Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B

vandenbergs.co.za

Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
307 reviews Verified
Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
%title%

%offer%

Reviews ( 307 ) 4.9

Rudy
Rudy
2024.03.07
7.0 Verified
Prima plek voor een korte overnachting. ☺Een solide huis met keurige kamers en een mooie badkamer. ☹De inrichting was wat saai en had niet zo veel sfeer, hier is meer van te maken. Het ontbrak aan comfortabel buitenmeubilair.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Rudy, Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards. Era, Raoul Snr and Jnr
Advertisement
Bortfeldt
Bortfeldt
2024.02.27
8.0 Verified
☺Wir kamen sehr spät an, nach einer langen Reise und waren zu müde, das vom Gastgeber empfohlene Restaurant noch zu besuchen. Wir verbrachten aber mit dem Gastgeber einen wirklich interessanten Abend beim Wein auf der Terrasse. Wir bekamen sehr viele wichtige Reiseinformationen und einen guten Einblick in Land, Leute und Geschichte.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hallo Gabi, Vielen Dank für die Bewertung. Ich freue mich, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns genossen haben. Ich hoffe, Sie genießen den Rest Ihres Aufenthalts in SA. Mit freundlichen Grüße. Era, Raoul Senior und Jr
Marthele
Marthele
2024.02.27
8.0 Verified
Very Good
Franca
Franca
2024.02.17
10 Verified
Soggiorno perfetto, torneremo sicuramente. ☺Gentilezza dei proprietari,e tranquillità del posto, e perfetta attenzione in ogni dettaglio.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Ciao Franca, Grazie per la meravigliosa recensione Siamo lieti che tu e Jack abbiate trascorso il vostro soggiorno con noi tanto quanto noi abbiamo apprezzato la vostra compagnia. Siete sempre i benvenuti e speriamo di vedervi presto. Cordiali saluti, Era, Raoul Snr e Jnr.
Chris
Chris
2024.02.07
4.0 Verified
Booked us into the wrong room. No breakfast. No airconditioning. Very small room. Not the most friendliest of experience ☺ Location and Photos as advertised. ☹ I paid via bookings.com for the Penguin suite, but we were given the mongoose suite. I specifically opted for the sea - and mountain view as stipulated in the advertisement and paid for. At the time of arrival we had to settle the outstanding amount as I requested for a bottle of wine to be made available, which was done to taste. After several minutes of extremely frustrating and time consuming paperwork and a very confusing situation where the host wanted to take a photo of my credit card as proof of purchase which I declined, but subsequently ended up handing it over anyway to avoid an argument, we were finally able to just wind down. No breakfast. No airconditioning. Very small room. Not the most friendliest of experiences with the host and just and overall bad experience of handling a transaction that subsequently lead to the contravention of the PoPIA act. Will definitely not visit again.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Chris, We are really sorry that you had such a bad experience staying with us for one night even though you discussed none of the issues you experienced with us. You made a self-catering booking in our Penguin Suite through Booking.com and mentioned that we gave you the wrong suite, even, though you mention, and I quote from your review, “Location and Photos as advertised”. We did give you our lovely Penguin Suite with mountain and sea view. All our suites are 50 m2(164 ft2) which we do not consider as small. You demanded, and I quote your full message “A bottle of your finest Chenin Blanc and a bottle of Appletizer or Grapetizer”. This was duly placed in your fridge and cooled. As the bank requires the credit card present as proof of stay, settling the bill, we requested 2 signatures from you and took a picture of the front of your card that only shows your name and the logo of your bank. Hardly a breach of the PoPIA act as you stated. Please thank Candace, for us, for leaving the suite as neat and clean as you found it. Again, we are sorry that you perceived such a bad experience staying with us and for this we apologize profusely. Best regards. Era, Raoul Snr and Jnr.
Advertisement
Dominique
Dominique
2024.02.04
