Spanish Express

www.spanishexpress.co.uk

Spanish Express Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
66 reviews Verified
Spanish Express
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 66 ) 5.0

Julia Hofmacher
Julia Hofmacher
2024.05.23
I did my SIELE certificate with Spanish Express and was particularly impressed by the smooth handling of the test in remote. The results arrived after just 1.5 weeks. The excellent support before, during and after the exam is very noteworthy. I was assisted with the registration process and advice on the possible study materials. The help was tailored to my needs and respected my situation and choice, not just trying to sell you something. Monica always answered all my questions as quickly as possible and even wrote back on weekends and public holidays.
Advertisement
Emily Smith
Emily Smith
2024.05.16
When my son was 14 it was obvious that he needed some help with his Spanish, but we wanted to consider something different to a weekly tutoring session. Something that would challenge him, make him grow as an individual, and something (obviously!) that would help with his Spanish. And boy did we find that! Last year he went from the UK to Valencia for a week, this year Barcelona - both as homestays. And it has been the making of him. Not only did he get to explore growing up in a safe, nurturing and fun environment away from mum and dad, but he also got to learn and practice his spanish in spanish homes, schools, shops etc. He loved the fact that he got to travel on his own (we dropped him off, they picked him up directly from the airport) and that he got to try new foods and meet new people. Every day was a learning day - from just learning as you go/out and about, to structured lessons. Without a doubt I would recommend this to any child. Even better, I think he would recommend it. He is sitting his GCSE's as I type this, and I have no doubt that his Spanish mark will be much improved - and he is even considering doing it for A level.
Pablo
Pablo
2024.05.09
My experience in the immersion course at the home of Professor Pilar Martínez in Valencia, Spain was exceptional and very enjoyable. The classes exceeded my expectations, and the cultural visits were wonderful from the get go. Professor Pilar is an excellent teacher, her personalized approach and passion for language teaching made learning easy and enjoyable. I wholeheartedly recommend this immersion course, especially with professor Pilar as the host and a great professional teaching Spanish.
Nicholas Taylor
Nicholas Taylor
2024.04.21
Mónica is an exceptional tutor. She was teaching me prior my GCSE Spanish exams which I was taking a year earlier. She is not only a great professional and extremely knowledgeable but also what an amazing person as well! I have improved massively in Spanish due to her efforts for which I am very thankful for.
Ceridwen Rosinelli-Richards
Ceridwen Rosinelli-Richards
2024.04.21
A big thanks to all the teachers at Spanish express for allowing me to develop a high level of all aspects of the spanish language that I didn’t know I could reach. From reading and listening, to writing and speaking, Spanish express have displayed mastery in teaching and resources with the sole aim of seeing their students excel. The great thing about Spanish express is that they don’t teach surface level Spanish, they teach in depth. For example, Along with developing confidence through speaking in spanish, they have focused on helping me strongly advance in things such as idioms, pronunciation and intonation which is vital yet often forgotten by others. At the start of the year I was unable to form grammatically correct sentences, yet now I am confident in forming complex structures and much more in all aspects. ¡Gracias Mónica, Eva y Pilar!
Advertisement
Ruairi Gavin
Ruairi Gavin
2024.04.20
Thank you very much to my three teachers Monica, Eva and Pilar from Spanish express. They provided me with all the resources and knowledge about the Spanish A level course that I needed and have prepared me very well for my exams. It can be difficult to learn a second language but these teachers are kind, patient and keep the lessons engaging. The lessons also touch on the history of Spain which is really interesting and I’ve really enjoyed learning about as it helps too understand the culture and the language better. Spanish express is a great choice for anyone looking to study Spanish 👍🏼
Manfredi Musolino
Manfredi Musolino
2024.04.19
Spanish Express is an absolute gem of a course for A Level preparation! Eva's expertise in writing and reading has been invaluable in honing my comprehension and composition skills, especially thanks to her excellent knowledge of the novel and the film. Pilar's meticulous attention to writing and listening tasks has truly elevated my understanding of the language. And Monica's dynamic approach to speaking has boosted my confidence to fluently communicate. Thanks to these three incredible teachers, I feel supremely prepared for my exam happening right now. Gracias, Spanish Express, for equipping me with the tools for success!
