The Golf School Manchester

The Golf School Manchester Reviews

Excellent rating
5.0
71 reviews Verified
%title%

%offer%

Reviews (71)
Rob Lelonek
Rob Lelonek
2024.04.11
I have been working with Richard at the golf school over the winter. It has been one of the best investments for me personally and has taken my game to another level. The Golf school is a fantastic facility and the perfect training environment for all parts of the game. Highly recommended.
Advertisement
Tomas Jalowiecki
Tomas Jalowiecki
2024.02.20
Prior to Easter 2022 I could best be described as a 'hacker' who possessed some clubs but hadn't swung them in anger in far, far, too long a time. With significant input from Richard, I have built a more consistent swing from the ground up. Not only that, the way in which we have gone about getting to where I am currently should stand me in good stead going forward. In addition, the practice facilities (which I utilise between lessons) are equipped with video cameras and the appropriate software, and radar technology, so that there is a wealth of feedback on hand to aid one's progress. Richard's approach emphasises teaching you to teach yourself, such that you begin to learn what you are actually doing and develop the understanding of what you need to do to correct things. Now, I'm probably best described as an 'informed hacker', in that whilst the bad shots are still there, they aren't as bad as they were and I can (to a small degree) coach myself on the hoof to correct things as I'm going round. Richard has a very well-earned Five-star recommendation from this satisfied customer. Further to my original review, I can add that having predominantly worked on my iron striking (with a little bit of input regarding chipping), I've just started working on my putting and anticipate similar improvement as to my irons given the tuition so far. Update - 2 October 2023 So out on the course the putting lessons have been paying off. Significantly fewer three putts, and leaving much shorter second putts. Further improvements with my irons, but more importantly, some very useful and effective practice drills/strategies have been identified. Now happy playing bogey golf (or thereabouts) but consistently considering where I started from 18 months ago. Update Feb 2024 As my swing has developed, my irons were no longer optimal. Over several sessions, trying various combinations of shaft and club head, the GC Quad data was indisputable and there was a clear best fit. Now working on timing and sequencing to improve consistency and quality of ball-striking further. Once more, with Richard's help, I have a number of drills which are really helpful for me and also some stretching type exercises to help improve my technique.
Greg Mooney
Greg Mooney
2023.02.09
I initially received a gift voucher from my partner for a few lessons and I have since carried on with lessons for the last year and a half. I have improved from a 14HCP with a consistent fade/slice to an 8HCP over 18 months, where nearly every aspect of my swing has been tweaked/altered. I'm sure I would have improved twice as quickly had I attended lessons and practiced every week (with 'unlimited' free practice being made available if you attend lessons regularly, which is amazing by the way), but Richard has been very patient with me skipping weeks and booking in last minute due to my busy schedule. I'm fully expecting my HCP to drop further this year just off the back of improvements already made, as my more recent results suggest. I would highly recommend Richard and The Golf School to anyone looking to work at improving their game and I am excited to continue to improve so I can enjoy golf more so for the nuances of playing and shot-shaping, rather than just trying to hack it to the hole and hoping for the best!
Joel Edwards
Joel Edwards
2022.12.19
Started my journey at The Golf School in September as I have finally settled on a singular hobby! I have played golf on/off since being a junior but never really stuck to it as life unfortunately got in the way. I decided on The Golf School mainly due to the technology used providing key ball/club data as I’m a bit of a nerd. Having had a few lessons in the past just looking at swing videos or smashing balls down the range didn’t really do it for me. I initially had an intro session to see how Richard taught and soon after I started a programme. The teaching is thought provoking and has completely changed my swing for the better and this is backed up with data. If you are in or around the area I would highly recommend The Golf School. Richard is a great teacher and provides an enjoyable experience. You’re made to feel comfortable in the learning environment and not afraid to ask silly questions to help you understand better. The other huge benefit in between lessons you can use the facility to practice. This has been great to keep swinging in the cold and dark embedding the learning. Handicap-wise as this is often a point that people want to know. I was 23 and currently at 17 in a short time, this was curtailed mainly by the weather change. I’m definitely going to smash through that this year, operation single figure is now underway.
