Cornish Cycle Tours Reviews

Cornish Cycle Tours Reviews

4.9

Excellent - based on 62 reviews

www.cornishcycletours.co.uk
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (62)
Tammy Kimbrough
Tammy Kimbrough
2023-09-27
We had a great vacation with Cornish Cycle Tours. We did a customized tour for 8 days and nights. We were glad that we selected electric bikes as it made it very easy to add on any additional side trips that we wanted and allowed us to do longer mileages per day. Lanyon was very organized and detailed with his correspondence. He was very flexible in designing a tour for us. And, he picked us up from the train station and personally got us going with the bikes, then dropped us back off at the end of our tour. I can highly recommend this company and service.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2023-09-28
Dear Tammy Kimbrough. Thank you for your recommendation and lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had a great Vacation whilst on one of our Cornish Cycle Tours 🚴‍♀️🌞🚴‍♂️🏝
Advertisement
Catherine Davies-Colley
Catherine Davies-Colley
2023-09-26
4.8 really. We had a fabulous 19 days with this company in April 2023. Lanyon was only a phone call away. My husband and I from New Zealand did the Cornwall and Scilly 14 day tour with extra days thrown in, where we wanted to explore more. The accommodation was great and the hosts at all the nights were welcoming and very friendly. This was trip I spent along time planning and Cornwall and Scilly exceeded our expectations. We used e-bikes, because we wanted to enjoy the cycling, without working too hard. These were really appreciated on the steep ups and downs of the east coast, and on the days where the weather was inclement. There was a little issue with the maps and instructions on occasions( as sign posts or buildings had changed), we never got really lost for long (why I gave it the 4.8). I recommend this tour, especially if you want to take time to explore this beautiful part of the world. P.S. the food was amazing everywhere.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2023-09-26
Dear Catherine Davies-Colley. We are delighted to hear that your extended 19 days Cornwall & Isle of Scilly Tour exceeded your expectations and that you had a fabulous holiday. We have taken it onboard about the various issues with the step by step directions. Since you toured with us earlier this year we have introduced a new navigation app that will turn your smart phone into a SatNav and give you voice over turn by turn directions which should make navigating our tours a breeze and eliminate the problem you had with the shops closing down or changing name etc. I think this will be a game changer. Once again thank you for choosing Cornish Cycle Tours as your holiday provider and thank you for your review 🚴‍♀️🌞🚴‍♂️🏝
Bruce M
Bruce M
2023-09-21
Verified
Biking Cornwall Just completed the 7 day Poldark Cycle Tour with Cornish Cycle Tours. Absolutely loved this adventure and all the assistance Lanyon provided us in arranging and executing this trip. Weather was not the best but seeing this beautiful Cornwall coast was magic and provided us with great memories and stories. Suggestions for other bikers. Hills are significant and numerous. E bikes for leisure - older bikers is key. Be ready for rapid weather changes and gear up accordingly. B&B accommodations are really great. Familiarize yourself with the Ride GPS app. Invite another couple to add to the adventure.
Astrid W
Astrid W
2023-09-20
Verified
Sehr gut zusammengestellte Tour durch Nord- und Südcornwall Es war eine tolle Route und Lanyon hat uns gut begleitet. Er hat die Tour extra für uns zusammengestellt. An einem Regentag hat er uns abgeholt und nach St. Ives gebracht. So konnten wir diesen Ort in Ruhe besichtigen und später per Bus und Zug zum nächsten Ort weiterfahren. Die Fahrräder hat er natürlich wie gewohnt bereits zum nächsten Hotel gebracht. Die Fahrräder waren für dieses Gelände top! Das einzige Negative war, dass wir in St. Agnes nicht die gewünschten Zimmer erhielten. Wir hatten 2 Doppelzimmer zur Einzelnutzung gebucht, bekamen aber nur ein Einzelzimmer und ein Doppelzimmer mit zwei schmalen Einzelbetten.
Annette Heinz
Annette Heinz
2023-09-05
Poldark Tour Unterkünfte teilweise schmuddelig ( wadebridge)und viel zu kleine Zimmer m. mini Fenster ( Porthleven) und dann auch noch dunkel gestrichen. Kofferservice bis jetzt prima.!!!!!!! Zimmer Falmouth gut. Charlestown u. St.Ives gut.(Pedn Olva) Sind gespannt was uns noch erwartet. Route deutlich anstrengender als gedacht.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2023-09-08
Dear Annette Heinz. I am sorry that your tour did live up to your expectations and that it was tougher cycling than what you expected, Cornwall is a very hilly location. I was also disappointed to hear that you did not like all of your accommodation and some of the rooms were not to your liking. I will pass your thoughts on to the hotels and I'm sure The Harbour Inn will be distraught that you did not like your room there as they've only just opened up this spring after a massive £2 million pound refurb, i personally love the Darker Blue, Red walls and soft lighting but its obviously not to everyones liking. A lot of our accommodation providers are in very old buildings such as The Molesworth Arms which was a 16th Century townhouse, Old fishing cottages and Pubs which mean that they are often in very small rooms but in amazing locations. There are sometimes very few choices in the small Towns and fishing villages we stop off at and a lot of accommodation providers do not accept 1 night stays. We feel we did the best we could in organising your tour in the Peak season of July and if we were to book it again we would book it exactly the same as i don't feel we could improve it any way. Were pleased to hear that you liked your accommodation at Falmouth, Charlestown and St Ives and that your luggage was always delivered on time. Thank you for your honest review and thank you for touring with us.
