The Makers Club

The Makers Club Reviews

Average rating
3.3
10 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (10)
Shizuko Namiki
Shizuko Namiki
2022.10.24
We were also unfortunately part of the group of parents who tried to request a refund for $500 for a location that never opened. The owner claimed they'd refund us (via venmo?) after stringing parents along for 4+ months back in march. However, they stated that there is a possibility the new location may still open later in 2022. Since putting our names on yet more waiting lists would take 1.5+ years to clear, we opted to wait a bit. We finally attempted to request our refund over a month ago after noticing the fremont location was taken off their website and have not heard back. If we received an email saying they are financially strapped and require more time to pay us back I wouldn't have written this review. Unfortunately, lots of unanswered emails even to the "director" as others have noted. Update: Wrote this review in June 2022 and as of late October 2022 have not been refunded. Haven't even been offered a spot at the magnolia location (or waitlist spot)!!!
Advertisement
megan
megan
2022.06.22
This daycare planned to and horribly failed to open another location in Fremont, all while collecting $500 "refundable" deposits for admitted children. We were misled about the actual opening date, which continued to get delayed further and further. Almost a year after their intended open date, they've seemingly made no progress in opening. Additionally, communication with the staff and owner has been horrendous, only adding to the burden of being without child care. They did eventually refund my deposit after months of me emailing and calling them and only after writing this review. After refunding me, the person who hadn't been responding to my many emails or calls, emailed me to ask me to remove this review. Maybe there were good reasons for the delays or lack of communication, but in my opinion this was at best a poorly executed attempt at opening a new daycare. Given my experience, I would not recommend this school nor trust them with my children.
Shizuko Namiki
Shizuko Namiki
2022.06.09
We were also unfortunately part of the group of parents who tried to request a refund for $500 for a location that never opened. The owner claimed they'd refund us (via venmo?) after stringing parents along for 4+ months back in march. However, they stated that there is a possibility the new location may still open later in 2022. Since putting our names on yet more waiting lists would take 1.5+ years to clear, we opted to wait a bit. We finally attempted to request our refund over a month ago after noticing the fremont location was taken off their website and have not heard back. If we received an email saying they are financially strapped and require more time to pay us back I wouldn't have written this review. Unfortunately, lots of unanswered emails even to the "director" as others have noted. Prospective parents to Magnolia, be aware that this business is facing bad financial issues...
megan
megan
2022.06.06
This daycare fraudulently planned to open another location in Fremont and collected $500 "refundable" deposits for admitted children and then never opened the school after promising to open many times. They did not refund our deposits and now all of the email addresses associated with the school are bouncing. Do not trust this place.
Michael Sherman
Michael Sherman
2022.02.17
The staff at The Makers Club is friendly and inviting, always welcoming you and your child with a smile. I feel safe leaving my son in their care. I've seen significant improvements in my child's cognitive abilities. The staff really does a good job of communicating in real time about your child's day.
Reply from The Makers Club 2022.02.17
Michael, Thank you so much for your generous feedback. We have loved working with your family! We are excited to see your son for Summer Camp this year!
Advertisement
Sarahbi Lynch
Sarahbi Lynch
2022.02.14
After scheduling two tours and being canceled on literally last minute each time, I had hope the third tour would go well. Instead, they chose to ghost me and not return any calls or emails or texts. To this day I cannot get ahold of anyone and their phone goes right to a voicemail box which they must either ignore or never check. This is extremely infuriating and unprofessional. It is hard enough to find child care in Seattle, let alone quality. Some other tidbits to watch out for; the “executive” director is the only one who could give a tour supposedly, even though the site director was there and able to email me no problem each time it got canceled. On my second attempt, “someone” double booked with myself and another parent, and even though we both agreed to go forward together, they canceled right at the appointment time no warning. Finally, an hour after ghosting our last tour, I was sent a generic email to reschedule, no apology, nothing. To me, this signals poor management and that is the core of any early learning institution, and tells you exactly how they run their school. Run away, fast.
Reply from The Makers Club 2022.02.14
Dear Sarahbi, We understand how frustrating it can be for last minute changes. It is extremely uncommon for us to have to reschedule tours. The health and safety of our staff and students is our first priority at The Makers Club which is why we had to cancel your first scheduled tour due to confirmed a Covid case at our school. This change created a series of logistical challenges for us and unfortunately for you and your family. We sincerely apologize. Our Executive Director conducts our tours based upon her education, understanding of our course curriculum, and her extensive experience in childcare. We utilize her because we believe she is able to provide the highest level of resources for inquiring parents. Our primary goal in the virtual tour process is to help parents find the right center even if it's not our center. We understand that we are not a fit for everyone. Your experience is not common, but we do appreciate your feedback and will continue to improve our tour process. Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you and your family.
pumkinbox MS
pumkinbox MS
2021.11.04
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Reliability
Responsiveness
Value
Reply from The Makers Club 2022.02.17
Thank You!!!
Julie Seidenstein
Julie Seidenstein
2021.05.26
Positive
Professionalism
Quality
Reliability
Responsiveness
Value
The Makers Club is a wonderful, supportive and dependable place for our school age son. He has been there as a remote student during the pandemic which is a huge relief for our family logistics and a bonus for him as he has built some great friendships that have gotten him through the difficulty of not being in person for school. We are eternally grateful to The Makers Club for the safe and nurturing environment they’ve provided to our child!
Reply from The Makers Club 2021.05.26
Julie thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback! We are excited to be a part of your son's journey!!!!
Paany Hatefi
Paany Hatefi
2020.05.31
Love this place ❤️
Reply from The Makers Club 2020.11.14
aww!!! We love you!
Advertisement
Miri Mu
Miri Mu
2019.10.30
Reply from The Makers Club 2021.07.01
Thanks for the generous review!