www.ncsasports.org

NCSA Reviews

Excellent rating
4.7
4686 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 2733 ) 4.7

Recruiting Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator
2024.05.16
Verified
Not good MLM marketing scheme. Not as much pay as promised in interview. Managers micromanage you and force you to believe in what they say. Goals are unrealistic and unreachable. Very long hours Pros: None honestly Cons: Hours, pay, and management
Senior Recruiting Specialist
Senior Recruiting Specialist
2024.05.08
Verified
Under new ownership resulting in salespeople making less commissions Hours are 5-11pm CT during the week and 10a-5p Saturday and a 7 hour shift on Sunday. Remote phone sales. My first year in the role I made around 130k. Next year 110k. This year pacing for less than 100k. Less quality leads each year. Company is more focused on quantity of meetings instead of quality. The screening process that used to be in place to filter out "bad" leads is not the same as it used to be. Management is telling coordinators to schedule any family they get on the phone rather than seeing if their student athlete is interested/qualified to pursue college sports. Pros: Work from home, team meetings only once a week Cons: 20+ people under each manager, they've cut commissions over the past couple years, remote work can make you feel like you're on an island
Steve-Melissa B.
Steve-Melissa B.
2024.05.07
Verified
NCSA is a total scam and Waste of money. Do not make the same mistake I made. We were sold a bag of goods that was no were close to what we received. My daughter wanted to play basketball in Collage. Picked schools and states she wanted to go to. We asked our coach to reach out these teams and universities and nothing. She received D3 offers in states that she had no interest in going to nor that she picked. We requested a refund cause we did not get any help and all D3 collages can only offer academic scholarship so no need to pay them to have you recruited to those divisions. They always seem to have an excuse on why you're not getting coaches nor why they cannot give you a refund. They cost me three years of receiving junk mail. I cannot go lower than 1 star or else I would. DO NOT WASTE UR TIME OR MOENY.
Recruiting Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator
2024.04.30
Verified
It was good What is the best part of working at the company?Helping families and student athletes achieve their goals What is the most stressful part about working at the company?Meetings the goals to level up they don’t make it easyWhat is the work environment and culture like at the company?Very good but very strict they keep you on edge and micro manage to muchWhat is a typical day like for you at the company?Making 100 phone calls a day trying to set appointments
RC
RC
2024.04.23
Verified
Okay Easy at the start, harder as you go up in levels. As you go up more is required of you and the pay is the same except commisions but you need specialits to enroll kids
RS
RS
2024.04.18
Verified
Modern day Cult Culture Company It's a cult. Zero work lif3 balance, they only care about their top 10% of employees. They expect you you to work 7 days a week, even tho it's a 6 day/wk schedule. Pros: Easy to get hired Cons: Everything else
Recruiting Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator
2024.04.09
Verified
Horrible place to work Management is too strictPay is way too lowThey make you work way too many hoursThere is no commrodery Breaks are too shortThe numbers you have to hit each month are nearly impossible to hit Pros: Work from home Cons: Low pay, mean management, too many hours
Recruiting Sales Specialist
Recruiting Sales Specialist
2024.04.01
Verified
Micromanaging Gimmick sales. Manipulative sales tactics from the managers going down to the actual staff they micromanage like crazy. They do not actually care about your well-being. Just want to get as much out of you as possible then move onto the next very high turnover rate. Pros: Work remote Cons: Bad management
Senior Recruiting Coordinator
Senior Recruiting Coordinator
2024.03.29
Verified
Do not work here Decent job for entry level sales. It is an absolute grind & you are VERY underpaid. Cold calling families that DO NOT want to be called (which they lie to you about in training). Direct managers are great but upper management & leadership are clueless to what employees are feeling & they treat them very poorly.
Recruiting Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator
2024.03.21
Verified
Good Mangers. Crazy Work Load Mangement is very nice and helpful but very underpaid for the amount of work. upwards of 100 phone calls a day and long days. relaxed environment and weekly meetings.
Vince W.
Vince W.
2024.03.17
Verified
We've been a part of this program for at least two years. We are a busy family of four and college is very important to us. I recommend this program purely on the basis of the up-to-date information and resources available. Sure you can do all of this on your own. But if you're a family that's busy and don't have the time to catch up with the latest with NCAA, NAIA, junior colleges, coaches communications, NIL, etc., then NCSA closes that gap for you. What was most helpful was the access to the seminars, coaches panels, SAT/ACT prep, and 1:1 coaching/recruit strategy & planning. With that said, you get what you put into it. We've participated in the seminars & coaches panels, followed through on our due outs, and we're already hearing back from coaches and universities . Since this program, we (including our child) can comfortably say that we have a plan for every year leading into senior year.