9.0 Verified
Wonderful
Jane
Jane
2024.01.22
9.0 Verified
Wonderful
Margaretha
Margaretha
2024.01.22
9.0 Verified
Luxe guesthouse in mooie omgeving ☺Luxe kamers met mogelijkheid om buiten te zitten. ☹Niets
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Margaretha, Baie dankie vir die mooi resensie. Dit was n plesier om julle te huisves. Sien uit na julle volgende besoek. Vriendelike groete. Era, Raoul Snr en Jnr
Margaretha
Margaretha
2024.01.22
9.0 Verified
Wonderful
Advertisement
Sandra
Sandra
2024.01.13
8.0 Verified
Very Good
Gideon
Gideon
2024.01.08
9.0 Verified
Wonderful
Chrisesh
Chrisesh
2024.01.06
8.0 Verified
Very Good ☺ Nice big space that was very comfortable and clean. Very nice host. Was perfect for our one night stop on the way to Cape Town. ☹ Description mentions a well-equipped kitchen but we chose not too cook as there was only one stove top hob to use and may have been challenging.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Chrisesh, Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The description states a fully equipped kitchenette for light meals. Kind regards. Era, Raoul Snr and Jnr
Andrea
Andrea
2024.01.01
10 Verified
Tolle Unterkunft, gern auch für mehrere Tage ☺Rundum perfekte Unterkunft. Sehr netter Vermieter, tolle kleine Ferienwohnung. Schönes Bad, hübsche kleine Küche, alles vom Feinsten. Ausblick sowohl auf das Meer als auch die Berge war einmalig. Die Wohnung war etwas teuer, aber das haben wir uns gegönnt.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hallo Andrea, Vielen Dank für eine wundervolle Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns genossen haben, sind jederzeit herzlich willkommen und hoffen, Sie bald wiederzusehen. Mit freundlichen Grüße. Era, Raoul Senior und Jr
Advertisement
Ryan
Ryan
2023.12.24
10 Verified
The highlight of our trip was the stay at Van Den Berg’s - Raoul was very helpful and the welcome ‘sundowner’ was such a ☺ Magnificent view and excellent facilities. The rooms looked and felt brand new and there was clearly lots of thought that has gone into the little details adding to a more comfortable stay.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Ryan, Thank you for a wonderful review. We loved hosting you. You, Jenny, Viv and boys are always welcome. Enjoy the rest of your holiday, have a great Xmas and New Year. Kind regards. Era, Raoul Snr and Jnr
Kai
Kai
2023.12.23
10 Verified
Exceptional
Anonymous
Anonymous
2023.12.07
10 Verified
Exceptional
Thomas
Thomas
2023.12.06
10 Verified
☺sehr netter Host
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hallo Thomas, Vielen Dank für eine wunderbare Bewertung. Wir haben es genossen, Sie bei uns zu bewirten und haben Ihre Gesellschaft sehr genossen. Wir hoffen, Sie und Immo hatten eine tolle Zeit an der Garden Route und freuen uns schon auf Ihren nächsten Besuch. Herzliche Grüße. Era, Raoul Senior und Jr.
Advertisement
Loren
Loren
2023.12.05
8.0 Verified
Very Good ☹ Off street parking but the property is not fenced.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Loren, Thanks for your review. How wonderful that Van Den Bergs Guesthouse is situated in a virtually crime free area of South Africa and we do not need fences or walls. This is also very good for the animals living in our nature biosphere they can move about freely. Kind regards. Era, Raoul Snr and Jnr
Zelda
Zelda
2023.11.30
9.0 Verified
Wonderful
Andrew
Andrew
2023.11.30
6.0 Verified
Pleasant ☺ Nice seaside location and a short drive to the penguins at Betty's Bay. Comfortable bed. ☹ Disappointed host advised us not use the stove top or pan provided in the unit. Were instead advised to use the barbecue that unfortunately was not clean. Bathroom was small. Toilet difficult to use as positioned very close to the shower cubicle.
Reply from Van Den Berg's Guesthouse and B&B
Hi Andrew, Thanks for the review. We have to apologize profusely that the barbeque was not spotless too your liking. With hindsight, it probably would have been better for you to barbeque your piece of meat in a pan on the induction stove in the kitchenet of the suite. like you wanted to, and just disconnect the smoke detector. Which is there for your safety, Glad you enjoyed the bed. Best regards. Era, Raoul Snr and Jnr