Micato Safaris Reviews

Micato Safaris Reviews

5.0

Excellent - based on 494 reviews

www.micato.com
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (485)
J D
J D
2024-02-21
Verified
Best Vacation Ever!!! We just returned from Micato’s Tanzania Spectacular with an add on of 4 days in Cape Town South Africa and we couldn’t be happier with this amazing travel experience! Really! This company and its team are unbelievable! Everything was done perfectly to ensure we enjoyed the entire African experience including navigating airports, visas, transfers and then ultimately, the most amazing safari experience we could have imagined! We saw every animal we set out to see and photographed every one except the elusive black rhino which we watched for an hour with binoculars but didn’t have a strong enough lens to get a good portrait. But every other animal made the album. And the local people as well as the Maasai are something we did not expect - wonderfully interesting and friendly people! Hats off to Safari Directors Peter and Eugene as well as drivers Godbless, Moses, and Warren. And the other staff at each location worked to ensure our every need was met ( Grace, Yaseem, and the lovely lady at the Cape Town Airport). Africa is EVERYTHING AND MORE of what we expected including the people. We will be reaching out to Micato in the near future to plan our next African Micato experience!
Chelsea B
Chelsea B
2024-02-16
Words cannot express how life changing my African safari with Micato truly was. From the planning, to their spectacular safari directors, and helpful concierge, I was taken care of every step of the way. I’ll never forget the thoughtful conversations with my safari director, unbelievable animal sightings, beautiful camps, and life long memories. I can’t wait for my next safari, and wouldn’t trust anyone but Micato.
cynthia barutha
cynthia barutha
2024-02-11
This was our second trip with Micato Safaris and once again they did not disappoint! Micato Safaris knows how to put together a unique boutique experience, unlike a lot of other travel companies. From booking, itineraries, hotel accommodations, extremely knowledgable guides, transportation, they leave no stone unturned. Micato Safaris is truly an exceptional travel company. We look forward to booking our next trip with Micato Safaris!
Kristi Crosby
Kristi Crosby
2024-02-07
Like many others who have traveled with Micato, I can't imagine going on Safari with anyone but Micato. From the moment you step off the airplane, your worries disappear. Micato takes care of literally everything. Our favorite place, all arranged by Micato, was the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust Ithumba elephant reintegration site. Absolutely the most amazing experience - but again, without Micato, who knows how it would have been. Won't even think of going to Africa without Micato.
James Tanney
James Tanney
2024-02-02
Cannot imagine there is a tour company better than Micato. Accommodations and food were excellent. Most important was our guide. Eugene was the best. Recommend the extra couple days in Cape Town.
jennifer svensson
jennifer svensson
2024-01-31
The trip of a lifetime! Every moment was beyond our wildest imaginations. Our guide Brian N. was one of the many highlights. Africa is forever in our hearts and souls. Micato, we will be back!
Susan Ballis
Susan Ballis
2024-01-29
We just returned from India and what was truly the trip of a lifetime. It was such a privilege to be inside the "Micato Bubble". Our guide, Puneet, was amazing. He met us at the airport when we landed, traveled with us through 5 different cities, and took us back to the airport at the end of our trip. He was the perfect combination of warmth and professionalism, humor and knowledge. His stories, along with the many one-of-a-kind experiences that Micato offers, highlighted the magic and majesty of India which is now forever in our hearts. Puneet and his incredible team handled everything - I am sure that there were bumps along the way but we never knew as everything was just calmly handled. We always felt cared for and protected. All we had to do was get into the spotless car (with bottled water, tissue and hand sanitizer always available) and ask Puneet what the plan was for the day. The accommodations were all incredible - we truly felt like royalty. Micato is amazing - they were above and beyond any possible expectations. We will definitely be traveling with them again in the future and have already started recommending them to our friends! Anyone would be lucky to travel with this exceptional company!
Bonnie Minutillo
Bonnie Minutillo
2024-01-29
Worked with Micato and Marion for India. The expertise and the wonderful suggestions for my clients was flawless. They went above and beyond anticipating their every need including purchasing jackets for them when they noticed the weather was colder than anticipated. I would use no one else for India. From A to Z with hotels, guides, excursions, restaurant choices etc. were top notch. Thank you Micato and Marion for giving my clients wonderful memories of India.
