PEERLESS Estate Sales LLC

www.peerlessplace.com

PEERLESS Estate Sales LLC Reviews

Good rating
3.8
67 reviews Verified
PEERLESS Estate Sales LLC
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 67 ) 3.8

Mustakim Seeum
Mustakim Seeum
2024.05.22
Flor deCosta
Flor deCosta
2024.05.16
If you Read through the reviews here, Yelp, etc. you’ll notice that the people who go to Peerless’s sales are happy w the rockbottom yard sale prices, but the people Whose stuff Peerless is selling, not so much. My family and I have been going to a bunch of estate sales, run by different companies. We’re checking them out because we’re about to sell our mom‘s house. Peerless runs super organized sales. Being shoppers We loved the garage sale prices, but we have decided against Peerless for our mom because they price things so low. We’re not sure we would brake even, after they sold everything so cheap, and Peerless took their share. (Another thing is that they don’t have much security, we saw people swiping stuff, Peerless staff didn’t seem to notice. Maybe they need more staff at the sales?)
Maia H.
Maia H.
2024.05.16
Verified
I carefully read their online profile and including the range of services they offer, appraising, posting things online, etc. I explained that in my mind, I had some things that were worth the effort to get a fair price. (Though I was clear I didn't expect to get what I paid for anything.) And I saw everything else as selling for estate sale pricing. I assumed this was in keeping with their description of offering appraising services and online promotion. I pointed out a couple of pieces of furniture, antique, in excellent condition, as examples. He snapped, if I want to sell it I should find someplace. I didn't understand why that wouldn't be part of their estate sale services. Then he said I was putting "too many barriers" in his way to do his job. I was taken aback and I asked him what he meant. He said I "wasn't desperate enough," that clients his company wants to do sales for are "up against the clock, they're out of time, they hand him the keys and say do whatever you want, get rid of everething. the service he was offering me was a garage sale. Which is fine it's just not what they describe on their website or what I was expecting.
Reply from PEERLESS Estate Sales LLC 2024.05.16
This person isn't a customer or client of ours. I don't understand why Yelp is allowed to be a place for people who meet each other to say, "I'm not happy," or "I didn't like him." For the record, I wasn't particularly happy with her either. I didn't like her insistence on an 11:15 appointment (not 11? or 11:30?) -hope she wasn't too annoyed at my 11:18 arrival. Rather than a usual morning appointment or end of day, it cut my work day right in half -- a FREE consultation offering good advice -- only to be repaid with a 2-star review on YELP?!!? Estate Sale prices ARE fair prices -- on all items, not just the items the client thinks are "worth the effort." We think everything under your roof is worth the effort. Some things sell for more than others, but it all adds up! So after all the careful research to choose a company to trust to do the job, this once potential new client didn't offer an ounce of trust or say a single thing acknowledging that an experienced professional estate liquidator was in her home offering to help! It was a remarkable one-of-a-kind interview experience. She wanted to be in complete control of everything. I "snapped" at seeing antique furniture in excellent condition!? -and told her to find someplace to sell it? That's just nuts! -makes no sense. You've got the wrong guy! Once again, there is always one statement in a person's review that discredits the entire review. I did NOT tell her, "she wasn't desperate enough." I did tell her that we're here to help solve a problem, and that she didn't really have a problem for us to help with! The house has sat unoccupied for 5 months, it's not sold or for sale, there is no Realtor involved, and it's not a rental property. HER last words to me as she marched me to the front door were, "I get it, I'm just not desperate enough for you." And the door slammed behind me. Nice attempt at a spin there, Maia. Oh--and her name isn't Maia H. It's Laura G. I have to use my real name in reviews, but you don't? And to think, that at the end of the day, I thought about sending her a letter that would have read, "you said no to me, but I didn't say no to you." There could have been a good project in that house, and we would have helped her when she came around, and yes, removed the barriers. Every good new client relationship starts with a basic statement of, "we have a problem, please help us." Then we do what it takes to get the house empty on time, every time by selling things at the best possible prices. We're on commission! Of course we're going to do the best we can with your things so we can do the best we can with our time! And OMG, I certainly did NOT offer to do a garage sale! It was a bad appointment. There was no healthy client relationship in sight--I didn't offer to do ANY service for her, and what we do is absolutely NOT a garage sale. She's confusing me with another appointment she had - which she described to me. I was at least the third professional liquidator she had carefully researched on-line and chosen to interview in person. It's safe to assume I was the third person to be shown the door. But will I be the last...
