AARP

www.aarp.org

AARP Reviews

Poor rating
1.2
682 reviews Verified
AARP
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 663 ) 1.2

Danny
Danny
2024.05.18
This is a total scam! AARP sent me once a week a "guaranteed" quote of $35 a month for a $50,000 policy at my age (52). I sent in all the paperwork and voided check. I received a bill for $51.01 a month. I called AARP and was transferred to a woman who barely spoke English (India) and kept repeating the terms of the policy. After the third time, I told her "I know the terms already, why is it $15 dollars more than the guaranteed rate". She finally transferred me back to a English-speaking person who said "We have to record of that $35 a month rate." I told her, "I'm looking at it, you mailed it to me", she denied that AARP even mailed it to me... AARP is a waste and a scam...STAY AWAY!
S.
S.
2024.05.15
This is the absolute worse experience with any company I've ever had. To put it bluntly they stink. Stay clear of this company!!! The phone service is the worse ever. Plus after you are with them for a few years they double your premium and lower your benefits. I do not in any way recommend this company. This company signifies much of what is wrong with service in America today. Non existent.
Glinda R.
Glinda R.
2023.11.19
Verified
Save money by sending out fewer renewal notices I start to get 'time to renew' notices about 4 months before my membership is set to expire. I smell a scam. If some unsuspecting senior gets a bill 4 months before a membership expiration, they pay it, then next year the renewal notice comes 4 months earlier than was paid last year...get my drift? I don't use my AARP membership. I don't need prescription drug benefits. I have one medication. I use herbal medicine, I always have, and always will. Get with the times, AARP your constituency is Baby Boomers and they have a whole different set of values and lifestyle. I don't use AARP discounts; I don't eat out a lot. AARP is not a relevant organization for me. I enjoy reading validation of my suspicions about issues like age discrimination, and I realize that there is legislation at the Federal level that is supposed to prevent it; but it still happens. I have checked out some of the online courses for business owners. They weren't anything that I haven't found elsewhere. Mainly, AARP to me is nothing more than a pest.
Sharon G
Sharon G
2023.11.02
This is the 2nd year I've tried to cancel. I notified them and my Pay account last year and they let them do it again this year. Don't ever set them up with your account information. I'm going to the bank and take care of this one way or the other.
Carol H.
Carol H.
2023.10.31
Verified
Want more money They hound you all year long for more more money! If you think you just pay $16 a year and you're done…. Wrong. All year long you get mail requests for more money and unkind reminders that you haven't paid yet!
Rafael G
Rafael G
2023.10.29
AARP has a bad habit of charging it yearly $16.00 membership fee without reminding members. The One thing one can count on from this business is them charing that annual fee; a coutesey reminder is out of the question. Seem any one can pay them a fee to get AARP to endorse them like that Oak Street Health care system that is suppose to be so great that none are in my state yet nor any other neighboring but commercials keep being shown.
K L.
K L.
2023.10.26
Verified
A ridiculous company... I'm 59 and I have no respect for AARP whatsoever after it took a chat session and two phone numbers and 45 minutes on the phone to remove my dead mom's name off their mailing list - maybe - I don't even know if the foreign guy even understood. Why is it that complex to remove your dead mother's name from a list when I had all the information? I was trying to be nice so that they're not wasting postage because it all gets shredded without being looked at. I want nothing to do with AARP - EVER!
Carlos A
Carlos A
2023.10.21
Almost every other large corporation allows you to request removal of your name from mailing lists by email or snail mail (yeah, DMA opt out is a joke). AARP is the only one (I've spent most of this weekend making about 30 requests) that requires you to call during business hours (hey idiots, I am still working, so I don't need ya and don't have the time) to request to be taken off
Sheila A
Sheila A
2023.10.17
I've volunteered to tutor K-3 students. I've communicated with AARP twice. I've heard nothing. Last year, I emailed them numerous times re my elderly mother's account. I heard nothing. I had to call them instead, so I finally got through. What's ironic is that they want us to sign a petition re Social Security offices; it takes almost 37 minutes to get through to a caseworker. This is true, but AARP rarely responds to emails. They need to petition themselves for incompetency!
Rogelio M.
Rogelio M.
2023.10.05
Verified
SELLS YOUR INFO TO SCAMMER THE ELDERLY NEEDS TO BECAREFUL WITH AARP. I SIGNED UP BECAUSE THEY WERE OFFERING A TWO FOR ONE SPECIAL. ONCE I SIGNED UP I HAVE BEEN GETTING NONSTOP SPAM CALLS ABOUT END OF LIFE INSURANCE, MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE AND ETC. I AM NOT AT THE AGE TO COLLECT MEDICARE. ONCE I TELL THE SCAMMER THAT THEY MUST OF GOT MY INFO FROM AARP THEY PANIC AND HANG UP. THIS IS SAD HOW AARP IS CONTRIBUTING IN THE SCAM AGAINST SENIOR BY SELLING THE INFO TO SCAMMERS
Cecil M.
Cecil M.
2023.10.04
Verified
Discounts When I signed up I was told that I would get a organizer and never did. I can't get any place to give discounts when I show my card. It's a rip off.
