Dunalastair Hotel Suites

Dunalastair Hotel Suites Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
1121 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1000)
Sheridyn H
Sheridyn H
2022.10.16
Verified
Second to none Attending a wedding here, and the quality and service were second to none. The food was amazing and the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. Would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking to book a wedding or private event. 5 stars.
Advertisement
CraigDunbar
CraigDunbar
2022.10.16
Verified
Dunalastair Hotel Suites - Kinloch Rannoch Had the privilege of attending my brother's wedding at this total gem of a hotel. From the moment of arrival, there was a welcoming atmosphere from the Manager and his team. No question was left unanswered and no task too great.Room was tastefully decorated as was the whole hotel, the food excellent and the ambience perfect for the occasion. Breakfast was outstanding and the range of drinks on offer was impressive. The location at the end of Loch Rannoch is ideal for those wishing to indulge in walking and the scenery stunning.I can not sing the praises of this place highly enough. Just magical.
jackieC74
jackieC74
2022.10.13
Verified
Lovely break away We stayed here for a few nights recently for our Anniversary. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely views. The staff made it personal by laying petals in the shape of a heart on our bed for our anniversary & left a lovely note. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. They were short staffed but the staff working did their best to meet everyone’s needs. Food was lovely but expensive. Good choice for continental breakfast, the cooked breakfast wasn’t filled up enough so several items missing when we had breakfast. Overall we had a lovely time & would recommend
Emma G
Emma G
2022.10.09
Verified
Amazing hotel, exceptional food and stunning surroundings! We had an amazing stay at Dunalastair Hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in Room 300 one of the luxury suites which was exceptional! The room was stunning and the bathroom was beautiful. The food in the restaurant was amazing as was the atmosphere. The hotel and the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and we can’t wait to visit again. Special thanks to Natasha in the Restaurant and Sachin who looked after us so well!
Sooz1232013
Sooz1232013
2022.10.03
Verified
Not currently operating as a 5 star hotel A warm welcome greeted us at we entered the hotel just after the check-in time of 4pm. It is obvious that a considerable amount of money has been spent in the renovation of the hotel giving it a contemporary, luxurious feel. When we entered our bedroom it was obvious the carpet hadn't been vacuumed but I'm not a particularly demanding customer so can understand that this could easily have been missed by housekeeping. When I went into the bathroom I noticed there were no towels in place. I went back into the bedroom and found 2 small and 2 medium size towels at the end of the bed. They were thin and 'crispy' and there was no floor mat or additional towels. We headed downstairs to the bar area where 3 other couples were sitting. No one came near us for 10 minutes until my husband asked a member of staff if we could order a drink. The drinks were delivered 10 minutes later (tea, minus a milk jug) and my husband's gin and tonic. We would have stayed and had another but the one member of staff that was at the bar kept disappearing. Most residents were having to approach the bar in the hope that someone would appear. One resident asked if it was possible to have some olives or perhaps some crisps with their drink and they were told they could purchase a bag of crisps (one flavour).We had booked dinner in the hotel as a family celebration and our other family members joined us in the bar at 6.45pm. Again, no one came near us to take a drinks order until we requested it. The bar lounge area is nicely decorated but simple things like a candle on the tables, being presented with the dinner menus to look over, nice glassware for drinks etc were missing.When we entered the dining room it was nothing special. No candles, no tablecloths, no bread and butter offered. Overall it was just all very ordinary. We had to ask to see a menu, for water, for wine and it was an hour before our starter arrived. The meal was fine but nothing special at all.You get the impression that there is no one in charge in the restaurant and bar and the few staff that are there are firefighting. We are very understanding that there is a shortage of staff in the hospitality industry at the moment. However, if you are operating as a 5 star hotel and charging 5 star prices, attention to detail is one of the most basic things that needs to be in place. We had a restful sleep in the comfy bed (pillows a bit lumpy) but there were no slippers available in the room and the dressing gowns looked a bit past their best. The shower was warm but the water pressure was low and it was just a standard shower head in a holder, nothing fancy. I made a cuppa and only when I poured the milk in from the bottle in the fridge did I realise it was off as blobs rose to the top! We had booked our time for breakfast and service and standards were much the same as the night before. We had to ask for everything and when our tea and coffee pots eventually came to the table, with a milk jug missing again we took a water glass up to the buffet and helped ourselves from a jug. The gel burners under the warm items (sausages, mushrooms etc) were all out so the food was lukewarm at best. The items were very slow to be replenished so I ended up opting for a yogurt. There was no one around to ask for a round of toast so we gave up eventually.This hotel has the potential to be wonderful but if it wants to call itself 5 star then it really needs to take a look at basic attention to detail and customer service. On checking out there were quite a few errors on our bill. Items were there that we hadn't taken and items missing that we had. Thankfully, this was dealt with by the reception staff quickly.Overall, we spent a fair amount during our trip to Dunalastair and really wish we'd had the much advertised 5 star experience. When anyone has asked me how the trip was, I've said 'fine' but I don't feel I can recommend it.