Farida Yeasmin
Farida Yeasmin
2024.05.13
William Sears
William Sears
2024.04.30
Mary S.
Mary S.
2024.04.18
Verified
Professionally run sales. Everything is clean and organized. The prices are fair and there is a clear bidding process that can be done online. They aren't giving the things away, and that's OK!
Reply from PEERLESS Estate Sales LLC 2024.04.19
Mary! Thank you for shopping with us and sharing your experience. There's nothing easy about producing estate sales and we work very hard to earn every one of these stars! Consistent and fair service to every customer has always been a priority. We look forward to seeing you again!
Eliza O.
Eliza O.
2024.01.29
Verified
Peerless estates sales are great! Gary, Alison, and Gretchen do an amazing job. Whether I buy a little or a lot, it's a pleasure to go to their estate sales.
Joan D.
Joan D.
2023.11.21
Verified
NEVER MISS A PEERLESS SALE! Even if the pictures don't motivate you to attend, make sure to GO anyway. I've been shopping Peerless sales for over ten years and I always find treasures. Their sales are impeccably organized and clean. Unlike most other estate companies, the owner and staff take great care and pride in cleaning and displaying their items. More importantly, the whole staff is always welcoming and attentive. If I purchase something fragile, it's always wrapped with care so it makes it home safe. Before the sale opens, the owner always comes out a few minutes early, wind, rain, snow, or sun, and asks each customer if there's something specific they want. If he remembers where the item is, he will tell them exactly where it is, who does that!?, Peerless does!!! If friends or family ask what estate sale company they should use, I always recommend Peerless. I know if I ever need an estate company, Peerless will be the first I will call.
Larry C.
Larry C.
2023.11.20
Verified
I've been going to Peerless sales since they began conducting them and try not to miss any, as I usually find something worthwhile to buy. Some things that I have purchased from them I will never let go of. I've been buying at estate sales since the 1970s and see other companies come and go over the years. Peerless' staff are very organized, polite and helpful. The sales are clean, no-nonsense, and they have handled some of the more interesting estates in the area. I regret when I can't make it some weekends!
crystal D.
crystal D.
2023.11.19
Verified
After thinking about it, they must work for the attorneys for the estate. They allow way to many people in, you can practically watch the people stealing. There is not even an attempt of any kind of security. I don't think there is an actual client they are looking out for, just liquidating. Second, switch and bait or selling online before opening. I was 5th in line at last sale, specifically there for Multnomah Falls picture. Sold when I got into house. I look online at 9:15, shows sold. They opened at 9 and I was there! Third, owner was told it was leaf cleanup in Eastmoreland, didn't see to care. Eastmoreland gets a HUGE amount of leafs. We all look forward to clean up. He informed me there were no signs, that "Laurelhurst put out signs". We are notified and can remember the date, plus quite obvious that morning, streets are empty. Anyway, I'm done with Peerless, second time of experienced switch and bait.
Denis V.
Denis V.
2023.10.06
Verified
I have been attending sales conducted by Peerless for years. When it was time to liquidate my father's estate I couldn't think of anyone else to do the job. From the initial interview and walk through to the staging, sale and clean out, I couldn't have been happier. Allison and Gary are caring and dedicated people, I don't see how I could have entrusted the estate to anyone else. They took a huge load off my shoulders and the result was fantastic, I wouldn't hesitate to use them again.
Lawrence W.
Lawrence W.
2023.08.10
Verified
I don't know what I would have done without Kim and her team at Peerless. While I'm sure every estate has its own unique challenges, ours felt insurmountable. And it seemed that many other estate sale companies agreed. But Kim helped me put together a workable plan that was very accommodating to our needs, being clear eyed and honest with me the entire time. Ultimately, Peerless underpromised, and overdelivered and I can't thank Kim and her team enough.
Kevin L.
Kevin L.
