spot We had a really lovely weekend getaway staying in the Pear Orchard Shearers Cottage. Such a special spot up on the hill above sunny Nelson, surrounded by stunning farmland and hosted by Timo and Olivia. Our daughter especially loved the sheep and chickens. Highly recommended. We'll be back! :)
Advertisement
Georgieon13
Georgieon13
2021.06.24
Verified
A birthday to remember! We were a group of 12, visiting for a 30th birthday weekend away. The lodge was absolutely perfect for us! Great location, Great views, Great layout, and Great facilities. It was perfect for us who just wanted to be in nature and spend quality time with friends. We spent time sitting in front of the fire, having yarns and playing with the games available, all whilst in our robes which were also provided! We also organised a private chef (Blair Marsh) who was able to cook an amazing 3 course meal for 12 within the kitchen facilities. Timo was a great host, very welcoming, provided recommendations and helped us manage bookings. They also collected and put away a countdown order we arranged ready for our arrival. Would also recommend getting some pear juice! We will definitely be back. Highly recommend! Georgie :) Unfortunately we were having so much fun we forgot to take photos.
Effietheeagle
Effietheeagle
2021.03.23
Verified
A Little Gem outside Nelson We arrived at this quiet hillside retreat to be greeted by Timmo, one of the owners. He was genuinely interested in chatting to us and went on to explain that there was a fully equipped large kitchen for us to use as well as a gorgeous sitting area outside with views over the rolling landscape and Tasman Bay. The house is pretty with well appointed bedrooms. Each is painted in a pale soft grey with wooden floors and pretty rugs. Our room had a balcony with a table and chairs to enjoy the sunshine and looked out into a paddock with chickens and sheep. The bathroom was as clean and fresh as the bedroom with plenty of hot water and a good shower. We drove back into Nelson ( 20 mins) for dinner in the Boatshed Cafe. A complete success. Fish and meat with happy attentive waiters! Two other tables of guests heard our UK accents and offered advice for the rest of our journey. Breakfast at Pear Orchard included home made granola, yogurt, homemade jams and delicious sourdough bread. A cafetière of coffee and homemade pear juice rounded off a delightful meal. We were sorry not to be staying for longer.
G-and-C NewZealand
G-and-C NewZealand
2021.02.15
Verified
Excellent base for a family trip We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Pear Orchard Lodge. Unless you need to be in Nelson city, staying in the Richmond/Hope district is much better for access to the Abel Tasman park, wineries and other nearby towns. Timo and Olivia have crafted an excellent little lodge set-up here, a very relaxing place as others have said, surrounded by regenerating bush. Breakfast on the porch under passionfruit vines was a daily highlight. On quiet occasions when we weren't off in Mapua or the Abel Tasman, our daughter loved hanging out with the chickens or walking around the pear trees. All up, an ideal holiday base.
Hooper Collier
Hooper Collier
2021.02.08
Verified
Great place, relaxing vibe I stayed here with a group of work colleagues for the best part of a week, and we were very impressed. Timo was a very welcoming and helpful host, and the setting and overall feel of the place is idyllic. I can honestly say this is by far the best place I've ever stayed in for work. Highly reccomend!
Advertisement
Sarah
Sarah
2021.01.18
Verified
Great family holiday accommodation Really enjoyed our family stay at the Pear Orchard. As a large family group we booked out the main lodge, which was perfect. There was plenty of space and plenty of bathrooms for us all which made our stay comfortable. The setting is beautiful, the decor is clean, simple and stylish and the kitchen had everything we needed. Overall a great lodge for a large group of family or friends.
Nicole M
Nicole M
2021.01.08
Verified
Perfect haven What a wonderful stay at this lovely wee rural orchard yet close enough to everywhere we wanted. Breakfast and bbqing on the porch with the lovely view and serenity to enjoy and delicious home made bread. Thanks so much timo we really appreciated our relaxing stay - couldn’t have been more perfect thanks
Julie R
Julie R
2020.12.07
Verified
What a lovely spot! We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves the night we stayed - Timo was welcoming and friendly, and then left us to enjoy our beautifully furnished bedroom and bathroom, plus the well set up kitchen/dining room complex, opening to the patio and lawn area. It’s all sparkling clean and very comfortable, and in a very good location with the orchard/rural setting making for a relaxed stay. Breakfast was absolutely delicious - that warm sourdough bread, the homemade yoghurt and of course the stewed pears from the orchard were such a treat! Highly recommended.
