Reykjavik Outventure Reviews

Reykjavik Outventure Reviews

4.8

Excellent - based on 2876 reviews

www.reykjavikout.is
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1754)
Clare S
Clare S
2024-02-27
Verified
Ok, but don't expect much from the guide! We got to see the lights, albeit briefly and more so in the photos than with the naked eye, but it was magical when they appeared. The hot chocolate and cinnamon bun were a nice touch, especially as it was absolutely freezing where we did eventually see them. The driver was good at driving but there was barely any engagement with the group. There was no information given about where we were being taken, what to expect, why we would move from one location to another... no information given about the phenomenon of the lights themselves. It was like being in a taxi. He was better one-to-one, and perfectly friendly, but we found it really odd to have had so little interaction with the group as a whole. The pickup was also a bit chaotic – I don't understand why tour companies can't simply have a sign in the windscreen with the tour company name on it? It's quite stressful and I wasn't filled with confidence that I'd got on the right bus at first.
Tudor Alexandru
Tudor Alexandru
2024-02-27
Verified
It depends on weather and luck The drivers were extremely polite and nice, hot cocoa & rolls were amazing and plenty, and the minibus was extremly qualitative. The quality and expectations of the northern lights were dissapointing but this is not the fault of the personel, it is of course based on weather and luck. I was extremly pleased that I was allowed to freely reebook my tour after the first day there were no lights (and the driver had the immense patience to stay with us until 2AM).
Clare S
Clare S
2024-02-27
Verified
Ok, but don't expect much from the guide! We got to see the lights, albeit briefly and more so in the photos than with the naked eye, but it was magical when they appeared. The hot chocolate and cinnamon bun were a nice touch, especially as it was absolutely freezing where we did eventually see them. The driver was good at driving but there was barely any engagement with the group. There was no information given about where we were being taken, what to expect, why we would move from one location to another... no information given about the phenomenon of the lights themselves. It was like being in a taxi. He was better one-to-one, and perfectly friendly, but we found it really odd to have had so little interaction with the group as a whole. The pickup was also a bit chaotic – I don't understand why tour companies can't simply have a sign in the windscreen with the tour company name on it? It's quite stressful and I wasn't filled with confidence that I'd got on the right bus at first.
Wolfgang Mitulla
Wolfgang Mitulla
2024-02-26
Our Guide: BG! Best Info, Entertainment, Hot Chocolat, C-Buns, fabulaous Night ( and we meet Aurora.....!)
_goldfi_martmac
_goldfi_martmac
2024-02-26
Verified
Dancing skies! On our first outing was with Palli who was lovely. We sadly didn’t see the Aurora, the guides have no control over what the night skies will bring. What’s awesome is the company allows you to rebook onto another tour which we did, this time with Tobbi was was also friendly and lovely. We were lucky to see the Aurora borealis, an amazing sight to behold. The Icelandic hot chocolate and cinnamon buns were delicious and just what was needed to warm up on the cold nights! Wrap up warm and enjoy!
Rosa G
Rosa G
2024-02-26
Verified
Seeing the Northern Lights was like a glimpse of heaven. I was in heaven when I saw the lights. I had a big smile that I couldn't shake for the remainder of the night. The tour guide was great, although his picture skills weren't the best because most came out blurry. Overall, it was an awesome experience.
Riley H
Riley H
2024-02-26
Verified
Beware of Scam We were extremely excited for this trip and specifically this "highly rated" tour. We booked this tour a week in advance for $733.55 but was unfortunately canceled due to weather conditions. I was told we would get a full refund, and although we were upset, we were told we would get all $733.55 back fully refunded. A few days after, we were still in Iceland and decided to try to rebook through this company. I was told I could not rebook because I was already being refunded for the $733.55 charge, but that I could buy a new time slot if available, and it turned out to be only $655 this time. I am writing this review nearly a month later after being told my money would be back in my account in 5-10 business days and still is not refunded. I contacted them to get a refund, but instead of refunding me for my original booking, they refunded me the $655 amount that we actually went on the tour. I am furious that not only did we get scammed by this company, but they are now refusing to contact me about this refund. Additionally, the actual tour was very underwhelming and not worth the amount of money. I rarely ever write reviews to begin with, let alone a negative one, but I have never been scammed before by a Trip Advisor company and believed others should see this review before booking.
