The Observatory at Grand Banks, New Luxury Penthouse Apartment with Sea & Estuary Views & Private Reviews

The Observatory at Grand Banks, New Luxury Penthouse Apartment with Sea & Estuary Views & Private Reviews

4.8

Excellent - based on 38 reviews

www.theobservatorydevon.co.uk
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (38)
Dan
Dan
2024-02-15
Verified
Fantastic cosy place to stay. If you are needing a pit stop on your way this is a lovely place to stop. We even found a great little zoo around the bay. I would definitely recommend this place and I would definitely be coming back in the summer!
Amanda
Amanda
2024-01-02
Verified
We stayed for a New Year break and while the weather was miserable the apartment was warm and cosy - a lovely touch having Christmas decorations up too. Apartment was super clean and smelt divine! It’s not the prettiest of views initially and once the warehouses directly below are overlooked, the view is lovely. People have mentioned about the train line, we were aware of it but didn’t find it intrusive although it’s winter so we didn’t have the balcony doors open much. In fact we found the trains a bonus as we didn’t want to drive, they run so frequently it was easy to head to Exeter and Dawlish which we did. Apartment is in a great location easy to walk in to town and some nice shops! We all slept well, the apartment had everything we needed- apart from bathrobes - disappointed that they were missing as they were listed and we were expecting them would’ve been nice to wear to chill inbut not the end of the world and all in all we had a great break in lovely luxury accommodation.
Kim
Kim
2023-11-19
Verified
The apartment was superb, better than the description and photos.It was extremely comfortable for the 3 of us and it’s less 10mins from the apartment to the nearest beach and the water bus over to Shaldon.
Drummond
Drummond
2023-10-03
8.0 Verified
Very good ☺ Very nice apartment, with good quality fixtures. Lovely view. ☹ The balcony can be noisy with the trains.
Emma
Emma
2023-09-27
10 Verified
Wonderful property, very clean, high end appliances and bathroom spec. ☺ I absolutely loved our stay at The Observatory - it was even nicer than I had expected! I have high expectations for cleanliness, and this did not disappoint. The entire property was so clean from the bedrooms, bathrooms and lounge/kitchen area. The kitchen is stocked with essentials such as oils, etc and wonderful high end utensils and cooking appliances. ☹ Ideally would love to have been in a slightly closer location to the town - but it isnt too far!
Amy
Amy
2023-09-24
Verified
Had a lovely stay at Saltwater Escapes.Room was beautifully clean and decorated to a high standard.Easily accessible and in walking distance of plenty to do/see and eat.
Lisa
Lisa
2023-09-15
9.0 Verified
Enjoyable break in a beautiful appartment taking in fantastic views ☺ Views were outstanding, felt secure and property was beautiful appointed ☹ Car parking is a bit too tight and awkward. Entry/exit was very tight due to van that seemed to be parked permanently outside gate entrance. Also on exit met another inbound vehicle so had to reverse to let in before could continue our exit. it would have been very difficult to reverse if the charging space was in use. If we had not given way and reversed back into space the incoming car would have had serious difficulty reversing out and uphill - we hit the open gate at the same time. A Screen view showing outside would have helped avoid this. The rooms at times were too hot we couldn’t work out how to change setting . On our penultimate day about 9am we were disturbed by gutter cleaner working on roof and outside the apartment. Fortunately had just taken showers otherwise he would have been over our skylight and looking in - we were in bed with curtain undrawn when he walked past. It was noisy as well and the walkways were left wet from it. Understand it has to be done but had no warning of this.
Paul
Paul
2023-08-04
Verified
Fantastic Apartment, breathtaking views, secure allocated parking
John
John
2023-07-18
10 Verified
Excellent value for money in gorgeous place! ☺ Excellent welcome pack, gorgeous towels (best experienced anywhere!), plenty of hangers in the bedrooms, well-thought through kitchen equipment - all pointing towards genuine care and an acute eye for that (so called) little extra that makes a big difference.
Reply from The Observatory at Grand Banks, New Luxury Penthouse Apartment with Sea & Estuary Views & Private
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review John, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Observatory. It's lovely to hear that you appreciated all the extra little touches this property delivers. We hope to welcome you back to a Saltwater Escapes property in the future.
Karen And
Karen And
2023-07-16
Verified
We weren't expecting to need to authorize another deposit to be paid a week in advance, also think link that they have provided didn't work I messaged them and nobody replied back to us. Check-in info will be so much easier if it's just on message instead of sending us a whole link which works sporadically (only works well on my other iPhone). Not sure why but there was no one responding to my messages even though it was in the middle of the afternoon. That being said, the place was really beautiful and it really feels like home for the couple of days that we have rented it for. Everything was squeaky clean and the towels, beddings and games provided were amazing! Loved it! However on the day before we check-out we suddenly realize that we had a list of things that we need to adhere to, which got us a little worried even though we have paid a cleaning fee. Overall it's a win though! Would love to go back again sometime (hopefully the weather will be better next time!) :)
