The Hazelmere

The Hazelmere Reviews

Excellent rating
4.5
1103 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (1103)
Borochef
Borochef
2023.03.28
Verified
Below average and unhappy staff After seeing reviews and hearing good thing decided to come for lunch, yes it’s clean and looks nice and staff well dressed and smart but not a smile between them. None of them were rude and were polite when speaking but not one of them looked happy to be there and body language suggested that. The food is average at best and expensive for what it is I had coronation chicken on white with home cut chips which were nice as was the bread but the filling was chicken and curried Mayo no almond no mango chutney no raisins or sultanas was very disappointing, portion sizes are on small size for the price and staff need training on how to smile not sure be back.
Advertisement
Veggie in Cheshire
Veggie in Cheshire
2023.03.05
Verified
very happy Were seated quicklyLeisurely but not slow service. FriendlyGreat pies - great veggie optionsPlenty of teaLoved it ! My only regret is that I wished that had sampled the vanilla slice tooWould definitely return
Peter W
Peter W
2023.02.04
Verified
Difficult to fathom why it's so highly rated... We arrived in Grange over Sands on a slightly delayed 11.15am train from Manchester hoping to sneak in here for what looked like a very pleasant full English breakfast according to other reviewers' photos & descriptions. We were met just beyond the door by a rather officious and over-confident young lady who quickly told us that they would only be taking orders for tea & cakes for the next 15 minutes as the kitchen was just preparing to serve the lunch menu from 11.45am. I mentioned that we had hoped to order breakfasts. "Sorry, we stop serving breakfasts at 11.30am." I glanced down at my watch - It was 11.31am.... The look on the young lady's face when I mentioned the actual time suggested that our conversation had already reached its conclusion and so, sadly, we moved on elsewhere.Fortunately, we found a much warmer welcome and a far more affordable menu, (including breakfast served beyond 11.30am) at the admittedly less salubrious Cafe Grange about 200 yards away on the Windermere road - See my separate review of same.Hazelmere may well (and possibly with good reason) regard itself as the "Waitrose" of the cafes in Grange but, on this showing, I'm afraid my family will be taking our custom elsewhere, where the staff are far more amenable & customer-focussed and the well-healed clientele are not staring at & weighing up the suitability of each new set of arrivals as they come through the door.
Karen N
Karen N
2023.01.18
Verified
Excellent cafe Hadn't realised what time the lovely cafe was shutting- went in and they said they were only serving cakes and drinks - beautiful ambience and right on the main street and just what we needed - the service was quick and excellent- they were so friendly and the cakes were lovely - place was spotless and clean. Will definitely go back
mike a
mike a
2022.11.27
Verified
Outstanding cafe and tea shop We come to the Hazelmere every time we visit the lakes, and usually twice. The food's always lovely - we had hot food this time on one visit and a cooked breakfast on the second. Both visits were excellent. Staff are always friendly. The tea menu is unmatched, always nice to try different tea blends. Cumbria is a foodie place, and this is one of our absolute favourite places.
Advertisement
Marc M
Marc M
2022.11.08
Verified
A warm welcome on a bleak day Walk in for tea and cake during a visit to Grange. Welcomed by the lovely Heather and Chloe. Delicious cakes and a pot of Darjeeling. Highly recommended. Thank you from Marc and Joanne.
JaneD1000
JaneD1000
2022.11.06
Verified
Good food, excellent desserts We always stop by the Hazelmere when in Grange, we have always enjoyed the food, especially the excellent desserts. Sad that entry is no longer via the bakery. Used to enjoy a mooch there on the way to the restaurant. Only drawback is that it is always very busy and we had to wait for a table.
GayleJP
GayleJP
2022.10.19
Verified
Popular cafe in Grange- over-Sands. This cafe attached to a bakery really should be visited when you are in Grange over Sands. It is very popular, and we had a slight wait to be seated, but after ordering, our food arrived promptly. And what a delight it was! All locally sourced foods, bread made on premises too, so you really can’t get fresher. The cheese and potato pie was light and tasty with a wonderful crust. Home made pickles too. Wait staff were efficient.
Martin L
Martin L
2022.09.20
Verified
Consistent high standards I had two breakfast meals at this cafe last week. High quality of food, pleasant staff and helpful service.
Advertisement
Bneebear53
Bneebear53
2022.09.17
Verified
Too stingy to give us an extra dollop of butter! The cafe was quite nice and the ambience good. However, two of us had toasted teacakes with only one small portion of butter which hardly covered one half. When my friend asked for some more they refused. I wouldn't go there again.
Jules_ECM
Jules_ECM
2022.08.21
Verified
Hazelmere shop experience Four of us had come all the way from North Yorkshire to attend the Save The Lido walk across the bay event. Before the walk, we thought it would be nice to support the local economy and get some hot food.Hazelmere was pretty much the first place we spotted and we went in. We were subject to brusque and uninterested servers who almost snapped at us when we took a couple of seconds deciding what we wanted. The place wasn't crowded, perhaps 2 or 3 people waiting to be served. One of the women picked up our sausage rolls and other food BY HAND RIGHT AFTER HANDLING money!Maybe they were having a bad day, who can say. But if your job is to serve the public, you should leave your personal sh1t at home or take the day off.To be fair, we all thought the take-away food was quite nice.