Reply from NCSA 2024.03.21
Vince, thank you for your positive review! We really appreciate your feedback. It's great to hear that NCSA has been helpful for your family over the past two years, and we're happy to see you making the most of our tools and resources. We're here to support your athlete in achieving their college and athletic goals, so please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any assistance.
Sales Coordinator
Sales Coordinator
2024.02.29
Verified
Decent Entry Level Sales Decent company. A bit of a sales pit to work harder for no increase. Your voice will hurt at the end of the day. Recruiting assistance package is a bit of a racquet, but at least provides students hope
Sales Coordinator
Sales Coordinator
2024.02.28
Verified
It is a grind I worked at NCSA for 2.5 years. Sme of the work was rewarding. The managers seem like they care. They will take time out of their day to help coach you. However, making 80-100 calls a day can lead to burnout. A lot of families have no interest in talking to you. The compensation for the job also doesnt seem worth it
Recruiting Specialist
Recruiting Specialist
2024.02.27
Verified
Read This Entire Review It IS great to be able to talk with families. Despite what the trolls say online, the NCSA platform is legit and it works. I cannot recommend the Recruiting Specialist (hereinafter referred to as an RS) role, however, because I can guarantee you that, If you pursue this job, you'll have a 90% chance of getting homicidally frustrated and you'll quit within a matter of months, and not one soul will care - because that is NCSA's business model.First, let's dispose of the #1 biggest secret in the company. You're told that, as a Recruiting Specialist, everyone has an equal opportunity and everyone "gets the same leads". This is not accurate. At all. The company operates off a "Level" system with, in theory, Level 1 specialists receiving the largest percentage of the company's best leads each night. Level 2 and 3 specialists, in their order, receive a smaller percentage of the good leads. In practice, however, management chooses whom it wants to receive the best leads. Management will insist that everything is blind, but when you can physically see it for yourself when a Level 1 or 2 specialist, night after night, continuously draws families who have no idea why they are even on the call - while a brand-new specialist chosen by the company literally gets 3-4 families per night, sitting by the phone, waiting on the call with their wallets open, waiting to be convinced they should spend the money, it is pretty discouraging. Management recently took one RS, who had been mired in the lowest level (Level 4, which has been discontinued) on November 30th, and basically shoveled great leads at them and pushed them all the way to Level 1 on February 1st - record time - for reasons known only to them - although I suspect it was demographically-driven. I suppose they thought nobody would notice and wonder why someone who had been performing so poorly suddenly caught fire? This isn't speculation. It is provable. People also talk. They talk with each other. They compare notes. I don't know if NCSA swears the VP's to secrecy, or if they genuinely keep them in the dark to maintain deniability - but every RS in the company knows that the lead route every day at 4pm is not on the level - except the ones that benefit from it - they just think that they're really good at their job. Here's another thing - people keep up with the demographics of what they're doing with leads as well - especially in January. It was blatant, and VERY transparent. The company has faced litigation and had people complain to HR in the past, and they are very conscious of online criticism as well via the BBB...etc.Don't misunderstand, everyone in the RS role gets wacky meetings, bad meetings, and good meetings - it's just that management chooses certain people every month who get MORE of the good meetings. You still have to get it done and enroll the family, but let's be honest here, you're reading from a script. You're getting more families likely to enroll each night, than your colleagues are. That's the sole difference 90% of the time.There's a LOT more wrong with this company, but frankly, I'm tired of even thinking about them. Just know this: - The entire thing is a sham. They'll tell you in training that if you get really good at the call you'll enroll families - the truth is that management decides who can earn a living and who really does well. The guy who set all the weekly and monthly revenue records for revenue and enrollments went from being the #1 salesman in the company to slipping down to Level 4 and quitting the company - because someone decided they didn't like him anymore and wanted to screw with him. - Let's start from the very beginning. Ever notice how NCSA always seems to have a job opening on this site and others? It's because NCSA CONTINUOUSLY hires new RS's, and in fact typically churns out a fresh class of 20 or so each month. Management will choose a handful to shovel great leads towards, so they'll stick around and it'll give the others some hope. Meanwhile, veterans struggling with horrible leads are left watching and wondering why in God's name they continue hiring people and giving them good leads when there aren't enough to go around for the veterans - pretty infuriating to watch a newbie pass you by, knowing they're being pumped with good leads - also knowing that they'll be cut-off the following month and will wonder what happened.It is all a numbers game with this company - and you're destined to lose. Unless, of course, you are fortunate enough to be identified as a "cool kid". Pros I left Cons Too many to count
Senior Recruiting Specialist
Senior Recruiting Specialist
2024.02.16
Verified
Bad Company Culture I worked in sales, and I do understand the point is to sell the membership, but the overall environment of the company is terrible. It doesn't matter if the athlete can play at all, push the family into a membership and get them to sign up. I left the company and I was a better salesperson, so that'll show how much I disliked the environment. Being straight up dishonest to families didn't sit right with me, the company doesn't care, push the sales. The hours are terrible, 6 days a week, mandatory to work on weekends, always work nights. The pay is fine, but for the work and hours, it's not. If you're staight out of college and need sales experience, sure I could see this being a spot, but other than that, it's a bad toxic environement, they go through so many employees it's not stop because no one wants to stay Pros Being remote, working from home, the training was good, the pay is fine, but when you factor in how much you work, the pay isn't that great Cons A lot, mostly the environment and being dishonest and pushy to families
Recruiting Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator
2024.02.15
Verified
Monotonous Long hours with low pay. Be prepared to make phone calls 9 hours a day. 30 min lunch break and have to make up the time after your break. Training is sufficient though, it will give you confidence on the phones but personally it was not for me.
