Island Windows & Doors

Island Windows & Doors Reviews

Excellent rating
4.7
134 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (135)
Curt N.
Curt N.
2024.03.25
Verified
Thanks Kawika for servicing my windows. This is such a great service. Will definitely call him and George when we need to replace additional windows. Thanks
Reply from Island Windows & Doors 2021.03.30
Always glad to know that you're more than satisified with your Service Plan, Curt, and I'm glad that we can continue to provide this invaluable service to all of our clients! Aloha ~ Paul Good to hear from you again Curt! We very much appreciate your feedback, and will continue to keep client service at the forefront of our operations. Aloha ~ Paul Thank you for your very kind review Curt! We strive to make every client's experience a "team event" at IWD so that everyone get's our very best efforts, ensuring a smooth and painless experience! Take care ~ Paul
Elaine Kaneshiro
Elaine Kaneshiro
2024.03.12
Kawika did an awesome job to get some window screens done while checking the windows. He educates and informs me of what’s going on
E M.
E M.
2024.03.12
Verified
Kawika came out to service my windows today. Excellent as always. Will continue to do business with them for sure. My security doors next.
Reply from Island Windows & Doors 2023.05.27
As always Eric, we very much appreciate your thoughtfulness in leaving us a review. We stand ready to assist you with your security doors whenever you're ready! Aloha ~ Paul Good morning, and Mahalo for your kind comments regarding Kawika! Our Service program is designed to ensure that you don't have to ever worry about the operability of your windows, and Kawika is the team member that handles that program, so you'll be seeing lots of him in the future! Aloha ~ Paul
M K.
M K.
2024.02.29
Verified
Island Windows & Doors always provides the best service. from sales to Service & maintenance. The whole crew does an excellent job. Kawika, George, Jack, & Luiz are always there for any needs. I recommend Island Windows & Doors for your next project!
Reply from Island Windows & Doors 2023.03.30
Mahalo, M.K., for your kind comments, and pointing out that IWD takes a team approach to maintaining our client relationships and providing the best service we can to each and every one of them! We're glad your experience has been so awesome! Aloha ~ Paul
Amber
Amber
2024.02.10
I realize people are compelled to leave reviews when something is really bad or really good so here is my experience. I have had issues with this company from the moment I paid. EVERYTHING until that point was very professional and timely. I've dealt with them on and off for a few years (mostly via email because they ghost you once you pay) due to lingering issues and missing pieces. However, today I have spent an entire afternoon realizing how bad of a job they actually did. I had 5 windows installed in my home and it looks like one person did 4 of them and then the new hire did the last one. I've posted pictures for reference. The "finishing touches" left a lot to be desired on this job. Let me be clear, it is not their job to make it look nice, they are simply ordering, removing, and installing windows. They also try to get you on a maintenance program which I almost considered and then declined due to the fact that I can't ever reach anyone. Anyway, if you want nice edges or a trimmed out window or a window sill, that's on you. That isn't what this is about. As you can see from the photos, whoever installed this particular window decided to cake on drywall mud as thick as they could to hide any imperfections. Gap in the wall? no problem, hide it with dry wall. Paint bubbling where the sill is supposed to be? no problem, hide it with drywall. WHO DOES THAT? who puts drywall OVER loose paint? The drywall is caked on about an eighth of an inch around the entire perimeter and nearly an inch where there is a gap between the window and the wall. This gap existed around the other windows as well and it was remedied with wood trim around the entire window so I don't know why it wasn't done here. Anyway, I went with them because of reviews so hopefully this helps someone out. It looks nice from the outside and many of my neighbors have asked what company I used, I show them the inside and they stop asking. Live and learn and go somewhere else.
Nick L.
Nick L.
2024.02.04
Verified
Kawika and his team were very responsive to all my concerns from ordering a door to its install. The only downside was the wait for the door to arrive but it's a wait that's well worth it in the end. The only downside to my experience was having to deal with one of their preferred installers who was really hard to get in contact with and didn't seem to care about the install aspect when contact was made. However, Mana from IW&D, found me Royce who is another installer for the company. Royce was great where he communicated a lot, responded back to me promptly AND did the install in an efficient and professional manner. Overall, IW&D is the go to for any door needs..just make sure to ask for Royce as your installer OR make sure your installer keeps in contact with you throughout the install process.
Coralee K.
Coralee K.