2023.06.18
Verified
Total sales: a little over $3175. My take: about $297. In effect, they converted my belongings for their own use. I would have been ahead giving everything away, taking the tax deduction, and hiring a crew to take things to the dump and clean. I literally made twice as much selling my surfboard on Craigslist! (And Kim was upset that I did so!) They sold an oriental rug valued at several thousand dollars for $650. They priced two antique maps way too high, and when they didn't sell they either gave them to cleaners as "gleanings" or took them themselves. I am not sure, but they were still present when cleaners were working and Peerless did not follow its contract and sell them on consignment. (Contract says things of value greater than $50 (sometimes contract says $60) that didn't sell can be sold later on consignment. That didn't happen.) Their pricing brochure makes it look like you get about 66%, but if you look closer, it's what THEY get! I think this is purposefully MISLEADING because every customer wants to know THEIR take-home, not Peerless'. On top of taking their $2000, Peerless stuck me with bills of $450 to clean the garage and $225 for disposal services. Outrageous. And they kick you out of your home while fleecing you, so you can add a hotel bill or inconveniencing a friend onto the costs. A terrible, terrible experience.
Reply from PEERLESS Estate Sales LLC 2023.08.11
Clients with households full of valuable, sellable items which add up to high gross sales leave us 5-star reviews which often include detailed descriptions of the points of service which surprised and impressed them throughout this complicated process. ALL of the negative reviews we see on our Yelp account are from clients who left us a very small collection of low value items to sell with a very high amount of trash and physical labor to produce the sale and empty their home. On rare occasion, in these borderline situations, a client who had nearly nothing to sell is astonished that they got nearly nothing for it--and blame us. But it’s never truly the case—that they got nothing for it: They had a problem; we solved it. They had a deadline, needed an empty house, couldn’t do the work themselves or didn’t want to do the work, and we did. The client gets an empty house, on time, and it didn’t cost them a dime. The things that remained paid for themselves to be removed. After being turned down by others in our business, most people think what we offer is a pretty good deal. We do our very best to understand the client’s priorities. Every one of this reviewer’s grievances is about money. Although we made it very clear this was not going to be a very high sales sale, with only a 2 week window before closing, the idea of money was definitely not his priority when we first met. In this review, we read no complaint about the quality of our work; there is no complaint about how clean his home was left when we finished. The “brochure” referenced in this review is actually our CONTRACT. Surprisingly, it is not uncommon for a new client to sign a contract without reading it. We understand how and why this can happen—usually thanks to a high level of trust in our reputation in a referral-based business. We encourage questions. We are happy and patient to thoroughly explain any point of our multi-step service. We have little sympathy for an attorney, in particular, who does not thoroughly read our contract before engaging services. Attorneys LOVE our contracts! We do so much work for estate attorneys and bank Trust departments, our contract is written FOR attorneys. It includes clearly detailed steps of our process. There are no gray areas. Nothing is vague or mis-leading. The credibility of this entire review can be measured in just one of its accusations: We threw you out of your house? Mr. Kevin Lucey, you sold your house. You threw yourself out. The calendar was his plan, not ours. Our competitors who read this must think, “you booked a $3,000 sale?” and “haven’t you learned your lesson?” The intent of most reviews on Yelp are to educate the public and help them make a good decision—in this case, in choosing an on-site estate liquidator. We invite this reviewer to continue his efforts by calling our competitors and posting their response to three questions: What commission would they charge on $3,000 in gross sales? Who pays the cost of the client’s trash disposal? And will they manage the sale while the client is still living in the home? You will not find an estate liquidator—professional or amateur—who will work for a week, pay a staff, and carry proper liability insurance for 34% of $3,000, AND pay your trash costs? While living with you? And if someone says they will do anything close to this – it means they have very little experience, and therefore have no business working in your home. We’re very sorry Kevin Lucey is unhappy with the choices he made. We did our best to work with him afterwards, and even went above and beyond our normal services by doing something special he asked for – something not offered in our contract. We asked him to remove this unfair review, but he refused. It’s a good reminder that “you can’t believe everything you read on the internet.” The PEERLESS Estate Sales team did exactly what they promised. With only 1 week notice, he had an emergency and we now know he had no plan for after his house sold and where he was going. We did an excellent job for him in these circumstances. We won’t be discouraged by this or any other remorseful and starless Yelp customer, we will simply continue to do good work for good people. Thank you for reading. Kim Russell
Dyllan C.
