Donegal Chauffeur Travel Reviews

Donegal Chauffeur Travel Reviews

5.0

Excellent - based on 55 reviews

toursdonegal.ie
is verified by Trustindex

We guarantee all reviews are 100% real.
What's Trustindex?
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (56)
ddailey2017
ddailey2017
2021-07-28
Verified
Best travel experience: Make this a priority! Returned for more! This company creates travel experiences that are unparalleled! In 2019 my daughter and I had a magical experience with the extraordinary Marie: so much so that my daughter MOVED TO IRELAND as a result. So of course, we had to return to Donegal to thank Marie, and have another tour. This time, with my mother and aunt in tow, as well as my daughter's fiance. During covid-times, our travels were more challenging, but Marie worked her magic again, enlisting Chris to meet us at the train station in Sligo and create a new adventure for our expanded family. I can't speak highly enough of this company and plan to return again and again.
Advertisement
Lee
Lee
2020-03-17
Verified
Our National Treasure Tour Guides Michael and Marie Gallagher & Donegal Chauffeur Travel Happy St Patrick's Day to Micheal and Marie!! Our National Treasure Tour Guides....****SIX STARS! who planned, escorted and brought ALIVE more beautiful and amazing places than words can describe! Taking us to many of our MacSweeney Clan heritage places such as Rahan Castle, Doe Castle, Rathmullan Abbey and many many more wonderful places! We miss you both and pray for you and continued great success for your business! Blessings, Lee & Michele Sweeney and Mike & Jeannie Bossert
greenjeannie
greenjeannie
2020-02-19
Verified
Marie Gallagher BECAME Ireland in flesh and blood for us! Put it this way: Our uncle, Lee Sweeney, spoke at least as much about Marie Gallagher as he did about the tour he and his wife took with Donegal Travel a year earlier. When my husband and I accompanied them on a return trip to Donegal the following year, it was easy to see why. Marie got us where we wanted to go--effortlessly. Along with being on time and gung-ho day after day, she greeted us with bottled water each morning, provided a step stool to put our feet on in the back seat of her spacious cruise van. She often arrived with a concise print out of the day's destinations--so helpful since brochures, maps, etc. tend to multiply on your person when you do travel, making you overwhelmed from touring by about day four. Marie got that. Looking back on it, it totally suits her, since only toward the end or our trip did I realize the effort she made day after day to get a feel for what each of us came to Ireland to see. She was intentional in drawing each of us out and into the Ireland that was personal to each one of us.
Tahnee R
Tahnee R
2020-01-08
Verified
Highly Recommend Donegal Chauffeur Travel - they will go above and beyond! I cannot say enough what a pleasure it was using Donegal Chauffeur Travel while visiting Ireland. We needed to book a car from Belfast to Donegal and our driver Joe was great. He was very personable, shared a lot of local knowledge and was willing to stop if we wanted to take pictures. I accidentally left some personal belongings in the car and before I could call Joe he had already backtracked to our location to drop it off. I was so thankful!! The night before we were leaving Donegal we needed to take a cab to a bus station very early in the morning. And after working all night, Michael Gallagher, drove us even though we had given such short notice. Michael and his team provide superior customer service and are incredibly thoughtful. If you need a driver while in Ireland, I would highly recommend Donegal Chauffeur Travel.
Maureen W
Maureen W
2019-09-28
Verified
Yer Man ~ Micheal! DONEGAL has it ALL! A Tour for the Birthday Girl. Micheal was our guide on my birthday, he came to Annagry, County Donegal (in the Rosses) to start our tour. It was wonderful drive on a weather perfect day! Scenic views from the roadside, he then explained about the peat harvesting. Micheal explained about why so many Irish names (surnames and forenames) are common and what to look to find your specific ancestry. We went to Narin & Portnoo links course to look at all the grateful golfers excited to tee up for a lovely clear sky morning. The we stopped to walk a blue flag beach called Portnoo with photos. Next stop, Killybegs harbour, for some great photo shots. He also took us to Muckros Head with vast views of the Wild Atlantic. Then on to Carrick where Michael took us to the Sliabh Liag Distillers for a tour and tasting of the best Gin and Whiskey in the county! Then up to Slieve League Cliffs for views that are cathartic! We stopped for an adult drink at the Rusty Mackrel then on to Harveys Point for our lovely birthday dinner. Then after dinner, we went to Loch Eske Castle for an Irish Whiskey Coffee drink at the newly opened Father Browns Pub. If you ever saw photos of the HMS Titanic, Father Brown was the real-time photographer. Then he drove us back to Annagry with some Craic (jokes), why is that poor Paddy and Duffy get the brunt of the all the Irish jokes? Because its funny, i tell ya! My husband treated my day like a wonderful birthday gift. But it all came together with the blue skies and warm walking weather and Michael being the best tour guide and genuine friend to this Birthday Girl! Thanks Micheal, from Maureen and Jim Weaver Colorado, USA
Advertisement
Jonathan S
Jonathan S
2019-09-22
Verified
