www.foxrentacar.com

Fox Rent A Car Reviews

Good rating
3.9
25623 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 4862 ) 3.9

Dayna R.
Dayna R.
2024.05.12
Verified
The guys that give you the car and check it in at Burbank were great but the lady at the front desk was horrid. Expedia or Fox messed up my reservation. Somehow it was my issue to figure out. The front desk lady's tone was all off. I'm usually pretty patient but,the girl at the front desk had me shook. After me calling Expedia and then telling me it wasn't their fault and her tone, I was done and it was the start of my Vacation. Pay a little more and go with Avis or Enterprise. Never had an issue with them.
Bryan
Bryan
2024.05.11
Worst company ever!!! Picked up a car after a long flight and was told under state law I had to purchase insurance that I later found out was not true. Very deceiving. Stay away!! Never again will I rent from them.
Bryan G.
Bryan G.
2024.05.11
Verified
Worst company ever!!! Picked up a car after a long flight and was told under state law I had to purchase insurance that I later found out was not true. Very deceiving. Stay away!!
Jackie
Jackie
2024.05.10
We prepaid our rental through Priceline and on arrival we filled all paperwork and were asked for the $150 deposit so my husband hands them the same credit card we prepaid with but because my first name (which apparently Priceline used) wasn’t on the card, same last name, they refused it. I handed them my debit card which also isn’t allowed and cash wasn’t accepted either so they didn’t honor the agreement. They rewrote the rental agreement in my husband's name then charged us $654.19 which was over $500 more than the original agreement, but being senior citizens in a stressful situation we took it! I reached out to Fox for some compromise and was shut down… I feel they deal with third party bookings just so these type of misunderstandings make them more money. We were there with 3 forms of payment for a deposit of the car we had already paid for… I have reached out to Priceline but they had to request info before deciding whether one car ended up being paid for twice!!’
Joyce
Joyce
2024.05.09
The man at the counter named George said liability insurance was required by law and was mandatory to pay. I told him I am declining the insurance as I am insured through my credit card. He said I cannot have liability insurance through my credit card. He said I was required to pay for it. I said "so you are forcing me to pay for it?" He said no, but he was as he wouldn't let it go and he made me pay for it. I already pre-paid for the car so I was stuck. He said I was paying $14.25 a day, but he charged me an additional $68.24 ($17.06 per day) for less than 4 days (in addition to the daily rate and fees). Later I found out they are scamming others with this lie. Then when I went to pick up the car, I was told that they didn’t have the car I reserved and had to take a different one.
Dan F.
Dan F.
2024.05.09
Verified
They make money by charging a $15 PER TOLL administrative fee, after they discourage you to get the toll sensor. So a $12 toll ends up costing $60. When you call the collection center they conveniently tell you to call Fox. When you call Fox, they insist it's not them, even though the notice expressly mentions the "Rental Agreement". It's a scam
Susan
Susan
2024.05.08
I had already purchased a car from Fox car rental before I picked up the car. When I went to pick up the car. I asked for additional collision insurance on the car. What I got was an enormous bill filled with charges I never asked for, toll charge 12 a day. I never went through a to Charge me for mileage which I had unlimited mileage Gas at 8:99 a gallon even though I filled up the tank and had a receipt, they didn’t care. I could go on and on. It was 700 dollars in charges when all I asked was for collision. There are so many other car rentals that won’t take advantage of you, use another one. Do not put your trust in Fox Rental who choose to take advantage of their customers. I am a retiree and travel most of the year and this is the first time I had trouble with a car rental. Stay away from Fox Rental.
Ash L.
Ash L.
2024.05.08
Verified
Scammer alert!!! See below for the price given and the extras they told us were mandatory, which we found out were not. The vehicle was a piece of junk and returned it, but they are still trying to charge us for days and insurance that we DID NOT USE!! They wanted us to take a wrecked 4Runner, we said no. So they have us a huge SUV, which was too big? It was not going to work in a city.
Richard
Richard
2024.05.07
DO NOT RENT FROM THIS ESTABLISHMENT!!! Unfortunately this site won't let me leave a fat ZERO as a review. Worst "customer service" ever!!! An hour + waiting in line?? They make the DMV a happy place!! The bait-and-switch MASTERS!!! Second time renting from this location and NEVER AGAIN!! We've used Fox in Salt Lake and Orlando. Have been pleased. I would rather rent a surplus jeep from the Taliban than deal with this staff/company again. Walk away? HELL RUN FROM THIS CRAPHOLE!!
