Air India Reviews

Air India Reviews

1.8

Below average - based on 520 reviews

www.airindia.in
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (494)
Celine Fernandes
2024-02-18
Excellent service Flight no IX 893 travelling from mangalore to kwt on 18th Feb I was not keeping well due acidity issues, I was worried for my journey might be not able to do it. When I went board inside the flight seat no 10F .I approached crew member I did not see his name( but he is A male) I told him that I need some kind of candy to chew, immediately he went and bought candy and gave it me.. it was really help me and i traveled comfortably... thanks for your great help and service .even other crew members are also very helpful. Thanku soo much. God bless you all.
Advertisement
Kaushal
Kaushal
2024-02-04
Flight canceled by Air India for more than 36 hours and no refund, no accommodation from Air India to his passenger. Only wait at the airport without any services or help from air line or airport ath.
Shan
Shan
2024-01-22
This is one of the worst airlines anyone wants to fly. Broken sheets, poor customer service from flight crew, bad quality foods, dirty bath rooms and so forth. I thought the quality has improved after Tata took over but it's worst. You pay for the tickets and service but you get nothing. Very rude flight attendants, ignoring passenger request, no water to drink, etc.
Mehul
Mehul
2024-01-09
Hello Team, Please update us on the status of file reference no.**. I have been calling since Sunday on below no. with no response. **. Also, I have been told to call WhatsApp no. **. I can see that person saw my messages, I requested them to return my call but didn't call me back as well didn't pick-up my call. This bag is very important to us, we have BHAGVAT GITA and 1 GOLD PLATED SHREE KRISHNA PHOTO FRAME in this bag. Please let us know, what you have found in our bag and let us know when we will get it in our bag at our given location. Appreciated an update at the earliest. With Regards! Mehul
Man
Man
2024-01-09
We flew back and forth from Chicago to New Delhi on Air India in late 12 December 2023 and 3 Jan 2024. Based on my experience, I would not give even 1 star rating but unfortunately (1 star) is the lowest you can go. Broken seats, Monitor not working, lights not working, poor cleanliness is cited in multiple other reviews seemed minor compare to my experience on the flight. We paid $2400/ticket. Here are my experiences: In both flights the soap finished within 15mins of flight start time and passengers and flight crew was using bathrooms without washing hands in 16hr flight. Especially flight crew who is serving the food to people after doing number #2 and without washing the hands. I asked flight attendants for soap in Chicago to New Delhi. They said, "they don't soap, because at Chicago they don't replenish the Soap in Plane". In flight from New Delhi to Chicago flight attendant rudely told me that "they don't have soap". This is very serious concern for health and safety of customers!! Putting $2 soap in the bathroom doesn't cost much to Air India especially when they charging $2400/ticket. 2hours before landing, four bathrooms of the plane were blocked up and dirty sewer was all over the floor, which was very gross.
Advertisement
Scott
Scott
2024-01-07
Wife and I had an air India flight from Bangalore to Chicago with a connection in Delhi. Flight from Bangalore was delayed. Just before we left Bangalore we got a notice that the 2:30 pm departure from Delhi was delayed until 9:30am. A 9 hour delay, great, all night on an airport bench. When we arrived at Delhi AI was, apparently, trying to segregate Chicago, Toronto (which was delayed as well) bound passengers and put them in a hotel. Not that they announced it, but there was a huge crowd blocking the transfer gate so I asked what was going on. Well, ok. This is when the nightmare started. After 3 attempts got registered with AI that we were on the Chicago flight. No communication from the staff what was going on. Information was word of mouth from the crowd of confused AI passenger’s. No one really knew what was going on. AI finally said taxis would take us to a hotel. Total mob confusion and pushing as passengers rush to get in taxis. Which taxis? What hotel? Drivers didn’t even know. Twenty minutes later headed for a hotel AI apparently arranged. Never heard of it. Got to a little crappy hotel and a hundred passengers pushing and yelling to get rooms. Nothing was arranged. Where are we ? How do we get a room? How do we get back? A mob of pissed taxi drivers trying to get someone to pay for the fares for all these passengers they just brought over. Turns out that no AI staff even came along. Fast forwarding through the horror story, 2 hours later, 2:00 am, AI still had not contacted the hotel, not one person had checked in. Passengers screaming and yelling at the hotel staff and each other. Kids crying. Realizing this was going nowhere, Wife and I called and booked another hotel and got an Uber to take us there. Make our own arrangements to get back to airport in the morning. Finally on flight to Chicago. Wife’s infotainment system doesn’t work. UBS ports on our row are broken and taped over. This experience again reflects AI total incompetence and disregard for their customers. If this is how AI handles what we CAN see, it raises concerns how they handle areas that we CAN’T see. In summary, one of my worst travel experiences, thanks AI. We will never book a flight with AI again, even if it is free.
