accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool

accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool Reviews

Good rating
3.8
298 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (298)
john fearns
john fearns
2024.03.26
Advertisement
James Swift
James Swift
2024.01.12
I was a student tenant in a house which was let by accomod8 years ago, at the end of the year the we were smacked with extortionate fines. The year after we went directly with a private landlord and received zero fines.. Business model involves charging students astronomical fines at the end of tenancy, knowing they will not be returning customers (Given the nature of student lets).
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2024.01.12
Sorry we dont have any record of your name as a tenant nor associate, we have reported the review. Thank you.
MG K
MG K
2023.11.17
Amelia Heys
Amelia Heys
2023.09.20
Absolutely awful experience with this company…this was the state of my wall when I moved in, hidden behind a notice board in my bedroom!I constantly contacted accomod8 in regards to this problem, whereby I was met with the worst customer service you could imagine. One woman in particular repeatedly said that I would be put ‘on the list’ to be seen when they got a chance, before she rudely put the phone down on me. When I rang back to ask for her name, she refused to give it to me until I told her mine. The problem eventually ‘got fixed’ but came back within a matter of weeks and when I began reporting it again, they just told me that it wasn’t getting any worse so they weren’t going to do anything about it. We also had the worst kitchen flooring whereby half of the floor was missing by the end of the tenancy and another girls room had rising damp. But of course, none of this was taken into consideration when it came to receiving our deposits back as they found every tiny detail wrong with the house and deducted a huge amount of money off us:) would not recommend this company to anyone!
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.21
Hi Amelia, Thank you for your review, Im so sorry you have felt dissatisfied - please do send the same details to enquiries@accommod8.biz so that we can respond in line with our formal complaints procedure. I can confirm all deposits are held under the Tenancy Deposit Scheme and hence an independent adjudication can be made if tenants query the proposed deposit return. Thank you again for your comments.
tomas pendlebury
tomas pendlebury
2023.09.08
Terrible attitude towards dealing with pre-existing damp in their houses. They blame the tenants saying that drying clothes on the radiators causes damp, despite the damp being that bad the wallpaper and plaster and soaked year round with black mould covering the walls and windows. They have continuously removed honest reviews about people experiences in their damp ridden houses and continued to shift the blame on the tenants for long lasting damp issues and refuse to accept accountability for health issues developed just by living in disgusting houses. Overall they are useless and good luck getting your deposits back, they will either find something to blame on you or just make up call-out charges due to theirs faulty electrics or dodgy door. I would never use these again and encourage people to go elsewhere where the landlord actually cares about the tenants or at least looks after their property. Don’t be fooled about the 5 start reviews either, they ask all tenants to post 5 start in order to enter a cash competition.
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.21
Thank you for your comments Tomas; I would urge you to forward details to our team via enquiries@accommod8.biz so that it can be dealt with under our formal complaints procedure. I can confirm that no reviews good or bad are removed; all customers, landlords and contractors are able to submit reviews at any time. Thank you again for taking the time to review.
Advertisement
Chloe Archibald
Chloe Archibald
2023.08.23
So much mold in the house and it was never dealt with, left the windows open and the house was always freezing to try and get rid of the mould yet we were told it was our fault. Tumble dryer would eat our clothes and turn them black and sometimes they would come out ripped and covered in holes and we lost out on £100’s of pounds of clothes and accomd8 told us they’re was nothing they could do and ignored us. Staff were very rude on the phone and we were constantly lied to especially about our move in date and they left us homeless for 3 weeks in the summer when we were promised we could move in on the 1st of July. They wouldn’t even let us leave items in the house yet we had been paying for it. One of the girls rooms in the house had damp and mould all year and they just re wallpapered her room and never actually did anything to the damp and mould. She was sleeping in this all year round and was constantly ill. They also left her room in a state and expected her to clean it after taking the wall paper down, there was bits of wall paper all over the floor and the wall still looked disgraceful. Do not book with this company, all they do is treat students like children, and blame everything on you! They are ridiculous and don’t listen to them when they say that the deal with their maintenance issues quickly, they do not, it took them until June a month before our move out date to even do anything!