Advertisement
Obawon
Obawon
2023-08-08
Verified
4 Cycling Stages in West-Cornwall A trip that we'll never forget. Exciting landscape, impressive witnesses of history and culture, outstanding friendly people everywhere, considerate drivers. Tastefully selected places to stay and a real good equipment.
Friederike J
Friederike J
2023-07-23
Verified
Eine traumhaft schöne Cornwall Woche Wir hatten eine wunderschöne Woche auf der Poldark Tour in jeglicher Hinsicht: ausgezeichnete Route mit täglich wechselnder, vielfältiger und wunderschöner Landschaft, tolle Orte mit sehr gemütlichen, sauberen und landestypischen Unterkünften inkl. leckerem Frühstück, erstklassiger Service von Lanyon Rowe, als z.B. meine Kette am E Bike gerissen ist, war er sofort da und hat sie repariert. Lanyon hat auch sehr gute Tipps für Sehenswürdigkeiten in die Reiseroute eingearbeitet. Insgesamt absolut empfehlenswert!
David Huc
David Huc
2023-07-18
The tour lived up to all its promises. Sumptuous landscapes, breathtaking views and picturesque stops. The stages were easy to complete in a day, despite the hills and unpaved sections (you need a suitable bike, which was the case for us). The welcome in the accommodation was always excellent, friendly and attentive. The quality lived up to our expectations. Unfortunately we didn't manage to use the GPS application provided, but with the step-by-step guide we were able to recreate the route easily on Google maps. This trip has left us with some wonderful ans unforgettable memories.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2023-07-18
Dear David Huc. We're delighted to hear that our Penwith Tour 4 Days lived up to your expectations and left you with some wonderful Memories. Thank you for touring with us 🚴‍♂️🌞🚴‍♀️🏝
David H
David H
2023-07-18
Verified
Sumptuous landscapes The tour lived up to all its promises. Sumptuous landscapes, breathtaking views and picturesque stops. The stages were easy to complete in a day, despite the hills and unpaved sections (you need a suitable bike, which was the case for us). The welcome in the accommodation was always excellent, friendly and attentive. The quality lived up to our expectations. Unfortunately we didn't manage to use the GPS application provided, but with the step-by-step guide we were able to recreate the route easily on Google maps. This trip has left us with some wonderful ans unforgettable memories. Estelle and David, Switzerland
Advertisement
estherheld
estherheld
2023-07-01
Verified
6-days luxury Cornish cycling tour Very well organized cycling trip including baggage transport and fantastic accommodation with well chosen hotels and rooms. The detailed cycling instructions, maps and app were very helpful and the documentation was very accurate. The bicycles were in very good technical conditions. The transport of our suitcases was fabulous, our bags arrived in the next hotel always in time. The scenery of the cliffs, beaches and coves was fantastic and we were glad to have hired e-bikes to cycle through the hilly areas of Cornwall. We had an outstanding experience and enjoyed every day of our tour.
Sandra_H040
Sandra_H040
2023-06-20
Verified
Great tour in beautiful scenery! We booked the 4 days Penwith tour and had the best of times! Everything was well prepared by Cornish Cycle Tours and the contact was lovely. The distances per day were not very long but considering the steep hills in this area, it can still be a challenge. I highly recommend to book e-bikes for this tour! Many thanks again to Lanyon & Co for the fantastic service. We enjoyed the tour very much it it was a great opener to our Cornwall Holidays.
Michelle Bourke
Michelle Bourke
2023-06-16
What an amazing trip! Lanyon could not have been any more helpful-our ebikes were fantastic and much appreciated on those tough Cornish hills! Accomodation was spot on also. Many thanks for lots of great memories!
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2023-06-16
Hi Michelle. Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We're delighted to hear you had an amazing holiday and memories. Thank you also for choosing us as your holiday provider 👍
Graeme David
Graeme David
2023-04-04
Four of us from Australia did the five-day Cornwall tour. The service provided by Lanyon Rowe was excellent. Lanyon was at all times obliging, and the equipment provided to us (including bikes) was excellent. We had some minor misadventures including a broken seat (caused by a frisky wayward little dog on a trail in the woods somewhere) that stalled us for a couple of hours, but a replacement was got to us as soon as possible. The tour route including roads, trails, towns, and accommodation provided us with a great introduction to south Cornwall. We have done various rides in parts of the world, and this was up there with the best in the 'developed' countries. Well done Lanyon.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2022-10-04
Dear Graeme David. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and letting us know that the service provided form us was excellent. I was sorry to hear that a dog on one of the trails ran out in front of you causing an accident. This is not something we have experienced before but there are irresponsible dog owners out there that don't keep there dogs on leads and i think you were just unlucky to come across one that ran right out in front of you. I am glad that despite this happening early on in your tour you still managed to have a good holiday and that you considered your tour of South Cornwall to be up there with the best that you've cycled in the developed countries. It was a joy to have you tour with us and thank you for choosing us as your Cycle tour operator 🚴‍♂️🏝🚴‍♀️🐕🚴‍♂️🚴🏼 Many Thanks Lanyon.
