Vintage Airstream Restorations and Repairs

varr.co

Vintage Airstream Restorations and Repairs Reviews

Good rating
3.9
41 reviews Verified
Vintage Airstream Restorations and Repairs
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 47 ) 3.9

Fer Guzman
Fer Guzman
2024.01.01
Eric S.
Eric S.
2023.06.07
Verified
I highly recommend reaching out to Vintage Airstream if you need any work done on a newer or older trailer. At a very busy time of year for the RV repair industry, they got me in quickly and took care of a hot water heater issue so we would be able to get back out without missing scheduled travel. Dennis and Gene were great to work with - very knowledgable and helpful. I thought their pricing was fair and work was excellent.
Daniel Pope
Daniel Pope
2023.01.04
Quality work by a reputable "mom and pop" business. Experts at fixing problems created by other shops. Gene provides honest answers and fair pricing. I highly recommend that you go here - first.
Dagny Bogaard
Dagny Bogaard
2022.08.23
Absolutely terrible experience I feel absolutely disappointed in the way they handle everything. Violated and taken advantage of. Do not recommend. My camper was in better shape when I delivered it as a whole. They should not be in business and I am shocked by the positive reviews. They never published my review on their website. Not transparent with negative feedback.
Arch W.
Arch W.
2022.08.02
Verified
Gene, and his wife who "really calls the shots" Gene says :), and his crew are the BEST! I was a very small repair job on my 2019 Bambi (but it was important to me!) and they kept the cost super low, did excellent work quickly and were a pleasure to work with. I strongly recommend trusting them with whatever you're needing.
John H.
John H.
2022.07.01
Verified
Gene Magre's VARR (Vintage Airstream Restoration and Repair) has what you need, from seasonal winterizing and an occasional repair such as a broken hitch to the customized Airstream of your dreams. Gene and his crew are simply the best. One example of diagnosing a problem was with my trailer's refrigerator door that kept jumping off its hinges after a couple of miles on a rough gravel road. The local Airstream dealer had three tries to remedy the problem by tinkering with the hinges. I thought a bungee strap would be needed on my beautiful new trailer to keep the door from literally falling off the hinges. VARR realized that the problem instead was that the refrigerator was not level: problem solved!Another VARR characteristic is their ability to fix problems in a timely manor. Maybe you won't get your trailer back yesterday but then again it won't be sometime next winter.
Sherrie Johnson
Sherrie Johnson
2022.06.11
Well it is very unorganized! Many times we would get calls asking for same things we had discussed. They were redoing our airstream. They said they had messed up electrical. Then they billed us twice. Workers were quitting every other month. They had a 17 year old work and charged us 85 an hour. They double billed us. RUN
steven smith
steven smith
2022.05.17
I sent my complete and original vintage airstream to VARR for a total restoration. After spending over three years and over $60,000. I had the unfinished trailer returned to me. It was then I discovered that the original interior had been “accidentally demolished “ at the beginning of the process. Gene Magre hid this fact from me the entire time he had my trailer. He was trying to build a new interior to replace what he had destroyed and charging me for the work, while making me think he was working on the original interior. He did not return much of the original equipment. He charged me for labor on original equipment that he did not return. He charged me for new equipment that he did not include in the trailer. He refused to make any restitution or compensation. In my experience Gene Magre was incompetent, untrustworthy and dishonest.
Robert M.
Robert M.
2021.08.31
Verified
Mean Gene! Rude attitude! I shouldn't have let the guy touch my unit from the start! Look for another place to have your unit serviced! And like the other guy on here pointed out- some of these positive reviews are 'fake' that he has people go and write! Guy gives you the run a round, blabs on about random stuff and then when confront him directly about what's supposed to be done, he'll get an attitude! He's a total snake once he gets his money! Hey Gene- 'If you're gona be in business- know how to deal with people!'
Ben Hanson
Ben Hanson
2021.06.14
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Value
Working with Gene and the team was truly a pleasure. They worked on the shine of my 1959 Airstream and it has never ever looked better. I now feel pride rolling down the road in my 50s Airstream.
Lawrence Sawyer
Lawrence Sawyer
2021.05.04
Positive
Professionalism
Punctuality
Quality
Value
