Geothermal Exhibition Reviews

Geothermal Exhibition Reviews

4.2

Good - based on 1402 reviews

www.on.is/en/geothermal-exhibition
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1402)
Tyler Altenburger
Tyler Altenburger
2024-02-19
This was a really great exhibit. Great to see a full size example of what the rest of the world can use. It took us about an hour to go through and they have info for adults, students, and kids. The building is gorgeous and you can see the history of geothermal, their production and the exciting news of carbon fixing. If you're going out to the south coast, make a pit stop!
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-02-19
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition.
Tyler Altenburger
Tyler Altenburger
2024-02-19
This was a really great exhibit. Great to see a full size example of what the rest of the world can use. It took us about an hour to go through and they have info for adults, students, and kids. The building is gorgeous and you can see the history of geothermal, their production and the exciting news of carbon fixing. If you're going out to the south coast, make a pit stop!
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-02-19
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition.
pupsibaer
pupsibaer
2024-02-13
Verified
Must see for anyone interested in technology/geology A detailed exhibition about geothermal energy - interesting to see and highly recommended to better understand Iceland’s history, present, potential and it‘s landscape.
Zoe R
Zoe R
2024-02-06
Verified
Good as part of a tour This is a great stop on another tour. We were planning to tag this onto the end of our GC tour, but bad weather meant we went first thing and then were advised to head back to the city by 11am! This is an honest review. It's not worth driving out just to see this alone... try and tag onto another tour. We got there the same time as a school trip, so we got to listen to a talk, which was interesting, and the lady hosting was super engaging and clearly loved her job. The actual exhibition is small on 1 floor and doesn't take long to see. If anyone watched the Zac Efron documentary and expected the same experience, you might be disappointed. Overall, it was good to visit and learn considering the importance of the place to Reykjavik and iceland but not overwhelming
mdhw19
mdhw19
2024-01-27
Verified
Excellent activity If you're looking for something to do, this is the place to go. Amazing exhibit on geothermal energy and how it all works. Information in English (they said other languages coming soon). Easy app to download on phone that gives you the tour. Staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and really willing to talk and answer questions. Takes about an hour or so to do it all, and at a decent price.
Anica Taylor
Anica Taylor
2024-01-23
A really good morning activity. It was really informative and well set out. We both learnt lots about geothermal energy and also carbon capture and storage. It was very encouraging to see how Iceland are working towards net zero emissions. We were able to see lots of cool things including the turbine room and how the electricity it produced. Would appeal to all ages and variety of interests. It was also very good value. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would highly recommend a visit.
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-01-25
Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! There are a lot of exciting projects happening now in and around the power plant in terms of sustainability and environmental initiatives, so we recommend keeping an eye out - in 2025, for example, the Silverstone project with ON Power and Carbfix will make this the first near-zero carbon footprint geothermal plant in the world!
Roccojg
Roccojg
2024-01-23
Verified
Shows how special Iceland is Very informative self guided tour. Went early in the morning in January and only a few other people were there. Iceland is a special place and the innovations made by Icelandic scientists to utilize and protect their natural resources is commendable. This is a unique opportunity to see how Iceland works. Well worth the admission price.
Bo Verhaar
Bo Verhaar
2024-01-22
The museum is small, and therefore easy to do when you're on your way to something else. We went here on our last day on our way to the airport, which was a great choice. The museum teaches you how Iceland is warmed and how CO2 can be stored as solid form. Very nice staff too!
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-01-23
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and learning about Iceland's renewable energy sector and Carbfix (CO2 into stone). Have a great day, and thank you for visiting us at the exhibition.
Barbara Holloway
Barbara Holloway
2024-01-22
Really interesting. Staff super helpful and relished in sharing their knowledge.
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-01-23
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and will pass the compliments along to our staff.
freyja132024
freyja132024
2024-01-10
Verified
A great way to understand how these systems work With an engineer and a former nuclear power operator in the family, you know we would be all over this site. We all enjoyed the displays and explanation of how the wonderful heat and power of Iceland is created. I would have loved to get inside the turbine rooms but I understand the liabilities involved. It’s a good way to spend an hour on your way to or from Reykjavik.
Alona A.
Alona A.
2024-01-09
Very interesting exhibition! I truly enjoyed all the information given. I recommend to anyone visiting Iceland! Visit this plant instead of useless exhibitions what Reykjavik is full of :)
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-01-11
Thank you for the review, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition!
christy benacquisto
christy benacquisto
2024-01-07
I would reccomend this tour if you are interested in learning about geothermal power.
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2024-01-08
Thank you for leaving us a review, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition!
Nancy Stafford
Nancy Stafford
2024-01-06
Verified
Very educational What a find if you are doing the Golden Circle. Everything you ever wanted to know about Geothermal Energy as well as conservation efforts in I eland. Helpful staff and interactive exhibits,
sonjacerna
sonjacerna
2024-01-05
Verified
Nice experience It was very interesting exhibition and nicely done. We really enjoyed the time there. At the end of November it was without tourists so we had all place only for us.I would definitely reccomand it.
s0lari
s0lari
2023-12-19
Verified
really interesting This was great to visit, very interesting how Iceland are using their resources - and then to understand that the geothermal energy is not unique to them. Very well put together exhibition.
David Magnusson
David Magnusson
2023-12-16
Mikið um borholur borað eftir heitu vatni
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2023-12-18
Takk fyrir umsögnina!
Philipp Bauer
Philipp Bauer
2023-12-05
Alice Roussel
Alice Roussel
2023-12-03
Very interesting to understand more about the very unique geothermal activity and technologies around which Iceland and modern Islandic people revolve. It was a bit short even, but the last floor already has a lot to learn about when we take the time to read and watch everything. To count between 1 and 2 hours long.
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2023-12-06
Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition!
Virginia Mott
Virginia Mott
2023-12-01
tatsuya ANIKI
tatsuya ANIKI
2023-11-29
発電出力303MW、アイスランド最大規模(世界でも第2位)の地熱発電所。将来的には、400MW級へ増設予定されている。 発電所では地域暖房用の熱水も造成しており、約25km離れたレイキャビク市への供給している。もともと、暖房用熱源として調査したところ、優勢な蒸気噴出が確認されたため、地熱発電所を建設したとのこと。 発電所の本館建屋は展示館を兼ねている。見学には入場料が必要だが、アイスランドの地熱地域や発電所に関する展示物、説明VTRなど、内容は非常に充実している。また、館内では土産物販売も行われている(地熱を利用した塩や、熱水中のシリカで作られた化粧品など)。
Reply from Geothermal Exhibition 2023-12-06
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the exhibition!