_goldfi_martmac
_goldfi_martmac
2024-02-26
Verified
Dancing skies! On our first outing was with Palli who was lovely. We sadly didn’t see the Aurora, the guides have no control over what the night skies will bring. What’s awesome is the company allows you to rebook onto another tour which we did, this time with Tobbi was was also friendly and lovely. We were lucky to see the Aurora borealis, an amazing sight to behold. The Icelandic hot chocolate and cinnamon buns were delicious and just what was needed to warm up on the cold nights! Wrap up warm and enjoy!
Rosa G
Rosa G
2024-02-26
Verified
Seeing the Northern Lights was like a glimpse of heaven. I was in heaven when I saw the lights. I had a big smile that I couldn't shake for the remainder of the night. The tour guide was great, although his picture skills weren't the best because most came out blurry. Overall, it was an awesome experience.
Riley H
Riley H
2024-02-26
Verified
Beware of Scam We were extremely excited for this trip and specifically this "highly rated" tour. We booked this tour a week in advance for $733.55 but was unfortunately canceled due to weather conditions. I was told we would get a full refund, and although we were upset, we were told we would get all $733.55 back fully refunded. A few days after, we were still in Iceland and decided to try to rebook through this company. I was told I could not rebook because I was already being refunded for the $733.55 charge, but that I could buy a new time slot if available, and it turned out to be only $655 this time. I am writing this review nearly a month later after being told my money would be back in my account in 5-10 business days and still is not refunded. I contacted them to get a refund, but instead of refunding me for my original booking, they refunded me the $655 amount that we actually went on the tour. I am furious that not only did we get scammed by this company, but they are now refusing to contact me about this refund. Additionally, the actual tour was very underwhelming and not worth the amount of money. I rarely ever write reviews to begin with, let alone a negative one, but I have never been scammed before by a Trip Advisor company and believed others should see this review before booking.
Stella D
Stella D
2024-02-25
Verified
Funny and excellent tour guide! Arni was our tour guide and he was able to accommodate me on his tour bus after I booked a separate ticket from my husband for the experience. That allowed us to stay on the same bus together. Arni was a great guide. He was very knowledgeable, warm, hilarious, Upbeat, and positive. Even though the Aurora was shy on the night we went, Arni’s presence and positive attitude made the experience great. I can tell he really tried to do what he could to help us see whatever ounce of light was available but there are some things out of our control and that is Mother Nature. The photos taken were great quality and I was happy the Aurora showed up in our photo. The cinnamon buns were absolutely delicious and the wool blankets were super warming since it gets freezing at night. Thank you so much for a wonderful time!
David B
David B
2024-02-25
Verified
The relentless lights hunter We went out on a night that was cloudy and rainy in Reykjavik and thought there was no way we'd see the lights. But our guide was relentless driving all over until he found a hole in the clouds large enough to see them! While they were very faint to the naked eye our guide taught us how to setup our iphone cameras to enhance what we were seeing to confirm the faint lights were indeed the northern lights. It was a night we'll remember forever!
newplaces2017
newplaces2017
2024-02-25
Verified
Northern Lights Tour - wonderful, unforgettable experience. Our guide Michael was amazing. We had the best experience we could have hoped for and learned lots of information during our northern lights tour. There was a real sense of excitement and hunting out the Northern lights, with a change of destination due to feedback coming in from other tours about cloud cover and where the chances were high. We had some fantastic professional photos to remember our experience. The hot chocolate and cinnamon buns were delicious. Can’t recommend this tour highly enough. Thank you Michael for making my dreams come true!