Nancy Bauer
Nancy Bauer
2024-01-26
From start to finish this was the best experience of our lives!!!! Wonderful people, wonderful food, luxurious accommodations and a perfect adventure. Thank you Micato!!!!
A G
A G
2024-01-16
Truly an experience that we will never forget. From start to finish, we had a wonderful adventure. Everyone at Micota Safaris was kind, knowledgeable, accommodating and fun! Micato is a five star organization! A huge thank you to Ariel, Magezi, Steven and Kips for your excellence!! We still have smiles on our faces!!
Scenic154784
Scenic154784
2024-01-16
Verified
Micato is the very Best! This trip was the very best! We saw animals every day on game drives. Our guide, Johnson, was always accommodating and made the trip very fun loving! I highly recommend Micato! They are head and shoulders above any other travel company.
Karen B
Karen B
2024-01-16
Verified
I love Micato!! Micato Safaris is the best!! I wouldn’t go to Africa with anyone else!! I arrived at 3:30 am and a representative from Micato was right there!! Jane Pinto the owner, welcomed me as did Sean, the East Africa CFO. Our guide, Johnson was incredible!! I really hate to leave!!
Bill Hayes
Bill Hayes
2024-01-11
Our Micato safari was the best family vacation we have ever taken. It exceeded all of our expectations in every way. From the moment we landed in Nairobi we received white glove service. The accommodations in every stop were spectacular. George, our Safari Director, was exceptional. Our drivers were extremely entertaining and knowledgable. It's hard to keep the attention of 2 teenage boys but my boys were engaged and awestruck throughout the entire experience. My wife and I have traveled the world and this was the most impressive all-around travel experience that we have ever had. We can not recommend Micato highly enough.
Josh Adamson
Josh Adamson
2024-01-06
Great safari, even better hospitality. 10/10 would recommend!
Maddie A
Maddie A
2024-01-05
The most incredible experience, thanks to Micato! We were well taken care of with wonderful surprises all along the way. The trip of a lifetime.
Matthew Karatz
Matthew Karatz
2024-01-04
It's hard to meet the highest of expectations but somehow Micato did just that on our family's most recent trip to Kenya and Tanzania. Many outfits market themselves as "Five Star" or even "Six Star" but fall short during the actual execution. While I was not part of the trip planning, I can say without any reservation that Micato delivered beyond imaginable. Our concierge liaison Dennis was not only the perfect local expert complimenting the trackers at each lodge during game runs but he was the most detail oriented coordinator of all transit and logistics you could have hoped for. Its not easy moving more than two dozen family members from country to country, airport to airport, hotel to hotel, lodge to lodge and game ride to game ride but somehow each activity was handled with such grace and precision that our outsized group did not compromise perfection. Each lodge check in was met with precise registration, access to ample information and accessories for the upcoming stay and first class service all along the way. At no time did I ever feel like we were slowed down or compromised by Dennis' involvement...rather he made all of the logistics, including all of the van picks and airport transfers as smooth as ever. I'd recommend Micato to anyone seeking a premium concierge service for a trip that is likely to bring them the same memories as a lifetime as ours brought to us.
Danny B
Danny B
2024-01-04
I have recently traveled with Micato again and every single time Micato has always gone above and beyond when it comes to taking care of their guest. Meg in the New York office is very friendly and knowledgeable. And all the staff in Africa are warm, welcoming and accommodating especially our guide Dennis. Looking forward to travelling with Micato again soon.
