Abbey Skip Hire Ltd

Abbey Skip Hire Ltd Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
86 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (86)
Mitchell Dytham
Mitchell Dytham
2024.03.25
I ordered a large skip from Abbey Skip Hire late last year. The Skip arrived as scheduled and I was told I had two weeks to fill it up. After 7 days, I missed a call from Abbey. No voicemail was left, but I gave them a call back and they didn't answer. I assumed if it was something urgent, they would ring me back, but they didn't. The next day, someone came and collected the skip. I was at home, my car was on the drive, but rather than knock on, the driver simply took the skip. The skip at this point was still empty. I called Abbey and asked them why they had taken the skip when I had only had it for 7 days of the allocated 14, the skip was still empty and the driver didn't have the courtesy to knock on. I was told that Abbey reserves the right to take back a skip at any time during a hire, even before the 14 days, if they attempt to make contact twice with the hirer and are unable to. I explained that we had only been called once, that we tried to call back but there was no answer, and that clearly we were still using the skip as it was empty! They told me they would need to check their phone records to confirm if I was lying. After a day they came back to me and apologised. They confirmed they only rang me once, that their staff were "busy" when I called them back, and that they would return the skip to me for another 7 days. The next day the driver came with a skip half the size of the one I had paid for. Again, he tried to drop it off without knocking on, probably hoping he could escape before I realised he was trying to fob me off. When I came out and asked him why I had a skip half the size of what I had ordered, he said that I had already used "half my allocation", even though the first skip they had collected was completely empty. I told him this would not be suitable but he told me the "skip would be fine for my needs". I don't know what he meant by this. I told him I would need to be provided with the skip I paid for and he said he would call the office and let me know. Instead, he got back in his lorry and drove off. I did not hear from Abbey again. Abbey continued to ignore my calls, eventually coming to collect the skip 7 days later. Again, the driver didn't knock on, I assume to avoid confrontation. If you intend to use Abbey I would be wary of their Terms and Conditions which state that they can collect a skip at any point during hire if they require it. They say they will ring you twice to confirm if you are happy for the skip to be collected, but be aware that if you do not answer they will take the skip from you without warning.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.25
Hi Mitchell, we're sorry you weren't happy with the skip hire service you received last year. Our standard skip hire term is always 7 days and, as you mentioned, we did try to contact you but the call wasn't answered. In order to maintain our busy schedules, we will usually collect the skip if we haven't been able to contact the customer after the 7 day period. This avoids any delays for other customers who may be waiting for the same size skip. We did supply a replacement skip, as you also mentioned. Since this was not on our planned schedule, we unfortunately had booked out all of the original size, so we tried our best to provide the nearest equivalent, to enable you to dispose of your waste still without having to organise and pay for a new skip hire. Best regards, Abbey Skip Hire.
Adam Barlow
Adam Barlow
2024.03.24
Highly recommend anyone looking for a skip to use. Quick, easy and very reliable. Driver (Tony) was very friendly and helpful. He put the skip where I needed it. Definitely use again.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.25
Hi Adam, thanks for your recommendation! We're thrilled to hear you found our service reliable. Happy to hear Tony was able to assist you. We look forward to serving you again!
Jasmine Wilson
Jasmine Wilson
2024.03.23
I hired a skip from Abbey Skip Hire and I couldn't be more impressed with their service. The skip was delivered to my location within the hour, which was incredibly convenient. The staff at Abbey Skip Hire are an absolute pleasure to deal with. They are professional, courteous, and always willing to go the extra mile to assist their customers. The driver who delivered the skip was exceptionally polite and made the entire process stress-free. Abbey Skip Hire is a well-run company that I would highly recommend to anyone in need of skip hire services. We will be returning customers for sure!
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.25
Hi Jasmine, we're thrilled to hear about your positive experience! Our team always strives to deliver the best service. We're looking forward to assisting you again soon!
Maxine Lowe
Maxine Lowe
2024.03.21
Abbey skips wow great service very helpful highly recommended Darren
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.21
Hi Maxine, we're thrilled to hear that you found our service helpful and recommendable. Thanks for the kudos, we appreciate it! Darren and the team will be glad to hear too.