Dyllan C.
2023.06.12
Verified
My partner and I attended our first Peerless sale this past weekend. I could tell that their team went above and beyond to organize the estate for the sale. They were incredibly friendly and helpful! I would highly recommend attending one of their sales- we will definitely be at the next.
Margaret McShea
Margaret McShea
2023.05.09
Peerless absolutely knocked it out of the park on our recent estate sale. We had a huge amount of things to go through, it took us almost 5 months to look at everything on our end and pull out what we wanted to keep before Peerless came in to do their pricing and set up. They went through MUCH faster than we did, and found things we had missed and let us know. For example: they found a list of the names that a collection of teddy bears had been given by our relative, and matched those names up to every bear and put the name on the price tag. They also found some items we somehow missed so we could decide if we wanted those or not. They advertised the priciest items for a long time online leading up to the sale, with links we could share with all our friends and family. They set up an online bidding system so those bigger ticket items could get a chance to go for full price or be bought for a lower bid made online, and they even made an auction catalog for people to take when they stopped by, so people could look for those items to bid on later. They also made a virtual online gallery experience complete with music, I can't even believe that. Their merchandising onsite is genius, they make everything look like an upscale boutique! We had talked to a few other estate sale folks, who were lovely, but who had given us pretty low expectations on what they could really sell. Our estate was full of beautiful things, but the other estate sale folks said they were not really very resale valuable. Well, Peerless saw the value and made sure the folks who came to the estate sale did too, and those pretty things got bought and taken away to be loved! As I said, our estate was huge, so as much as got sold (which was a LOT!) there was still things left to take out of the house. Peerless has so many connections with social services groups and other recycling and reuse groups, that on the last day of the sale after things got picked up by buyers, the house was cleaned out of the last things, all taken to get used again. Almost nothing went into the dumpster, it was really just some actual garbage, which is really hard to believe, as we had a 4 story estate sale. Peerless really dots the "i"s and crosses the "t"s on their estate sales. They do everything to maximize the earned money for you, and to respect your family member(s), and to respect your wishes, and they prepare for every possible scenario so that you get a clean house when they are finished. I can't imagine anything going better for an estate sale than ours did, but they were ready in case things didn't sell or social services agencies wouldn't take them. We could NEVER have managed this estate without them, they really saved the day. An estate sale is never really for a fun reason, and people have lots of distracting emotions around change, so make sure you take time to read and listen and understand their services and process, but you can't go wrong with Peerless. They are meticulously honest, they will do exactly what they promise, and they will do it spectacularly.
Margaret M.
Margaret M.
2023.05.09
Verified
Peerless absolutely knocked it out of the park on our recent estate sale. We had a huge amount of things to go through, it took us almost 5 months to look at everything on our end and pull out what we wanted to keep before Peerless came in to do their pricing and set up. They went through MUCH faster than we did, and found things we had missed and let us know. For example: they found a list of the names that a collection of teddy bears had been given by our relative, and matched those names up to every bear and put the name on the price tag. They also found some items we somehow missed so we could decide if we wanted those or not. They advertised the priciest items for a long time online leading up to the sale, with links we could share with all our friends and family. They set up an online bidding system so those bigger ticket items could get a chance to go for full price or be bought for a lower bid made online, and they even made an auction catalog for people to take when they stopped by, so people could look for those items to bid on later. They also made a virtual online gallery experience complete with music, I can't even believe that. Their merchandising onsite is genius, they make everything look like an upscale boutique! We had talked to a few other estate sale folks, who were lovely, but who had given us pretty low expectations on what they could really sell. Our estate was full of beautiful things, but the other estate sale folks said they were not really very resale valuable. Well, Peerless saw the value and made sure the folks who came to the estate sale did too, and those pretty things got bought and taken away to be loved! As I said, our estate was huge, so as much as got sold (which was a LOT!) there was still things left to take out of the house. Peerless has so many connections with social services groups and other recycling and reuse groups, that on the last day of the sale after things got picked up by buyers, the house was cleaned out of the last things, all taken to get used again. Almost nothing went into the dumpster, it was really just some actual garbage, which is really hard to believe, as we had a 4 story estate sale. Peerless really dots the "i"s and crosses the "t"s on their estate sales. They do everything to maximize the earned money for you, and to respect your family member(s), and to respect your wishes, and they prepare for every possible scenario so that you get a clean house when they are finished. I can't imagine anything going better for an estate sale than ours did, but they were ready in case things didn't sell or social services agencies wouldn't take them. We could NEVER have managed this estate without them, they really saved the day. An estate sale is never really for a fun reason, and people have lots of distracting emotions around change, so make sure you take time to read and listen and understand their services and process, but you can't go wrong with Peerless. They are meticulously honest, they will do exactly what they promise, and they will do it spectacularly.