jack f.
jack f.
2023.10.03
Verified
NOT AARP TRAVEL! Had to change my flight because the CRUISE WAS CANCELLED! It COST me almost what the FARE was to CANCEL. The FARE was very pricey to start. I found it for HALF later myself. Will never use AARP travel again! I feel SCAMMED!
T S.
T S.
2023.10.02
Verified
AARP is just a scam I used AARP to rent a vehicle a few months ago; ended up paying more as an AARP member than I would have without mentioning the membership. Just completed the AARP Hartford auto insurance quote. Was quoted a price three times what I am paying now. Am of the opinion that AARP is nothing more than another scam targeting the elderly. I will not renew my subscription.
Debra R.
Debra R.
2023.09.30
Verified
AARP Raping Seniors Sept 2023 we received our auto/home bundle policy renewal. Auto insurance went up $62 per month and Homeowners insurance went up $545 per year. I spoke with a AARP representative who told me that the increase was due to replacement cost and repairs were more expensive. I've never filed a claim. Raise the insurance cost to people who file claims. The raise in cost monthly was substantial and after comparing quotes with 5 well known Companies we realized that for years AARP had been raping us with high fees. AARP constantly pushes their membership for 16.00 per year which saves you 189.00 a year from your bundle. This (savings) is still does not help with the sustainability higher rates AARP charges. We found auto insurance with the same coverage for $100 less per month. We found our Homeowner policy with better coverage for $1300.00 less per year. I thought AARP was for seniors who drove less, etc. This I found to be untrue. Their membership just creates a lot of constant junk mail. AARP should be canceled on social media as so many other person and companies have. This company rapes and robs their customers.
John S.
John S.
2023.09.29
Verified
Nothing but a spam factory AARP is nothing but a spam factory and they sell your information to everyone. They are partnered with Salesforce, who collects all your data and sells it to all of their "partners". The amount of email, phone, and print spam I have received since joining outweighs any benefit AARP could possibly offer.
D F.
D F.
2023.09.26
Verified
Misinformation AARP isn't telling the truth. Congress is not cutting Medicare or social security and the post office that's not true. And President Trump he's not cutting anything from Medicare or social security either are the Republicans. Stop putting out misinformation and lies. We know your Democrats and you know where that got you. Look at inflation look at my bank account it's almost turned into zero. So AARP speak the truth stop lying to us. And another thing there's no climate crisis there's no climate change that's nothing but a scam. I've been with you people 20 years and all you do is give out misinformation. Stop it!
mark h.
mark h.
2023.09.24
Verified
Travel- just don't do it The price is competitive with others BUT: Example 50 dollar Visa card for booking packages through them and Expedia is not real. We never received the 50 dollar Visa card and when we write either one (several times) never a response. So go elsewhere we did. Dissapointed in AARP in that they never did respond.
ZERO IN g.
ZERO IN g.
2023.09.22
Verified
AARP canceled me Got a letter in the mail from AARP stating my roof was needing to be replaced and had a cancelation notice stating I had 2 weeks to replace my roof. I had a roofer come out to inspect my roof and replaced the ridge cap and gave me a cert for 15 years warranty with a letter to insurance company. AARP'S response was sending me another letter stating my insurance has been canceled. Their justification was a drone picture over my house with no in person inspection. I am 75 YO in stage 4 cancer treatment and have 3 month to live and after e planning all that and spending g money on a roofer they had no compassion for their 15 year customer who has never been late on payment. So I would highly consider not doing business with a company like this ever.
Maria S
Maria S
2023.09.01
AARP fraudulently started an insurance policy under my name. They acknowledged this after listening to the recording of the call between me and the agent. I have spend over 3-hours on the phone with AARP trying to get this issue resolved. However, despite acknowledging their fraudulent practices, they continued to bill me and have now forwarded my bill to a collection agency after telling me I would no longer be billed. I thought AARP was there to support the elderly, however, now I see they as a predatory company deploying scams against the elderly.
Cobie T
Cobie T
2023.08.28
I have been paying and renewing my membership with AARP for the last 5 years at least. Fortunately, I had not had to call in for roadside assistance in the last 5 years but yesterday I did need them. First they were closed then I called all state roadside assistance. 'cause that's who they're roadside assistance is with. I just got hung up on by them. So-called AARP back today Because I need my car code from my breakdown. Yesterday. I wasn't formed. Now I have to pay edit this year. Membership for roadside assistance. With AA RP, I'm 68 years old LIving on social security, and how in the hell can I afford an extra charge from a company formed to HELP senior citizens???. I'm deleting my account and don't recommend anybody use it. They are stealing your money because they don't provide the services that they claim they offer.