Jack Sylvester
Jack Sylvester
2022.10.06
Richard has been helping me with my game for the past month and I have already seen a vast improvement in my swing that has resulted in me shooting a personal best score of 77. I would highly recommend Richard's teaching to others as it uses data driven analysis to highlight areas to improve. Additionally the ability to be able to practice on the Trackman and get feedback from the data it provides to ensure you're appropriately focusing on improving the right areas is invaluable. Thanks Richard for your support and help, I look forward to continuing to work with you going forward to improve my game.
Advertisement
Mark Holmes
Mark Holmes
2022.06.08
Just recently finished my second set of lessons as a high handicap golfer. My goal was to be able to play to a handicap and feel a measure of control / confidence around a course. Richard (Coach) clearly explained and helped me improve my technique, and I've had the results both in social golf and more recently on a day with customers where I've been able to relax, enjoy the game and hold my own on the team score ! Thanks Richard.
Robert Laurent
Robert Laurent
2022.06.08
This is the perfect place to improve your game! And so much fun! Getting in touch with Rick was the best golfing decision I have made. Rick’s method of teaching is scientific but very easy to grasp and understand. Once you complete the introduction you appreciate how his methods are proven to deliver results…FASTER! Add the around the clock practice access to the facilities and technology the golf school is the best place to improve and develop your game. Working with Rick from March I have rebuilt my swing, significantly changing my path and angle of attack. The awareness and understanding I now have around my swing really helps mid round. Having not broke 80 for over a year I have shot three consecutive medals in the mid 70s and lost a full shot on my WHS. Thanks Rick can’t wait for the next stage.
Kenny Grant
Kenny Grant
2022.05.17
I have been having lessons with Richard for over a year and have gone from struggling to post any kind of score in medals to competing consistently and even winning several competitions. Whilst patience is definitely needed should you decide to take up lessons, I have definitely seen this pay off in the long run and look forward to continuing my improvement at The Golf School. You also have all the golfing technology you could look for to analyse everything about your game, so this provides excellent feedback during practice sessions and lessons.
Lyam Hutchinson
Lyam Hutchinson
2022.04.26
Richard is a great coach and has helped me see significant improvements in my swing. The facilities he offers are second to none and make starting a package with him great value for money. Highly recommend.
Advertisement
Ben Thomas
Ben Thomas
2022.04.08
Been utilising the facilities at the Golf School for a couple of years now, can't recommend enough. With a package of lessons under my belt the handicap has dropped, the game is better and more enjoyable to play. Richard is an excellent coach that tailors the sessions very much to the individual, which I now believe is a big part of what you're paying for without realising. Highly recommend, if we were both in prison, I'd protect him if he dropped the soap in the showers. The best place to learn golf in Manchester without a doubt.
Reply from The Golf School Manchester 2022.04.08
Thanks Ben and really well done with your progress and new Hcp ... single figures next !
Dan Rowe
Dan Rowe
2022.03.30
I walked into the Golf School about 8 months ago with 15 year old clubs and no golf swing. Richard has been instrumental in developing not only my golf game but also my passion for getting better. My first round in Sept 2021 I shot 120 compared to my last round where I broke 90. His ability to deliver key information in a concise and personable way makes him an impressive coach. There is nothing he enjoys more than celebrating in your progress and success and I highly recommend no matter what standard you play at.
Reply from The Golf School Manchester 2022.04.02
wow thanks dan and congratulations on your commitment and progress you are making Rich
Kyle Fleming
Kyle Fleming
2022.03.03
Popped in for a lesson while visiting the area. Top notch facility and Richard knows his stuff - What more can you ask for?
Reply from The Golf School Manchester 2022.04.08
Thanks Kyle
Claire Wilde
Claire Wilde
2022.01.31
As a new golfer, I first went to Richard for a club fitting. I was immediately impressed by the data analysis he presented to me after I tested a number of different brands and models of irons. This allowed us to make an informed decision when choosing the set to order. Once my set of irons arrived I initiated my first block of lessons at The Golf School. As anyone will know who plays golf, there are so many elements to a golf swing but the highly technical launch monitors, camera systems and teaching aids that Richard uses at his facility really help you to understand your swing and see the impact when you make changes. When things don’t go so well you can more easily identify which area you need to work on too. The indoor facilities allow you to continue with lessons and practice no matter what the weather, enabling further improvement throughout the winter season when you might otherwise have not been out as much as you would have liked. Richard is a great communicator and he ensures you have a clear understanding of his teaching. He is informative and friendly and delivers his lessons in a relaxed environment. I am incredibly pleased with the progress I have made since having lessons with Richard and I highly recommend him to anyone who wants to improve their game technically but also psychologically.
