15 The Crescent

15 The Crescent Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
15 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (15)
Craig
Craig
2023.04.26
9.0 Verified
Superb ☺ The facilities available at the property were excellent, especially the little extras like a buggy to transport kit for beach was a nice touch and well received. The ability to park 3 cars at the property was unusual for a town centre location, which was appreciated ☹ The inability to adjust the temperature of the property was a bug bear. The house manual was clear that no attempt to adjust it should be made. Consequently we didn't but it did make our stay less comfortable. It also didn't feel right to open doors to cool the place down, but that's what was necessary at times.
Advertisement
Visitor100UK
Visitor100UK
2021.10.21
Verified
If you love walking and scenery this is the house for you. Location Location Location is very true here. The glass frontage to the house offers amazing views and a brilliant place to sit and watch the sunsets. [keep watching after dark and you may see the owl] You can see the coastal path from the house. There are also great inland walks and there are country views from the back. Great choice of places to eat in Widemouth Bay and Bude. Plenty of parking too. You won't regret staying here.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2021.10.22
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at ‘Poldare’.
tiredandtested
tiredandtested
2021.08.19
Verified
Ideal for groups who need parking as well as fantastic views! I have been coming to Bude for over fifty years, and introduced my own children along time ago. We know the area very well, and love the views and walks, as well as surf. This was our first trip with everyone (as in partners) present for nine years, so space for three cars was a priority, as well as three proper sized bedrooms for adults...Poldare also has a bunk room for children. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen and dining spaces are big enough for this sized group, and the games table was an unexpected bonus...even though the cable & plug for the air hockey was too short to reach the nearest socket...but table tennis and pool were played a fair bit. The garden is large and level, so would be good for younger children to play safely, and there are two outdoor taps to rinse sand off the wetsuits etc....the old beachside showers seem to have disappeared on all three local beaches, so this was really important. Broadband is rather patchy in Widemouth as a whole, and although the owners have the latest BT system, it was still quite slow to load, even for browsing, let alone streaming. There is, however, a cupboard with board games, so a week of relative digital detox is not a catastrophe! This is certainly a property we would revisit in future for an adult family group, as well as with children
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2021.08.19
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Linda B
Linda B
2021.06.25
Verified
A lovely property that is very well equipped with fantastic views. This is the 3rd year we have stayed in “Poldare”. It’s a lovely property and the view is fantastic. It is close to both Bude and Widemouth beaches, restaurants and shops. Gina and Bridget are always “on hand” if you have any queries either before you go or while you are there. We had a really good holiday and will definitely be going there again.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2021.07.03
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your 3rd stay at ‘Poldare’.
Tracey F
Tracey F
2019.08.10
Verified
Beautiful Our second time in this superb house. Appointed beautifully with no expense spared. So much light and space. The coast path and sea on the doorstep. Easy drive into Bude for supplies. We were 8 of us, aged 6 - 65. We all had a ball.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2019.08.11
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at 'Poldare'.
Advertisement
Cheryl B
Cheryl B
2019.06.15
Verified
Stunning Kiwi House Poldare We have just arrived home after an amazing week in the Kiwi House.Myself,Husband,Mum,Daughter,Son in Law and 4 year old Grandson.The View is breathtaking less than a mile to Bude itself,Situated on the coast Rd which in June was not at all busy.The attention to detail in this beautiful property is 5*** Even down to little steps for children to use toilet or to wash hands.Nothing and I mean nothing is missing in this property.It is very high spec throughout.I would have no hesitation in recommending this outstanding accomodation to anyone. Cannot wait to book again or use any Breakwaters Holiday Homes. Below view from Poldare.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2019.06.16
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Getaway766991
Getaway766991
2019.04.22
Verified
Great property. Great location. Our 2nd year running at Poldare, and certainly not our last. It’s difficult to beat its clifftop location - ok the road is a little busy and noisy at times but the views over to the sea more than make up for it, and having the coast path immediately outside your front door is wonderful. The house itself is decorated with quality materials throughout and it’s larger than you think it could be form the outside. The kitchen is filled with top-quality equipment, and cooking while watching the sun set over the sea is one if the great joys of staying here.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2019.04.26
