www.nucarrentals.com

NU Car Rental Reviews

Below Average rating
1.8
3352 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 1749 ) 1.8

Roberta B.
Roberta B.
2024.05.25
Verified
Please don't rent from this company. We reserved a car at LAX. There were no direct shuttles to the rental agency. We waited 45 minutes for a Muni bus to take us to a remote car rental location for their shuttle. Another company said it would be faster to walk to The Renaissance where Nu Rental is located. When we arrived a family with small children told us there were no cars available. So we joined them in a Nu shuttle to take us to Enterprise. Unfortunately he took us to their truck rental location that was closed. We caught an Uber to take us to our destination in Whittier.
Jennifer B.
Jennifer B.
2024.05.23
Verified
I liked the price of the rentals when I saw the quote was for $89 for a 4 day rental. However, when I picked up the car I was only given the choice as full coverage or for limited coverage. I was not offered the opportunity to choose no coverage. I felt pressured to pick one of those two options and the atmosphere was such that I didn't feel I could speak up at the counter and say no thank you to any coverage. Customer service was horrible and did not care when I reported this. In fact, I felt their response to my complaint was condescending and a brush off. This rental ended up being $397, which I was not expecting and did not appreciate.
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Jennifer B., We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with NÜ Car Rentals and for any frustration or inconvenience caused during your rental process. Your feedback is crucial to us, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We regret that you felt pressured and not given the opportunity to choose the coverage option you preferred. It's important for us to provide clear and transparent options to our customers, and we apologize for any misunderstanding or discomfort caused during your rental experience. We are sorry to hear that your interaction with our customer service team did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide excellent customer service, and we will address your feedback internally to ensure better communication and support for our customers. For further assistance, please email us over at cc@nucarrentals.us and simply use your reservation or agreement number as the email subject for us to conduct our investigation. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Lori N.
Lori N.
2024.05.23
Verified
If I could put no stars, I would. The agents were very rude. Ignored me when I walked in. Talked among each other and when I finally got one to help me. He was rude and mumbled and talked so fast. I told him I did not want additional insurance or damage waiver and when he had me initial and sign the documents he was again mumbling. READ EVERYTHING VERY CAREFULLY. Enterprise explains each line to you as you initial and sign. NU car rental DOES NOT!! I ended up being charged an additional $173.00 and they would not do anything about it. The AC on my car also didn't work and when I called to see if I could switch cars they said they were closed and their hours were 6am and I called at 6:34. Left a message and no one ever called back. Terriible customer service!!!
Micah B.
Micah B.
2024.05.22
Verified
Absolutely terrible. When arriving we were told our reservation for a SUV was not available anymore unless we paid more. When we got the SUV there was a big scratch and dent on the outside. Inside was not clean, there was gooey stuff inside of door and Dried boogers on driver seat and drivers seatbelt. Seats stained and outside was not washed.
Nirav A.
Nirav A.
2024.05.22
Verified
never ever use this rental car service! if only i could give them 0 stars...they will scam you by telling you returned a car with damage months after your rental is completed so that you file a "claim" with your insurance company or they will charge your credit card...who doesn't inspect a car immediately upon return but instead contacts a customer months later to fill out an incident that they would know nothing about...an employee could have damaged it upon taking it to clean and vacuum...such a low life scam company
Lauren D.
Lauren D.
2024.05.22
Verified
Avoid this company at all costs. Typical bait-and-switch. I booked on Expedia for $75 for a premium SUV for three days. By the time it was done, they charged me $321, and three weeks later hit me with another $100. When I asked what the new charge was for, they said we went through three tolls for a total of $10 and there is an administrative fee of $30/toll. We were never told about this, and I'm not sure that we could've sought an alternate had we known. We in mountains that pretty much had one way up and one way down. Don't buy the hype - too good to be true is exactly what this is.
Robin G.
Robin G.
2024.05.21
Verified
No rating. Complete ZERO! This place is the worst rental company I've ever been to. Got in late realized I booked a electric car. They charge me additional fees to upgrade to another car when they should've have been taking care of their customer. This cost me way more than I should be paying for a rental car. The manager said it was because high demand time on Thursday night and weekend. The place was located in a shady area and I didn't feel safe with my children or I would have return to airport for another car rental place. Found the receipt in the console from the past rental agreement, and I was charged almost triple what this person paid. I guess NU Car rentals haven't realized what customer service is all about and they will not be staying in business much longer. Do not go here people!