Evelyn Henry
Evelyn Henry
2024.03.31
Spanish Express is the real thing. They went above and beyond to support me in my desire to learn Spanish in the context of intimate interaction with the people and culture. I couldn't be happier with my 2 week immersion in Spain and I'm already planning another adventure with them next year. My stay was with Oscar in Cadiz: he’s a fantastic teacher, good-hearted, smart and so patient! I will keep him close to my heart forever!
Rita Padam
Rita Padam
2024.03.09
Monica was an amazing help for my older two boys and i would very much recommend this company for any help with Spanish!
Advertisement
Diana
Diana
2024.03.07
I had a fantastic experience during my course last year in Valencia with Pilar Martinez. I had forgotten a lot of the Spanish I had learned previously as I hadn’t been practicing enough. I thought what better way than to have an immersive course? Right from the beginning, I found myself immersed into the culture and enjoyed the trip. Pilar took me around Valencia, which was beautiful and I had the opportunity to practice my Spanish with the locals. I left with a newfound confidence with my language capabilities and look forward to returning on my own to continue to develop my fluency.
Ashley L
Ashley L
2024.03.01
I recently returned from an amazing two-week stay in Spain with Spanish Express. I spent one week with Monica in Barcelona (Dosruis) and one week with Alberto and Marisol in Burgos. Both weeks were phenomenal experiences! In Barcelona (Dosruis), I stayed with Monica, her lovely parents, and their two adorable Golden Retrievers. I had a private bedroom and bathroom, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. In Burgos, I stayed with Alberto and Marisol and their daughter. Once again, I had a clean comfortable bedroom and a separate bathroom. Both families went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable, had everything I needed, as well as anything I may have wanted. I had the opportunity to go grocery shopping, wash clothes, and select the activities I wanted to do each week. The thing that surprised me the most was the generosity of both families. I knew that some activities came with the fee paid for the program, but both families went above and beyond any of my expectations. For example, we went out for various meals and tapas, a hop-on hop-off bus tour of Barcelona, visited a cathedral, went to the beach, multiple monasteries, a concert, went to Carnaval, toured various well-known and lesser-known sites, and much more! Additionally, having a local family take you around gives you a perspective outside of what you get from traditional tours, and you get to experience more of the local life throughout your stay. Of course, the reason most people are probably looking to attend a Spanish Immersion program is for the Spanish classes. Depending on the program you select you get a set number of class hours per week, and you can let your teacher/s know what you want to focus on. The first week my lessons were focused on studying for the SIELE exam and the second week my lessons were focused on better understanding when to use each verb tense. The great thing about immersion is that even outside of class time you are still speaking and practicing Spanish throughout the day. All in all, you get way more from attending a program with Spanish Express than just Spanish classes. Although the Spanish classes are great, what sets this program apart is getting to experience living in Spain with amazing families who are more than generous with their time and who really want to show you a great time. I spent an extra week in Spain after my experience with Spanish Express ended and both families checked on me throughout my time in Spain and made sure I got back home safely. I left feeling like I have two additional families in Spain. I highly recommend doing an immersion program with Spanish Express and I plan to attend their program again in the future!
Juliet Glover
Juliet Glover
2024.02.06
I spent a week in Barcelona with a friend in Monica’s home. The home was immaculate and beautiful. Monica made us feel at home from the beginning. We had dedicated class time but spent almost the entire stay speaking in Spanish which helped to improve our fluency level. Monica included us in her daily routine in addition to several pre-planned excursions to nearby towns. The scenery was tranquil and gorgeous. We had home cooked meals prepared by Monica’s father, and everything we had was delicious. We also had ample opportunity to eat out in restaurants when we wanted. We were preparing for the DELE exam, and the classes provided a nice review during the week prior to the exam. Monica went above and beyond to support us in achieving our Spanish goals. I would 100% recommend this program to solo travelers or small groups.
