Airbnb

Airbnb Reviews

Poor rating
1.3
17913 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (8266)
Wendy
Wendy
2024.04.16
I had Airbnb for 10 years and I really believed in the company. My first sign should have been when someone hacked me and made a strange reservation. I had to go to my credit card to get the money back, but when I spoke to Airbnb...they did not even reply to me. But unfortunately, I stayed with a racist woman in Norway who gave me a very horrible review (after 24 immaculate reviews) and I was shocked. She had only been on the platform for a few months but they took her side. Until a few months later, I called back and a man at the call center took pity on me and deleted the review. I sobbed, because I felt seen. I unfortunately later logged on and it broke my heart to see the review was reposted. I called and asked to speak to a supervisor, they would not allow me to do so. They also said they did not care that they took the comment away before and that it would stay on my profile. That was it, I could not continue to support a company that could not support me in a very small way. Be careful, please. If you are thinking of staying with Airbnb, they will not support you if anything happens. They will only support their hosts, as bad as they are.
Seth
Seth
2024.04.16
What a joke of a company. They conned us out of a couple grand and won't give us a refund back. The first Airbnb we stayed at had a gas leak and we were told to book another Airbnb and was never reimbursed. We ended up booking two Airbnbs for the same trip. They don't care about you, your family, or your safety. We will never use them again. Book anywhere else, but here.
Lakshmi
Lakshmi
2024.04.15
I signed up for a service call Guesty in order to make the hosting experience smoother. It be a nightmare as the app allowed the Airbnb to double book. I had to get 1 of the guest to cancel the booking. I called AIRBNB to explain what happened and since then I deactivated my Guesty app and said this was a genuine mistake, an error as I had no idea that guesty would open up my Airbnb calendar. I’m very sad that right now. Airbnb has deactivated my account. I was almost getting ready to be a super host. This is very disappointing and every time I call I feel like I’m playing broken telephone. It’s very unprofessional, terrible customer service that I’m receiving.
Cynthia
Cynthia
2024.04.14
I stayed in a falling down house in huntington ma. After being an Airbnb customer for more than 10 years, with excellent reviews as to me being a guest, I wrote my first and only bad review. Where is it???
Rick
Rick
2024.04.12
Do not use these fraudsters. I repeat do not use these fraudsters if you plan on leaving a negative review after your stay. They will delete it if it doesn’t live up to their so called standards. I had a bad stay recently in a place that was dirty and everything was broken. We stayed at an AirBnB for 32 days in Ft. Lauderdale. South Florida BNB was the managing agency with the listing on Airbnb whom I went through. I contacted them several times during our stay about the uncleanliness but nothing was done. The dishes, pots, pans, everything filthy dirty. I could go on and on. The appliances were broken. I asked for some sort of reimbursement and no response. I sent all my emails and texts to Airbnb detailing my communication with South Florida BNB. They removed my review twice saying it doesn’t meet their standards. I asked if they could let me leave a simple review and wouldn’t allow me to do that. I’ve been going back and forth with them for over a month and finally giving up. I will never use Airbnb again.
Tracy
Tracy
2024.04.12
The host canceled our stay with less than 24 hrs notice before we were supposed to arrive. We have not been fully refunded - they first offered us $246 — on a $5k + stay!! Their customer support is absolutely horrific. You can’t ever speak to the same person twice. They have zero concern about ruining your trip, and we believe are running a full on scam. They are not refunding us for the cleaning fee on a place we weren’t able to stay at - due to the host canceling, not us. We’ve read the last minute cancellation policy for hosts on their website and it appears they will charge the host 50% of our reservation. So they stand to make $2500+ on our canceled reservation, and the max credit they will give us is $500. Of course rebooking required a more expensive place since it was so last minute - so they stand to make more $ on that end as well. This is a complete scam. We’ll NEVER book with them again. Based on some of these other reviews, we aren’t the only people feeling this way. This company deserves to go under. Stay away from Airbnb!!!