Andrew
Andrew
2023-12-21
Air India, now owned by Tata, a for-profit Indian company, seems to believe that it is acceptable to charge for a world-class experience while delivering a well-below-average, stress-inducing experience on a 16-hour direct flight. The mental stress is related to safety concerns evoked by observable damage to structural parts of seats. I have pictures of the poor condition of the aircraft. If Tata/Air India doesn’t care about cabin integrity and safety issues customers see in the economy section, where on the list of items to care about are things that customer cannot see. For example, are regular maintenance checks of the aircraft and maintenance of systems to ensure safety on this list? Based on the following quote, the answer seems to be a resounding “NO!” “Air India failed an internal safety audit verified by the DGCA, which revealed significant lapses in the airline's operations. The audit found that Air India falsified reports for all 13 safety checkpoints, with unauthorized signatures and non-compliance with mandated checks.Aug 26, 2023.” (Source: **) My November, 2023 in-flight experience on Air India prompted a list of what to expect and not expect should you choose to fly on Air India. My standard for a reasonable economy experience is shaped by my travel experience on Emirates, economy class. On Air India, expect to pay top tier pricing. I paid ~$2200 for an economy seat in November on a direct flight from San Francisco, USA to Delhi, INDIA. Expect a well-below-average experience that does not match the price of the ticket. Do not expect to feel safe on the flight in the event of severe turbulence. The frame of the seat in front of me had two cracks that went all the way through the frame of the back support, making it seem like the seat could break under stress and fall in my lap. Interestingly, I was relaying my experience to a relative who said the seat ahead of hers actually fell on her during a flight on Air India. Do not expect to be safe on an Air India plane. This applies to all passenger classes. As indicated by the August, 2023 article cited above, maintenance of the aircraft to ensure safety for all customers is not a basic priority for Air India. Do not expect a comfortable seat. Do not expect the seat to recline. Do not expect to fit in your seat if your hips exceed 39 inches. Do not expect your food to be cooked well. Do not expect a functioning entertainment console. If you’re traveling with children, good luck. Do not expect an A/C outlet and/or USB-C charging port. My seat had a USB-A port, which did not work. Do not expect world-class service in economy for many, many years. Tata has targeted its transformation for above economy class at the cost of the economy experience. Do not expect your economy experience on Air India to make you feel proud to be of Indian origin. I was literally embarrassed by the condition of the plane. How could Tata, a company so advanced in so many ways, contributing to the most advanced economies of the world, not be able to get the basics of customer service, cleanliness, hygiene, and equipment maintenance right? If you are of Indian origin and are looking for things to be proud of, look elsewhere. Based on my stressful in-flight experience and the fact that maintenance of the aircraft to ensure safety for all customers is not a basic priority for Air India (see article link cited above), I do not recommend you fly with Air India.
Karunesh
Karunesh
2023-11-30
SFO-DEL is a 16-hour nonstop flight and it is expected that the quality of service would be highest on this long flight. Air India flight rates very poor compared to Emirates, Turkish, Etihad or any other airlines on this sector. The only positive is flight time- 16 hrs to Delhi. Seats are broken, Toilets are not as clean as expected, In-flight entertainment works on very few seats with majority nonfunctional, food quantity and quality is poor, snacks are very rare to find, staff is so so. Even drinks selection on flight is very poor. I will say except being non stop flight, there is nothing good about this Airlines. Overall despite TATA takeover, no change is seen. I doubt if TATA can make this airline turn around. Most Expensive Fares amongst all Airlines, Yet most poor service. You will feel cheated, looted.