Rooms
Location
Service
Advertisement
Lori c
Lori c
2022.10.03
Verified
Nice but Overpriced The road to the hotel is a bit scary ...a long very twisty turny with drops of 40ft or more on some sides.. ..definately could not drive that in the dark... ... we eventually arrived and checked in ..reception polite and friendly.. our room was nice ..the pillows were terrible. . That was where the positves stopped. We gave the hotel advanced notice this was our anniversary and told they wld send some prosecco to the room. Nice touch i thought. Didn't happen. U have to have dinner in the hotel as nowhere else roundabout. Food was not great ...the quality is not there ..my salmon was dry.. steak was chewy.. for £30 for small piece of salmon foods expensive..wine is also expensive .£11 for vodka & coke...we always look forward to a cooked breaksfast unfortunately this is not included £16 each extra so we jst went with the continental which was not ok.. ..choice was limited ..its not 5 * . On the whole we wlouldnt choose to return better value for money elsewhere im afraid.
Neil J
Neil J
2022.09.29
Verified
Middle of nowhere gem In the middle of nowhere this is a superb hotel. Beautiful setting, tranquil and welcoming. Evening meal was excellent, staff lovely. Haggis bon-bons, smoked salmon, Seafood linguine and chicken with green peppercorn sauce beautifully cooked. Breakfast equally good and even the EV chargers worked first time. Superb
Wedderburn
Wedderburn
2022.09.26
Verified
Suite night Stayed one night to attend an event nearby. Used to be regular visitors to the old Dunalastair. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our suite. Which had a very comfy bed. Settee and kitchenette and wet room with a tiny shower. No luxurious bath. Service was excellent dinner was good for me but small things absent like a lemon wedge with your smoked salmon. Cold rolls instead of warmed. Cheeseboard for one was huge a buffet size of 8 chunky wedges of 4 assorted cheese. The chef is certainly generous, my room service breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled egg was staggeringly huge more than I could eat. The staff really take care of you and everything arrives when needed. I forgot my make up bag I called reception to see how I could source the basics ( the country store would not stock make up items) Stuart arrived with a whole professional make up kit. Saving the day. Our stay was comfortable and memorable it just misses the comfy real fires and old world character that this building once had. Outlander fans like myself just missed meeting cast and crew who stay here when filming at the fictional Craig Na Dhun, not far from the hotel.
Denise
Denise
2022.09.25
Verified
Luxe hotel op een mooie plek. Mooie ligging en heel modern gerenoveerd. Vriendelijk personeel.We waren een weekendje weg in Schotland. De vallei van Loch Tummel en Loch Rannoch is prachtig en afgelegen. Heerlijk om te wandelen en te genieten van het moois dat Schotland te bieden heeft.
Advertisement
Trip594598
Trip594598
2022.09.25
Verified
Lovely setting and great food Just home from a lovely stay at Dunalastair. Beautiful setting next to Loch Rannoch. Enjoyed a 5 star evening meal and breakfast. Improvements that could be made are a more powerful shower and to avoid using air fresheners as the smell was over powering in places.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Hans S
Hans S
2022.09.20
Verified
If this isn't paradise, I don't know what is! This isn't my first visit to Kinloch Rannoch, during my first visit I've stayed at the peerless Bunrannoch B&B. It is my first visit to Dunalastair, though and not a moment too soon!What an absolutely brilliant hotel! I don't think I've ever stayed in such luxury before - the bedroom is quite large on its own and then there's a very large sitting room and a huge bathroom. All very well appointed.There's a knock on the door and you get a serving of just-baked biscuits, still warm. I think it's fair to say that that warmness pervades this hotel. What a magical place!But there's more - I traveled through Scotland in my electric car and to say the Scottish EV charging experience has been a baptism of fire is an understatement. There's a Charge Place Scotland charger in front of the hotel, that I couldn't get to work.Then learning that the hotel has its own charger, that works flawlessly, was just manna from heaven! I left the hotel with all of us, and all of our devices, fully charged!Thank you, Dunalastair!!
Becky W
Becky W
2022.09.18
Verified
Perfect We stayed for our anniversary and everything was perfect. Staff were lovely, room was luxurious, food was great. The setting is beautiful - such a gorgeous lock just two minutes walk away. Everything was beautifully clean and thoughtful and well chosen. Would definitely come back again and again! We had the best time. Thank you :)
Ian O
Ian O
2022.09.18
Verified
Fabulous We visited to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. The food in the restaurant was excellent and our rooms exceeded expectations.We were made to feel very special and would commend the staff for their helpfulness and many kindnesses.