Matt
Matt
2024.04.10
I am a host going on 4 years now, I have 3 properties in Vermont, and Airbnb is a joke. They have business because they found a niche outside of hotels, but their time will come and times will catch up. It's not the properties that are the issue, it's the customer support who only cares about lining their pockets whether your a host or guest. They charge tons of fees on both ends, and when it comes to resolving an issue they make sure to charge or retain more fees. I do over $100,000 in sales with them every year, but when I dispute a cancelation for an emergency out of my control they tell me there's nothing they can do, they'll be charging me $262 from my next payout as a fee, and they keep my dates blocked as a penalty. They can keep the $262 and kiss my ass while they're at it. They claim the $262 is to help relocate the canceled guests, but I moved them into another one of properties myself. Seems like if I lawyered up its be a slam dunk. If you care about your property don't use airbnb, if you care about who you pay to stay in someone else's house don't pay this greedy company there's plenty of other sources nowadays. They don't deserve a single star, negative 20 maybe.
Nicolas
Nicolas
2024.04.10
I used the app to book a place for my girlfriend and I to see the eclipse. However the dog sitter we had fell through and we weren’t able to go. I had to cancel the Airbnb and when I went to cancel the first option was booking credit. It said nothing else. It said it would be available instantly that was it. The other option was Apple Pay. I thought booking credit meant the credit card I used so I proceeded. Turns out it was for a credit on their website. (Yes I clicked the wrong button but it was very unclear and confusing what was happening.) I then realize my issue and I contact customer support. I become informed that there is no way to get a real refund. Even minutes after my mistake. They send me a link to their booking credit policy. A policy which was not attached to this refund page. They just toss me around to different customer representatives and waste my time. Then after days of dealing with this they finally say again that they are not refunding my money. I understand I clicked the wrong button but it was confusing and even deceptive and then they just keep my cash. Very disappointed with this app. Watch out.
David
David
2024.04.09
Airbnb is the biggest scam in the travel industry. Never go outside the corporate travel industry. I canceled a booking 120 days before the arrival date. I’m not eligible for any refund due to “cancellation policy.” I’ve never used this service before and will never use it again. Stick with reputable companies when booking a property and avoid being scammed.
nancy
nancy
2024.04.08
Booked through Airbnb almost a year in advance. One month prior to my trip, received an email that I was getting a refund because my trip was cancelled. Got 3 different excuses for why it was cancelled. No solutions, just a lot of blah blah blah to try to cover their butt.
GD
GD
2024.04.06
A group of family members reserved a house in Savannah on AirBNB for June 11 -17. 2024. I paid $916.25. There was death in the family and I needed to change our plans. I contacted the owner, Trevor & Mariana, first, about our situation, I was told there would be a partial refund, if we canceled. I understood that and canceled in March, 3 months before the reservation, However, they kept the whole $916.25. I contacted the Trevor & Mariana and AirBNB about this and they are refusing to send at least part of the $916.25 back to me. I also asked if I could come stay at the house for the days that the $916.25 would cover. They refused.
Christina
Christina
2024.04.06
Just had a very disappointing experience with Airbnb today. I checked-in to the accommodation only to find that it hasn’t been cleaned properly and is infested with ants. I contacted Airbnb to remediate the issue, and even after providing pictures and video of the infestation, they still side with the host who refused to refund our money. They said that the host hasn’t violated Airbnb Hosting’s Standard. WHAT standard?!? Clean and liveable place is supposed to be THE standard especially since the host is charging premium price for the accommodation. This is my first time to ever encounter such horrible accommodation and it will be my last because I will avoid using Airbnb in the future AT ALL COST.
Debbie
Debbie
2024.04.05
Absolutely 100% disappointed with Airbnb and its Representatives. They have no Customer Support at all. They will not help in case of anything that may go wrong with your trip. They will lie about trying to communicate with Hosts but never actually do. They keep the customer thinking that they are helping and after sending 7 Automated messages saying they are trying to contact host the 8th message is the Sorry But… the disappointing message that they can NOT help. Please Do Not book through Airbnb as they are a Scam. Best trying to contact Hosts through other sources. Airbnb WILL NOT HELP CUSTOMERS WHEN things go south.