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at ‘Poldare’
Tracey F
Tracey F
2018.08.28
Verified
A great house for a big group This house has a wonderful location on the cliff top with sea views - the sun sets right opposite the fabulous floor to ceiling windows at the front. The cliff path runs past the door on the other side of the road and was used every morning for glorious walks either to Bude or Widemouth Bay itself. The house is very well equipped and there are some extra special touches (safety plugs for small children, games, quality bed linens and a vg welcome cake!) All the rooms are spacious but the open plan kitchen/dining/living room was perfect for our mixed group of friends, family and children. Lots of team cooking and some fun games. We didn't have the greatest weather but still had a fabulous holiday and Poldare was a big part of that.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2018.09.03
Thank you for your lovely review we’re really pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Linda B
Linda B
2018.06.18
Verified
A beautiful property in a lovely location. A beautiful property and very well equipped. It had lovely views across the coastal paths and out to sea. It was also well situated being near to both Widemouth Bay and Bude. We had a really good holiday and hope to go again.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2018.06.21
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Advertisement
Getaway766991
Getaway766991
2018.04.15
Verified
Spacious, high-quality throughout, great location. Poldare is on top of the hill about a mile south of Bude and sits on top of the cliff overlooking stunning coastline. There is a road between the house and the cliff edge which carries some fairy fast-moving traffic, but it's never unpleasantly busy and is almost completely unused at night, making the location very quiet from dusk onwards. The beach is not accessible from immediately outside the house, but the walk to Widemouth Bay along the coast path is a about 20 minutes and is a lovely way to arrive at the sea. The owners have clearly made a great effort to equip the property with the best equipment and furnishings available - everything from the toaster and the kettle, through to the mattresses and pillows are top of the range. The Sonos and the Nespresso machine were also very welcome. The layout of the house is unusual but generally works really well - with the bedrooms mainly on the ground floor but separated from the main living quarters, so those that go to bed earlier are not disturbed by those who stay up later. The only slightly odd part of the design is the lack of a door to the upstairs bedroom - it (and its ensuite) take up the whole of the upper floor and the stairway is effectively the threshold. It wasn't an issue for us but could be for others because the noise from downstairs is very apparent. Widemouth Bay is a great place to stay, with an excellent pub and restaurant within easy walking distance. And Bude is close enough to be a useful hub even though the location feels very removed from the town. Would definitely stay again.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2018.06.02
Thank you for taking the time to review 'Poldare'. We will pass your comments on to the owner. We would love to welcome you back!
CherlyT
CherlyT
2017.10.16
Verified
Wow Sited overlooking the sea , Poldare is a very comfortable & well equipped house. Coast path just over the road . Care needed to cross though . Although not a busy road when we was there the cars did drive very fast. The house is extremely well equipped with stunning views. Bedding high quality , comfortable beds. Pleasure to cook in the kitchen .
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2017.10.30
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at ‘Poldare’.
Andy_J_notts
Andy_J_notts
2017.09.20
Verified
Location 1/2 mile to beach short drive to Bude - quiet, good view, spacious property Lovely house - somewhat expensive, but didn't let us down with local amenities and well maintained house. The managers especially Bridget were great - helped with our needs for a smaller person - travel cot, stair guard, high chair = 5* help. If it is warm - it could have done with a few pedestal fans. The first floor room attracted the warmth. That said - we managed ok. Open plan may not suit all families with young ones as cupboards, TV, cooker are easy reach items so supervision is needed. At the rear the BBQ and patio set were lovely to use. I would recommend a gate at the side and a small fence past the wheelie bin to make it totally enclosed (for kids it would be safer as main road can get busy with fast cars). Lots of places to eat locally and in Bude. we had very nice meals at two places within walking distance. Take-away - hard to get to delivered - so collect is advised - especially Tapas and Indian meals. Beaches were very good and typical of cornwall - clean and well manned with lifeguards. Sunsets are spectacular.... I would come again to this area - lots to offer for sightseeing and relaxing, adults and kids alike. The property is in an enviable location and wont disappoint - although just wished the price per week not as high.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2017.09.23
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at 'Poldare' The owners plan to have gates and fences fitted in the coming months.