Mia T.
Mia T.
2024.05.21
Verified
please dont rent your car from this place ... for your own sanity. We reserved our trailblaze at least a month in advance for about $380 for 8 days... we arrived at the facility to which the employe said " don't worry we're out of the trailblazer, but I'll upgrade you guys to a premium for no cost" then told us our total was going to be $950 to each responded but I already paid almost $400 online and he said "yeah but this is for the gas and also for the insurance that we're going to add onto it etc" . I told the employee that I have insurance that covers rental cars tried to guilt trip me into continuing to pay extra for their insurance because "it helps with the price of the car going down overtime and if it can't be rented" he also said ,after I continued to deny the extra insurance , "are you sure because this time of year it hail a lot in Denver and these hail storms end up totaling cars and that cost a lot of money and insurance might pay to repair the car, but it doesn't pay for the time to fix the car". after we denied the service for the extra insurance, he brought our total down to $771 because now he was going to charge us the "friends and family discount" for the car upgrade which we didn't have a say in. So after having to pay an extra hundred dollars for the car upgrade, we had to pay an extra $20 for a "vehicle license", an extra $77 for another charge, an extra $17 for a credit card surcharge, and another $60 for taxes, not including an underage fee (we are 21) and prepaid fuel, and the AP surcharge. We completely agree with a bunch of the other reviews saying that this place is a scam is just trying to run peoples pockets because 377 to 950 to 771 is a bizarre price difference. Horrible customer service, and by far the most inconvenient part of our trip. For your own sakes, dont rent NuCar I know we wont!
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Mia T., Thank you for sharing your experience with NÜ Car Rentals. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you encountered during your rental process. Your feedback is important to us, and we are committed to addressing your concerns and improving our services. We regret any miscommunication or misunderstanding regarding the charges and upgrades during your rental. It is not our intention to mislead or pressure customers into unnecessary expenses, and we apologize for any discomfort caused by this experience. We appreciate your feedback regarding the pricing and additional charges. We take your comments seriously and will use them to review our pricing policies and customer service procedures to ensure a better experience for all our customers. If there's anything we can do to make things right or if you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact us at cc@nucarrentals.us with your reservation or agreement number as the email subject for us to conduct our investigation. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Sarinah S.
Sarinah S.
2024.05.21
Verified
I'm giving one star for how easy the car return process was, everything else would be nothing. I would warn any renters to the Denver airport to read what you're signing. I was exhausted after a long journey and wanted to just get in the car. I signed off quickly and didn't realize their shady practices. I had verbally DECLINED any insurance adds before signing for any waiver/liability insurance since I've a comprehensive coverage on my personal insurance however, the guy still included that in my contract. Upon returning and getting invoiced, they charged me for the insurance and didn't refund the toll passes even though I ended up not using it. The man that checked me in stated that they'll refund if I didn't end up going through the tolls, which I didn't. I wish I had read the other reviews as I was subjected to the same scamming practice!
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Sarinah S., Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent rental experience with NÜ Car Rentals at the Denver airport. We apologize for any inconvenience or frustration caused during your rental process. We understand your concerns about the insurance charges and toll pass refund. It's important for us to address these issues and ensure clear communication and transparency in our rental agreements. We apologize for any misunderstanding or oversight in your contract and the inconvenience it has caused. We value your feedback and take it seriously as we work to improve our services and customer experience. If there's anything we can do to make things right or if you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact us at cc@nucarrentals.us with your reservation or agreement number as the email subject. We are here to assist you and address any remaining concerns you may have. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Susan B.
Susan B.
2024.05.20
Verified
The Worst rental car company we have ever had. Their business practices in my opinion are unethical. They seem cheaper, but in the long run it's Not worth it! Wish I had read the reviews before renting
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Susan B., We apologize sincerely for the disappointing experience you had with NÜ Car Rentals during your recent booking through Expedia. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we regret any inconvenience or confusion caused during your rental process. We understand your frustration regarding the initial quote and the subsequent upselling of services and charges. This is not the level of service we aim to provide, and we are committed to improving our communication and transparency to ensure a better experience for all our customers. We appreciate your honesty in sharing your experience and the lessons learned. It's essential for us to learn from such feedback to enhance our services and avoid similar situations in the future. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Stacey C.