TJ Lavelle
TJ Lavelle
2024.02.04
I was fortunate enough to spend 2 great weeks learning Spanish in the Valencia area with a very kind and helpful teacher, Pilar. She was an animated, accommodating language guide, as well as a good cook! I had never been to Spain and was only used to the Latin American accent, so after 2 weeks with Pilar, both my comprehension of the Spanish accent as well as my conversational abilities definitely improved. I enjoyed a wonderful bike ride to the coast in the city, hiked around the hills right outside Pilar's house, walked amongst orange groves, shopped for xmas gifts for my family, explored the old historic town, and spent time with Pilar's kind family while chatting in Spanish & eating some yummy Paella. Her home was comfortable and located in the mountains just outside of Valencia. I appreciated how she was flexible with my personal pace and learning style, as well as very accommodating with my dietary preferences. I’d highly recommend Spanish Express and their Valencia program!
Advertisement
Ardeshir Farmanfarmaian
Ardeshir Farmanfarmaian
2023.12.25
I had a great time living my Spanish teacher's (Pilar Martinez) home in Valencia. We also had a great time practicing Spanish in real-life situations including with shopping, sightseeing or at restaurants. My favourite night was the last night (21st June), when we celebrated La Noche de San Juan, on one of the beaches. On the social side of things, I also made a new friend, some Italian girl who was also doing the immersion programme while I was there.
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.12.06
Dear Ardeshir, thanks very much for great review! Pilar sends her best wishes - as well as from everyone at the Spanish Express team.
Tammi Phillips
Tammi Phillips
2023.11.09
This was such a great experience for me. The week for me flew by so fast I couldn’t believe when it ended. The experience is very personalized. Pilar asked me what I would like to work on and I told her I needed work on listening and speaking. So we did a lot of conversations. We also did some grammar during our daily classes. We did some excursions into Valencia. Which was very exciting to be with a native to learn the local history. The food was fantastic. Paella day was super exciting for me. I loved to see how they made typical paella outside. If you are looking at doing this program don’t hesitate. Just do it. Highly recommend. I added a picture from the boat ride near the rice paddies and paella.
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.11.23
Dear Tammi, thank you for your wonderful review! Pilar was more than delighted to host you and do her best to accommodate your learning needs, and cultural immersion is at the core of getting the most out of efficient language learning. From all of us at the Spanish Express team, we thank you for choosing us for this journey and wish you the very best for the future!
cheryl gould
cheryl gould
2023.10.30
I had a wonderful experience with Spanish Express! I traveled with two friends where we spent two weeks in Valencia with Pilar and one week in Barcelona with Monica. My goal was to improve my Spanish listening and speaking skills and explore whatever Valencia and Barcelona had to offer. Both Pilar and Monica delivered on both! First, the accommodations at both Pilar’s and Monica’s homes were lovely and comfortable. I found the experience of living in Spanish homes much more interesting than staying in hotels and the meals they provided were typical of local cuisines and delicious. Pilar and Monica were warm, welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy, entertained and well fed. I wanted for nothing. The Spanish instruction was dedicated and customized to my needs and the needs of my fellow travelers. We were at different language levels and both Pilar and Monica were very skilled at identifying our strengths and areas in need of improvement. They tailored our lessons to support our language growth and as a result my comprehension and ability to speak properly improved greatly. While both of the homes we stayed in were located outside their respective cities, both profesoras made arrangements for us to experience many aspects of the cities and accommodated additional interests specific to us. Just as importantly, we had really cool unexpected opportunities to explore the history, art and architecture of smaller towns and cities which included some amazing meals in local restaurants. The restaurants we were taken to had an abundance of atmosphere whether it overlooked the Mediterranean, was in a farmhouse or in a medieval enclave and the food was to die for. One restaurant sported a chef with a Michelin star! Overall, I had a terrific time and would recommend this experience to anyone who is looking to learn and/or improve their language skills and have a more unique experience. Gracias a Pilar y Monica por hacer que mi viaje fuera incredible!!
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.11.23
Dear Cheryl, thank you very much for your kind words! Pilar and Monica were more than delighted to host you and do their best to accommodate your learning needs. From all of us at the Spanish Express team, we wish you the very best!