Reply from The Golf School Manchester 2022.04.08
Thanks Claire , amazing progress well done !
Advertisement
Richard Baker
Richard Baker
2022.01.29
Positive
Communication
Professionalism
Quality
Value
I was struggling with my game and frustrated with watching endless YouTube game improvement videos. I eventually took the plunge and decided to commit to a package of lessons with The Golf School. Richard’s teaching methods are second to none; you learn to coach yourself in the process. The quality of my game has now hugely improved and I’m definitely starting to see the results from the time and effort. Massive thank you to Richard for his support.
Robert Wilde
Robert Wilde
2022.01.27
I’ve been having lessons with Richard for the past 6 months. I was typically scoring 105, now I’ve cracked 90. Hoping to break 85 this year. Initially lots of focus on body movement and arm/wrist position. With practice in between lessons I started to feel a better swing, without flicking the wrists at impact. Taking a forward divot has been another problem area which was a combination of all the above to fix. More recently the approach has been to slow down the swing to get the fundamentals correct and improve self awareness, particularly around club path ensuring an in-to-out swing each time. Now speeding up, controlling the club face angle is the challenge to make those long straight shots. There are also lots of teaching aides in the indoor facility in Altrincham. The launch monitors are essential for understanding your swing, not to be confused with the ball flight monitors available at the range. The teaching style is very precise and logical. Richard is a great coach if you’re serious about making some changes and are prepared to commit some time.
Kara Freeman
Kara Freeman
2021.11.08
Positive
Communication
Professionalism
Quality
Having always enjoyed casual golf and dabbled with commercial lessons over the years; I decided this October to invest some time in learning the basics as a foundation to build on as a Rookie. Richard was a great choice from the start. He has a relaxed personality, is a fantastic communicator and has the knowledge and experience to get you on the right track. His facility is clean, easy to find and full of fantastic technology to give you insight into all angles of your swing. I had a great time with Richard, highly recommend and look forward to working with him in the future.
Reply from The Golf School Manchester 2021.11.08
Thanks Kara and great progress in such a short time, well done !
Steven Faulkner
Steven Faulkner
2021.10.15
Positive
Communication
Professionalism
Quality
Value
After booking lessons to see Richard on an ad hoc basis I decided to get set up on a programme rather than try to get a quick fix whenever my game went sour. At 51 years of age I wanted to see how low I could get. This was well worth the investment. As well as the 10 lessons I am able to practice as much as I want to in Richards studio. The technology and insight as to what really goes on with your golf swing and indeed all aspects of your game is so interesting to see....and believe me it works! After shooting rounds continuously in the low to mid 80's my scores began to come down as my programme progressed. Last week I shot my best ever score, level par 71 at my course Ringway. The way that Richard teaches is so professional but very relaxed. Try it....I can assure you that as long as you put the effort in you will see great results and your handicap index will tumble down.
Reply from The Golf School Manchester 2021.10.15
Thank you Steve for your great review and really well done with your progress !
Advertisement
Will Wright
Will Wright
2021.05.18
Rich has been instrumental in getting me down to single figures. The facilities are top class and I thoroughly enjoy both lessons and practice. I would recommend the Golf School to anyone looking to improve their golf game.
Daniel Pollock
Daniel Pollock
2021.04.21
Richard is an excellent pro and has improved my game in all aspects. I was struggling with a 9 handicap when we first started and I’m now off 5 and this years target is 2! Brilliant facilities, can be used all year and he is very accommodating with early or late sessions. Highly recommend!
Stephen C
Stephen C
2020.12.13
Awesome place. Everything you could need to improve your game... And more. Richard is the Yoda of golf.