Desert Rats

Desert Rats Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
69 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (37)
Dan M
Dan M
2024.04.15
Verified
You need to book this My wife and I rode the mountains and valleys tour with Martine one of the owners of the company as group leader. I ride a lot and compete in hard enduro. My wife doesn't ride much and finds bikes challenging. The Apollo Docker is a local bike that is ridden everywhere by locals and despite the huge difference in skill level we both had a great time, me being stupid and trying hill climbs (100cc doesn't give much thrust) and she enjoying the view at a slower pace that the Docker delivers. I normally ride a KTM dirt bike, but the Docker was still a lot of fun, not intimidating for my wife yet provided enough challenge for me to have a great time. Hats off to Martine and John for finding mind blowing tracks and marvellous comfortable overnight stays. Amazing team and deserving of the 5 stars. If you are wondering if this is the right company for you, IT IS!
Monique D
Monique D
2024.04.11
Verified
Desert Rats. Morocco. On a motorcycle. Do it! I am not a tour joining kinda girl. But, doing a motorcycle ride through Morocco has been a dream since I started riding 20 years ago. I somehow stumbled onto Desert Rats, and thought it was too good to be true. I read through the comments and did my own background checks, and not only is this legit but it's one of the best things I've ever done for myself, and certainly the most incredible travel adventure I've ever had. Martine is an incredibly compassionate, detail oriented, laid back lady. As well as a bad ass rider! These well thought out routes wound me around some of the most exquisite, brutal landscapes I've witnessed (and I worked in Antarctica). There is not a chance I would ever have even found these roads on my own. Prefer to ride alone? Me, too! Each bike is equipped with a rugged sat phone with the routes pre loaded, so I could stop, hang back, or speed up to find my glorious alone time, and often found myself riding for long stretches of time with not a soul in sight, but also knowing that my group (and help when I needed it) wasn't far. The hardest part was seeing all the desert dogs everywhere, most of which are barely surviving. In our last town we found 4 puppies living in a pit surrounded by trash. I couldn't stand it. Not only did Martine empathize, and helped me to get them immediate food and water, but also assisted in helping me come up with a plan to get them out of there. I went back a few days after our trip with a rental van, picked them up out of the trash pit, took them to a vet, and a foster home afterwards. I'm happy to report they should be coming to the US in August 24' and into happy homes waiting for them (one being mine!). The Desert Rats Puppies'! Incredible experience I will never forget.
Íomhar J.
Íomhar J.
2024.04.07
Verified
Excellent 5 day trip, I highly recommend Desert Rats and their tours. I have just returned from riding a 110 (ish) cc Dokker Apollo through the Lower Atlas Mountains and I can honestly say it was one of the ‘funnest’ bike trips I have ever done (and I have done a few). Firstly a huge “thank you” to Martine who was awesome throughout the tour and to Ali who accompanied us in the support truck and kept us and the motorbikes on the road - you guys were great. Secondly, Morocco… what a fantastic country! We travelled many great roads, numerous not so great sandy/rocky/dusty tracks and say many wonderful sights all while meeting many friendly Moroccan people on route, I cannot put into words exactly how enjoyable (and challenging) the tour was and how spectacular the mountainous scenery is. Finally, the bikes! It’s easy to look down your nose at these little cheap machines especially if you ride a modern adventure bike (as I do), but the Dokker was great fun and coped with everything thrown at it, overcoming rocks, sand, uneven tracks, pot holes, loose gravel and so much more! We got to ride places where many modern bikes would fail to go and while my butt was sore at the end of each evening, I remained somewhat impressed by this little machine. In short, the Dokker may not be a cool ADV bike, but it is a fun bike and will take you on a highly memorable tour of the Moroccan mountains and desert and in addition, Martine and the Desert Rats will totally look after you from start to finish with some great hotels, airport transfers, everything you need (and all for an incredibly reasonable price). I cannot speak highly enough of Morocco and the whole Desert Rats crew, thanks guys.
Geno Concannon
Geno Concannon
2024.04.01
recommends
Having done the the mountains and valleys tour I can safely say it's one the best motorcycle experience's I've ever had. Fantastic route, excellent hotels , outstanding off road sections,every aspect of this adventure has been thought of by Desert Rats. A big thank you to Martine,john and Ali. The best recommendation I can give is I will be back to do it all again. P.s the Dockers are amazing little machines that will a grin to any biker.