Penny Bob
Penny Bob
2024.03.13
Rang up for a skip at 8:30am was told it would be delivered asap dropped off on my driveway by 10:00am the service was fantastic and nothing was to much trouble 10/10 I will not use anybody else from now on. Thanks again
Iggy Smith
Iggy Smith
2024.03.13
Comedy, website says short and long term hire. I enquired about hiring skips for several weeks (4-6) and separately possibly keeping another one for several months at a time over the duration of the works to keep site tidy. I’m a DIYer who needs a few weekends to churn the work out. Got an abrupt email saying only do skips on a weekly basis. That’s it. No explanation. Followed up and was quoted £258/wk for 8yd’er, so would be over a grand for 4wks - ridiculous. Why not have a small weekly charge/hire rate? Obviously only want fast turnover, and quite unhelpful to fit in Diy’er on a slower build.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.13
Hi Iggy. We appreciate your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience. Our skip hire service is designed for weekly periods to ensure prompt availability for other customers. Unfortunately, we can't offer extended rental periods beyond 7-14 days.
Andrew Eaton
Andrew Eaton
2024.03.06
Excellent service. Skip delivered the following day and placed where we needed it. Will definitely use this company again. Keep up the good work lads
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.11
Thank you so much for your kind words, Andrew! We're thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with our service and that Skip was able to deliver promptly and exactly where you needed it. We appreciate your support and look forward to serving you again in the future. If you ever need anything else, don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks again and take care!
Sharon Snook
Sharon Snook
2024.02.13
I used Google to find a skip hire company and I pleased to say Abbey Skip Hire appeared. The instant chat facility, (which is quite often a robot and never answer the questions I ask), is answered by a human who was very helpful and answered my questions. A quick telephone call to the company and the skip was booked at a great price and for delivery the next day. Communication with Abbey Skip hire is really easy, friendly and professional. A pleasant driver delivered the skip this morning at 7:30, which as a school was really helpful as the children hadn't started to arrive. I have also been able to pay by invoice to satisfy audit trails. Thoroughly recommend Abbey Skip hire for your skip needs
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.11
Thank you so much for your glowing review, Sharon! We're delighted to hear about your positive experience with Abbey Skip Hire. It's fantastic to know that our instant chat feature, manned by real humans, was able to assist you effectively and that our team provided friendly and professional service throughout. We're pleased we could accommodate your scheduling needs and provide a seamless experience from booking to delivery. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're here whenever you need us in the future. Thanks again for choosing Abbey Skip Hire!
Robert Watkin
Robert Watkin
2023.11.30
Really helpful and friendly service, great sized skips, quick delivery and pickup. They also phoned before delivering. And reasonably priced
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2023.11.30
Thanks very much Robert
Dale Pilkington
Dale Pilkington
2023.10.02
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Great company,well mannered and very helpful,delivered the skip at the time I requested, driver was pleasant,and helpful, I whole heartedly recommend..
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2023.10.18
Thanks Dale for the 5 stars.
catalina garcia
catalina garcia
2023.06.28
They have a normal price, but bad customer service. They tell you they cannot give a time slot until the day of delivery when driver schedules them, but even calling them same delivery day they just change and tell you it might arrive in the afternoon when we agreed to arrive in the morning. They just pretend that you will be at home all day waiting for them and unless you call them, they won't let you know any changes either.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2023.06.28
Dear Catalina, Thank you for your feedback. As a large skip hire company, we work hard to accommodate our customers' needs, but specific delivery times can sometimes be difficult to arrange. We also appreciate the importance of effective communication and will use your feedback to improve our services. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Keep Bury Clean
Keep Bury Clean
2023.03.29
Excellent service from Abbey Skips. As we are a community group cleaning up the riverside, Mr Abbey provided a skip for a job and didn't charge us. Turned up on time and removed promptly. Great communication too 👏👏👏 We might need a bigger one next time 😉
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.11
Thank you for your fantastic review and for sharing your experience with Abbey Skips! We're thrilled to have been able to support your community group's efforts in cleaning up the riverside. Providing the skip at no charge was our pleasure, and we're glad it helped facilitate your project. It's great to hear that our service was prompt, reliable, and accompanied by clear communication. When you're ready for the next clean-up and need a bigger skip, just let us know - we'll be more than happy to assist you again. Thanks for choosing Abbey Skips and for your dedication to improving the community!
