Pen-y-bryn Lodge Reviews

Pen-y-bryn Lodge Reviews

5.0

Excellent - based on 263 reviews

www.penybryn.co.nz
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (263)
Caroline Denley
Caroline Denley
2023-04-16
Fantastic place to stay, the food was excellent and the James’ were great hosts who went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. Met some lovely other guests at the pre-dinner drinks which added to the fun.
Advertisement
Michael Stearney
Michael Stearney
2023-04-03
A beautiful lodging choice in Oamaru. Historic building, wonderful hosts, great food.
Dickie
Dickie
2023-03-23
Verified
A great stay - Superb gastronomy - don’t miss eating here!!! We stayed for two nights and was so impressed with the hospitality and quality of food. James is a superb chef and the food he creates is far better than most restaurants!!! Eat at the lodge as service and food was superb!! It was great to see hosts who really understand quality and who have a great sense of humour. Thank you James
Joe Morrice
Joe Morrice
2023-03-01
A very special place to stay. Spacious rooms with excellent facilities. Really liked the soaps. Fantastic place with wonderful views and full of history. James and James were really excellent hosts and we will definitely visit again. The dogs were really friendly and excellent when you miss your own. Thanks again.
Reply from Pen-y-bryn Lodge 2023-03-01
Thank you very much! Our soaps are really popular--we really like them ourselves--and the people who make them up in Blenheim are wonderful people, too.
Alexis Loy
Alexis Loy
2022-12-13
The hosts of Pen-y-bryn lodge, the Jameses, were exceptional and made our short stay the highlight of our honeymoon trip! The dinner course was excellent and had one of the most tender beef cheeks - with much of the ingredients grown in their home gardens. Still reminiscing the Friulian style lasagne and basque-style cheesecake. The lodge was also adorned with exquisite decorations and souvenirs from the Jameses’ travels.
Trip type
Couples
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Pen-y-bryn Lodge 2022-12-13
Thank you so much! We are so happy to have played a small role in making your honeymoon a bit more special!
Advertisement
micksticks
micksticks
2022-10-23
Verified
Amazing Property We stayedfor one night in the Nest room which was in the annexe. Very spacious room and bathroom. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful with great travel suggestions.Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection, many items were homemade by James.The house itself is stunning.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Tim Fox
Tim Fox
2022-10-18
Perfect. would happily recommend to everyone, its worth spending a little bit more, treat yourself.
Simon Hanson
Simon Hanson
2022-08-30
Truly a gem and if you like a quality place to stay with outstanding attention to detail this should be on you list. James is a wonderful host and keen to accommodate you during your visit. Food, accommodation and service is of an international 5* standard. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Reply from Pen-y-bryn Lodge 2022-08-30
It's been a pleasure having you stay with us! Thank you for the kind comments--we really appreciate them!
GrandTour11969915722
GrandTour11969915722
2022-05-22
Verified
A first class hospitality experience The lodge , the food and the hospitality in general provided by James one and James two was first class. We had a brilliant stay and the guidance they provided to the sights and the delights of the Oamaru district was a real point of difference for us. We highly recommend this fine property and it’s wonderful hosts.
Advertisement
Sheree Hart
Sheree Hart
2022-04-28
Loved the experience of staying in a beautiful building with history and stories to tell. Our hosts were fab and the food was absolutely amazing. We are a family of 4 with some dietary needs and this was really thought out by our hosts. The best dairy free pancakes, muffins and cookies we have ever tasted! Thank you James, James and James :)
Trip type
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Allan Moffitt
Allan Moffitt
2022-03-20
What an experience. Highly recommended. Had an awesome evening and wonderful dinner. Prawn and avocado beautifully presented and sweetcorn reduction that was similarly spiced and delicious. The main was duck with radicchio , sautéed potatoes (from their garden) and mushrooms with green beans. I would say it’s the best cooked du I I have had - excellent and fantastic wines to match. The fig and pistachio frangipane tart with Tonia Bean ice-cream was also amazing and well rounded off with a home made walnut liqueur. Overall fantastic experience - thanks so much!
Reply from Pen-y-bryn Lodge 2022-03-20
Oh thank you so much for taking the time (and so soon!) to review your dinner with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed it, and that we were able to show you some of the night sky, too! Come again!