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.06.08
Chloe, thank you for your comments, Im sorry you have been unsatisfied with some issues in your property - we would urge you to forward your comments via email so they can be officially investigated within our complaints procedure. Thanks so much again.
E
E
2023.08.19
Highly suggest avoiding this company. I would give them 0 if i could. They are genuinely disgusting, we encountered so many issues when we were living in one of their properties, and the way they treated us upon contacting them about these issues was appalling. They were very manipulative, especially knowing we were young students, and tried to make us think that these problems were a result of our actions, when in fact it was the poor infrastructure of the property. We continuously had mould growing all over our house, on our clothes, our shoes, bags, on our mattresses and more. When contacting them all throughout winter, they would blame us by saying we don’t open out windows enough, which we all did. However, we couldn’t keep them open all day as the heating was awful and didn’t heat up the house, and we would be sitting in the house with blankets, dressing gowns and still had condensation coming out of our mouths in our home!!!! They also tried manipulating us into making us thinking it was our fault, by saying we use hairdryers, dry our clothes inside on airer, etc, however it was all things that we didn’t do. We also had a rat issue towards the end of our tenancy, where we had found rats had entered the house and were walking on our kitchen counter (found loads of rat droppings). Accommod8 were quite reluctant into helping us fix the root of this issue, as they just put rat bait down, however these rats just kept coming back. I do have to praise the maintenance team, as they were all nice, and tried to help us find the root of this issue on the little budget that they are provided. Another issue that we faced was the lack of seating. On the second year of tenancy we had an extra tenant that had moved in with us, and there wasn’t enough space on the small 3 seater sofa for us all to fit in the living room. When we asked for extra seating, as it should be provided as they have taken on and extra tenants rent, they told us that the landlord refused as we have extra seating (the extra seating being plastic fold out chairs that are from ikea!!!!) Honestly, could sit here and list so many more reasons as to why you should not use this company when applying for student housing, do not waste your money!!! Appalling management and extremely horrendous landlords.
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Apologies Erin - please do send details via enquiries@accommod8.biz to ensure we can deal with your complaint in a formal manner - thank you
Ellie Shaw
Ellie Shaw
2023.08.16
Good value for money, however slow with repairs and not very helpful with communicating what time in the day they will be coming in to view (they just tell you between 10am-5pm) which makes it difficult for you to know when you can get showering without disturbance etc They are unreasonable with deposit deductions and we weren't allowed to move in when our tenancy started despite being told at the viewing of the house we would and they still charged us rent for these weeks we weren't allowed to move in This meant I was paying rent for two accommodations as I had to find alternate accommodation to stay at in this time They needed this time to "clean" and "get the house ready" yet when we moved in it had many issues and it wasn't at a high standard of cleanliness
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Hi Ellie, thank you for your feedback, please do send details via email enquiries@accommod8.biz to ensure we can respond to your complaint formally. Thank you so much.
Tyler Allen
Tyler Allen
2023.08.16
Absolute shambles of a letting agency, I do not know how they get away with the conditions their houses are in. Myself and my housemates complained way too many times and nothing was ever sorted. Walls in the house mouldy and dripping wet, they ripped off the paper and papered over it (?) I understand that its student letting but to let people live in squalor is appalling, would’ve been handier sleeping on the streets the many times we were all sick. Silverfish in both bathrooms, damp everywhere. Charged us in our deposits for things that were left there when we moved in, including £18 for a remote that 2 buttons worked on when we arrived. Landlord is condescending and told the girls to stop using hairdryers cause it was causing mould even though windows were open pretty much 24/7 in the middle of winter. Wouldn’t waste the time of day if I was anyone looking at student rentals👍
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Dear Tyler, Please do contact us via enquiries@accommod8.biz with full details so that we can respond to you formally within our complaints procedure - thank you.