Mel
Mel
2024.04.03
I am deeply disappointed to share my recent experience with a company that failed to honor my request for a refund after an unauthorized payment was taken from my account. Despite my efforts to resolve the issue directly with the company, they refused to provide a refund, leaving me with no choice but to escalate the matter to my bank. The frustration and inconvenience caused by this company's lack of accountability and disregard for customer satisfaction cannot be overstated. Not only did they fail to deliver the promised service, but they also demonstrated a complete lack of integrity in their handling of the situation. As I navigate the process of disputing the unauthorized charge with my bank, I am left feeling disheartened by the lack of professionalism and responsibility exhibited by this company. It is my hope that by sharing my experience, others may be spared from similar frustrations and setbacks when dealing with this company in the future. In conclusion, I urge the company to reconsider its policies and practices regarding customer service and refund policies. A commitment to transparency, accountability, and customer satisfaction is paramount in maintaining trust and credibility in today's competitive marketplace.
cecilli
cecilli
2024.04.03
I recently had a horrible experience with Airbnb. The host was very unprofessional and rude messaging me in the middle of the night. We cancelled the rest of our trip and when I reached out to Airbnb they did not offer any support. Then when I provided an honest review of my experience they took the review down. A very dishonest way to conduct business. Not worth the cost and hassle. I lost money on that booking.
Sherri
Sherri
2024.03.31
I have been using Airbnb off and on since 2019 and overall had pretty decent experiences up until recently. Airbnb won’t allow you to get refunds for credits, they won’t allow you to apply the credits to existing reservations. I suggest that if you want to use Airbnb be very careful and read EVERY SINGLE WORD. Even with the listing, I clicked entire house which states that the you have the whole house but at the bottom of the listing it states there’s an apartment downstairs. Airbnb is not worth the headache.
Mangkok
Mangkok
2024.03.31
Unprofessional hosting. Whenever you decide to use Airbnb keep in mind to only use it for casual services. This business clearly has a "profit-over-people" policy. That isn't to say they don't care about people but they place them after their revenue needs have been met.
Jacqueline
Jacqueline
2024.03.27
The overall experience wasn’t bad, I stayed for a week in a condo in Williams, AZ. However the listing description included that 4 people could be housed in the unit. It was just myself and one other guest in my initial booking. I told the host two months prior to staying that I had a friend coming over to stay for 3 days. I was told there would be a fee, so I paid an additional $30 even though the unit was supposed to accommodate 4 people. I already knew something was coming just because coming from NYC people target you for money. After leaving, the very same day I received a private message from the host that claimed 3 towels were damaged which they weren’t. The host left a review stating I would not accept accountability for damaging towels. It’s unfortunate that these hosts look for reasons to milk you for more money to make up what they are not getting in return for their investment. To be honest with you there were plenty of hotels around which I didn’t realize until I arrived. Listen just stick to hotels they offer way more benefits. The way Air bnb hosts rip you off with fees you’re better off booking a hotel, rates are way better. Plus if you book ahead of time you can get a good price and have a hassle free experience. Not to mention hotels offer security and don’t emotionally take out their frustrations on their own shortcomings towards you.
alex
alex
2024.03.27
I am not sure why they do this. Airbnb take your money as deposit, and five minutes later they canceled the transaction. Fine, but if you have to wait almost a week to get your money back, for me that is stealing your money. If for whatever reason your reservation is canceled, airbnb should, or deposit your money right away or give you a credit that you can use to reserve another place.
rajiv
rajiv
2024.03.26
I got worst experience after booking room through Airbnb. My booking (**) canceled without my confirmation and customer support was horrible. I will not recommend anyone to do the booking through Airbnb.