elayne
elayne
2024.05.04
If a zero was available I would use it. After an exhausting and emotional flight you get the rental car and terrible customer service. There is poor signage and they don't tell you where to sign in to get car. Then if you rent a car and you get a bogus ticket sent to you in the mail from the city of River Forest, IL on turning when a light goes from red to yellow....they charge you a processing fee of $40...what do they have to process...nothing...it's like the airlines charging you for a seat a few aisles up...make sure to read the fine print for this and all rental car companies.
Jodi
Jodi
2024.05.03
Worst company ever! I booked with Booking.com. What I paid is what I thought the cost of the rental was. When I went to pick the car up they charged me additional $411.00. None of the additional charges were disclosed at booking! Absolutely ridiculous.
Kim
Kim
2024.05.02
Watch for added charges even when you state that you don’t want them. I was billed over $200 extra for insurance that I didn’t need and told I didn’t want. This was a shock getting this bill upon returning the car. Make sure you get a printout of the contract agreement because they snuck this charge in and it wasn’t clear on the computer screen they have you sign.
Derek
Derek
2024.05.01
Well this is definitely a case where you should read the reviews before booking. They showed up as the cheapest option and that's for a reason. It seems like everything was an extra so the quoted price was about 25% less than the final price. Not to mention they basically keep your Credit Card hostage until you break down and say yeah I'll take the extra insurance. We had a reservation for 11:15. We didn't leave the rental place until 1:30. The 1 star rating I gave is too high but you can't give negative star ratings. Never seen or used a more crooked company in my life.
stephanie
stephanie
2024.04.30
I arrived in Atlanta last week and the car I reserved and paid for in full for wasn’t available or any SUV’s. The gave me a Chrysler 300 which I didn’t pay for. That was the only car they claimed to have. The lady at customer service was extremely rude. I would never be renting a car from Fox rental again. Plus I didn’t get all of my deposit back. Worst experience ever!!!!
Keith W.
Keith W.
2024.04.30
Verified
If I could give ZERO stars for this place I would. Not only was their customer service absolutely TERRIBLE, they gave us a car with feces smeared all over the front of the passenger seat. NEVER rent from this place! The lady basically said that they do not have any other cars, cursed us out, and drove off. This place needs to be shut down for being extremely unsanitary.
Larry
Larry
2024.04.29
Rented a Jeep from their Ontario CA airport offsite location from 3/21 through 3/28. While picking up the Jeep the Fox representative did the standard upsell for insurance/gas/toll road options and we optioned to pre-pay for gas and toll. The rep we had a toll road account and that we would place the vehicle on our account as we knew we would be using the toll roads for an early appointment. The rep made comment about "if that works" when I said I'd use my account knowing it wouldn't. What I learned that the toll roads will use the license plate to charge my account UNLESS the car has a transponder associated with an account. The Jeep did have a transponder to Fox charges a $15 admin fee for each loop you pass through. If you're going to Disneyland from Riverside that is 3 different loops each way. This is their scam. All the reps know the plate will not be scanned and the customer will get charged $15/scan with a max of $90/day all while I think the charge is going to my account. THEY ARE SCAMMING CUSTOMERS WHO USE THE TOLL ROADS. They have a whole dept to handle complaints after the fact where you find out the truth. WILL NOT USED FOX AGAIN OR EUROCAR THEIR OWNERS.
Holly
Holly
2024.04.27
This car rental company misled us in all facets of our rental experience. Please save yourself the heartache and headache we experienced... especially if considering Fox at the Orlando, Florida location!!!
Giovanni
Giovanni
2024.04.27
Really unpleasant counter check out person. Hidden charges and threatening rhetoric if you don't take the over priced insurance. I guess this is the cost of going with least expensive rental. I will likely not use again.
83robocopper
83robocopper
2024.04.26
I strongly recommend to not use this company. I made a reservation and upon arrival, my reservation was not ready. I was told I could wait an unknown amount of time, But a minimum of two hours. My only other option was to pay an $80 upgrade. When I tried to speak with customer service, they were completely clueless and unhelpful.
Sales Associate
Sales Associate
2024.04.26
Verified
Interesting sales experience I worked here and did well on sales however biggest takeaway Houston branch didn’t have the resources it needed. The operations manager at the time was amazing with staff. Taught us a lot of things sales wise and was very motivating.