Etsy

www.etsy.com

Etsy Reviews

Below Average rating
1.6
17816 reviews Verified
Etsy
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 9108 ) 1.6

Staff Product Manager in New York, NY
Staff Product Manager in New York, NY
2024.05.21
Great company but need to manage burnout and culture changes Pros:-Decent pay -Good benefits -Interesting work for ML / LLMs -Leadership is focused and goal oriented with a clear north star Cons:-Lots of really talented folks getting more and more on edge because of layoffs and culture shifts -Some questionable practices and politics getting in the way of Etsy's long term success; erosion of good culture over time -Difficult to get basic analytics tooling and support for product teams Advice to Management:Product teams need qualified analytics staff and good tooling to do their jobs well. Invest in product management for enablement teams to build/buy high leverage tech. Keep up the great work with goal setting/direction -- the company has a focused and clear goal
Shop Owner in Prescott, AZ
Shop Owner in Prescott, AZ
2024.05.17
Too inconsistent Pros:Make your own schedule every day. Cons:Inconsistent traffic. Some days you get multiple sales and other weeks nothing.
Kelly
Kelly
2024.05.16
I bought from Etsy because I took them at their word when they said they had buyer protection. I found out the hard way that their buyer protection is worthless to me. I purchased a custom dog crate that was supposed to be delivered in 8-10 weeks. It was over $2200. Prior to the delivery date, the seller messaged me that they sent me a bottle of cleaner for the crate and that the tracking number was for that and not the crate, which would be sent later. Of course, with a tracking number, Etsy updated the purchase to delivered even though it was just the cleaner and not the crate. I immediately reached out to Etsy chat and told them what happened and asked them to change it to not delivered. They said they aren’t able to change it but don’t worry, they will absolutely help me if I still don’t receive the crate. After 10 weeks, I ask where is the crate. The seller says it was delayed due to moving and a metal shortage, but will be there in early April (ordered in December). In mid-April, I ask again. Response is “The driver couldn’t pick it up so next week”. The next week, I ask again, “had to re-stain it, next week”. The next week, I ask again, no response so I contact Etsy for help. They say, "Sorry, we can’t help. It is too late. Try PayPal." Then when I go to PayPal, they are given the tracking number showing delivery for the cleaning bottle and told “delivered”, even though my chat with Etsy is still there telling them what happened and all of my chats with the seller are there showing he admits he never sent it. Plus there is common sense that the USPS is NOT going to ship a dog crate weighing hundreds of pounds so there would not be a USPS tracking number. The seller also closed his shop as soon as I filed my claim. I don’t feel like Etsy stood by their promised buyer protection with my purchase after I trusted them.
Nik
Nik
2024.05.16
Terrible company. Terrible customer service, terrible products. Quality is beyond cheap. Anyone that works there is a thief by association. Anyone who recommends this company is straight manipulating you. Not sure how these people look in the mirror.
Online Shopper in Miami, FL
Online Shopper in Miami, FL
2024.05.16
SBO Pros:Hand made , supports small business owners Cons:Can take longer to ship, which is normal if it ships from another country or/and is handmade Advice to Management:Keep it up
Ellie
Ellie
2024.05.14
ETSY stole money from myself, and my daughter. I reached out three times for help, was completely ignored. Horrible company, no values, no respect for its customers. I have sent their legal team an email, I filed a dispute with my bank, I complained to the BBB, I don't know what else to do.... This shouldn't be legal. The store I bought from completely disappeared and they don't give a rat's....
YU
YU
2024.05.14
Fraudulent company that steals money from sellers, closes your account without any complaints received, and uses the internal system as an excuse to refuse to disclose the reason for the account closure, withholding your money for their own use. This money is not yours!!
Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
2024.05.13
Not as good as it used to be Pros:- Great coworkers - Nice snacks - Pretty chill workload - Good cause Cons:- The company is turning into a dull, bureaucratic corporate machine - Very top down - Weird management structure with growing middle management who doesn't do much
Allan
Allan
2024.05.10
I have bought a number of things off the Etsy site but the past four years have had 4-5 disputes with merchants. Several of them have been obnoxious, uncooperative or actively trying to screw me and resist a resolution that was win-win. A couple of others reside in foreign countries where business ethics, efficiency, and communication standards are not close to what they are in this country, Communication with them to resolve the issue was lazy, slow, not complete. Key birthday presents were not delivered in the time frames promised, and no apology was made. I am becoming prejudiced against Etsy. One merchant sorta cared in a casual way, one was confused on his transitions I guess between Egypt and the US. They have nice stuff not sold anywhere else but merchants can put you through the ringer and Etsy management is slow and reluctant to step in and forcefully resolve the issue and be proactive for the customer.