Maria Sosnowski
Maria Sosnowski
2023.03.14
I'm so pleased with this company and how everything went. They did such a good job of organizing and presenting the items in an appealing way. There were practical things like putting all the earrings on little cards hanging from a rack like in a store, and shrink wrapping greeting card piles and bead containers into sets. But there were also artistic and creative things like the way they balanced color and size of items, the arrangements of like items in eye-catching displays, and the way they played up the positive. I'm truly impressive what they did. I saw it on the pre-sale walk-through when they were done and was blown away. At the end of the sale I saw how little remained. And I love knowing that these things have found new homes instead of just ending up in the trash. They worked hard to minimize the number of items that were disposed of. At the sale, I saw helpfulness, friendliness, and a wonderful attitude. They spent time along the way to rearrange things to keep it looking good - really nice touches like moving all the books on the bottom shelf up higher as they sold, and redoing arrangements of items. And when I arrived to pick up the key after the house was empty, I saw a place that was cleaner than I expected. I will absolutely use this company again when I'm in need. Gary, Brian, Allison, and DeeAnn all did a wonderful job. And the sales amount exceeded everyone's expectations, which was due to the hard work and preparation they put into it. Follow up: I saw photos from a friend's estate sale in another state. They honestly just looked like a garage sale in her home. They didn't begin to compare with what Peerless did.
Maria S.
Maria S.
2023.01.16
Verified
I'm so pleased with this company and how everything went. They did such a good job of organizing and presenting the items in an appealing way. There were practical things like putting all the earrings on little cards hanging from a rack like in a store, and shrink wrapping greeting card piles and bead containers into sets. But there were also artistic and creative things like the way they balanced color and size of items, the arrangements of like items in eye-catching displays, and the way they played up the positive. I'm truly impressive what they did. I saw it on the pre-sale walk-through when they were done and was blown away. At the end of the sale I saw how little remained. And I love knowing that these things have found new homes instead of just ending up in the trash. They worked hard to minimize the number of items that were disposed of. At the sale, I saw helpfulness, friendliness, and a wonderful attitude. They spent time along the way to rearrange things to keep it looking good - really nice touches like moving all the books on the bottom shelf up higher as they sold, and redoing arrangements of items. And when I arrived to pick up the key after the house was empty, I saw a place that was cleaner than I expected. I will absolutely use this company again when I'm in need. Gary, Brian, Allison, and DeeAnn all did a wonderful job. And the sales amount exceeded everyone's expectations, which was due to the hard work and preparation they put into it.
Cheri H.
Cheri H.
2022.09.05
Verified
I was in town visiting from out of state and live to go to estate sakes. My son and I barely made it with only 15 minutes until it closed All prices were not clearly marked. I did see a couple of things I might be interested in. I asked the young man behind the register if he knew how much some plates were. His reply was they are marked. I looked again and said I do kit see a price. He said in a rude way it's in top of the plate. (The head woman was only 3 feet away from me discussing diamonds with someone who sells diamonds ) . I told the young man I do not see it. So he busted over points and walks away he did add its 50 percent off. (His time was don't bother me). I thank him. Because other estate sales owners will discount my son used the term can we bid. The guy behind the register ignored the question. My son asked again the guy ignored. My son then said can you answer me? The reply was 50% off in a rude way. So we said so no offers is the answer thank you. Then the owner that runs the estate sale said no we don't do bids. (The matter was dropped and answered) she was being confrontational. I calmly said we heard thank you. She kept on repeating I just said we know thank you. I decided when I was treated twice like I was imposing that I was not going to buy anything from those people. Would strongly suggest that this company go to school to learn manners and how to service the people trying to buy your clients things. That's your job. You are in a service field Both if you should be professional you clients list 3 sales because of your bad attitude Shane ion you. There are too many OTHER companies to go with that know how to treat people
Marilyn B.