Kamini
Kamini
2023-10-23
It was my parents, my sister and I. We all flew business class from Newark to Bombay. The comfort, the legroom, and the cleanliness was unspeakable. However, the food I was very highly dissatisfied with. They started our journey with cold baba ganoush, and cold hummus with hard bread. I would like to say as I looked around 65% of passengers were elderly. That as a starter no one seemed to enjoy. Out of the Asian elders did not even know what baba ganoush was. An elder couple behind me asked them to help me with their order as they were wanted veg only. I was happy to help. For the main course, it was an option between paneer or millet steak (vegetarian). As the air hostess was coming around to take our order, she tried to convince me and my family to order the millet steak saying it’s very good. I told her I would not like that, and I wanted the paneer. After two mins she came to inform us they all are out of panner and the rest of us will get millet steak. I was seating in seat number 9; I couldn’t imagine why we paid so much more for business class; when we didn’t even have a choice what we want as a main meal. The millet steak was so disgusting. Everyone behind me and towards the back of business class was upset. Finally towards our landing, we were served frozen chat and a “veg grilled sandwich” which was in fact only bread and cold squash in it. It was making me vomiting because it was so bitter and tasted slimy and tasteless. The whole food experience was disgusting, I wish I could have at least one good item, the desserts were cold and too sweet to eat.
Advertisement
Kuldeep Singh
2023-10-08
Excellent service clean plane
Meena
Meena
2023-09-26
Had to fly from Kochi-Chicago. Transfer in Delhi. Reached Gate number 26 for boarding. Came to know flight delayed by 9 hours. No information was shared on email regarding the delay. No accommodation nor food coupon provided at the Delhi International Airport. Sat for 9 hours like a homeless in the airport waiting for the boarding to take place. Inflight experience: Broken trays, no TV flight entertainment, no juices and water provided, economy passengers treated like **. In Chicago Airport baggage took one hour and thirty minutes to come on the belt. No Air-India staff was available. What a horrible travelling experience. Air-India is like a tuk-tuk now.
Tanu
Tanu
2023-08-09
Purchased United Airlines Ticket which clearly indicated 8 check in bags were allowed, 2 per passenger and had a code share flight with Air India which was the first leg of travel from New Delhi, India to London, UK where they denied one bag for my Infant and wasted my time which could have leaded to miss my flights and caused lot of inconvenience to my baby 7 months old and I was being forced to pay for the 8th Bag which they charged almost 3 times which is the normal price of an additional bag. My source of truth was the tickets issued by United Airlines which clearly indicated two bags for my infant which they bluntly denied. Worst experience Ever and I cannot even think of trying Air India again in future. They have staff of Babu's which go with their own pace, took almost 1.5 hours just for check in process and getting forced to purchase that additional bad when I was second in queue. Fun part, During flight, Air India did not had stirrers to mix sugar in Tea, upon asking they gave another cup and said mix it by pouring in this cup. :) Can't imagine how bad they are at their job.
Kendall
Kendall
2023-08-06
Air India delayed our flight over SIX hrs. Family of 4. They provided no food or drinks. We weren't allowed to leave the airport as we were in transit. They delayed the flight due to operational needs (waited for connecting passengers). And are refusing compensation. The bathrooms on the plane were disgusting. Pee all over the seats. ZERO toilet paper, ZERO paper towel and Zero tissues in all the bathrooms. With used toilet paper all over the floor. Due to this delay we missed our connecting flight and had to rent a car to drive home.