Andrew
Andrew
2023-12-26
Verified
Believe Some - But not ALL - of the Micato Hype Micato plans a very good safari experience. That being said, the Micato Marketing Machine tends to amplify the buzz of the positive stories while minimizing the areas of opportunity. Below is the post-trip email, verbatim that we sent CEO Dennis Pinto in August 2023, after our June 2023 Safari. Micato did not reply. ************************* Mr. Pinto, In June our family enjoyed a 15 night private custom safari with Micato in Tanzania’s “northern circuit,” and Zanzibar. Our time in Africa was magical, and we hope to do another safari in Africa within the next two years. We are very fortunate to be able to visit such wonderful places, and are thinking of traveling to Botswana next. Given the duration (and expense) of this trip, we were a little surprised that nobody from Micato has contacted us afterward to request feedback or input. We do receive your regular marketing newsletters from Micato, but not any personal or direct communication. While it’s still fresh in mind, I’m taking some time here to share some highlights, and a few possible adjustments, that would have made an outstanding trip even more amazing. By the way, this email is focused on the Micato-related aspects of the trip, not necessarily specific lodges, all of which were very good overall. Safari Director - Wilberd (Tanzania) Wilberd was simply amazing. He is extremely knowledgeable about animals, birds, plants, and the local environment, and he shares his respect for nature in a genuinely contagious way. Simply a wonderful human being whom we enjoyed being around. He demonstrated flexibility in the moment several times. When one member of our party was feeling ill from what likely were malaria medication side-effects, or possibly something she had eaten, Wilberd ensured we had access to electrolyte drinks, investigated options to change bush flight plans, brought in the camp doctor, and more. This was a big comfort. Similarly, a few days later, when another member of our party was similarly feeling ill, Wilberd coordinated with the balloon excursion company to delay our sunrise balloon trip by one day, without incurring any additional costs, so that she would feel better for the trip. A third example was that Wilberd was able to get us a separate room for our young adult daughter, even though we had booked a family room for that particular lodge. We didn’t even ask, it just happened. The lodge was not fully occupied, and I can only presume that Wilberd advocated and came through for us. A fourth example was when we flew from the eastern Serengetti back through Arusha airport. Although it was not officially on the itinerary, Wilberd deduced that we had enough time to take the short drive to the Arusha Coffee Lodge for a delicious lunch, rather than just eat at the airport, with much fewer food options. The 5th pivot, and one of my wife's favorite moments of the trip, was when I noticed a local Sunday market happening as we drove toward Ngororogoro. We asked to stop, and Wilberd and Kips were happy to oblige. Wilberd sheparded us through the market as we spoke with various fruit and fabric sellers, made a few small purchases, and more importantly, a wonderful memory of interacting with the local people, outside the bubble of the the lodges and camps. Throughout it all, Wilberd was adaptable, empathetic, and provided practical solutions. Of course, the magic moments he arranged, like the “impromptu” sundowner in the bush or the Masai dancers celebrating our daughter’s graduation with us just made it all the more special, but it really was his sound and smooth "nuts and bolts" trip execution that was the most valued by us. Driver Guide - Kips (Tarangire and Ngorogoro Crater) Kips displayed his wonderful sense of humor, unbelievable bush driving skills, and positive spirit. We loved the first five days he was with us, and although we enjoyed the other drivers we had later in the Serengetti, we often found ourselves saying, “I wish Kips were here to see this!” or “What would Kips say about this animal?” or just repeating the silly jokes and puns he had taught us as we clumsily tried to learn Swahili. Both Kips and Wilberd were totally engaged and willing to join us for a game of cards and fun one evening in the hotel lobby. Although we recognize that in some way they are “doing their jobs,” spending time with guests like us, they made it fun and really seemed to enjoyed these type of interactions. Grace - Coordinator at Arusha Coffee Lodge Our daughter has a life-threatening peanut and nut allergy, and we carry a special bag of snacks that we know are 100% safe for her. We needed to have it held at Arusha Coffee Lodge, then pick it up on our way from Serengetti to Arusha to Zanzibar. Grace in Arusha and Patricia in the US coordinated to make sure this would happen seamlessly, which took a lot of stress off our minds. Their help was much appreciated! Trip Director - Ali (Zanzibar) After the top-notch experience we had with Wilberd, the time we had with Ali felt “OK.” Ali was on time, got us to and from the airport safely with his driver(s) but to us, he just didn’t seem as engaged. After a lengthy safari, we had already been planning to mostly spend time at the resort on the beach, but we did want to spend one full day in Stonetown and at a spice farm. Ali put together a day that definitely helped us to accomplish our top choices. It’s more about the small details, such as when we went to lunch at Serena Zanzibar hotel (which we thought was one few disappointing meals of the entire trip). We encouraged