Grumpy G
Grumpy G
2024-02-25
Verified
Excellent view of the lights, great high quality portraits. May you have good luck too. Daniel was an excellent tour guide. He said the amazing aurora that we saw were 7/10 as far as things go. We enjoyed the viking aurora playlist on the ride out to Thingvellir park. Quickly Daniel realized the lights were beginning to show, using his fancy camera to see better than our eyes. We saw amazing lights, we had so many high quality pictures taken with his fancy camera. The hot chocolate and cinnamon buns were good. We were very cold even with blankets, bring more layers, and hand warmers. Before the tour, we did a Wake Up Reykjavik food tour. The guide said it was good luck to chew a piece of hakarl 10 times, and chase it with a shot of Brennivin. My wife and I both did, but no one else on the tour did. We had good luck though, on the only clear night of our trip, we saw the lights that we came here for. * Note: our eyes didn't see them the way an iPhone or expensive DLSR camera did. They were murky and cloudy and barely colorful, but a joy to experience them and see them undulate.
Lauren T
Lauren T
2024-02-25
Verified
The best tour guides in Reykjavik!! We managed to see the northern lights on our 3rd excursion.. one of those being with a rival company who were incomparable to Reykjavik Outventures! Our first guide was Bjarni, who kept us thoroughly entertained throughout the journey, and even though we were unable to see the lights, the experience was still so enjoyable. He taught us how to use our camera settings to get the best possible photos and managed to beat us at a game of 'ask my anything about Iceland' - I only wish I had more questions ready to ask!! As we were unable to see the lights, we rebooked for a second night with Magnus, who was just as enthusiastic and entertaining! He stayed in contact with his colleagues through the evening, who gave him a heads up that we were initially heading South, towards an area that had more cloud coverage than initially predicted, and so we did a complete 180 and headed North instead. This proved to be a great call as we were able to get a magnificent view of the lights! Magnus was great at getting photos of everyone and had some fantastic stories about elves and trolls to keep us entertained! Both guides paid such great attention to detail, ensuring that they found the best spots with minimal light pollution, and turned off the lights on the minibus to give us the best chance of seeing the lights with the naked eye. To compare, the other company we had previously booked with, pulled up to a spot with at least 6/7 other buses, none of which turned off their lights, and we were facing a working lighthouse. Also, their hot chocolate was unrivaled 👌 best hot chocolate I have had in a long time!
Meander50949074512
Meander50949074512
2024-02-25
Verified
Breathtaking So glad we booked this trip. Magnus Viking was a brilliant guide, ensuring everyone had a great time . It was thanks to his knowledge that we saw the lights, which were magical
Liz F
Liz F
2024-02-25
Verified
Amazing trip BG was an amazing guide (and good driver). The lights took a while to show but we were so happy to see them. It was lovely to have photos as a memento. The whole trip was very well organised and it was great to be in a small group.
Meander50949074512
Meander50949074512
2024-02-25
Verified
Breathtaking So glad we booked this trip. Magnus Viking was a brilliant guide, ensuring everyone had a great time . It was thanks to his knowledge that we saw the lights, which were magical
Liz F
Liz F
2024-02-25
Verified
Amazing trip BG was an amazing guide (and good driver). The lights took a while to show but we were so happy to see them. It was lovely to have photos as a memento. The whole trip was very well organised and it was great to be in a small group.
Grumpy G
Grumpy G
2024-02-25
Verified
Excellent view of the lights, great high quality portraits. May you have good luck too. Daniel was an excellent tour guide. He said the amazing aurora that we saw were 7/10 as far as things go. We enjoyed the viking aurora playlist on the ride out to Thingvellir park. Quickly Daniel realized the lights were beginning to show, using his fancy camera to see better than our eyes. We saw amazing lights, we had so many high quality pictures taken with his fancy camera. The hot chocolate and cinnamon buns were good. We were very cold even with blankets, bring more layers, and hand warmers. Before the tour, we did a Wake Up Reykjavik food tour. The guide said it was good luck to chew a piece of hakarl 10 times, and chase it with a shot of Brennivin. My wife and I both did, but no one else on the tour did. We had good luck though, on the only clear night of our trip, we saw the lights that we came here for. * Note: our eyes didn't see them the way an iPhone or expensive DLSR camera did. They were murky and cloudy and barely colorful, but a joy to experience them and see them undulate.