Advertisement
Queen of speed
Queen of speed
2022.09.16
Verified
An absolute 10 star hotel if we could give them!! Amazing elegant hotel in the most beautiful romantic spot!Everything about this hotel exudes luxury. An absolute pleasure to meet the manager Sachin who holds a wonderful team here! Special mention to Natasha and Matt who made our Anniversary dinner extra special and Emily, so friendly on reception. Can't wait to return to this place.
Olivier L
Olivier L
2022.09.11
Verified
Décevant pour un 5 étoiles Séjour en famille de 2 nuits. Accueil assez impersonnel et expéditif. Moquette souillée dans la chambre. Le 2eme jour, nous avons été surpris à notre retour à l'hôtel en fin de journée qu'aucun membre du personnel n'était passé dans notre chambre pour sa remise en ordre (poubelle non vidée, essuies non changés, ...). Dès lors, nous avons du nous débrouiller avec un petit échantillon de champoing et de gel douche de 30ml pour 3 personnes et pour 2 jours ! Nous avions commandé un pique-nique et l'un des sandwichs ne correspondait pas à notre commande. Le diner au restaurant était très bon, dommage d'avoir reçu l'apéritif en même temps que le repas. Enfin, le buffet compris dans le petit déjeuner reste très basique pour un 5 étoiles.
suki12_10
suki12_10
2022.09.05
Verified
30th anniversary disaster Bad, bad ,bad, Do not book this hotel, complete disaster from beginning to end. Lots of guests before me complaining. Ruined our 30th wedding anniversary. Booked and payed for a luxury suite through Hotels.com and got down graded because I used them and not direct
Rooms
Location
Service
Mr and Mrs W
Mr and Mrs W
2022.09.01
Verified
Leisure / Walking We spent a few days here nearly 4 years ago , so to come back again and find that the excellent service and incredible staff who can't look after you enough was really brilliant, Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable especially after a long days walk, superb food what else can you say other than it won't be as long before we are back.
Advertisement
bhoyScotland
bhoyScotland
2022.08.31
Verified
Ok Hotel and location are very nice. Staff are very pleasant. The food and drink are overpriced for what it is , hand cut chips were oven chips. The hotel has an overpowering smell of air freshener throughout. Tv had 3 working channels. Not a 5 star in my opinion.
Simon S
Simon S
2022.08.31
Verified
Perfect Staycation Venue My wife and I stayed at the Dunalastair Suites Hotel for 3 nights in late August 22 and have simply got to say how wonderful the place was... perfectly peaceful location with no through traffic , simply amazing scenery in every direction and a hotel that was in a league of its own! The accommodation was exceptional, food at breakfast and dinner was excellent but what made all the difference was the quality and customer care orientation of all the staff... nothing was too much trouble and they all left us both feeling relaxed, which thoroughly maximised our enjoyment. Difficult to single individuals out but Denzel on Reception and Natasha at mealtimes are worthy of a huge shout-out!! For me customer care makes or breaks a hotel and Dunalastair certainly has staff that takes customer care to the next level - thank you for the best experience!!
John G
John G
2022.08.30
Verified
Didn’t get 5 star ……. I don’t normally post negative reviews, but was very disappointed in our visit.I did write to the hotel, but after 1 week, they still have chosen not to respond.Upon our arrival, the concierge said ‘at least you don’t have to go far to get to your room’ which turned out to be one of the main attributes.I suspect our room at one time may have been a service cupboard or at best staff accommodation.The room size however was not the only issue.Our welcome letter states ‘you will find a cute little bottle of fresh milk in your fridge instead’ - there was no fridge.The fridge appeared to be the windowsill of the smaller of our two windows.How this serves in chilling our milk and water is a mystery.The carpet in the room was soiled and dirtyThe view from our room was befitting any cityscape back alley - no view of mountains or a pretty highland village from here!Not even a few plants or shrubs on the flat roof to give some interest.We booked a table in the restaurant for 19:30 and arrived at that time. Our meal was served to us at 20:43 due to our order being ‘lost’.This meant that we didn’t finish eating our main course until 9pm, at which point there were no staff in the restaurant, so we weren’t offered dessert or coffee.The fact that we sat at our table with nothing in front of us for over an hour speaks volumes on the level of service in the restaurant.While all the staff were courteous and polite, our impression was that there was no teamwork amongst them and therefore no overall customer care.The breakfast buffet was insufficient to cater for the number of guests, resulting in people having to wait for items to be replenished.There was no butter at breakfast - ‘out of stock’ we were told. Five stars - no butter - really?We paid for and expected five star accommodation, we did not get that.
Value
Rooms
Service