Martry Mill

Martry Mill Reviews

Excellent rating
4.8
25 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (23)
Avril Brady
Avril Brady
2023.08.19
recommends
Wow what a fabulous day out. The family are so kind and friendly. We had a lovely day at the tour. I highly recommend Martry Mill and the Jamess
Reply from Martry Mill 2023.08.21
Thanks Avril ❤
Advertisement
alan crilly
alan crilly
2023.08.19
Great history and a great tour. A must for young and old. Making your bread is the highlight for the children
Carmel Brady
Carmel Brady
2023.08.12
Very enjoyable visit to Martry Mill. Informative presentation and good fun making the brown bread. Very positive experience. Excellent for families.
Vel Dhanish
Vel Dhanish
2023.07.30
The Tour was very informative. The bread making experience is a great idea as it ties together the history of the place with something tangible. And some of the tastiest bread as well .
Patrick Swandell
Patrick Swandell
2023.07.24
Bagged some flour. Baked some delicious bread. Thanks for the tour James!
Advertisement
Conrad Barclay
Conrad Barclay
2023.07.22
Donal M
Donal M
2023.07.08
Visited Martry Mill today for the tour and bread making class. Really enjoyable way of spending an afternoon for young and old.
Cristiano Zago Xavier
Cristiano Zago Xavier
2023.07.04
James is a great person! The Mill is not open at fixed times, however it is a lovely place. It has a fantastic atmosphere of an Irish gem that has been there for hundreds of years. Other than producing a high quality wholemeal flour, it is simply a living part of Irish history. We have developed a short documentary about it and had a great time there. Not to be missed!
Niamh D
Niamh D
2023.05.16
A fabulous mill! We had a school tour there and the students got to see the whole process and the tools used. It was a really rich experience with lots to take in. Informative and interesting, and the bread was delicious! I'll be adding their flour to my pantry staples.
Advertisement
Jarlath Kyne
Jarlath Kyne
2022.09.10
My review is for their wholemeal flour. If you are into making brown bread look no further. I made my first batch using this flour tonight. My 85 year old mother in law said is was the nicest she has ever tasted. Its old school flour, full of flavour and the crust on the loaf came up lovely and crunchy. Fabulous product would highly highly recommend.
Daragh Reilly
Daragh Reilly
2022.07.20
Fantastic heritage and some of the best flour. Our Sister got married recently and took her Wedding photos by the mill. The views are absolutely stunning. The owners were so helpful and accommodating. I highly recommend a visit with the Family
oksana osiniene
oksana osiniene
2022.06.07
Group of three adjoining two-storey mill buildings, on L-shape plan, built c.1800. Probably built on site of an earlier mill structure. Buildings constructed of limestone rubble with dressed limestone quoins to corners and brick eaves courses. Pitched slate roofs to all structures. Stone surrounds to door and windows of main mill building and intermediate structure with stone sills and replacement timber sash windows. Brick surrounds to openings on eastern-most building. The main two-storey three-bay mill building is located to the west of the complex and runs perpendicular to the River Blackwater and main alignment of mill complex. A working waterwheel (undershot), c. 10-12ft in diameter, constructed of cast-iron with timber is located on the north gable of this structure. Three-bay two-storey building adjoins to west. Central loading bay (full-height) with timber beam and remains of sack-hoist to first floor of this structure. The timber louvred vent in the roof of this structure indicates that it was used as a grain-drying kiln. Stone-lined tailrace, c. 10m in width, headrace with timber and metal sluice gates and stone weir to site.
Stephen Farrelly
Stephen Farrelly
2022.06.06
Wonderful place.
Advertisement
Travis Owens
Travis Owens
2020.07.15
Mark Carroll
Mark Carroll
2020.07.12
Got some flour and made lovely bread, Young James was very helpful
Ruaidhri M. O'connor
Ruaidhri M. O'connor
2019.11.04
recommends
A Labour of Love - James and Nuala Tallon gave us a wonderful tour this morning as part of Samhain food festival 2019 (Hinterland, Boyne Valley Flavours). Thank you
Gerri Stefani
Gerri Stefani
2018.07.28
Advertisement
Aru Juodis
Aru Juodis
2018.05.31
Lovely place, perfect four,recommend to visit
joe mulvaney
joe mulvaney
2017.09.23
Vladimir Rusinov
Vladimir Rusinov
2017.08.19