Stephen
Stephen
2023-07-09
9.0 Verified
Overall a good stay in a well presented property. ☺ It was spotless with everything you could possibly need. ☹ Parking was a bit of an issue due to pillar support being in the way. Also the door to the lift/stairs kept getting stuck. Maybe also the trains until you got used to them.
Reply from The Observatory at Grand Banks, New Luxury Penthouse Apartment with Sea & Estuary Views & Private
Thank you for your review Stephen, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Observatory. We hope the issues you had with parking and the lifts did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable holiday. We hope to welcome you back to a Saltwater Escapes property soon.
Carol
Carol
2023-06-24
7.0 Verified
Made the best of it ☺ Knew about the train line, but no one could be prepared for how busy it was, lovely apartment, shame about location. ☹ Just trains thundering by every 20minutes, from 5 am until 1 am next day. Balcony not cleaned when we arrived, main bathroom small shower head left on bottom of bath leaking quite badly
Reply from The Observatory at Grand Banks, New Luxury Penthouse Apartment with Sea & Estuary Views & Private
Hello Carol, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Observatory. We are sorry to hear that the train noise was disruptive for your stay. Due to the apartment's proximity to the trainline, occasional noise can be expected. The apartment is fitted with triple glazed vacuum sealed doors which assist in soundproofing but we do understand that when the doors are open during the beautiful weather you had that the sound is more evident. Regarding the cleanliness of the balcony, we regret to hear that it did not meet your expectations. Maintaining a clean and welcoming environment is a priority. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team to ensure that thorough inspections are conducted and that the balcony area receives the attention it deserves during the cleaning process. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is very important to us and we do check in with all guests after arrival to ensure everything is well and are available for our guests 7 days a week. Unfortunately as we did not hear back from you were were not aware of the issues until after your departure. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention, as it allows us to make the necessary improvements to enhance our guests' experience. We regret that we did not have the opportunity to assist you with your concerns around the cleanliness of the balcony, or the shower during your stay and can confirm that both have been addressed. Kind regards Kate Saltwater Escapes
Teresa
Teresa
2023-05-29
Verified
The apartment is gorgeous, very well appointed and comfortable. Our only disappointment was the noise from the rail line immediately below. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather so wanted to sit out on the balcony and keep the doors open to cool the apartment but the frequency of the trains did make this uncomfortable. Don't necessarily let this put you off but do be aware.
Ruth
Ruth
2023-04-15
Verified
A beautiful apartment, stunning views and convenient location. Perfect Airbnb! The host thought of everything- all amenities were great. Comfortable and clean. Can’t fault it. Highly recommend!
Chloe
Chloe
2023-04-10
Verified
Just returned from a long Easter weekend and we were very impressed. The apartment was very clean, easily walkable to the town with an amazing choice of restaurants. Every little thing had been thought about by the owners and it felt like a home from home - but just with excellent sea views! Will definitely be returning. Thanks for making our stay a memorable one, it was just what my family needed after the sad passing of our dad, husband & grandad. Thank you!
Ian
Ian
2023-04-03
Verified
Excellent apartment with everything you need, fantastic location, nice welcome pack.
Roger
Roger
2023-01-29
10 Verified
A pleasant relaxing winter break ☺ The view was exceptional from The Observatory apartment. There was some noise from the passing trains. ☹ There wasn't anything specific that we did not like about our stay at The Observatory apartment.
Reply from The Observatory at Grand Banks, New Luxury Penthouse Apartment with Sea & Estuary Views & Private
Thank you for your review Roger, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to a Saltwater Escapes property in the future.
Julie
Julie
2023-01-18
9.0 Verified
Lovely Penthouse with good views ☺ Good location! Nice welcome pack Very clean & good quality decor! Lovely touch with classy Christmas decorations! Above average furniture & fixings! Overall top quality. ☹ Didn't know you had to get 2 lifts 1 from underground car park then find the lift to the 3rd floor & the apartment is on 4th floor did read one review that said the lift was out of order! Thank god it was working!!! No signs or even arrows to say we're the lifts are!! It was a nightmare up & down it took 1 1/2 hours to unload & all the doors are fire doors so close behind you then it was dark had to use torches on phones to see key pad on doors to get to lifts!! That said as it was Christmas week we had a car full of food, drink, 📦 + clothes!! That didn't put us off from having a lovely family Christmas 🤶
Tms
Tms
2022-12-22
Verified
Booked for colleague working in the area, perfect location, amazing accommodation, he was very pleased, would highly recommend and use again.
Lisa
Lisa
2022-11-21
Verified
Lovely apartment with the added bonus of a gym