Tomas Baier
Tomas Baier
2024.03.28
Extraordinary! This term is to be used for the description of the Tour organized by Martine. Every single detail was prepared and arranged for, by which very friendly approach and excelent atmospehere. I can highly recommend. :-)
Reply from Desert Rats 2024.03.28
Hi Tomas, thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and your wife on tour. You both did amazing! Hope to see you next year in the Atlas Mountains! Warm regards, Martine
Tomas B
Tomas B
2024.03.28
Verified
Great time in Marocco ! Extraordinary! This term is to be used for the description of the Tour organized by Martine. Every single detail was prepared and arranged for, by which very friendly approach and excelent atmospehere. I can highly recommend. :-)
Ali Oubassidi
Ali Oubassidi
2024.03.14
Excellent service.
Lino Reye
Lino Reye
2024.02.19
Great motorcycle tour through Morocco with nice hotels and good food. Everything super well organized. Can only recommend Desert Rats.
Reply from Desert Rats 2024.02.19
Hi Lino, it was a pleasure to have you and your brother on tour. Thank you for the great week!
Kirsten Peters
Kirsten Peters
2023.11.28
Girls on tour ! Wat een mooi en bijzonder avontuur de High Atlas Mountain tour. Eerst een oefendag op de Docker Apollo bike. Het is even wennen maar we hadden het al snel onder de knie. In totaal 550 km gereden door het wonderschone Atlasgebergte. Het is iedere km genieten van steeds veranderend landschap, zoveel verschillende kleuren echt prachtig en overal vriendelijk zwaaiende mensen. Martine heeft ons samen met Ali de hele week begeleid. Alles was tot in de puntjes verzorgd. Prachtige routes, onderweg mooie lunchplekken, iedere keer weer heerlijk eten, sfeervolle hotels. Echt geweldig dit maakte het tot een onvergetelijk avontuur. Marokko wat ben je mooi...
Freedom730434
Freedom730434
2023.11.15
Verified
Mountains and Valleys Tour Three experienced riders decided to join the Desert Rats Mountains and Valleys Tour led by Martine and Jamie. It wasn't about the the little 110cc Appollo Docker Motorcycles but to see the real Morocco, It's landscapes, people and culture. Saying that, the bikes were fun to ride and reliable. The whole trip was truly excellent. From the arranged 4 hour Taxi transfer from Marrakech Airport to the Hotel in Quarzazate to our departure. Martine has planned exciting routes through stunning scenery, selected lovely hotels/guest houses and somehow arranged some memorable experiences like sharing meals with the locals in their homes. I can only reiterate all the positive reviews previously written. It really was a fantastic experience. Great value and extremely well organised. Thank you Martine and Jamie for a very memorable week. And to top it off we had blue skies and sunshine. Paul - UK
IK-
IK-
2023.11.14
Verified
Super vakantie Desert Rats Girls Tour De tocht door de Hoge Atlas was onwerkelijk mooi! We waren met zijn vijven: familie trip met 5 nichtjes. De brommer was super stabiel en kon met gemak de hoogste berg (2700+meter) aan. Heerlijk relaxed, heel veel gezien, heerlijk gegeten (ik kreeg als vegan vaak een eigen tajine met gekruide groenten - verrukkelijk!). En overal natuurlijk thee en gastvrije mensen. De hotels waren ook met veel zorg uitgekozen: heel mooi gelegen, veel mooie Marokkaanse tegels en design, en ook daar weer overal lekker eten. Martine was een geweldige gids: relaxed, heel professioneel en super behulpzaam. Deze vakantie was een heel mooie mix van avontuur, actie en ontspanning, bijzonder landschap en mooie kleuren, vriendelijke mensen, en heel veel lol. We hebben ook heel veel gelachen. Kortom: aanrader!!! Wij zijn ook heel benieuwd naar de andere tour van je Martine!
Chantal Müller
Chantal Müller
2023.10.28
We hadden een heerlijke week met Martine van DesertRats. Ze reed met ons, als onervaren schakelbrommerrijders, een prachtige route door het adembenemende Atlasgebergte. Na elke bocht weer een ander uitzicht. De pauzes voor koffie, Marokkaanse thee, lunches, de overnachtingsadressen, ze waren allemaal TOP. Elke keer weer genieten van moois en lekkers. Voor elke wens een oplossing. Alles goed voorbereid en ondersteund door DesertRats. Enkele plaatselijke projecten wilden we ook graag bekijken en dat lukte. Niks ter verbetering te bedenken. Onvergetelijk, BEDANKT Martine!