him several times to stay with us for the meal, but he said he had to leave to check in at his office. He returned about an hour later to continue our day tour. Perhaps it was a cultural misunderstanding, or it was simply not possible for him to stay with us, but we were communicating clearly (I believe) that we would have been more comfortable having him stay with us, rather than leaving us alone. General Logistics - Ariel, Patricia, and Micato in General Forms - Micato sends a lot of forms and trip planning materials. Most of it is very helpful, but some parts could be updated or improved. Explanations of Tanzania VISA process don’t actually match the process. We used the service of your recommended partner. School Donation Bag My wife read the pre-trip materials and spent several days purchasing school supplies and sports equipment and placing them in a large duffle bag. We didn’t hear anything back about what happened after we handed them off in Arusha. We are certainly not looking for any big gesture or to-do, but some confirmation that the supplies were delivered to the students who will hopefully use them would have “closed the circle” in our minds. Medical information such as malaria tips. I’m guessing that Micato can’t take the liability of managing these ever-changing guidelines, but it felt difficult to make sense of things. For example we all took anti-malaria tablets, but many people in Tanzania told us there’s no endemic malaria in the Arusha area. So could we have skipped that? It all felt confusing. Logistics Planning. The key theme here for these next two bullets is that there were a couple of instances in which I would have preferred that Micato make insightful recommendations to us, rather than simply do as we asked or as they thought we were asking. JRO vs. ZNZ. The first itinerary we received had our international flights in and out of JRO airport, even though we we were ending the trip with 4 nights in Zanzibar. (This would mean leaving ZNZ early in the morning of our final day, flying to Arusha airport, going to the Arusha Coffee Lodge for a few hours, driving to JRO, then flying out JRO). As I spent a few hours researching flight options to Tanzania, I quickly realized that it probably made more sense to arrive in Tanzaia via JRO, and depart Tanzania from ZNZ. After I asked about this, Ariel provided new itineraries. If we hadn’t pointed this out, though, we would have lost our final day, almost 12 hours, essentially missing out on yet another full beach day. Balloon Ride Early in the booking process, we checked the box for an optional sunrise balloon ride excursion. It sounded fun and interesting. We ended up taking the trip one of the days we were at Klein’s Camp in the eastern Serengetti. It was a long trip to the Kogatende air trip, starting at 4 a.m. in the morning. To be fair, Patricia let us know more about this lengthy ride in May when we asked about this during a pre-trip call, and we did the balloon ride. The balloon itself was great, but given the tiring long drive to and from Kogatende, the rest of the day felt lost. Knowing what we now know, we would not repeat the balloon ride, if we had the chance to do it over again. Perhaps Micato always wants to say “Yes” to clients about logistics, but in these two cases, it would have been much more helpful if Micato had told us - “These are the pros and cons of this plan - and would you consider this alternative option we’re recommending?” Relying on your organization’s experience can help customers like us make a more informed decision. E.g. Could the balloon ride have been planned from a site closer to another lodge like the Seronera airport area, or simply dropped from the itinerary altogether? Binoculars in Vehicle Seeing the animals is a top priority. While the Micato vehicle we had in Tarangire and Ngorogoro was well-equipped with chargers, cool drinks, and more, the Nikon binoculars in the vehicle were not in the best shape. I wasn’t able to use them due to lens scratches, etc., and would have really loved to see the wildlife more clearly on those days. We hadn’t brought binoculars from home because the Micato literature told us that binoculars would be supplied, and we needed to pack light. Once we transferred to the Serengetti, the Swarovski binoculars in the &Beyond open vehicles were incredibly better. The first time I used them, I literally gasped in astonishment at the clarity, pleasantly surprised at how much sharper the image was relative to the Nikon binoculars in the Micato vehicle from the previous five days. Thanks for a wonderful trip to Tanzania, and I hope this feedback is helpful to you and your teams.
Mychal Ertel
Mychal Ertel
2023-12-23
Micato was top notch every step of the way. From our initial planning and tailoring our trip to meet our needs to the moment we touched down in India and throughout our journey. We were treated like VIPs. The tour guide was incredible, knowledgeable, warm and kind. The activities and sites we saw were just perfect. We got a beautiful taste of India and I would be lucky to use Micato as my travel company in the future. Highly recommend.
Molly Newman
Molly Newman
2023-12-22
Our third Micato adventure took us to amazing, colorful, dizzying, beautiful India. We were doubly lucky to have Hem Singh as our guide — Hem speaks at least four languages and has an encyclopedic knowledge of his home country. And he’s a whiz with iPhone photography. In addition, if a problem cropped up, he instantly solved it. I tried coming up with a question he didn’t know the answer to, and never succeeded. He was also just plain fun.