Advertisement
Alison Sandercock
Alison Sandercock
2022-10-11
Lanyon customised a tour for me to suit adding an extra night of accommodation. Cornwall put on a show with the weather, sunshine and 16 degrees which made riding a delight. The bike was in excellent condition and daily luggage pick up was seamless. Thank you Lanyon for a great couple of days through quiet scenic Cornwall streets and villages. October a perfect time to ride :)
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2022-10-11
Dear Alison Sandercock, We are pleased to hear you had a great time on your West Cornwall Tour and we agree with you that providing you hit the weather right that October can be a perfect time to take your holiday. Thank you for deciding to book your Cycling holiday with us and thank you for taking the time to leave a review 🌞🚴‍♀️🏝
Torsten
Torsten
2022-10-04
We did the 14 days Cornwall & Isles of Scilly Tour. A wonderful and very active vacation. Our tour was adapted a bit without losing anything of its appeal. And this was the ultimate proof of Cornish Cycle Tours' vast experience and service orientation. Ten out of ten! Would do it again with you, Lanyon. Thank's a lot.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2022-10-04
Dear Torsten Graf. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful holiday. Thank you for your five star review and deciding to take your cycling holiday with us 👍
Lynne Sim
Lynne Sim
2022-09-25
After 2 cancellations due to Covid we finally made it to the UK and the long awaited 8 day Poldark Tour. Cycling along the narrow country lanes through the picturesque fishing villages, past golden sandy beaches with me on the written directions and husband in charge of the GPS staying on the "blue line" it was all fun and adventure. Our favourite day was cycling between Sennen Cove and St Ives with the dry stone walls dividing the green fields and the ruins of the stacks and engine rooms of the old tin mines silhouetted against the blue sea - pure Cornwall. Full marks for communication and organisation of this tour. Thanks for the memories, Lanyon
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2022-09-26
Dear Lynne Sim. We were delighted that you finally made it to Cornwall to take your cycling holiday after the long wait. I am pleased to hear that you had a good Adventure and lasting memories of your time in Cornwall. Thank you for your 5 ⭐️ review and thank you for deciding to take your cycling holiday with us 🚴‍♀️🏝🚴‍♂️
Holly B
Holly B
2022-09-16
Verified
A wonderful adventure! We just returned from a fabulous trip with Cornish Cycles starting in Falmouth and then on to Sennen Cove, St Ives, Porthleven, and back to Falmouth. I wasn’t too sure what to expect, but Lanyon did an amazing job with providing quality bikes, clear routes, and great inns. Lanyon is very organized, kind, and runs a top-notch business! I highly recommend using Cornish Cycles for your self-guided tour. The towns and countryside are gorgeous, the people are kind, and the hills were bigger than expected. Get ready! You might also want to pack rain gear. This tour was really the highlight of our 2 week visit to England! Thank you for providing such wonderful service Cornish Cycles!
Advertisement
Monik Kotecha
Monik Kotecha
2022-08-28
I am very glad I chose Cornish Cycle Tours. Lanyon helped me build an itinerary that suited our interests. He was extremely friendly and approachable. The whole trip went smoothly with excellent accomodation and recommendations for places to see and eat. A truely memorable bike ride with my son.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2022-08-28
Dear Monik Kotecha. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review We are delighted to hear that everything went well on your 5 day West Cornwall Tour and that you have good memories of your cycling holiday 🚴‍♂️🏝🚴🏼🍺
Barbara Stebbins
Barbara Stebbins
2022-08-26
This was a trip of a lifetime - Cornwall will not disappoint . Both inland and coastal areas are one stunning view after another. We took the Luxury Tour, which gave us wonderful lodging and meals. Cornwall is VERY hilly, so be prepared for lots of ups and downs, gravel paths, and narrow country roads that you will share with cars and lorries, but generally done well. We used e-bikes, and frankly we could not have done this tour without them. Had a few bike issues, but Lanyon was on it immediately and got us back on the road in a very short time. We found it very helpful to use an app called Komoot, to assist with navigation. Working from the paper instructions was a bit difficult.
Reply from Cornish Cycle Tours 2022-08-26
Dear Barb & Lee. I am delighted to hear that your 6 Day Luxury tour was a success and that in despite of the Cornish Hills you enjoyed The Sights, The Food and your accommodation. I am pleased that you enjoyed the E-Bikes which made the Cornish Hills that bit easier. Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Cornish Cycle Tours as your holiday, Your custom is much appreciated 🚴‍♀️⛵️🍷🚴‍♂️🏨🏝
Tjansen
Tjansen
2022-08-25
Verified
Oplev skønne Cornwall på e-bike We have just done The Poldark Cycle Tour. A fantastic trip with stays at lovely inns and B&Bs. The contact with Lanyon from planning to completion of the trip was fantastic. We can only recommend the company.