Fantastic touring with Chris and Donegal Chauffeur Chris toured us around the Northern coast, Glenveigh National Park, Donegal and the Wild Atlantic Way for 5 days. We had a great time, learned a lot and genuinely enjoyed his company. He was full of great information, insights and perspective. We couldn't have been in better hands! We also met Michael and Marie who run a first class and totally responsive operation. We highly recommend Donegal Chauffeur for all manner of tours in Ireland.
RosieBtraveling
RosieBtraveling
2019-09-19
Verified
Fabulous trip around County Donegal After driving around Ireland for 10 days, we were ready to have someone else do the driving. Marie was our wonderful driver, storyteller (seanchaí), and historian. She picked us up and off we went to Slieve League and Glenveagh National Park, and many stops in between. Her love of all places and people of County Donegal is evident. What a fantastic day!
rileyk14
rileyk14
2019-09-17
Verified
Great Experience With Michael! Michael will go out of his way to make your trip special. He provides great recommendations and will make stops that are personalized based on your conversations. Michael provided all of our travel while we were in Donegal on our honeymoon and he made it that much more special. Great person and a great experience! Definitely recommend for when traveling in Ireland!
Tom S
Tom S
2019-08-27
Verified
Outstanding Tours of Beautiful County Donegal! Our tours with Marie Gallagher were a total pleasure. Marie is outstanding as a tour guide. Her knowledge of the history of the region, plus her willingness to tailor the tours to our individual interests made for an enjoyably memorable three day’s excursion throughout the county. She made my wife Carolyn and me feel like we were all a family having gone out for a relaxing and informative look-about in the area. We believe that for those persons who want to view things of their own interest rather than stock itineraries, save the stress of driving in unfamiliar territory, and have their questions answered by someone with a great depth of knowledge, a private tour with Donegal Chauffer Travel is the way to go. Thanks again, Marie!
Advertisement
TeeDC2019
TeeDC2019
2019-08-08
Verified
Enjoyed Seeing Lovely Donegal with Michael! We booked a day out with Michael Gallagher to see some areas near Donegal Town where my mother had traced some of our family, as well as see some sights. Michael was a wonderful guide, and gave us some new family leads to research. He shared much about the history of the area, seemed to know everybody, and showed us the amazing Muckross and Slieve League. We even got to sample some amazing seafood as we went through Killybegs port. We had such an amazing day, we rode with Michael to our next stop Sligo rather than taking the bus, and on the way he showed us Creevykeel passage tomb, Bundoran Beach, and William Yeats grave. We so appreciated Michael's guidance on what to see in the area, never having been there before, and really enjoyed talking with him along the way. We'll definitely contact Michael next time we go to see the Wild Atlantic Way!
metds
metds
2019-08-06
Verified
Finding my roots While visiting Donegal Town in May I wanted to find the graves of my great grandparents. Our hotel hooked us up with a taxi that could take us out to Holy Redeemer Church and Cemetery. Michael, our driver wasn't able to wait for us because he had another obligation. But he made arrangements for his wife, Marie, to come back for us an hour later. They were both so helpful and because of them I was able to pay my respect to my great grandparents, uncles and aunt. What an incredible experience! They were so informed about the area and willing to share their knowledge and love of the area. Thank you Michael and Marie.
Vera
Vera
2019-07-28
Verified
A trip to find my ancestors! I had a wonderful afternoon today with Michael with Donegal Chauffeur Travel. I was looking for my fourth generation grandfather’s grave in Kilmacrennan, Donegal. Michael took me to three different cemeteries and traipsed through all of them with me, looking at gravestones. We didn’t find the exact gravestone I was looking for, but we got some very good leads and talked to a local farmer who gave us some great information. It was a very exciting, happy day for me, and time well spent! Michael was very kind and courteous and I could tell he was happy for me when it looked like we found possible relative’s gravestones. I highly recommend Donegal Chauffer Travel and Michael and Marie. They go the extra mile for sure!
D. Doyle
D. Doyle
2019-07-18
Verified
Donegal Adventure Provided the highlight of our vacation. First off Gallagher Chauffeur Travel was professional, courteous, on time and had great communication in providing us a car service. Usually, that would be enough but Marie goes above and beyond normal customer service. Without a doubt she is the best resource for any travelers who want to experience all that County Donegal has to offer. We booked their service for transport to and from Donegal airport and also for a day tour of Donegal. I had given Marie some info in regards to an ancestry search and tasked her with a request of finding a family gravesite within the area around County Donegal. Needless to say she went above and beyond my expectations - I am still in awe at the story she told through travel in regards to my family history. Thanks to Marie I have walked the same steps as my ancestors and have a connection to Donegal that I will always cherish. If you are traveling to Donegal I would highly recommend using Gallagher Chauffeur Travel for all your transportation needs