Sally A
Sally A
2021-12-13
Verified
Delightful. Lovely boutique hotel in a beautifully restored, historic house in a pretty garden on the hill. The hosts were delightful and made us feel like royalty from the moment we arrived and they served us the most delicious gourmet dinner and breakfast in their rather grand old dining room. Luxury accomodation and not cheap, but worth it for an indulgent treat if you are planning to visit Oamaru.
EJM223
EJM223
2021-12-10
Verified
Beautiful Lodge but.. There is no question that the lodge has been beautifully restored and is very comfortable. The new rooms are spacious and every detail has been well thought out from the homemade cookies to bath salts for the luxurious bath. Attention to detail was exceptional.Sadly the dinner which we had included in our package was a letdown. It started well with drinks and canapes in the lovely lounge. Sadly we had not seen the menu until we sat down at dinner and there was no choice. If you had allergies or specific food categories you did not eat you could advise the lodge at the time of booking so your needs could be accommodated but if you just didn't like something there was no alternative. As we were 2 of only 3 guests that evening it would have seemed rude to sit down at dinner and say actually we both don't like that. If there is not a choice on the menu then perhaps the menu could be sent out a couple of days in advance to give an opportunity for any comments to avail a disappointing meal.The lodge is not cheap so it was disappointing that dinner was such a let down. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent although a written list of hot options would be a good idea.
Value
Location
Service
Advertisement
lynley muir
lynley muir
2021-11-27
Stunning . ...service...food... environment....an experience. !!! Needs more stars...
Charles2006
Charles2006
2021-08-10
Verified
Character, charm, comfort and excellent cuisine A house like Pen-y-bryn deserves sympathetic and keen custodians. It is fortunate then, that in James and James the house has just that. The bonus for travellers is that we have an opportunity to experience the best the house and its custodians have to offer.The house is a delight and the hosts are charming, helpful and interesting. James and James made sure we got the most out of our stay and accomplished this as though it is second nature to them. We stayed two nights and enjoyed every moment from the friendly welcome onwards. Our bedroom (the Nest Room) was very well appointed, spacious and comfortable. We greatly appreciated the under-floor heating in the bathroom and the generous luggage storage area.James G is the chef and does a terrific job of providing sumptuous dinners and breakfasts. Portion sizes were generous and each course was carefully crafted to bring out the best of the various locally sourced ingredients. We were very pleased that we pre-booked dinner for both nights of our stay.We were alerted to Pen-y-bryn when it featured on the Lap of Luxury TV programme so we had high expectations which, I'm happy to report, were met and exceeded. If you want to stay somewhere unique that has character, charm, comfort, excellent cuisine and which will live long and pleasingly in your memory banks then Pen-y-bryn should be on your radar.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Richard Clayton
Richard Clayton
2021-08-01
Fabulous place, people and food. Not a place but an experience!
Jamie Wright
Jamie Wright
2021-07-26
Advertisement
Donald Birdsall
Donald Birdsall
2021-07-24
Reply from Pen-y-bryn Lodge 2021-07-24
Thank you for your review!
AndEri38
AndEri38
2021-05-20
Verified
Only One Night of Being Spoilt This was our treat on our road trip to Dunedin. We were not disappointed. The welcome, the dinner, breakfast and all the interesting information provided - each was memorable! The work these guys have done to renovate this magnificent home is a testament to a grand commitment and passion. Next time we will stay longer!PS: Elephant Rocks and the road over Dansey Pass was icing on the cake. Thanks for the heads up.
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Howard A
Howard A
2021-03-25
Verified
Short notice We booked a one night stay with only a few hours notice. James made us so welcome with homemade biscuits on arrival, unfortunately we had not booked dinner so had to dine out but even so James gave us pre dinner drinks with beautiful canapés.The attention we received, we thought we could have been the only ones staying in this tastefully furnished lodge.A visit to see the blue penguins in the evening should not be missed. Breakfast with the majority of food being home grown was a delight.We will definitely return with a booking for dinner and will look forward to walking George (the cockapoo).