Stacey C.
2024.05.19
Verified
If I could give a zero I would. We were late to pick up our car. We tried to call and text them to let them know. No answer or response. We were late because of their shuttle service and then standing in line at their counter. Our car had been canceled. We could have paid an additional 187 more to get a nicer car. We didn't. The 2 representatives at the counter were flippant and rude. They did the exact same thing to the customer next to me and the one behind me. The hotel staff (at Residence Inn) were more helpful than they were. They helped get us a cab. NuCar rental charged my account anyway and won't refund my money. The representatives at the counter told me I would be refunded. Don't rent from them.
Gonzalo W.
Gonzalo W.
2024.05.19
Verified
This business is a scam. Do not rent with them. We book a car to rent in LA, but once we got to the counter, they told us they had no cars, and that they could not honor our reservation. People at the booth were incredibly rude and careless. I will never, ever again use this company. CROOKS
Tara S.
Tara S.
2024.05.19
Verified
I booked this car rental through Expedia and had requested a small sedan and was quoted 119 dollars. I opted out of insurance as I have insurance as well. When I get there, they said it seems like I wanted a small suv and they had a jeep truck. I initially realize they are trying to upsell me. I said no, I want something smaller. The guy then said they had a truck, even bigger! Finally he said he had a Chevy Malibu. They obviously were very limited in what they had to offer. Then he tells me there will be a 762 dollar hold on my card. Which then I'm like why so much....what will be the main charge. He quotes 562 dollars!!!! From the original 119 I was quoted. I was being up charged for tolls, gas and extra insurance! I was able to get the fee down to 335. Still more than double of what was quoted. But he convinced me to get the insurance. Of which I realize I didn't need after all. This was the worst experience I've ever had with a rental company and feel scammed and taken advantage of. Lesson: always pay for your rental prior and lock it in and never go with the lower cost carrier bc it is definitely not lower cost! I will never work with them again and they put the industry to shame. Traveling is stressful enough and they prey on that. Their business model is terrible.
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Tara S., We apologize sincerely for the disappointing experience you had with NÜ Car Rentals during your recent booking through Expedia. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we regret any inconvenience or confusion caused during your rental process. We understand your frustration regarding the initial quote and the subsequent upselling of services and charges. This is not the level of service we aim to provide, and we are committed to improving our communication and transparency to ensure a better experience for all our customers. We appreciate your honesty in sharing your experience and the lessons learned. It's essential for us to learn from such feedback to enhance our services and avoid similar situations in the future. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Fred O.
Fred O.
2024.05.18
Verified
The guy who greeted us was rude AF. The truck I rented had a bad cigar smell that would not go away. I notified the staff and they noted it but that was it; no ofer for another truck, reduction in rental or anything. The shuttle this time left and arrived for pick up in a timely manner when last time it took over an hour. The gentleman I dropped the truck back off to was polite and nice.
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Fred O., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent rental experience with NÜ Car Rentals. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your rental period and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We regret that you experienced rudeness from one of our staff members and that the vehicle you rented had an unpleasant odor. We understand how frustrating this must have been for you, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will work to improve our services to ensure a better experience for all our customers. Regarding the shuttle service, we are glad to hear that it improved during your recent rental. Timeliness and reliability are important aspects of our service, and we appreciate your feedback on this matter. In light of your feedback, we would like to offer you a [specific offer, such as a discount on your next rental or a refund for the inconvenience caused]. Please email us at cc@nucarrentals.us with your reservation or agreement number as the email subject, and we will assist you with this offer and address any remaining concerns you may have. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Elaine E.
Elaine E.
2024.05.16
Verified
Do not rent from this car rental company. We rented a car that was supposed to be $219.00 taxes and fees included. The agent told us the rest was a deposit and we would get it back. They charged us an additional $585.12 for many other fees which were not explained to us. This is a terrible company.
John L.
John L.
2024.05.15
Verified
Absolutely terrible experience. Don't use them. Use a legit car rental company. Savings isn't worth it.
JG B.
JG B.
