Gitcombe Estate

www.gitcombe.co.uk

Gitcombe Estate Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
412 reviews Verified
Gitcombe Estate
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 91 ) 5.0

Christine M
Christine M
2024.04.23
Verified
Country Gorgeousness This is the second time we’ve come from NZ to stay at Gitcombe House Country Cottages and once again we had a wonderful time. Peter and Rodney have created a wonderfully elegant and comfortable country escape in the gorgeous Devon countryside. The surroundings are delightful, peaceful and heavenly for kids (including the tennis court, pools, country walks and so much more within easy driving distance). We had a slight issue with the lights in our cottage on arrival and everything was sorted out quickly with a minimum of fuss. You really feel cared for here - which is why I’m sure people choose to come back again and again. I can’t recommend this beautiful place highly enough for families and those needing a chance to recuperate from too-busy lives. The quality of the cottages, the surrounding countryside and the care the owners give their guests is a rare and special thing. Thank-you for hosting us again.
SomersetMedic
SomersetMedic
2024.04.09
Verified
Lovely saty at Gitcombe House We have come to Gitcombe House at Easter for three years with our four children, partners and our (now 6) grandchildren. It has always been a welcoming place to come to and we all love it. The big house is ideal for a multi-generational holiday, with lovely bedrooms, great living space and a garden. Everyone enjoys daily trips up to the pool and hot tub and it’s great having the tennis court and play area to use up a bit more energy. The house is always very clean and Peter, his family and Emma are always ready to help with any problems. Gitcombe is in a wonderful part of Devon and we use Canoe Adventures when we’re there for a really fun family trip - they cater for all ages with everyone paddling and then the children making a fire - collecting wood and making a spark with flints. All very good for everyone! We also enjoyed walking through Gitcombe grounds down to the Maltsters Inn for lunch and another time we walked to the Durant Arms - both great pubs for a family meal. We celebrated a special birthday during our stay and had a great chef, Nina Groves, who cooked for us at the house. Hope to be back again!
Freya C
Freya C
2024.04.05
Verified
A wonderful family stay Fabulous stay! We stayed in Haytor cottage which was perfect for our little family. The place is totally set up for kids, makes everything so easy. The setting is wonderful and Peter and his dog Wilson are so welcoming. Would thoroughly recommend and we’ll definitely be back!
Mike M
Mike M
2024.01.12
Verified
What A Wonderful Place! Just back from a fantastic long weekend end with all the family in Gitcombe House, what a fabulous time! Cannot thank Peter, Amy and Emma for all their help to make our winter break work so well, from the comfort of the beautiful georgian house to the stunning location and facilities on the estate we could not have wished for more. In particular the large indoor pool was a great bonus and the hot tub with it's great views proved very popular, even on the frostiest mornings! Manager Emma kindly arranged for chef Elaine to come in and cook a special dinner for us on the Saturday night, the dining room made up beautifully and it was the highlight of our stay. Lots of winter walks, fresh air, great local pubs nearby then chilling by the open fire, what more could you want! Thanks again to all at Gitcombe, Mike and Helen.
Mostafa Eladawy Nassef
Mostafa Eladawy Nassef
2023.12.29
We had a great family break, the cottages are very clean and very very well equipment, absolutely nothing missing for a 7 days holiday … thank you Peter and Emma
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Morton Family
Morton Family
2023.09.03
Ideal cottage out of the hustle and bustle but close to all the places in South Devon that we love to go.
Location
Rooms
Service
mattguilliatt
mattguilliatt
2023.06.19
Beautiful place. So tranquil and the cabin/villa (retreat) was so luxurious. Amazing place and the manager so lovely and friendly and helpful. Will definitely want to come back
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Gitcombe Estate 2023.06.20
Thank you Matt, yes it is stunning. Enjoy! best wishes Emma and The Gitcombe Team
Світлана Симовонюк
Світлана Симовонюк
2023.02.10
Jo Marke
Jo Marke
2023.02.01
Amazing stay at Gitcombe Retreat. No detail is overlooked, even the weather was perfect for our stay. The hosts are fantastic, and have left nothing to chance.
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Gitcombe Estate 2023.02.01
Thank you Jo for this smashing review, we are glad you had a great time. Please come again! Best wishes the Gitcombe Team
Jenifer Wilson
Jenifer Wilson
2023.01.28
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Gitcombe Estate 2023.01.29
Thank you for leaving a 5 star review. Kind Regards The Gitcombe Team
Lee Cooper
Lee Cooper
2022.11.30
Trip type
Vacation
Friends
Location
Rooms
Service
getting about
getting about
2022.11.27
Kirstie Hayes
Kirstie Hayes
2022.10.09
Absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Gitcombe Retreat and it was the most amazing place we have ever stayed! Pure bliss. We had a lovely holiday and will definitely be returning. Property was faultless. Stunning views and absolutely everything you needed. The pool and spa facilities are gorgeous and we used these daily. Best place ever! Can’t wait to return! Thank you
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Gitcombe Estate 2022.10.09
thank you Kirstie for your lovely review, we are glad you had a lovely time and we look forward to your return
Ben Milsom
Ben Milsom
2022.09.12
Really lovely site, very well maintained. The kids are having a brilliant time and the garden house is beautiful.
Reply from Gitcombe Estate 2022.09.12
Dear Ben thank you for your 5 star review we hope you are having a lovely time on the Gitcombe Estate
Lennaert Kuijpers
Lennaert Kuijpers
2022.07.10
Nick Price
Nick Price
2022.06.23
Andy Squire
Andy Squire
2022.04.12
Great country getaway with all modern amenities including hot tub. Kids loved it
Location
Rooms
Service
Reply from Gitcombe Estate 2022.04.25
Many thanks and we hope to see you again ! best wishes the Gitcombe Team
Steven Pearse
Steven Pearse
2022.03.07
recommends
Lovely accommodation in a beautiful location. Everything is thought of for a relaxing, home away from home. Definitely will be returning!
Emma Sexton
Emma Sexton
2022.02.07
recommends
Wow 🤩 This place is beautiful, we had an amazing stay in Gitcombe House and will definitely be returning. Every little detail was thought of in the house, it was spotlessly clean and owner was so friendly. Thank you for a wonderful weekend in your gorgeous house.
David Allwood
David Allwood
2022.01.24
recommends
Excellent party weekend highly recommended