English Riviera Walking Tours

English Riviera Walking Tours Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
94 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (28)
Rhod
Rhod
2020.12.11
Verified
Great Walk We stayed at the Cary Arms inland they advertised a guided walk with Graham. Graham was lovely from the minute we met him and very knowledgeable about the area. Pointed some great places to visit and eat while we were here and we learnt a lot. It was very relaxed and at our pace. We loved this and would recommend anyone in the area contacts Graham and attend a walk with him. Thanks again Graham ?
Advertisement
Nigel M
Nigel M
2020.11.24
Verified
Didn't realise Torquay had such a role to play in the war Torbay at War tour Love walking and Ive always been interested in the Second World War so Grahams' "Torbay at War" tour ticked both those boxes for myself and a pal of mine. I always judge a tour by how many times you hear "wow i didn't now that" (or words to that effect) and Mark and myself uttered them on numerous occasions. Graham genuinely took us back in time and surprised us as to the high profile roll that Torquay in particular took in the war. We'll be booking another of Grahams' tours as soon as its safe to do so. Thank you Nigel
Laura P
Laura P
2020.11.04
Verified
Excellent guide - brilliant afternoon out We spent two nights in Babbacombe and did this walking tour on our first day -- but it was so good we booked a second tour for our final day. The second one was the Agatha Christie themed tour and it was utterly fascinating - we learnt about every element of her life whilst seeing the beautiful sights of Torquay. The guide, Graham, was extremely friendly, informative and was full of stories that were the perfect balance of entertaining and informative. Highly recommended, whatever your fitness level.
Mark H
Mark H
2020.10.10
Verified
Outstanding Tour of Babbacombe We have lived in the South Hams area for over 20 years and never really looked to Torbay. Decided to take the Babbacombe tour and so glad we did. Graham is a fantastic host. He has an easy manner, his knowledge of the area is exemplary being both informative and interesting. As well as the more well known facts he has a wealth of little nuggets to share which set him apart from others. Time in his company flies by and we recommend booking with him at any time of year, you certainly won't be disappointed. Five stars Mr Kerr ??? and we’ll be back for the Agatha Christie your and the War Walk tour with friends ?????
Chez
Chez
2020.10.09
Verified
Walking Guided Tour of Torquay Graham gave us a fantastic walking tour around Torquay. As others have mentioned a historical adventure not just about Agatha Christie, but insights about the culture and how Torquay was architected. We did tour at the start of our holiday and Graham went out of his way to give us ideas of things to do and places to eat. It is a must for visitors to Torquay and I would highly recommend.
Advertisement
Chris
Chris
2020.09.29
Verified
Number 1 thing to do in Torquay As every reviewer has written Graham is an outstanding guide. My wife and I took the Agatha Christie tour on Sept 23rd and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although we have read a few of her novels the majority of our knowledge of her works comes from TV and film. However, as a result of Graham's tour we have both promised to rectify that. We found Graham to be extremely informative but also presented the information as if we were friends out for an afternoon walk in a very relaxed, small group. Graham took us around a number of locations which we had already seen during out stay but had no idea what they actually were which was an added bonus for us. At the end of the tour he was also kind enough to spend some time with us discussing the best places to eat and visit for the remainder of our stay. Therefore, I would recommend Graham as being an essential part of anyone's stay in Torquay and will be going on another tour with him when we return. His tour was definitely a highlight of our stay. Thank you!!
Bruno G
Bruno G
2020.09.24
Verified
Guided walking tour “Beauty of the Bay” Graham Kerr was our guide, recommended by the Tourist Information Office. He led us on a 3-hour narrated walk in Torquay. We enjoyed it very much and learned a lot of interesting stories of local people (mainly women!) that we will remember. Graham was knowledgeable and also warm and friendly, making the experience a highlight of our visit to South Devon. We highly recommend him! Bruno and Sonia
The_Three_Musketeers
The_Three_Musketeers
2020.09.22
Verified
Graham can talk the walk Graham didn’t just take us on a walk but rather a historical adventure around Babbacombe. From the first step he related interesting information about the people and places that lived or visited this delightful coastal town through the ages. Featuring Oscar Wilde, John Lee and Queen Victoria’s lady in waiting, to name but a few; Graham told fascinating stories whilst we walked down to and along Oddicombe Beach. The funicular railway brought us back to Babbacombe and the end of our tour. It was fun and informative and for that we highly recommend and thank Graham.
beeby123
beeby123
2020.08.30
Verified
Walking Tour An absolute must for both visitors and locals. Graham is a fascinating and knowledgeable guy who clearly loves what he does. Informative and entertaining for everyone, young or old, wanting a really nice way to spend a few hours in great company. Thanks Graham.