Advertisement
Ellen Fox
Ellen Fox
2023.08.11
Signed with accomod8 for our second year home. They were very friendly at first, obviously to get your money! We put in countless complaints regarding mould which of course fell on deaf ears. We had an incident where the radiator literally fell off the wall and they said it was our fault? And to not slam the FIRE door? And they barely even fixed it. However, they were quick to find the smallest scuff mark and charging us £30 a WALL. Maybe if you spent the money on fixing the mould issue instead of blaming it on the tenants, I’d be more partial to give a second star. Sincerely (not) Ellen
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Hi Ellen, thank you for your comments - we would urge you to send details to enquiries@accommod8.biz to ensure your complaint is dealt with formally within our complaints procedure. - Thank you!
Ciara Walker
Ciara Walker
2023.06.28
Although the price was fairly cheap, you are not supplied with a kettle, toaster or microwave. Our property had serious issues with damp and the kitchen cupboards were unusable due to this. This was due to a hole in the roof. We were given a broken dehumidifier to ‘fix’ this issue and after that was told it was our responsibility. Accomod8 aren’t very accommodating (no pun intended) when it comes to issues with maintenance and left us without gas or hot water for several weeks. I would not recommend them to anyone.
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.07
Thank you for taking the time to review; we are genuinely concerned about the serious isses you have raised here - please do email full details to enquiries@accommod8.biz sp that your complaint can be addressed formally; Thank you
Ruby Whitney
Ruby Whitney
2023.06.22
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Thank you Ruby!
ALISTER DIAS
ALISTER DIAS
2023.06.22
Wonderful place to live, was satisfied throughout the year. You should definitely choose accomd8 .
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Thank you Alister!
Advertisement
Rahul Barot
Rahul Barot
2023.06.22
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Thanks!
Louis Wright
Louis Wright
2023.06.22
My experience was fine. However, you have to report each problem online so calling up is a waste of time. The problems were fixed quickly though. Also, my tenancy started roughly 6 weeks before I could move in and I moved into a dirty house with mould and spider webs everywhere. This was disappointing as their response to me asking if I could move in earlier was that they needed to clean/ sort out the house.
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Hi Louis, thanks for your feedback - we do have an online reporting system to ensure the issues are logged and go directly to the correct repairs team. All tenancy agreements have a retainer period during the sdummer to allow landlords to prepare the properties; we would like any cleaning issues to be reported to A8 at your check in so they can be resolved at the time. Please do contact us with specific details via enquiries@accommod8.biz to ensure any complaints are dealt with formally. Thank you again for taking the time to review - we value your feedback.
Wiktoria Zietkowska
Wiktoria Zietkowska
2023.06.22
The house was not in good condition when moving in but overall had a good experience during our tenancy. However a lot of issues were never resolved. The maintenance staff were always arrived at the property quickly and were able to fix most issues.
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Thank you for your feedback Wiktoria!
Adaeze Chukwurah
Adaeze Chukwurah
2023.06.22
Very comfortable accom and student friendly area
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Thank you Adaeze
Advertisement
Jessica Stubbs
Jessica Stubbs
2023.06.22
Overall good experience, didn’t move in till September but location was good close to Kensington retail park as well as uni of Liverpool and 20 min walk to LJMU city campus. Mentance issues were answered promptly and any other issues the office staff were really good at answering any enquiries.
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.06.23
Thanks for your valuable feedback Jessica!
Natalia Kraszewska
Natalia Kraszewska
2023.06.22
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.09.08
Thank you
Jack Chicken
Jack Chicken
2023.06.22
Good property and price but support from maintenance was sub par and communication from staff often wasn’t ideal, the portal website is also not great
Reply from accommod8 - Student Rentals - Liverpool 2023.06.23
Thank you for your feedback Jack, please do email enquiries@accommod8.biz with more details about your experience with the tenant portal so that we can address the specific issues in the next update - thanks