Roundabout Shetland

Roundabout Shetland Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
31 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (31)
Debbie E
Debbie E
2019.10.05
Verified
Fantastic Tour of Scalloway We recently were on a cruise which stopped at Lerwick. Les, our guide, promptly picked us up at the port and we were on our way across the Shetland Island to Scalloway. Les and his family has lived here for generations and provided us with historical and cultural information. We stopped at several spectacular locations for photo ops and historical interest. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Would highly recommend Les as your guide to the Shetland Islands.
Advertisement
mholla525842
mholla525842
2019.09.09
Verified
Beyond our wildest dreams An outstanding day visiting the history sites of mainland Shetland to the south mainland and Jarlshof
Tom Martin
Tom Martin
2019.08.07
Verified
Simply the best guide ever!!! Our personalized tour with Roundabout Shetland was the highlight of our visit to Shetland. Les gave us a tour from Lerwick through the northern Isles of Yell and Unst, all the way to a view of Muckle Flugga lighthouse. Among the many bits of fascinating information we learned, was the the lighthouse was built by Robert Louis Stevenson's father and uncle, and that young Robbie visited Unst many times during construction and was quite fond of the island. It becomes even more interesting when you realize that if you turn the map of Unst upside down, it bears a striking resemblance to the map of Treasure Island. As a native Shetlander, former history teacher, standup comic, and generally wonderful guy, Les gave us an experience we'll never forget. I can't recommend Roundabout Shetland highly enough!
peridot52
peridot52
2019.07.30
Verified
Wonderful ship excursions A lovely drive through the countryside. Learned a lot about the area in a very relaxing way. And had the best fish and chips in town before returning to the ship. Amazing experience.
Sherry W
Sherry W
2019.06.25
Verified
Excellent Jimmy Perez Tour We took the "Jimmy Perez" tour with Les Sinclair when a friend and I visited Shetland and it was a great tour. Les was very knowledgeable about the island and took us to many of the filming locations from the Shetland TV Series. He was also an extra in one of the seasons. He was very knowledgeable about other aspects of the island and was a great story teller. We asked him other questions about the island including the Shetland Bus and he was able to tell us all about it. I would recommend this tour for any Shetland TV Series viewers. Thank you Les for a great day
Advertisement
Happy_Travellers2
Happy_Travellers2
2019.06.19
Verified
Great Day Around Shetland! We had a wonderful tour with Les. His exhaustive knowledge of the Shetlands, including being an extra on the tv show, Shetland, combined with his jovial personality make a great package. He took us to numerous off the beaten path spots, each with a great history, which gave us an unexpected understanding of this wonderful place. We were especially interested in the WWII history of the Shetland Bus and he made sure to take us to sights relating to that. Lunch in Scalloway and the Scalloway Museum were special treats. Spend the day with Les for a unique, enjoyable, and enlightening experience.
GoPlaces42769962596
GoPlaces42769962596
2019.06.13
Verified
Well worth the money I took two tours with Les, for the first I was the only customer and we went south, Les was informative and very interesting in terms of giving the history and facts of our journey. The second was with three others out to Eshaness via so many point of interest. His knowledge of Shetland is wide and interspersed with family connections and interesting stories and facts. I recommend Les as a guide, he is respectful and accommodates all requests possible, his tours are full of detail and bring Shetland, past and present to life. Any future trips to Shetland fir me will include these tours.
Sherpa47658310163
Sherpa47658310163
2019.05.01
Verified
Whole day tour of mainland shetland The tour was excellent in all respects. Content was expertly tailored to to our requiirements ( a mix of history and places where scenes in the Shetland series had been shot. Les, our Tour Guide, was extremely knowledgeable and all his information was delivered with a voice and humour that you would never tire of listening to.
Wander551408
Wander551408
2019.05.01
Verified
Amazing history Thank you Les, your knowledge of the local history of Shetland and it’s people was very interesting and entertaining. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Thanks again Richard
Advertisement
Thelma K
Thelma K
2019.04.30
Verified
Local eyes, local stories in Esheness We really enjoyed the time with Les. Being visitors unfamiliar with the roads, having Les do the driving left us to see all around us. He had many back stories to the places we were seeing, knew the photogenic places to stop, and kept us safe on the cliffs. We laughed and talked like we had known him for years. A great experience.