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.10.30
Lieve Chantal, dankjewel voor je mooie review! Ik vond het een hele gezellige week en jullie hebben het geweldig gedaan. Veel plezier in Marrakesh! Liefs, Martine
Minesh Trivedi
Minesh Trivedi
2023.06.03
What a wonderful experience from start to finish in this beautiful part of the world! I can't recommend the tour enough! Special thanks to Martine for organising the tour so well and perservering with my lack of biking experience throughout, Ali for ensuring everyone's safety at all times and John for the huge encouragement on day one! I strongly recommend some previous biking experience, as it will make it even more enjoyable and less hairy going up and down the mountains and round the countless bends!
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.06.28
Hi Minesh, hope you’re well. Thank you very much for your review! And yes, a one-day training for inexperienced riders is definitely a strong recommendation. Will you come back on the Mountains and Valleys tour? 😉😉
claire delea
claire delea
2023.05.19
What an experience! A unique way to see this country and what a beautiful place it is. Can't recommend Martine our tour guide enough, it is planned so well and while everything is at your own pace, there is no unnecessary hanging about. Food and accomodation is excellent and the fun and company top it off!
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.05.20
Hi Claire, thank you so much for your review. Amongst a group of 10 Irish men, you were definitely the bravest! 😉
Kanishk Yadav
Kanishk Yadav
2023.05.17
Fantastic tour led by Martine! It was my first bike tour and it was absolutely amazing, all thanks to Martine, she does a wonderful job at it. 100% would recommend!!
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.05.18
Thank you Kanishk for your lovely review. It was great having you on tour!
Brian Griffiths
Brian Griffiths
2023.05.14
Fantastic tour! I would highly recommend this tour for those who enjoy riding and want to experience the real Morrocan culture. Desert Rats are not only professional but also run by great people who accommodate your every need. Thank you Martine and Ali for a great week. 👍
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.05.18
Thank you Brian! It was great showing you the beautiful High Atlas Mountains. Hope you come back for the Mountains and Valleys tour! Martine
Joseph DeChicchis
Joseph DeChicchis
2023.05.12
I had never ridden a motorcycle before and did the extra training day. A great experience! Well curated tour and route planning. Martine is very helpful with setting things up and our mechanic Ali was great too
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.05.18
You did great Joseph! Hope you’ll continue biking :) Martine
Ryan Malachowsky
Ryan Malachowsky
2023.05.06
Amazing fun in the Moroccan Sun! I don’t like to over use the word “epic” yet this trip truly was that! Some of the most fun riding I’ve ever done in my life! The bikes impressed me; pretty zippy! Morocco is stunningly beautiful! The people, the animals, the food… incredible! Martine was a fantastic guide and Ali kept all the bikes purring! I’d recommend this to anyone!
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.05.18
Thanks Ryan! Hope you have another ‘epic’ time climbing the Kilimanjaro! Martine
John Duggan
John Duggan
2023.04.21
recommends
Been riding bikes since 1975 this was one of my best weeks ever. Well organised, great roads, food and accommodation. I can't think of any way to improve the tour. Its a joy to travel with Desert Rats and unbelievable value for money.
Guy Griffiths
Guy Griffiths
2023.04.13
"When I decided to go on an adventure holiday in Morocco, I had high hopes of experiencing a new culture, exploring new terrain, and meeting interesting people. And I'm happy to say that my trip with Desert Rats exceeded all my expectations. As we set off on our 5-day tour of the High Atlas region, I felt confident that I had made the right decision. The area is truly one of the most beautiful in all of Africa, and to truly experience it, you need to venture off the beaten path and into the mountains. The High Atlas mountain range is the highest in North Africa, stretching for about 1000 kilometers and separating the coastlines from the Sahara desert. It's a rugged, ancient landscape, full of folklore and history, and it was a privilege to explore it with Desert Rats. Our hosts, Martine and John, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived at our hotel. They have years of experience in Morocco, and it shows in the quality of their tours. We were treated to some of the most breathtaking scenery I've ever seen, and the accommodations were comfortable, clean, and well-maintained. One of the highlights of the trip was a lunch enjoyed in a private "Berbere" home. It was a great way to experience the local culture and cuisine. Overall, I can't recommend Desert Rats enough. Whether you're a seasoned adventurer or just looking for a safe, exciting experience in a magical country, they have a tour that's perfect for you. And with their new desert tour already available, it's clear that they're continuing to grow and innovate. This truly is a holiday of a lifetime."
Reply from Desert Rats 2023.05.18
Thank you Guy! When will you ride the Mountains and Valleys tour with us? :) Martine