Sarah
Sarah
2020.10.27
Verified
Perfect spot for a family celebration! The Pear Orchard Lodge was the ideal place for our family getaway. Everything was just perfect - a beautiful outlook, peaceful surroundings, convenient location, and a lovely front lawn for the kids to play. The lodge was clean and beautifully presented, and the continental breakfast hamper with homemade and local goodies was delicious. We would definitely recommend The Pear Orchard and look forward to staying again one day! Many thanks.
Advertisement
Rebekah Smith
Rebekah Smith
2020.07.11
Verified
Wheelchair Friendly I stayed for a few nights due to work being done at my home. I live life using a wheelchair & was blown away by how accomodating these guys are. I really enjoyed the professional yet relaxed & laid back culture there. Definitely want to return there in the future A+++
Isabel
Isabel
2020.03.22
Verified
Hervorragende Unterkunft mitten in der Natur Top Unterkunft mit liebevoller Einrichtung und toller Ausstattung Das Beste ist wohl der tolle Ausblick, aber auch sonst mangelt es an nichts und die Ruhe ist großartig. Die Gastgeber backen sogar das Brot selbst! Absolut zu empfehlen
X5187HZdavidg
X5187HZdavidg
2020.01.12
Verified
Family Wedding Stay The Pear Orchard Lodge was the perfect location, accommodation for our large extended family in Jan 2020. We took over the whole lodge and this was an excellent decision as we were able to treat it as our home for 3 nights. Excellent facilities, showers, living areas, gardens and wonderful hosts. Free range eggs were a plus and strongly recommd buying the pear juice - what a treat. Timo - lives close by and was willing to help in anyway. Would recommend to other large family groups whom want a special place to call home, Cheers David
bonnienoelle24
bonnienoelle24
2020.01.06
Verified
Beautiful Stay We loved our stay at The Pear Orchard Lodge. Located in a convenient location, with beautiful views and great atmosphere. Rooms are lovely and clean with stunning views from the rooms with balcony’s. Would recommend for a couple looking for a peaceful retreat.
Advertisement
Alex W
Alex W
2019.12.08
Verified
Amazing Lodge in great location! We stayed here for 1 night and it was one of our favorites during our NZ holiday. The owner is super friendly and our stay has been a delight. There was plenty of parking, the rooms were absolutely clean and extremely cozy, in addition the shared bathroom was super nice in Scandinavian design. We were welcomed to walk around the farm and visit some of the nice local animals. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding especially due to the homemade german bread as well as homemade jams. I would stay here anytime again!
Jacquesdb D
Jacquesdb D
2019.12.01
Verified
Great Attention to Detail Great weekender at the Pear Orchard Lodge in Richmond. Timo runs a nicely curated old barn style building with a small number of rooms. The property is immaculate without loosing the farm style charm, the views are outstanding from every angle. I can't recommend this place enough great value boutique lodge with out the expensive price tag!
David Friedkin
David Friedkin
2019.11.26
Verified
Just the rest and relaxation we needed! We stayed as two couples in the main house in November 2019. After a great day biking rabbit island, we came back to the serene garden cottage home in the hills. Rooms are clean, lovely and simple - en-suite bathrooms, coffee in room with lovely decks in the end rooms. Big comfortable beds. The kitchen and rooms fill with light. We were able to cook our own delicious dinner, bbq-ing on the back patio while watching the sun set over the rolling hills. The next morning, we were greeted with home made breakfast, including eggs, all sourced from the farm. This is quintessential boutique farm. Mimi and Timo were accommodating and friendly, helping us find local grocers, book bike tours in town and more. Phenomenal value for your stay - one of our best stays in NZ so far! We were delighted while there and sad to leave.