CAROLYN CLARKE
CAROLYN CLARKE
2023.10.13
I stayed with Pilar for a week in June 2023 at her beautiful home in Gilet. Her house is set near to woods, in the foothills of nearby mountains.There are many pathways through the woods, which lead to the mountains and open countryside. Pilar's house is clean, quiet and peaceful, set in a beautiful private garden where you can relax and enjoy the shade of the lemon trees Pilar was an excellent host, willing to take us to nearby places in her car and always happy to provide us with small items that were needed, eg suncream, cotton buds or the times of public transport and the areas of local interest. In one week we visited so many places and met many of Pilar's family. This made me feel like a part of the local community of Valencia, rather than just another tourist. My favourite visit was hiking up the 'Cadenas d'el Garbí' a nearby mountain. I also spent a day in the beautiful city of Alicante exploring the stunning area of the port, the huge park that encircles the city and the shops and restaurants of the old town. The beaches of nearby Sagunto are little known and were completely empty when l visited. It was possible to walk for miles along clean white sand and enjoy swimming in the crystal turquoise water. The food that Pilar provided was fresh and very healthy. A large salad was provided every evening along with delicious local dishes. One evening, a friend of Pilar's prepared and showed us how to cook paella which we shared together in the gardens. I learned a great deal about local customs, the geography and history of the area and visited places of artistic and historical interest. Pillar introduced me to a great deal of new vocabulary, was always willing to explain Spanish grammar and helpful in clarifying meaning. I recommend a total Immersion program with Pilar most strongly. You will return with more confidence in Spanish, much more knowledge of the language and culture and a host of happy memories of your visit.
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.12.07
Dear Carolyn, thank you for your lovely words! Pilar was delighted to have hosted you in Valencia and accommodate your needs. We are also very pleased to hear of you gaining a deeper cultural appreciation for Spain as well as enhanced confidence in speaking the language. All the very best from the Spanish Express team!
Advertisement
sam georgi
sam georgi
2023.09.18
(SAM - PILAR) Origin: Egypt Pilar's Spanish immersion programme in her Valencia home was a thrilling experience for me Taking part in Pilar's Spanish immersion programme in her Valencia home was a thrilling experience. I immediately felt like one of the family upon arrival. The bespoke lessons were aimed at my particular requirements and Pilar's understanding and know-how made learning both enjoyable and successful. Cohabiting with a mother-tongue speaker and experienced Spanish teacher was a valuable chance to develop my speaking skills beyond what I thought feasible. Pilar's enthusiasm for teaching was evident in her imaginative and captivating lessons. With her guidance, exploring Valencia added an extra layer of authenticity to my experience. I connected with the locals and discovered hidden gems that I wouldn't have found alone. This immersion programme not only improved my language skills but also allowed me to immerse myself in Valencia's dynamic culture.
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.10.09
Dear Sam, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad to hear the experience meant so much to you and you were able to get so much more out of it than just improving your Spanish. We hope the memories remain with you and continue to inspire you in the future. Best wishes from our team.
adaino king
adaino king
2023.09.18
Joining Pilar's Spanish immersion programme in Valencia was a real adventure. Her profound hospitality and professional guidance were ideal learning environment. The customised lessons were effective and suited my needs. Living with a native qualified Spanish teacher allowed me to improve my Spanish language through daily conversations and grammar. It was great to develop the Spanish language together with the knowledge of the local culture and making new friends. I have no hesitation in recommending this course.
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.10.09
Dear Adaino, thank you so much for the kind words! It was a pleasure to host you and we are delighted to hear the programme suited your requirements. We will be very happy to pass on your comments to Pilar. All the best on behalf of the Spanish Express team!
pierre Ducam
pierre Ducam
2023.09.17
J'ai passé une semaine en immersion totale chez Pilar, professeur d'espagnol près de Valence. Les cours prodigués sont excellents. Pilar s'adapte parfaitement au niveau de l'étudiant et fait ses cours sur des thèmes que l'on choisit, avec toujours un vocabulaire actuel, adapté aux discussions de tous les jours. Le logement est parfait. La maison est grande, calme dans un environnement arboré. En plus d'être une très bonne professeur, Picardie est également très bonne cuisinière. Elle vous fait découvrir également la cuisine du pays. L'apres-midi je profitais de ballades ou visites des environs avec Pilar. J'ai ainsi pu découvrir la ville de Valencia, et des plages autour de Gilet. Je recommande vivement ce cours
Reply from Spanish Express 2023.11.29
Dear Pierre, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the immersive experience. Adapating to the needs of our students is at the heart of what we do at Spanish Express, so we were more than happy to provide that for you. We will make sure to pass on your message to Pilar. All the best on behalf of the Spanish Express team!