Anna Dawson
Anna Dawson
2019.04.11
recommends
Absolutely super day trip to Yell and Unst. Thanks a million Les!!
Meedawz
Meedawz
2019.04.11
Verified
Yell and Unst I had an absolutely wonderful day trip to Yell and Unst with Les. Happy to chat away and full of knowledge and anecdotes and willing to accommodate any request where possible. I would thoroughly recommend Roundabout Shetland to everyone!
Prema Mc
Prema Mc
2019.02.20
Verified
Excellent Day Out! I visited Shetland with my parents in Aug 2018, and we had some tour plans fall through. We managed to get Les at the last minute for the Unst and Yell tour, and what a stroke of luck! It was like travelling around with an old family friend, person who just loves where he is and knows all about it. Despite terrible weather we just had a great day and managed to visit all we could in a limited time - highly recommended!
Advertisement
wilyi
wilyi
2018.11.05
Verified
Enjoyable tour We were part of a six person group on a one day port visit to Lerwick. Les Sinclair was our guide and he provided us with an interesting and at times humorous half day tour of the south mainland. Les was punctual in collecting us at the harbour and had us back in Lerwick in good time to get a feel for the town. Highlights of the tour were visits to Scalloway Castle, the Crofthouse Museum and the dramatic and wild Shetland scenery. Les gave us an interesting insight to living in Shetland and its history. He also has some interesting and funny stories regarding the excellent TV series "Shetland" and his walk-on roles in several episodes.
Dreamer670375
Dreamer670375
2018.10.20
Verified
Excellent Birthday gift Spending a day with Les Sinclair was by gift to my husband for his birthday. I suspected my history-loving man would enjoy a guide who was a history teacher. I was right. Les just made the environs of his homeplace come alive.
Keith W
Keith W
2018.10.14
Verified
Great & Informative Tour Les picked us (3 couples), up at our cruise ship dock and started our tour around Lerwick before driving us around the main Shetland Island. He is a retired teacher with firm roots in the Shetland Islands - he even showed us where his father & grandfather lived. He was very well versed in the history and attractions as he drove us around the island. He showed us places where the large buses cannot drive and would stop at any time when we wanted to take photos or see something up closer. We had a great stop at a lighthouse with a small cafe for coffee and fresh scones with jam & cream - YUMMM. We highly recommend Les and his tour - you will not be disappointed. Keith & Ann - Newfoundland
Libby M
Libby M
2018.10.07
Verified
Ann Cleeve’s/DI Perez & BBC Shetland Tour and Yell & Unst Tour Two amazing days with Les! His knowledge and love of Shetland is deep and my sister had the benefit of this on our tours with him. As fans of the TV series ‘Shetland’it was exciting to see the locations and to discuss the story lines with Les. Our day in Yell and Unst was also an incredible day of sights and history. Our trip to Shetland wouldn’t have been so memorable if we had not taken the tours in Les’ “traveling classroom”!
Advertisement
Ann and Ben J
Ann and Ben J
2018.08.16
Verified
Les Sinclair Les Sinclair was an excellent guide and driver. We had two days with him in Shetlands. His knowledge of history, culture, geography and people exceeded expectations. We went from Sumburgh to Unst. He even included a visit to a delightful vignette re a family story that turned into seasonal art installation. Many, many thanks.
Penelope C
Penelope C
2018.08.13
Verified
Informative and entertaining Les was an informative and entertaining guide. His local knowledge enabled us to go off the beaten tourist track and to learn about the way of life in Shetland than would otherwise have been possible. We thoroughly enjoyed our morning with him.
NoNameProvided0611
NoNameProvided0611
2018.08.10
Verified
A wonderful, educational day--with puffins! Les is a phenomenally good guide. He knows Shetland deeply, coming from many generations of Shetlanders, and he clearly loves to share its wonders with others. He is smart, friendly, funny, informative, accommodating, patient--and he knows where to find puffins even at the end of the season. Pretty much a perfect tour.