Tollgate Cottages Bed and Breakfast

Tollgate Cottages Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Excellent rating
4.9
68 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (68)
Mike Cook
Mike Cook
2024.04.12
What can I say. One of the best B&Bs I have stayed at. Definitely 5 stars. If you want to chat Mark will chat and pass on his local knowledge or just leave you alone to get on with one of his personal cooked full English breakfast. I don’t think anything has been missed out. Your own lounge, fridge and microwave and dinner table for the evenings you don’t want to eat out. A warm welcome and tea or coffee on arrival. Our four day stay was over far too soon. Can’t wait to go back and stay with Mark again. Thank you Mark.
Location
Rooms
Service
Advertisement
Dave Riddle
Dave Riddle
2023.10.29
Within half a tank of petrol from central London is a perfect hideaway for family oriented breakaways. We were very grateful for the obvious care and attention to detail, and felt warmly welcome for our four night stay. The breakfasts were generous and beautifully delivered, the local knowledge informed our days, and the cottage was a calming toehold for everything the IOW had to offer. We could not reccommend more profusely to the next travellers. D&M&R&B. Thanks M&K.
Trip type
Vacation
Family
Location
Rooms
Service
Graeme
Graeme
2023.10.02
8.0 Verified
Mark is very welcoming and happy host who is keen to make sure your stay is actually as you wish. Mark greeted us even ☺ The location is quiet and close to walks and beauty spots. There is a garden to enjoy and relax in. The decoration of the cottage is excellent and very clean. It is very relaxing in the cottage and in the garden. ☹ On a longer stay only the lack of a sink would be my only comment for others.
Moira
Moira
2023.09.10
10 Verified
Exceptional ☺ Mark and Kate were so kind ...we were 2 pals meeting up after both having close family bereavements and although they didn't know this their attentiveness was perfect
Clark
Clark
2023.08.20
10 Verified
Excellent. ☺ Excellent. Good choice of cereal, followed by a very substantial full cooked breakfast, with toast and a choice of jam, honey or marmalade. ☹ Nothing
Advertisement
Sujith
Sujith
2023.08.19
10 Verified
Exceptional
Caroline
Caroline
2023.08.13
10 Verified
Mark (our host) could not have done more to make sure our stay was amazing. ☺ The views were amazing and the garden extensive and beautifully kept.
Jo
Jo
2023.08.12
8.0 Verified
A comfy cottage in a great location and very welcoming owners. ☺ Mark and his wife were very welcoming and friendly. The cottage was clean and comfy, the garden is lovely and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely recommend.
Inés
Inés
2023.08.01
10 Verified
Alojamiento estupendo para disfrutar de la isla de Wight ☺El alojamiento era perfecto. Más que una habitación de B&B, un apartamento completo de dos habitaciones. El anfitrión, Mark, fue muy atento en todo momento. También tenía unas instalaciones exteriores estupendas. El desayuno, fantástico.
Advertisement
Liz
Liz
2023.07.31
9.0 Verified
Superb ☺ Fantastic, picturesque location for a wedding at Afton Farmhouse. Mark couldn’t do enough for us! Lovely cottage and great breakfast menu. Really comfortable and homely cottage.
Alan Bradley
Alan Bradley
2023.07.25
This is an absolute gem. The property is fantastic. A great location, lovely very large garden, plenty of parking. The accommodation is as good as a house and presented in immaculate condition. Mark is very attentive, friendly and is great to chat to. Everything you could wish for is here at this property. It is definitely a home from home and we shall definitely be back.
Trip type
Vacation
Location
Rooms
Service
Margaret
Margaret
2023.07.08
9.0 Verified
Great stay. ☺ Super clean. Very quiet, nice location. Very spacious. Lovely host. Able to charge our electric bikes. ☹ No problems at all
Helen
Helen
2023.07.04
10 Verified
A delightful stay in a glorious setting ☺ This was a fabulous find. Mark our host was super, offering a friendly welcome with tea & biscuits. Access to a beautiful garden is a bonus as the rooms in the private annex are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Two sofas & free netflix make for a proper seating area to relax in the evening after busy days sightseeing. The property is set in a rural location so you can expect some agricultural activity in the distance, and a bit of road noise BUT this is not intrusive. A special note of thanks too for the bed linen which was crisp cotton on lightweight duvets entirely appropriate to the heat we were experiencing that week. Breakfast was excellent, served in the annex, and we had the use of a microwave and fridge, with cold water on arrival. There was an excellent selection of cereals plus cooked breakfast on offer & orange juice & toast. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of large towels. Night sensor lights were positioned discretely so as to minimise disruption and provide safe access to the bathroom in the middle of the night. This is a really well thought out accommodation with a highly experienced B&B provider. Freshwater and the surrounding area is a gem. Forget Cowes! There is so much to see and experience in this quarter especially if you like beautiful scenery, great pubs, country houses of historical interest, good food and long walks.
Advertisement
Stuart
Stuart
2023.07.03
10 Verified
Perfect for a relaxing place to stay ☺ Excellent breakfast with plenty of choices for all. Exceptionally clean throughout and lovely garden to relax in. ☹ We were satisfied with the facilities so no complaints from us
Anonymous
Anonymous
2023.06.27
10 Verified
Exceptional
Nicki
Nicki
2023.06.23
10 Verified
Exceptional ☺ The Cottage was in a beautiful area and the whole place was stunning. The owners were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. ☹ Not a criticism at all but you need transport if staying there
Anonymous
Anonymous
2023.06.21
10 Verified
Exceptional
Advertisement
Nigel Foster
Nigel Foster
2023.06.18
What a lovely place to stay. The accommodation is
Patricia
Patricia
2023.05.18
10 Verified
just perfect ! ☺ the self contained element and having the use of the garden ☹ nothing!!
Janice
Janice
2023.05.13
10 Verified
Exceptional ☺ Excellent choice for breakfast. Lovely fruit. Beautifully presented.