2024.01.15
Verified
This review is long overdue and until just recently, I would've rated IWD at 5-stars. We did a complete overhaul of all the windows of our 1970's era home in two phases, stretched about 2 years apart. It wasn't until we first met George that I realized just how much of our home's wall surface is actually windows. He showed up with a mobile showroom with model size versions of each of the window styles we were considering and took rough measurement for the estimate. To be honest, I wasn't initially able to visualize what the finished product would look like but we put our complete trust in IWD. The cost was very reasonable for what we had budgeted and the estimated timeframes were pretty spot on. The first phase went through so seamlessly that I had no hesitations about reaching out to George again to complete the remaining windows. The experience was generally consistent with the prior phase, although the timeframes weren't quite as reliable. Nonetheless, I was still happy with the results. We discovered in mid-November 2023 that the crank mechanism on one of our awning windows was broken and unable to close properly, so I reached out to George asking if it might still be covered under warranty or if we should get it fixed on our own. Our biggest concern was that we wanted to be able to keep all of our windows closed on New Year's Eve to keep smoke and sound to a minimum. He initially responded quickly and said their service and maintenance guy would contact me. As of today (January 15, 2024), I have checked in 3 times prior to the New Year and once after. No one has come out to even look at the window and I haven't received any response from IWD since mid-December 2023. I completely understand that people are stretched thin, especially during the holidays. We were perfectly willing and capable of fixing it on our own, but we didn't because we had placed our trust and faith on a response from IWD. Needless to say, my opinion of IWD has deteriorated very rapidly during this short amount of time. I hesitated to submit this review, expecting to at least hear back in the New Year...but here we are, already at mid-January 2024 and I still haven't heard anything. Not a terrible company but just keep in mind, as others have said, they don't prioritize repair and maintenance issues after your purchase so be prepared to take care of those things on your own.
Audrey Gibo
Audrey Gibo
2024.01.12
Thank you to George, Kawika & Jack for ordering our new window sash & having it replaced & installed. They have always shown great knowledge towards Island Windows & Doors products & their friendliness & respect made working with them a pleasure. Thank you for employing such special workers! Gary & Audrey Gibo
Jim C
Jim C
2023.12.16
I can't figure out why they are so highly rated. I had a really bad experience. George is a nice guy, pretty hard to get a hold of once I paid for the windows though. Anthony that measured for the windows really pushed to measure them on a day I was in Maui for work and couldn't wait a day for me to be around. As a result, 2 windows do not open in the direction I want them to (my fault for not insisting on being there). I paid for 11 windows, but only received 10. One window is broken (see picture). They took 5 months instead of the 8-10 weeks I was quoted, the reason I chose them (at least the other window companies are honest and will tell you the windows will take 4-5 months). 3 windows are hard to open. 2 were measured incorrectly and are 3 1/2" too small, requiring reframing (what's the point of getting custom windows if you have to add structure just to use them, might as well have gone to Home Depot and picked them up instead of waiting 5 months). And finally Anthony really insisted on installing the windows during the recent Kona low when there was several inches of driving rain here on the Windward side, I was at least smart enough to turn him down and wait for a nicer day. Do yourself a favor and try elsewhere. If you do roll the dice with them, I hope you are a window expert, otherwise insist on being there for the window measurement and installation.
Jim C.
Jim C.
2023.12.16
Verified
I can't figure out why they are so highly rated. I had a really bad experience. George is a nice guy, pretty hard to get a hold of once I paid for the windows though. Anthony that measured for the windows really pushed to measure them on a day I was in Maui for work and couldn't wait a day for me to be around. As a result, 2 windows do not open in the direction I want them to (my fault for not insisting on being there). I paid for 11 windows, but only received 10. One window is broken (see picture). They took 5 months instead of the 8-10 weeks I was quoted, the reason I chose them (at least the other window companies are honest and will tell you the windows will take 4-5 months). 3 windows are hard to open. 2 were measured incorrectly and are 3 1/2" too small, requiring reframing (what's the point of getting custom windows if you have to add structure just to use them, might as well have gone to Home Depot and picked them up instead of waiting 5 months). And finally Anthony really insisted on installing the windows during the recent Kona low when there was several inches of driving rain here on the Windward side, I was at least smart enough to turn him down and wait for a nicer day. Do yourself a favor and try elsewhere. If you do roll the dice with them, I hope you are a window expert, otherwise insist on being there for the window measurement and installation.