Marilyn B.
2022.07.07
Verified
If I could give zero stars I would. I deeply regret hiring Peerless Estate Sales to sell our parents belongings and clean out their home. Project manager Kim Russell was extremely rude, demanding, and knowing that my brother and I were dealing with the untimely loss of a family member, completely lacking in compassion or sensitivity. After waiting weeks until we could get on their schedule, after a day and a half of working in the home to stage the sale, Kim simply walked off the job, a complete prima donna, yelling at my brother on the phone "NO ONE IS TO BE IN THE HOME," all because piano movers had entered the home for all of ten minutes to move a piano. Kim was advised of the appointment well in advance via two emails. It wasn't until later, after going through the untold bags of garbage in the garage, that I realized why she was so upset about anyone coming into the home while she and her employees were working. They claim they sell clothing. All of my father's clothing had been meticulously cared for and pressed. He had many nice suits, shirts, pants, all in excellent condition. They wadded up all of his clothing, all of it, and threw it in trash bags. They didn't even try and donate it. There were many things that were brand new and in the original packaging, also thrown in the garbage. Although they claim they will donate items, I don't believe it. I have heard from reliable sources that they overprice items so that they won't sell, as whatever doesn't sell they can take to do with as they please, selling it at another estate sale or by other means. At the initial appointment all seemed to be fine. When staging the sale, however, she repeatedly told us there would be low sales, that "not one person would come to our sale to buy a single piece of our furniture." I believe the intent is not to gross sales so that their commission is higher. And funny, she sure didn't say that at the initial appointment. Not only was she insulting - frankly she didn't even know the type of furniture, called it oak, it was not, and other estate sale company owners had a much different viewpoint, especially as we had some valuable Asian antiques (she didn't know what a Japanese Hibachi table was either, saying I must be wrong in referring to it as such as a Hibachi is a grill, sheesh... but once we discovered its value and history and that it was a family heirloom that we may care to keep in the family, well then all of a sudden - after she researched it I'm sure - she told us that she would have to cancel the sale were we to remove the item as the sale wouldn't generate enough revenue otherwise to have a sale, that one item... despite the fact that the home and garage were packed to the rafters with nice things that had been well cared for and 3 other estate sale companies that later viewed the property and submitted bids all agreed that there was sufficient merchandise to hold an estate sale and all 3 estimated sales at over double what she then claimed it would make). When we had a pending offer on the home, I informed Kim and that the Buyers in their proposed Purchase Agreement had requested certain personal property items, amounting to a couple of pond statues. I thought it funny at the time, that the Buyers would include this request as part of their offer, as the value of the items was relatively low. Kim, however, was incensed that we were giving the items to the Buyers, claiming that she couldn't advertise the sale properly and that without the statues there wouldn't be as big a draw to the sale. She would have us negotiate with the Buyers and jeopardize a home sale over a pond statue, unbelievable. I ended up going to Home Depot and buying replacement garden statues, which still didn't placate her. Other estate sale company owners that came in afterward would state that the garden items would have made absolutely no difference to the sale. She also knew full well that we had sold the home and had a fast-approaching closing date by which the home had to be vacated. She didn't care. She had no legal basis whatsoever to terminate the sale and was in breach of contract. She didn't care. We could have easily suffered damages in the loss of income from an estate sale and in having to hire a company for clean out, were we unable to find another estate sale company in time, especially as they generally schedule months out. She didn't care. It's absolutely egregious that she thinks she can treat people this way. The company is very fortunate that we are so overwhelmed with settling our parents' estate. I can only surmise that sooner or later there will be legal consequences. I don't believe we are the first clients this has happened to, nor will we be the last.