Richard
Richard
2024.05.08
My wife and I both created Etsy accounts to be able to sell, within 2 hours they were both banned we haven't even used it yet, when we did an appeal, within 30 seconds we got an auto reply telling us that our appeal has been rejected, so they're sitting there stealing people's money $15 per account and then instantly Banning them without giving them the chance to figure out what the hell is going wrong, with no customer service phone number or an email that anybody will answer. I call this company a scam in itself, not the people that sell on it. I'm hella pissed and if somebody doesn't answer some damn questions they'll be hearing from my lawyer
Linda
Linda
2024.05.08
I ordered some hardware from Etsy and hadn't noticed the seller was in China until I looked after receiving 650 yes 650 spam emails during the night originating from China. I had no idea they are now infiltrating Etsy. I avoid at all costs on other sites.
Researcher in New York, NY
Researcher in New York, NY
2024.05.08
Not good Pros:Good work life balance sometimes Cons:Bad economy right now in 2024
Ebony
Ebony
2024.05.07
My husband purchased me some bingo cards. It didn't even tell him the date that we will receive them. Two days later it said that it was delivered and we never got it and can't get in touch with no one so this app is really a scam. Well thanks for the reviews, I wish I could have looked at it before I order.
Hans
Hans
2024.05.07
I have bought 5 seeds on Etsy - Ferroseeds White trumpets. I have also bought from Etsy -From …USA Yellow trumpets. I have also bought from Etsy -from Turkey, Red trumpets. I bought all 3 at the same time. The 5 seeds I bought 24 Oct 2023 from Etsy- Ferroseeds, produced 5 Plants and they are now 3 ft tall. Two plants have flower buds from 2" 29 April 2024. I am happy with the 5 Angel trumpets Brugmansia, I learned later that it can take up to 5 years to see flowers. Hans
Sotware Engineer
Sotware Engineer
2024.05.07
Good benefit, un-interesting work, risk-averse Pros:Etsy is a company that shines brightly when it comes to benefits, providing an array of comprehensive perks that can enhance employees' work-life balance. Their benefit packages include generous healthcare coverage, ample paid time off, and various wellness programs, fostering a supportive environment that cares for employees' mental and physical well-being. Financial perks such as retirement contributions and stock options also underline Etsy's commitment to securing its employees' futures. Cons:However, the work itself may not be as stimulating for those seeking creative challenges. The company's focus on maintaining and scaling existing platforms often prioritizes stability over innovation, which might not appeal to individuals who thrive on experimentation and disruptive thinking. Furthermore, Etsy appears to favor a risk-averse culture, emphasizing processes and structures to avoid missteps. This careful approach, while good for long-term stability, may leave some team members feeling like they’re playing it safe.
Kurt D.
Kurt D.
2024.05.06
Verified
Etsy needs to be better This business is unable to compete with Ebay as a seller. EBay fills the void by enabling merchants to sell globally. Even though Etsy describes itself as an international firm, everything about it looks so US-focused. They don't, in my opinion, do nearly enough to be regarded as an international business.
Jennifer
Jennifer
2024.05.05
Very biased. Does not post negative reviews. Review opportunities blocked if previous negative feedback has been given. I have rated 3 bad businesses, none of which have been posted. Says reviews can be posted through May 7, yet there is no place to post it. Their "help" intervention consists of contacting the business, pretending they will correct it, and then never responding again. Other companies have been called out for the same thing. The smart one offered an apology and a $20 coupon for their mishap, then removed the business from their website. The others are no longer around. Etsy will be in this latter category quite soon. I have received surveys addressing these problems, yet no action has ever been taken. The same bad businesses continue to appear, all with their "5 star" ratings. I believe we call this "fraud".
John
John
2024.05.04
This website is a scam. Don’t order anything from it. They tell you one price and they tack on two to $300. It’s a scam. Stay away. I will never use this website again. Don’t buy anything from this website.
Sales Associate in Houston, TX
Sales Associate in Houston, TX
2024.05.04
Nice Pros:Friendly, fun, new, flexible, kind Cons:Slow to get started most days Advice to Management:Mine
Sylvia
Sylvia
2024.05.02
I have had the worst customer service experience ever. I canceled my account on April 16, 2024 and cancelled all purchases that day. The purchases were made on April 13th. I called customer service at least 3 times and was assured that my orders were canceled. One rep hung up on me. Packages are still arriving. I don’t know what to do. Call the BBB? On one of the packages the return address “is not for customer returns”. Where then?