Kenny Harsch
Kenny Harsch
2023.12.08
As always, Kawika was excellent with the maintenance of our windows. He was on time, and, as always, very courteous and professional, examining all our windows and performing maintenance thoroughly. Many mahalos!
Reply from Island Windows & Doors 2023.09.27
Mahalo, Kenny, for utilizing our Service Program and enjoying the results of Kawika's efforts to ensure your windows stay thoroughly efficient! We appreciate your kind comments. Aloha ~ Paul
Malie K.
Malie K.
2023.12.05
Verified
Island Windows & Doors did an absolutely wonderful job on our windows! From day one, Manarii impressed me with his friendliness and work ethic. He rolled into my driveway to show me window samples from the showroom inside his van (I thought that was brilliant), and by the time he left, I felt like I've known him for years. He was also very available when I had questions or concerns. These are not cheap, flimsy windows. You definitely get what you pay for. I changed all of the windows around the house. And because this isn't my first stint with renovations and construction, when some hiccups with the manufacturer arose, it didn't bother me too much. When the windows finally arrived, they were well worth the wait. Moreover, it took only a day between delivery and installation, a testament to the sense of responsibility and integrity Manarii and his crew embody. Jack and his guys delivered the windows. They were professional, careful with the windows, and even talked story and laughed with my elderly parents which made them very happy. Tony, the installer, called me on that same day, surprising me with an offer to schedule the installation for the very next day. His boys worked in the pouring rain, but their attention to detail, good communication with us during the installation, and clean work habits never wavered. A beautiful job! The result: I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of windows, the process, and I'm even more floored by the results. The house feels larger and brighter! I would definitely recommend Island Windows & Doors to my friends and family. I'm so glad I found them! Mahalo palena'ole to Mana, Jack, Tony, and their crews!
Mahea B.
Mahea B.
2023.11.30
Verified
Once again, mahalo nui plenty to Kawika of Island Windows & Doors! Ready for our 2nd window maintenance service in September - Kawika called to confirm our previously scheduled appointment, however we needed to reschedule. He was very helpful to assist with rescheduling, (very flexible), and willing to come back at a later date/time. 2nd maintenance service call, Kawika called again to confirm appointment and arrived on-time day of service. Windows checked, no problems, all working well! Kawika let me know that we are able to contact him/WD anytime with any question, concern, etc. Mahalo nui Kawika, mahalo nui IWD...Product, service, quality, value...great, absolutely great!
nora lum
nora lum
2023.11.29
I was very pleased w/the way Kawika inspected my windows and door. He took the time to check if everything else was working fine and also gave me some tips on my windows. He was so pleasant, so easy to talk to and answered my questions, even did a follow up phone call to see that I received everything.
Reply from Island Windows & Doors 2023.12.04
Mahalo, Nora, for your very kind review, it is very much appreciated! Kawika is a very valuable member of our team, I'm glad that you were pleased with his expertise! Aloha, and have a great day ~ Paul
Dani M.
Dani M.
2023.11.24
Verified
Island Windows did an amazing job cleaning the exterior of our windows. He took is his time and was very thorough in the cleaning of the windows, screens as well as the tracks. We will definitely be using Island Window for our window cleaning maintenance. Thanks!
Benjamin Cramer
Benjamin Cramer
2023.11.23
Great windows! We get more light, more quiet, and easier to control the temperature. Really nice team, they’ll make sure you’re satisfied!
Reply from Island Windows & Doors 2023.12.04
Mahalo, Benjamin, we very much appreciate your kind review! Our goal is always to provide the best products with the best service possible, so I'm glad that we met that goal to your satisfaction! Aloha ~ Paul
Cori S.
Cori S.
2023.11.20
Verified
So far so good! George is the best, and we are working with him to have a sliding door and entry door repaired. So far the consultation went awesome. Thank you George for being so responsive and helpful!
Lauren Ahumada
Lauren Ahumada
2023.11.16
Kawika was on time, polite, and did a great job taking care of our windows and doors.
Cindy Osaki
Cindy Osaki
2023.11.08
Thank you to Kawika and Luiz at IWD who did an excellent job of replacing my screens. They were quick and efficient and communication was great!
Cindy O.
Cindy O.
2023.11.02
Verified
Kawika and Luiz did a great job when they came to replace 4 of my screens. Kawika gave me several courtesy calls with updates and time of arrival which I appreciated very much. They were professional and quick to remove and replace screens so as not to inconvenience me. Shout out to them for a job well done!