The M’s
The M’s
2022.08.13
Verified
Fresh, cozy and fancy ❤️ First time we visited this part of Cumbria mostly stay in and around Windermere but we’ve loved it! This lovely little cafe has a great variety which at first I thought wasn’t going to be great quality.. but I was wrong! Lots to choose we all had something different and the quality and freshness was great.
Angel
Angel
2022.07.15
Verified
A real gem We first came 5 years ago and were really pleased with the food, so we wanted to come back again post covid! We came on a Friday afternoon at 2.30pm for a late lunch after our walk at the esplanade which was only 10 mins away, and were really pleased with the great service and excellent food that is still served here. It’s just as good as we remembered it. The fish and chips, steak and ale pie with chips, and grilled asparagus salad is highly recommended. We also bought the lemon drizzle butter cake and chocolate florentines from the bakery next door for dessert (although we weren’t allowed to eat it in the cafe so we brought it back home to eat it). This is my favourite little cafe in the Lake District and glad it survived covid!
Advertisement
Betty B
Betty B
2022.07.06
Verified
Lovely food Lovely food and attentive staff.. very enjoyable experience will be back for more.. takeaway food delicious.
MandF60
MandF60
2022.06.20
Verified
Going downmarket We have been coming here for over 20 years and did enjoy many an excellent meal during that time. Not having been for a couple of years, we decided to go for Sunday lunch, expecting the same good food and high standards as before - only to be sadly disappointed. What happened to the savoury pancakes and similar dishes? Everything now appears to be deep fried and with chips. What happened to the marvellous salads with a multitude of fresh ingredients, berries, orange, kiwi and a tasty dressing. A few limp leaves and a couple of cherry tomatoes with a bit of oil and vineger poured over are hardly to that standard! For our meals we had chosen the chicken-burger (burger says it all!) and the nut roast. The chicken was of course deep fried in some obscure batter, badly overcooked, on a tasteless bun with the thinnest of scrapings of the flavoured mayo, and a pile of anaemic chips.The nut roast consisted of barely edible bits and pieces, with a tomato "sauce" poured over it that had the metallic taste of a tin of chopped tomatoes.The sort of food you expect in a greasy spoon outlet! Staff were friendly and attentive, although they looked a bit grubby, and why is this place still carrying on with a nonsensical, Covid hysteria one way system! One sure sign that things are no loger quite right was that at 1:30 pm Sunday there were quite a few empty tables, whereas in the past there would have been a queue to get in. We certainly won't be rushing back.
Helen
Helen
2022.06.05
Verified
Stringy Salmon This was the second time we had eaten here it wasnt great last time but thought we would give it another go Service initially was great really chatty and friendly When the food arrived ours and the table behind where mixed up , no problem we just exchanged plates but no apology given I ordered the avocado and smoke salmon dish , the salmon was the smallest potion you have ever seen and was stringy and chewy , I pointed this out to the waitress again no response My husband toasty was burnt and tasteless ( ham and cheese) seriously how can you go wrong Filter coffee was good ,people seemed to enjoy the cakes so maybe play safe and just stay with coffee and cake
David D
David D
2022.06.01
Verified
Very nice little tea room. Stopped off for a tea and cake. Was served by a very pleasant and polite young lady. Everyone in there was very helpful and the tea and cakes were really nice so we went upstairs to buy a bag of the house tea were we were served again by a lovely lady who gave us some information about the tea. Would definitely recommend a visit.
Advertisement
supaja
supaja
2022.05.08
Verified
A Gem We had to wait for a table first time, but boy was it worth it! Staff friendly even though super busy, fantastic and portions were really good. Had the small portion Haddock and chips, Cant imagine that we would finish the full portion! Cakes AMAZING! Quality was brilliant too. cant recommend enough.
anne-marie l
anne-marie l
2022.05.07
Verified
Wonderful find. Stopped for a bite to eat with family and our two dogs in this delightful café following a recommendation from a lady in a local shop in Grange. We weren’t disappointed with either the food, the cleanliness nor the customer service. Martin warmly welcomed us, was a real gentleman - polite and attentive for the duration and paid great attention to detail with our order. Everything was spot on; food tasted delicious; the cakes and scones yummy and coffee made just as we like it. Thanks, Martin!We would definitely return and recommend to friends.So, thank you to all the staff - which includes all those who work behind the scenes- for your hard work and friendly way you treat customers…..and, of course, the dogs. Keep doing what you’re doing!
Stephen C
Stephen C
2022.05.04
Verified
Wonderful traditional cafe. We headed over to Grange specifically for a bit of siight seeing and looking for a nice brunch/lunch option. Drove passed this little cafe and it was busy and looked interesting so we did a 180 and headed back keeping a eye for a park. (Just around corner). We had to line up for about 10mins before we were warmly welcomed in. Nice older building with high ceilings and traditional finishes proved an inviting atmosphere. Pretty good menu selection and specialty teas, took a little while for our meals to arrive but was well worth the wait. We all enjoyed the food and service so much we are planning a return visit for breakfast and will be hoping for a similar experience.Recommended.