andrew504
andrew504
2017.08.27
Verified
a stylish spacious home in an ideal setting with just a few little niggles The location of the property is great, close to Bude and 2 minutes drive from the fantastic Widemouth beach. The coastal path is just over the road and provides great views and walks and there were beautiful sunsets streaming into the living room. As for the house itself it is clear that some thought has gone into providing a stylish, minimal, spacious living experience and the kitchen is well equipped and well laid out, one of the best we have ever had. The outside space is more than adequate for outside eating and relaxing. Though there were niggly issues that just shouldn't have existed - the upstairs bedroom had no door on the bedroom, either at the top or bottom of the stairs so bang went any privacy! The en-suite bathroom had only a shower hose attached to the bath which spurted water all over the floor as there was no screen and the tiny designer wash basin would splatter water all over your clothes if used , and bending down to try and wash your face meant risking poking your eye out on the tap! With no hooks on the door or chair to lay clothes on they had to just be dumped on the floor and with no decent mirror in any of the bedrooms my girls ended up with a portable one on their laps getting ready on the floor, again no chairs or dressing tables when there is plenty of room for such. We couldn't work out if the playful kitchen chairs actually fitted the size of the table and some of our party could almost rest their chins on the table top when sitting down. Having said that I would recommend family groups to try Poldare out - we have stayed at 2 other cottages in the village over the years and it would only take a little more thought to iron out these issues (and a lot of thought has gone into other areas) which to be honest we did not let detract from a great holiday in a fantastic part of the country with so much to see and do..
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2017.08.28
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We will pass these comments to the owners. Despite these issues we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at 'Poldare'.
Advertisement
Torspo
Torspo
2017.08.23
Verified
Lovely Week in Cornwall (Apart from the changeable weather!) We stayed here for a week in August. The kitchen is very well equipped and the house has a fantastic view over the sea and is only seconds from the coastal path. The youngest of our party of 7 was 10 and we found the house setup more towards families with younger children. There is only 1 usable shower (the 2nd is an over the bath style) which when you all get back in after a day at the beach can be a bit troublesome. A few changes would be make this much better. Here are some of our suggestions: Install at least 1 full length mirror. There are none in the house at the moment and only small mirrors over the sinks. Consider putting a door somewhere in the master bedroom, at present it just an open stairway which gives no privacy Provide some bigger pans, cooking fajitas for all of us had to be done in 3 different pans. Provide another fridge. The single fridge / freezer just isn't big enough on it's own Considering everything in the kitchen is John Lewis or Le Crueset upgrade the BBQ tools. Provide more garden furniture. The large outdoor table and chairs are great for dining outside, but for relaxing there are only 2 loungers. Provide more than 1 bath mat for the downstairs bathroom. By the time the 7th person had their shower it was soaking The internet struggled with 4 kids devices, if it's possible to upgrade it that would be great Waterproof the areas around the baths with tiles? Blackout blinds in the main bedroom The house came supplied with basics such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, bin liners, iron, ironing board, washing machine etc. which was a great help. The small supermarket just down the road does all the basics and fresh hot baguettes, croissants etc in the morning as well as having a fresh fish counter. Elements which is just a 2 min walk up the hill towards Bude is brilliant, but make sure you book if you don't want to be disappointed! In Bude the Tasty Pasty does an amazing take away cream tea (4 for £3.50) which we had twice and took back to the house and made use of the teapot! Whilst we were there we also went surfing and coasteering with Freewave (high recommended) as well as horse riding with Broomhill Manor. Bridget from Breakwater Holidays was an absolute pleasure to deal with.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2017.08.23
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review-we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your comments and will pass them to the owner.
Katy L
Katy L
2017.05.06
Verified
Perfect family set up A short break that revitalised us. We found the distance from London, more than manageable and straightforward. The set up of bedrooms suited our family, with lovely bright bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable with beautiful linen and we slept well as it was so quiet. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of plates, cups and cooking equipment. Loved the kiwi charms! Our evenings were spent in the living area which had a stunning view of the sea, with stunning sunsets. The living area could be closed off from the sleeping areas, giving the kids peace and quiet. We walked our 9 and 11 year old to nearby Widemouth bay and Bude town on different days, sampling friendly cafes in both places. Bude has a huge supermarket and indoor pool which was a great rainy day activity. We even took the kids horse riding locally. I think the owners have put a lot of thought into the set up if this house. It had everything a family needs.
Reply from 15 The Crescent 2017.05.07
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.