Advertisement
Sandip
Sandip
2023-07-17
Sometime around 2017 I got the patriotism bug. After avoiding Air India like a plague for years, I decided to travel with Air India. Well the first time from SFO-CCU and back wasn’t bad. However, as the years have progressed, Air India has gotten progressively worse. Yes, Air India seems to have gotten worse after the takeover of Tata. Without recounting every horror story that I have about Air India, I will simply, and briefly share my experience with Air India flying back from CCU to EWR on June 30, 2023. As we got to the airport I was prepared for the rudeness. The staff members of Indigo, Spice, etc., seemed to be treating their customers in a friendly manner, however, Air India staff seemed just sad, and pathetic. So then we get on our flight from CCU to DEL. The food is inedible, the AC doesn’t seem to be working, and the flight attendants were missing for the rest of the flight. Okay, so then we get to Delhi. Now, I don’t if it’s just an attitude issue, perhaps something cultural, in Delhi, or Air India. But Air India staff there are not only rude but also just pathetically incompetent. Somehow, I got called in for “a secondary inspection.” Apparently having a Zippo (without fuel) is not allowed by CISF. Anyway, so after being harassed by them, I get back to the gate and the Air India staff has somehow lost my boarding pass, which they had kept when I went to see the CISF people. Instead of apologizing and reissuing a pass two Air India staff kept arguing with me that they don’t have my boarding pass. Finally, they find it. Again no apology. So, I being exhausted, get on the flight. This time I had made sure to get on the flight early, since on my way to Kolkata, they could not find a space for my cabin luggage so I had to store them in two different overhead bins. So I was relieved when I saw the overhead bins empty (I had booked extra legroom seats). However, the moment I start putting my luggage, an anxious flight attendant runs towards me and starts scolding me. I inform her that it was my seat and I will keep my luggage there. She proceeds to tell me that the overhead bin is reserved for “oversized baggage.” So at this point, I lose my cool. So, let me understand this, instead of enforcing the rule regarding baggage size and weight, like a normal airline, Air India has decided to punish passengers who ARE following the rule. Anyway I told the flight attendant that I will be keeping my bag where it is and that’s that. She mumbled something about people bringing 4 bags instead of 2. Whatever! However, somehow this flight attendant seemed to be the one serving my seat for the whole 14 hour flight. As expected the in-flight entertainment system did not work. Funnily the guy seating beside me had his remote literally torn off from his seat. He also said that he got very sick from eating Air India food before, so the guy literally didn’t eat anything the whole 14-hour flight. However, I regret eating the pathetic food that Air India provided. I kid you not, the salad they gave was literally rotten. Didn’t they know that Mayonnaise rots very easily, and DOES NOT need to be warmed up? What was worse than the food was that the same flight attendant kept pushing my buttons throughout the flight. At some point, like a good passenger I had kept my trash ready to be given back to the attendant after dinner. However, when the attendant came, she seemed agitated, gestured toward the front of the flight, and said “You can throw it in the trash bin.” Really? So, Air India is quite literally punishing passengers who follow the proper etiquette of flying. Same flight attendant, later in the flight. Cut like 5 people waiting in line for the bathroom to go use it herself. No apologies and no thank yous, again. By the 7th hour the hand soap had run out, so when I went back to inform the flight attendant, the same rude flight attendant, after ignoring me and asking me to wait like 5 times, finally told me that they had no “reserves” of hand soap. Really Air India (Tata?)? Indian Rail provides better service than you, apparently. So let me understand this, the flight have gotten worse (literally in the last 6 Air India flights that I took the inflight entertainment system did not work), the food has gotten worse, and is giving people food poisoning. On top of that, the Air India staff have somehow become ruder, and more pathetic, after a takeover by TATA. So, hey Air India, why do you think you get to charge premium prices? The only reason anyone ever flew your pathetic, Airline, and dealt with your uncivilized rude staff is because you were dirt cheap. But somehow you think now you can charge Emirates prices, based on the TATA brand, but provide service standards that are lower than the local police station in India. Sorry, I won’t be traveling with Air India anymore. Patriotism has its limits, and while I can put up with anything I cannot put up with bad service from uncivilized, and untrained flight attendants.
Venugopal
Venugopal
2023-07-10
Expected good service with Air India after it took over by Tata's Me and my wife flew from Newark to Bangalore. To start with Food quality served was bad. No way close to Indian Standards. Didn't have problem to reach Bombay non stop. But problem started with Air India flight to Bangalore. Original schedule was 4:00pm, but they changed departure time 3 times. The departure time moved to 9:00pm. We landed at 12:00pm, and 9 hour waiting for the local flight is insane. My friend told me similar problems for him with Air India. Now I am so sorry I didn't pay attention for my friend's advice. In future, I will not fly this Airline as well as I don't recommend any US traveler to pick this Airline.