2024.05.14
Verified
Awful customer service. 1. Rep said he was giving me a free upgrade but actually charged me for it. The receipt was emailed and not printed, so it was a little too late when I realized about the extra $90.00 charge!! 2. Car wasn't completely vacuumed, and the gas gauge was already below the full mark. 3. The after-hours turn in wasn't explained, and on the day I was turning it in, I was trying to ask a rep how the process worked, he very rudely pointed to an institutions sheet on the door. Horrible customer service. These people just care about making money and can care less about customer service.
Katelin N.
Katelin N.
2024.05.14
Verified
UPDATE: After I received the yelp message from the NU representative, Liz R., I emailed cc@nucarrentals.us explaining the situation again and they responded in the attached photo. THEY DID NOT DO ANYTHING. Why did I even bother emailing them when they are not doing anything other than "document".. Waste of my time.. they clearly just wrote the yelp message just to make it look like they care but clearly it's all just for show. Complete BS and dishonest company. DO NOT RENT FROM HERE! Omg. If I can give them negative stars I would. We got scammed.. I booked with NU car rentals for our trip in Denver and it was surprisingly super cheap. We rented a SUV car for about $97 for 3 nights. We did not buy extra coverage as we already have our own insurance. When we got to the car rental place, he told us they don't have any more SUV's and that the ONLY available car is a pick up truck. I was not happy with that because why do you not have the car I rented? Since we did not have any choice, we said okay to the pick up truck. He asked us if we wanted to add any additional drivers and I said yes just in case. He did not mention there was extra charge for that. Also, he asked us if we wanted to add a pre toll fee of $12/day in case we went on any tolls, but if we don't take any tolls, they will refund us no problem. He did not mention anything else about extra charges of fees. So in my head, it is still $97 for the car rental plus the toll fee which I plan on getting refunded. I signed and initialed. After we returned the car, I received an invoice for $226. I was like WTF IS THIS??? I called them and asked and they told me that the additional driver costed money and I supposedly added collision insurance (WHICH I DID NOT), and If I want to take off the toll fees then I will be penalized by paying more if they receive the bill at the end of the month saying that I did go on tolls. Also, on top of that all these other extra fees and taxes added on. I said this is RIDICULOUS and the guy that helped us never mentioned ANY OF THIS to us at the time of rental, nor did I sign up for collision insurance. She basically says too bad, you did initial and sign it so it stands. There is nothing she can do. I WAS LIVID. Like I CAN'T BELEIVE I JUST GOT SCAMMED. In the end the car rental was not $97 but more than $300. MORAL OF THE STORY, DO NOT RENT FROM NU AND ALSO READ EVERYTHING BEFORE SIGNING.
Reply from NU Car Rental 2024.05.23
Dear Katelin N., Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and we sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with NÜ Car Rentals. We value your feedback and are committed to addressing your concerns promptly. We understand your frustration regarding the unexpected charges and lack of transparency during the rental process. Our goal is to provide clear and accurate information to all our customers, and it is clear that we fell short in your case. To resolve this issue, we would like to investigate your rental agreement further. Could you please provide us with your reservation or agreement number and contact information? This will help us locate your rental details and address the charges and miscommunications you encountered. You can email us at cc@nucarrentals.us with your reservation or agreement number as the email subject for our investigation. We assure you that we will thoroughly review your case and take appropriate action to rectify any errors or misunderstandings. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and appreciate the opportunity to make things right. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Safe travels, NÜ Car Rentals
Manny M.
Manny M.
2024.05.13
Verified
I had the best and worst service at the same time. There was an older heavy set Asian lady who was beyond rude and disrespectful. Porsha, the manager was beyond lovely as was the woman who checked me out. This older, heavy set Asian woman was possibly the worst customer service I've ever experienced and I've been in customer service all my career. I don't know how she's even employed. Thank you, Porsha!
Holly C.
Holly C.
2024.05.13
Verified
This is a bait and switch car rental company. It appears to be a great value until you get there to pick up your car. There is an argument over insurance first, so you have to wait quite a bit to drive away. My car didn't have plates on it. It did have a paper tag on the back window, which was an expired plate. This was a problem and I was delayed again getting into the community where I was staying. I got there late at night to pick up the car and just wanted to get to my destination. Little did I know they had me initial $40 extra for an additional driver, and they told me don't put gas in the car. our gas is cheaper. They charged you for a full tank no matter what amount of gas you come back with. This was a terrible experience and I recommend to stay away from this rental car company.