Advertisement
Tom D
Tom D
2019-07-04
Verified
Gallagher Cabs / Chauffeur Travel During our recent visit to beautiful Donegal, my wife and I relied on Michael and Marie’s car services to get around. Michael brought us from and to the train station in Sligo, drove us in and out of Donegal town center (we were staying in a hotel on the outskirts) and gave us a half day tour of southwestern Donegal Co. We could not be happier with the services provided. Michael was always right on time. He was upfront and straightforward about the costs of each service. As a lifelong resident of Donegal, he proved to be a well informed, knowledgeable guide. He was a most charming and gracious companion, the epitome of what we have come to expect but are always surprised to discover of Irish warmth, humor, and hospitality. His services averaged about E40 per hour, and are worth every euro. We would recommend Gallagher Travel without reservation!
Sunni K
Sunni K
2019-06-22
Verified
Outstanding First-Class Service!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!! Michael and Marie Gallagher went above and beyond anything we could’ve ever asked for. I can't say enough wonderful things them & their team. We used them for all of our travels over the 4 days we were in the area. They were reasonably priced, and could not have been more accommodating with our crazy schedule! My husband and I made a trip to Donegal for his 50th birthday to try to connect with his Irish roots and find his Great Grandmother's house...from only a picture. We contacted Donegal Chauffeur to hire a guide for the day to show us the area and hopefully find the house. Marie was amazing!! She was very entertaining, a wealth of knowledge on the area, and she showed us the most wonderful hidden gems in around Donegal. She did extensive research into my husband's lineage and was able locate the house and the family church. She was also able to locate a distant cousin...and, BONUS, arranged for us to meet him. Such a wonderful gift! Thank you so much, Michael & Marie, for the First-Class service and personal touch. You made this trip the TRIP OF A LIFETIME and we can't thank you enough! We will be back...see you next time around!
Kathy H
Kathy H
2019-06-20
Verified
Ireland 2019 Marie, was fantastic, went out of her way to accommodate my request. Gave me so much info on resources for family history along the way. And took us to beautiful places to see . Highly recommend Gallagher for all your destinations.
SarahC
SarahC
2019-06-19
Verified
5 star service!! I can’t say enough about Michael and his team. We were in Ireland for a 50th anniversary celebration and they helped make the trip. They took us on amazing excursions, connecting us with interesting and unique artisans and artists. They picked us up and dropped us off whenever we needed a ride. They were flexible, accommodating and safe. We are so grateful to have worked with them. Thank you so much for making our stay in Ireland so wonderful!!
Advertisement
Bob C
Bob C
2019-06-18
Verified
travel, entertainment, AND information - great service We had a lengthy stay with a large family in Donegal this may, and Michael and his team were great. They were accomodating at every turn. We had a lot of last minute tweaks to the agenda and they never balked. They were informative tour guides. And funny! We all agreed that these guys contributed to how much we enjoyed our visit. We'll definitely use them again in the future.
Jeff O
Jeff O
2019-06-13
Verified
AMAZING Private tour! We went to Ireland for our 25th wedding anniversary and traveled around the entire Island! When we arrived at Harvey's Point, we asked about getting a tour guide. They knew just who to call! Marie,one of the owners of Gallagher Cabs / Donegal Chauffer Travel, came to pick us up the next morning. Marie was fun, funny & extremely knowledgeable about the history of Ireland & she loved sharing it! She took us all around Doengal and up to Slieve League cliffs. She knew all of the "hide-a-away" roads that lead to beautiful spots! We stopped at a woolery and watched as two gentleman worked their equipment making gorgeous blankets! Marie got into a conversation with one of them, and it was so neat to hear them talk and laugh; Irish accents at their best! She took us to a beautiful beach area and took pictures of us! She took lots of pictures and seemed to enjoy it - I soon found out she is a photographer! She let me take one of her too! I don't have enough good things to say about Marie - she was simply the BEST!
Charlie C
Charlie C
2019-06-10
Verified
50th Wedding anniversary! Micheal and his team (clean well maintained vehicles driven by safe, informed and personable drivers) were the main transportation over 2 1/2 weeks for 21 family members who helped us celebrate our 50th. Always on time! Always cheerfully accommodating our ever changing plans. Organized - day long trips to Slieve League (don't miss Cyndi Graham's Shop), short trips into Donegal Town for dinner or a pint at a pub (Reel Inn) and even picking some of us up at the Dublin airport. Michael and the service he provided was over the top!! more than we ever dreamed of! When we return to Donegal - and we will - there is sight seeing, hiking, biking, fishing, surfing and just plain relaxing - Michael will be the one who gets us from one place to an other.