Nagaraj
Nagaraj
2023-07-09
My wife was returning to Newark from Hyderabad via Delhi. Her travails started in Delhi airport. She had to go through the process of getting the free Wi-Fi coupon for a long time and so she was not getting updates from Air India. The monitors were showing the departure time as 2:25 am and when she went to the gate at the sched dep time, she was told that flight got delayed by 12 hours. She was told that she had to go to another agent to get hotel accommodation. All this took about 3 hours and she was running from pillar to post. After she boarded the flight the next day, to her surprise she noticed that the Inflight entertainment was non-functional. The chairs was rickety and dirty. Not a pleasant experience at all!!! Tata's please wake up and smell the coffee! You have to work customer service. Otherwise ...
Joe
Joe
2023-07-04
Updated on 07/31/2023: Recently I posted a comment about Air India. After my post, one of the management person wrote me that the e-mail communication was not received. I checked the e-mail address and was the same. That is the only excuse they have and not help offered. I booked the same business class with one of the best airline for less than Air India price. Original Review: I was looking the Air India website and seen low ticket price. The next day I booked the business class ticket without checking the price thinking about the price I have seen. Remember I am an old senior citizen. When I checked my credit card, noticed they charged $250 more than the advertised price. I contacted customer service and management and received no help. I canceled my ticket lost another $300 towards cancellation fee. I received only excuses from the customer department did not try to accommodate me. No more Air India.
Advertisement
Neha
Neha
2023-06-30
I bought my ticket to USA online. Later I also got a cheap business upgrade through Air India website. They immediately charged my bank account but never allocated a seat. I have been trying to contact their customer service and have spent 7 hours with at least 7 different agents but all in vain. They have not allocated me the upgraded seat yet and claim that there was a technical glitch. I have been tossed from one agent to another. To make it worse, none of the senior official have contacted me yet to understand the customer pain. It’s the most pathetic service I have ever seen in my life. Shame on you Air India for looting people like this and causing them unnecessary stress.
pramod
pramod
2023-06-21
We were coming back from our vacation and unfortunately, we got the BAD airline (Air India) connection from Delhi to the United States (Texas). This is very disorganized airline starts from the airport, they do not any system to handle their passengers, and all the counters are messed up handling all domestic and international passengers on the same counter, which creates all kinds of baggage issues. We are international passengers and we are allowed 2 check-in luggages for each passenger, but they gave us a hard time and wanted us to pay for the second luggage, I think This cheap airline is trained to give you a hard time at the check-in time and want you to pay you for the second luggage. They wasted a lot my time at the counter. All of the staff is very incompetent about their job and rude. I will never travel with this airline again and do not recommend anyone else to travel on it. Also, They treat all the passengers like animal, Some poor passengers do not speak English and these staff take advantage of them, especially those who are travelling first time. Their flights are always delayed from Delhi Airport because they are not skilled or prepared for it. It was a very terrible breakfast on the flight, it was stinking, in my understanding, they have no respect for any human being, I Thing this is how they are brought up in their life. They are only concerned about making money but not delivering services. I am a frequent flyer and I will never travel with this airline ever again. I hope someone will read this and take an action on it.
Abhishek
Abhishek
2023-06-19
My mother in law was traveling alone from Delhi to Toronto. We specifically booked this Air India flight 19 June 2023 by canceling one via London (British Airways) so she doesn't have to go through a lot of checking and security by herself, As she is not the frequent flyer and still learning English language. She did all checking at the airport security, Immigration and all. She reached to the boarding gate and was waiting for the boarding to start. Before 1 hour of flight departure, two gentlemen in Star Alliance (Air India) uniform started asking each and every traveler for their documents. They asked my mother in law for return ticket to India as she was travelling on visitor visa. She did not have return ticket because we had not booked one, so those two guys denied her aboard on plane and took her boarding pass for the flight. After this incident one them said, "Go book for the return ticket otherwise we won't let you aboard this plane." Who gives authority to these staff members of the airline to decide whether a person can aboard a flight or not depending on return flight? If Immigration does not have any concerns then why these people are bothering travelers. In opinion airline needs to reconsider their policies and train employees for customer service and not for customer harassment. This act by those two officer was horrible and unacceptable. They should be identified and reconsidered for their employment. Either they do not quality for the job or misusing their authority to make money in cash at the airport from customers. Maybe they are thinking if we do such things people will panic and give them bribe to aboard on plane. It is my humble request to Air India to do the thorough investigation on this matter and please see act promptly so that this kind of behavior do not happen again. Thank you.