Recruiting Coordinator
Recruiting Coordinator
2024.02.09
Verified
fully remote job but definitely not for everybody. 8:30 am - 6:00 pm daily schedule. flexible as long as you get 45 hours per week. OT available with stipulations. Expectation of around 100 outbound dials per day. Most days you'll feel pressured to make 120+ dials because meeting set percentage is less than 5% for successful people. ie. 5 successful connections with potential clients in 100 outbound dials would exceed expectations and average out favorably over a month/quarter.Job is on a level scale. As you progress through training and your first 3-5 months, things will go well and you'll develop confidence. Once you "level up" your sales expectations will increase significantly with minimal change in compensation. You are promised that your training will dive deeper and lead quality would increase but it's hardly noticeable. I was told that most people in my former position last around 8 months in the role. You'll either shoot up the ranks very quickly or burnout over time. They sell you on the idea of talking about sports as your career but it's hardly glamorous and becomes monotonous over time. You'll talk about the same thing for 10-15 minutes at a time while having ulterior sales-related motives. It's an outbound sales role in which your job is to qualify families and schedule them for demos. Your performance is measured on those families showing up for the demo and someone you don't work with in any capacity selling them a product you have no training on. It's very much a sink or swim job. Your sales metrics are shared publicly within your team daily. This leads to increased stress and pressure felt when things aren't going well. Pros Fully Remote, Managers felt like your friend Cons Low pay, Expectations do not reflect performance of the business.
James N.
James N.
2024.01.31
Verified
Felt I needed to write as well. IMO, not necessary. Send film for your son or daughter directly to coaches and attend prospect camps at a school your interested in. This is money that you do not need to spend and that you will not be able to cancel. Avoid this service, I truly wish we had. Jim N.
Reply from NCSA 2024.02.06
Thank you for your feedback, Jim. Your input is valued, and we believe it's important for families to explore all avenues in supporting their student-athletes. While sending film to coaches and attending prospect camps are important steps, and ones we're here to assist with, we deeply believe in the value of NCSA's services for families navigating the recruiting journey and supporting the overall student-athlete experience. We do provide clear membership terms, including cancellation policies upon enrollment. However, we understand that circumstances can change, and we remain committed to offering support and flexibility through various assistance programs for those who may need it. We wish your athlete all the best in their future endeavors. Thank you.
Recruiting Specialist
Recruiting Specialist
2024.01.12
Verified
This isn't sports help it's sales that is run horribly. Ncsa is a company founded on helping student athletes and their families navigate the recruiting process and help them to play at the college level. The company today after being sold 2 times in the last year is all about the money. There is no talk about helping families just make the sale. The VP level people for the most part terrible. Zero leadership and are leaders. They were former good sales people at ncsa and promoted because of the sales they made. They don't lead there teams, they are not supportive and will push you to more and more so they hit the goal for their bonus. The upper leadership is subpar and if you enjoy seeing your family and friends or having a life do not work at ncsa. Pay is very low for amount of money you make the company. I do not recommend ncsa as a good place to work. Pros Get to talk sports. Cons Schedule, lying to families about support they will get, horrible leadership
coordinator
coordinator
2024.01.09
Verified
coordinator This was a job of high and lows for me. Training and onboarding was great. Management varies which is ultimately one of the reasons I left. If you enjoy being on the phones and working from home this is a great job. Stay active and stay focused because quotas go up quickly