Andrew Jay's School of Music

Andrew Jay's School of Music Reviews

Excellent rating
4.7
26 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (26)
Penelope Brown
Penelope Brown
2024.04.13
I have been with Andrew Jay school of music for around 2 years now, and have had the delightful experience of being taught by a few of the different members of staff now. They are all very friendly and knowledgeable and have made me feel comfortable and more confident every lesson. I can honestly say it was one of the best choices I’ve made. A very warm and relaxing environment, Would 100% recommend.
Reply from Andrew Jay's School of Music 2022.02.22
Hi Penny! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Andrew Jay's School of Music! Thank you for your such kind words! I've had such fun helping you improve your vocal technique and sound! We've had such fun and a good laugh! Looking forward to seeing you continue to grow! Thank you again! Andrew x
Alison Chisholm
Alison Chisholm
2024.02.01
My daughter loved her 1st lesson with Emma. She came out with a big smile afterwards.
Abi Cornish
Abi Cornish
2023.12.05
Andrew has been giving drum lessons to my teenage son for a number of months now and we have been really happy with his communication with us and how much my son is learning from the lessons I hope to get my son to give a review also as he is the one experiencing the lessons but he has really enjoyed them and is much improved Thanks Andrew
Robert Perkins
Robert Perkins
2023.08.02
Having decided after many years muddling through music I came to the conclusion to take the plunge and educate myself a little further. I am very fortunate to have found a gem of a teacher in Andrew. Andrew has a rare quality to understand where you are on your musical journey, he teaches at a pace that is tailored to your requirements and employs many different techniques. Lessons are engaging and fun! Real world tips and tricks based upon an incredibly solid musical foundation! Don't be afraid! go for it! It doesn't matter what age or ability! Andrew has it covered!
Senary Dice
Senary Dice
2023.03.24
low-level
Reply from Andrew Jay's School of Music 2023.03.24
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very sorry to hear that you feel our Music School is 'low-level'. However. it is very disappointing that you aren't able to give more insight into your feedback and opinions on your experience with our music school. Based on the name that accompanies your review, I am also not able to see any record of you having ever made an enquiry with us, nor have you attended any lessons with us. With this in mind, I'd really welcome the opportunity to have a conversation with you about your experience with Andrew Jay's School of Music so I can understand the basis upon which you have felt you needed to leave us a 1 star review and describe us as 'Low Level'. Therefore, I'd be ever so grateful if you could get in touch with us either by phone on 01883338330, or by email at enquiries@andrewjay-schoolofmusic.co.u so I can speak with your directly. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Kind Regards, Andrew Managing Director
Nadine Torrilla
Nadine Torrilla
2023.01.08
I was nervous and excited to start learning a musical instrument in my late 20s but Andrew is so patient, fun and I look forward to my lessons every week. I felt comfortable asking questions (or making mistakes!) and learned so much more than I expected in a short period of time. I would highly recommend to anyone deciding the learn an instrument to go here, it’s never too late and he will guide you through!
Karen Lonergan
Karen Lonergan
2022.10.18
Thank you so very much Andrew for making our Vow Renewal day so special. Andrew was simply wonderful from beginning to end, he really understood our requirements and his audience. He was highly professional and his vocals were absolutely brilliant. He captivated our guests with his outstanding showmanship and excellent repertoire. We could not have asked for anything more. We cannot recommend him highly enough.
Emma M
Emma M
2022.07.18
Andrew gave some singing lessons to my daughter to prepare her for a school performance. My daughter said that he was very patient and encouraging, and very knowledgeable about singing techniques and how to improve her voice. Even though she could only have a few lessons (because there was not much time before the performance), she felt that it really helped her to improve and boosted her confidence. Thank you, Andrew!
Julia Venables
Julia Venables
2022.05.09
I have found Andrew Jay's to be very helpful, very friendly and flexible to our needs. Easy to be intouch with, communicating has been really good. My 16 yr old daughter has loved her bass guitar lessons and comes out much happier every time. She has learnt loads. Thankyou I will continue to book lessons.