Sarah Lou Lou
Sarah Lou Lou
2023.03.28
Very friendly service throughout the whole process! Abbey Skip Hire's staff advised me on skip sizes as well as pricing and when I let them know that our workmen needed the skip for a little longer they let us know that they would lend it us for the time needed at no extra cost! What a service as the skip was already great value! As well as being very friendly over the phone, the skip delivery person was also very nice and highly professional! We would not go anywhere else to hire a skip now and we would wholeheartedly recommend this company to anyone who is needing their services.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.11
Thank you so much for your glowing review, Sarah! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with Abbey Skip Hire. Providing friendly and helpful service is always our goal, and we're glad our team could assist you with skip size selection, pricing, and accommodating your extended use needs at no extra cost. It's fantastic to hear that our delivery person was both courteous and professional, adding to your overall satisfaction. Your recommendation means the world to us, and we're honored to be your go-to choice for skip hire. If you ever need our services again in the future, don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks for choosing Abbey Skip Hire!
Susan Cochrane
Susan Cochrane
2022.09.06
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
5* this company. Had a skip delivered first thing in the morning and picked up late afternoon when finished. Price was the best by far, will definitely use again. Can’t recommend enough
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2022.09.06
Thankyou very much for your review, glad to hear we are still keeping our customers happy.
Genesia Marley
Genesia Marley
2022.08.17
Positive
Professionalism
Responsiveness
Messaged via email and received a quote within 10 minutes. Reasonably priced compared to competitors. Skip was delivered the next day and collected within hours of request. Highly recommend this company, very professional and friendly.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2024.03.11
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Genesia! We're thrilled to hear that you found our email response time quick and our pricing competitive. Prompt delivery and collection are priorities for us, and we're glad we could meet your expectations in that regard. Your recommendation and kind words about our professionalism and friendliness mean a lot to us. We're grateful for your support and are here to assist you whenever you need us in the future. Thanks for choosing our services and for taking the time to share your experience!
Natasha Williams
Natasha Williams
2022.07.27
Positive
Professionalism
Value
Fantastic company with a service that is second to none! Natasha Williams Acorn Waste Management Ltd
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2022.07.27
thanks a million Natasha for your wonderful review. its been great working with you all over the years.
Birdy
Birdy
2022.06.21
Positive
Professionalism
Responsiveness
The skip was dropped off in the morning I needed and I wanted it collected three days later which did not happen BUT they were short on staff on that third day as I found out when asking when they were turning up. They did turn up the next day as they said they would do their best to make it happen and which was really appreciated, as anyone who gets skips knows the hard part seems to be having them collected when work is finished. I spoke to them a few times and they were really helpful and friendly. I would use them again, the experience and courtesy I received was great.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2022.06.21
Thanks very much
Jim Butler
Jim Butler
2022.05.16
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
My skip was delivered and collected when I asked on the same day. Absolutely brilliant service, would recommend Abbey Skip Hire to anyone looking for a skip. Thanks to all the team for fast, hassle free service and at a great price too.
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2022.06.01
Hi Jim, thank you for your kind review. We aim to be the best! We hope to see you again soon.
google user
google user
2022.04.28
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2022.05.04
Hi there, We would love to know why you have provided us with this feedback and want to ensure we do better next time. Please give our team a call and we will be happy to help you.
Lee Davies
Lee Davies
2022.04.23
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Responsiveness
Value
Prestwich Carnival would like to thank Abbey Skips for again supporting our community event by assisting with the waste management. Professional friendly service. Thank you!
Reply from Abbey Skip Hire Ltd 2022.05.04
Thank you Lee! We love working with our customers and supporting the community as best we can. We hope to hear from you again for more great skip hire services!