I searched the interwebs high and low for the right deal on a Clipper travel trailer. VARR had one, and Gene worked with me over the course of a month until I could drive out there and pull it back to Minnesota. In the meantime, his people welded up the frame with reinforcements, packed the wheel bearings, and installed lights, just as Gene said they would. They would not let me leave with it until they confirmed that all systems were ready for my 1200 mile tow home. These guys are the best!
Chris Paul
Chris Paul
2021.01.15
Just got off the phone interested in restoring my 1964 airstream overlander classic He was extremely rude .. Said 'listen if you look on my website I do good work. If you don't have $75,000 then that's how much it is to talk to me .. and I'm very busy so .. adios' Well then He wouldn't get my money based on attitude alone You don't do business that way .. I don't care who you think you are or if you think your work is the greatest there is on the planet I'm paying So just imagine, if he wants to stiff you and not do the work .. or if you need to work with him closely on a project .. if that's what he's like on just a phone conversation? Then yes I'd say 'Buyer Beware' as others have said also There are other companies out there and this dude acts like he invented Airstream and the Spartan trailer too ! Golly Gee! Don't talk to me that way
Reply from Vintage Airstream Restorations and Repairs 2022.02.18
Chris, We get a lot of phone calls and the price of 75K is not that much now it has doubled since covid. As for looking at our website we wanted you do to your home work and look at our quality of work and the website shows this. Best of luck!
Celeste Israel
Celeste Israel
2020.09.03
Positive
Quality
Airstreams are a classic way to travel. Design your own little escape. Gene the owner is fun to do business with and seems to be very passionate about making each custom airstream perfect. I really enjoyed his vision and designs
John Reed
John Reed
2020.08.21
The air conditioner on my Airstream had quit working in the middle of a heat wave. I called several RV repair shops and there was no way they could help me for weeks. I called Vintage Airstream. It was after hours and Gene answered my call anyway. Gene was most informative and helpful. I needed a replacement and they ordered one that same evening with expedited shipping. I highly recommend them, their service is awesome.
Scott P.
Scott P.
2020.08.21
Verified
This review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
Douglas Clark
Douglas Clark
2020.07.08
I dropped in to learn about Airstreams and what a DIY renovation project might entail. The owner gave me a tour of several models and then let me explore on my own. He was very open and upfront with the cost of buying a fully refinished product vs. buying a complete fixer upper. They seem very flexible with the services they offer (e.g. they do electric and plumbing and I do carpentry and finish work). They also allow you to store your trailer there while you renovate. This will be my first time buying a trailer, so I have more research to do prior to purchasing anything, but if I go with Airstream, I will definitely be back here.
Scott P.
Scott P.
2020.04.27
Verified
This shop did work for us on a 2014 25' Airstream trailer in 2015. The damage to the rear quarter of the trailer was from a UShip carrier who brought the trailer to Jackson Hole, WY from our home in New Hampshire.Personally, I would not recommend this airstream shop to anyone. I suggest you locate a more reputable shop with transparent business practices.We've owned 8 Airstream Interstate vans since 2014, and two AS trailers as well. We've experienced a number of service facilities small and large. This repair experience was our worst experience - by far.Avoid at all costs - that would be my advice. Plenty of reputable shops to work with.Take note of the "ballot box stuffing" reviews ... from people who are supposed customers, with very few reviews on Yelp. Yelp might want to look into those "glowing" reviews - I question the authenticity of these 5* reviews.
John H.
John H.
2020.03.31
Verified
If you need any type of service work done for an Airstream trailer, I recommend VARR, they can do anything the local Airstream dealer can do. The only difference between the two is VARR can be trusted!Tyson and crew, just de-winterized my trailer and installed a 3" lift. They are competent, honest, and get the work done when promised I feel fortunate to have such great expertise so close to home.
David Hill
David Hill
2020.03.14
My daughter stopped in with a problem and they made time to at least look at her trailer to see if easy fix or suggestions and they were able to spot problem. Super nice people. Will go back
Cindy T.
Cindy T.
2020.01.03
Verified
We needed air in one tires- dually with truck camper. Gene had us pull in and filled all our tires at no charge. He's a cool guy with a fantastic selection of vintage Airstreams. We have recommended him to our friends who are looking for an Airstream. Genes team can build to order, taking a trailer in any condition and bringing it back to life. Solar and composting toilets, beautiful Upholstry aNd wood. Gene can design and build the trailer of your dreams!