Sarah Hadley
Sarah Hadley
2022.05.03
Having trained as a classical musician (some 40 years ago) on piano, organ and clarinet it is a joy now to be working with Andrew's contemporary approach to vocal coaching as he leads me to find my singing voice. This multi-dimensional approach encompasses: * The anatomy of the voice, encouraging your understanding of the optimum physical use your body as an instrument * Demonstrating creative insight and interpretation to engage your musicality * Teaching bespoke vocal techniques, tailored to your unique voice to create optimum vocal production ....All of this happens within a lesson characteristically packed full of laughter ... I couldn't ask for more
Dean Woolford
Dean Woolford
2022.05.02
Been having drumming lessons for a couple of months now,nice, relaxed environment. Andrew is a very chilled so you don't feel pressured if you are struggling to learn something. Definitely recommend him.
minu simons
minu simons
2022.03.30
This is a review written by my 12 year old son who recently stared guitar lessons with Henry at Andrew Jay's - School of Music. "The 45 minutes lessons are very productive. After the session is over I definitely take something away from the lesson and add the new tips to my playing straight after. The videos provided by Henry are helpful to slowly memorise the piece bit by bit. I like the style of teaching which focuses mainly on learning the music - that's what I want to do and not make it less fun by introducing grading. My tutor helps me to tune my guitar at the start of the lesson to make sure I get proper sound and also provides an amp for my lesson which really saves me from bringing my whole kit. Henry has helped me to regain my confidence back in Guitar! A 5 star to Henry and will definitely recommend him"
Julian Hardy
Julian Hardy
2022.03.30
Andrew is currently teaching me the drums and is a amazing teacher. He is patient and makes you feel totally at ease so the whole experience is enjoyable. I really feel I am making progress and cannot recommend enough. Five stars from me! 👍
Emilie O'Neill
Emilie O'Neill
2022.03.17
Andrew is teaching piano to my son who was struggling with enthusiasm after a 5 years of piano. He had lost the humph in my music... Well no longer. Andrew is providing fun and energetic lessons which challenge my son who is now interested and is making good progress in his learning.
Martyna Bajoraite
Martyna Bajoraite
2022.03.15
Brilliant teacher!
Paula Robins
Paula Robins
2022.02.23
Andrew has been amazing at a very traumatic time in my life....I'm not looking to be the best singer, I just wanna find my voice :) Andrew is funny and puts me at ease every time I'm with him....and we laugh a lot too :)
Devrim Celik
Devrim Celik
2022.02.22
They pay their tutors £20/hr, that’s %45 less than musician union’s rate of £36/hr. Stand behind your teacher and stay away from these exploiters at any cost. Don’t forget, no highly skilled musician would accept such a rate.
Reply from Andrew Jay's School of Music 2022.02.22
Hi Devrim, Thank you for your review of Andrew Jay's School of Music. I see that you are disappointed and frustrated to see that following an advert we posted looking to take on some new instrumental tutors, we are offering a rate of £20 p/hr. I accept that the MU suggests that a rate of £36 p/hr is recommended for self-employed teachers however, you have neglected to mention that this is a recommended rate for those conducting work privately as opposed to services being delivered on behalf of another company. In addition, there is no legislation that mandates a minimum rate per hour for the remuneration of Music Teachers and so it is down to the teach to make an assessment as to whether the rate being offered of a fair amount. Once again, thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. Kind Regards, Andrew Jay's School of Music
Kerrie
Kerrie
2022.02.21
Andrews is an amazing and patient teacher, he is always focused on my daughters needs and ability and thrives for her to progress. He is always on time and my 7 year old daughter has enjoyed learning the piano, would highly recommend.
Reply from Andrew Jay's School of Music 2022.02.22
Hi Kerrie! Thank you for taking the time to review Andrew Jay's School of Music! Its been such a pleasure teaching your daughter and have really enjoyed seeing her skills and knowledge of both the piano and music grow! Thank you so much for choosing me to teach her! Looking forward to seeing her growth continue! Andrew x
Bonnie Cooke
Bonnie Cooke
2022.01.19
Absolutely incredible. Professional Fun Perfect Organised set list however was extremely amenable to change. This is a late review but I will 100% use Andrew again. He is a true professional and an incredible entertainer. Everything from Diva to Rap. Made our entire night and had people dancing on the evening and talking post performance.
Amber Light
Amber Light
2021.12.15
I really enjoyed my first lesson and taster session with Andrew. He makes you feel at ease and it’s a fun environment. He knows his craft, and is super encouraging to help you achieve what you want. I’m looking forward to improving on my singing journey with his expertise.