Advertisement
Dougie G
Dougie G
2020.08.26
Verified
Excellent walking tour of Torquay harbour Me and my family took this guided walking tour yesterday and cannot recommend it highly enough. Our guide, Graham, explained he history of the harbour as we did the 'Hidden Harbour' tour. We found out that the amusement arcade was originally built to shelter sailors a big upgrade compared to the rope they were previously provided! We were given some history on the pavilion and how Agatha Christie was proposed to by a WWI fighter pilot. We laughed about the story of the hotel - Gleneagles, thankfully no longer an hotel - that inspired John Cleese to write Fawlty Towers and the traditional waiters race through the streets of Torquay!
Apsra
Apsra
2020.08.19
Verified
Brilliant walking guide Graham who is the walking guide was absolutely brilliant. Cannot praise him highly enough. My friend and I went for three walks with him, and I have to say that Graham was wonderful. Caring,friendly, thoughtful and knowledgeable. FULLY RECOMMEND this to everyone who enjoys walking and learning.
Andora-44
Andora-44
2020.08.13
Verified
A* Brilliant, friendly, entertaining and let us set the pace. Highly recommended. Will be going again. We did the Agatha Christie walk.
T I
T I
2020.07.26
Verified
Lovely tour of local area A lovely well paced tour of the local area around Babbacombe full of interesting facts and history. Graham was a fantastic host and really engaged the whole family. Well recommend Thanks again
Advertisement
onarramore
onarramore
2020.07.20
Verified
Amazingly Informative Walking Tour I would highly recommend Graham and his Timeless Torquay walking tour that my boyfriend and I went on 3 days ago. I have been to Torquay a few times before, however I did not realise the town had such a rich history. Graham was informative and clear, answering any questions we had. He uses an iPad throughout to show how certain buildings looked previously which I thought was amazing! The walk lasted about 2 hours, and was based around the middle of town, however I believe he has 6 tours in total of different lengths to suit all abilities. I will definitely be booking another for when I next visit! Thanks Graham!
Tina P
Tina P
2020.07.17
Verified
Lovely tour lovely day What a lovely tour of my home town. I shared this experience with my two sisters and my niece. We all live in torquay and dartmouth and we thoroughly enjoyed the two hour walk. Graham is an amazing guide, very informative and very patient with four giggly ladies. We were fortunate to have the tour on a beautiful sunny day which enhanced the fantastic views fron rock walk. We were given time to take photos and a chance of buying an ice cream from the new gellatia at vaughan parade. So if you are on holiday or even a local i would recommend the agatha christie tour. Graham also does a tour on world war II, so looking forward to that one in the future. English Riviera walking tours is a great idea for promoting the bay.... Graham, we've been waiting a long tine for you.
tracey r
tracey r
2020.07.10
Verified
Great Walking Tour, A Must Do in Torquay Fantastic tour with friends, Graham was the perfect guide, very knowledgeable and interesting. Learnt so much about the area leaving us eager to come back and see more. Hidden gems along the way with stunning views, ice-cream stop and fun facts. Lots of history about the area, its buildings and its people. Super tour which we all thoroughly enjoyed. A great way to get to know the area a bit more. If you've never tried a walking tour, this would be a great one to start with.
Debra L
Debra L
2020.07.09
Verified
Highly recommended Wonderful tour of Torquay. Graham was the perfect guide, very knowledgeable, really interesting and gave me lots of tips for the rest of my time in Torquay. Highly recommended and great value.
Advertisement
Kirstie M
Kirstie M
2020.07.07
Verified
Best walking tour First walking tour ever booked. We arrived as four friends on a few days break in the area having chosen one of the walking tours. Graham was there to greet us and made us very welcome ? as we set off he began sharing local history and information with us that had me eager to hear more every step of the way! Fantastic stories and beautiful breathtaking views. Lots of laughs had by all not to mention very tasty ice creams along route! Graham was armed with 30p’s for us to use the loos along the way (u can also tap your cards in most of the facilities) His knowledge and enthusiasm kept us all entertained and the route we took did not fail to keep us on our toes. Make sure you count your steps ? I now have some wonderful knowledge of Torquay under my belt and am keen to return, spend time and learn more. A truly incredible place with way more to offer than hen and stag weekends ? Thank you Graham, your tour was the best and we will be back for more ???
Diane B
Diane B
2020.06.11
Verified
Beautiful bay tour Took the Agatha Christie tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. An avid Christie reader, it was interesting to learn about how she lived her life and the importance of places in Torquay. Just the right amount of talking with the added bonus of digital pictures on his tablet to support his knowledge. Great couple of hours spent in a beautiful place. Would definitely recommend.
PaolaZan
PaolaZan
2020.02.28
Verified
I really enjoyed the walk "Hidden Harbour". I have been living in Torquay for many years and I haven't realised there was so much history in it. Graham explanation of Torquay history is very interesting and full of details. I definitely recommend and I will join again soon for another walking tour!!